BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/02/2012

Superior Fence & Rail of Lake County, Inc.

Phone: (352) 728-4416Fax: (352) 728-44173831 W Main St, LeesburgFL 34748-9716 Send email to Superior Fence & Rail of Lake County, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/02/2012

BBB has determined that Superior Fence & Rail of Lake County, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Superior Fence & Rail of Lake County, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Superior Fence & Rail of Lake County, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
10/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gate is crooked. Latch hanging (stripped screw) white pricing tabs left stapled on every board
Gate is crooked. Stripped screw on latch and hanging. Left all white pricing tabs on the bottom of all boards. Called 3X since 7/18. Last time called they would be here to fix this week. That was 3 weeks ago.

Desired Settlement
Fix the gate, latch and remove all the tabs so fence can be stained.

Business Response
The customer had some valid concerns. We addressed them by sending a technician to her house and had found no issues with the fence installation. The gate gap (1") is within normal tolerances. We don't remove the tags from the wood as it can void the ******** warranty. We were late responding back to this customer (our repair supervisor was on vacation). When our repair supervisor got back from vacation, he spoke with the customer and explained why the tags are left on the slats. She was satisfied with our response to the tags but not with the gate gaps. We sent another technician to her property and rebuilt the gate with tighter gaps. In addition we used longer lag bolts to fasten the gate hardware. The customer signed off on the work and was completely satisfied with the repair.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/20/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
fence installed 7/2011 cost over $8,000 fence falling for over 1 yr never any c/b from manager.ms ****** at the office not much help.
paid in cash over $8,000 many calls unanswered manager never ever available and fence to this day is still falling down and swaying in the wind installed july 2011

Desired Settlement
section of fence that is falling to be reinstalled correctly

Thank You

Business' Initial Response
Her fence has suffered wind damage which is NOT covered under warranty. We sent a technician to her property and observed the wind damage. We sent this email to her on Sept 26th. We did not hear back:

Hi Mrs. ******,

I was speaking with your daughter ******* about the fence repair when the phone went dead. I tried calling back but it went to voice mail.

Your daughters fence has suffered from wind damage. 4 line posts have broken at the concrete line. She is convinced that the sprinkler system damaged the fence as she stated that she had to have some sprinkler heads moved as a result of the fence installation. I was explaining that the sprinkler system could not have broken the posts and that it could only have been caused by wind damage.

If we could have reset the existing posts, my technician would have done that when he was out there free of charge. Unfortunately, he found 4 posts to be broken. If you want the fence fixed correctly, the posts need to be replaced and reset in fresh concrete. Here is the repair cost:

(4) posts @ 27.53 plus tax = $117.82
Minimum Labor Fee: $285.00
Trip Fee: $195.00

Total: $597.82

As I mentioned on the phone, we wave the trip fee for all our customers. ******'s total would be $402.82.

Repairs are paid in advance of the work. We can take a credit card over the phone for your convenience.

I don't have ******'s email address, could you please forward this to her?

Thanks!

As you can see, we made every effort by sending a technician to her home, leaving voice mails and following up with an email.

Business' Final Response
Her fence has suffered wind damage which is NOT covered under warranty. We sent a technician to her property and observed the wind damage. We sent this email to her on Sept 26th. We did not hear back:

Hi Mrs. ******,

I was speaking with your daughter ******* about the fence repair when the phone went dead. I tried calling back but it went to voice mail.

Your daughters fence has suffered from wind damage. 4 line posts have broken at the concrete line. She is convinced that the sprinkler system damaged the fence as she stated that she had to have some sprinkler heads moved as a result of the fence installation. I was explaining that the sprinkler system could not have broken the posts and that it could only have been caused by wind damage.

If we could have reset the existing posts, my technician would have done that when he was out there free of charge. Unfortunately, he found 4 posts to be broken. If you want the fence fixed correctly, the posts need to be replaced and reset in fresh concrete. Here is the repair cost:

(4) posts @ 27.53 plus tax = $117.82
Minimum Labor Fee: $285.00
Trip Fee: $195.00

Total: $597.82

As I mentioned on the phone, we wave the trip fee for all our customers. ******'s total would be $402.82.

Repairs are paid in advance of the work. We can take a credit card over the phone for your convenience.

I don't have ******'s email address, could you please forward this to her?

Thanks!

As you can see, we made every effort by sending a technician to her home, leaving voice mails and following up with an email.

07/23/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
06/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fence installed over sprinklers and 5 inches short and customer not advised of this before the fence was put up.
My parents, ******* ******** has asked me to help her with this problem. She is elderly and ill and cannot cope or handle this problem. Superior Fence and Rail installed the fence in the backyard towards the end of last year. It was picked up about a month ago by the Tavares Building inspector that the fence was 5 inches short into her property and it was placed over her sprinklers so that her sprinkler heads are now in the neighbor's yard. My parents paid for the service in full and signed the contracts. They also provided Superior Fence with the house plans for the correct boundary lines. When they put the fence up, they did not advise my parents of the sprinklers or that they were placing the fence 5inches short. When the Tavares building inspector saw the mistake he told my parents. The building inspector tried to call Superior fence various times but they did not return his call. My parents went to Superior Fence's office in Leesburg and was told that this would be rectified. Thereafter no-one came to rectify or even to call and speak to my parents. My parents then me, their daughter to help them. I called the office but got no call back. I then emailed ***** ******** and outlined what had happened. He replied and said they had not done anything wrong and that the fence was placed correctly. He then said he would, for $350 come and find the boundary tag lines. This does not solve the problem, and my parents, who are on Social Security, now have to pay to get the sprinkler moved and are also short 5inches of yard(as per the Tavares Building Inspector). My parents are unhappy that Superior Fence (***** ********* did not advise them that the sprinkler heads were on the other side of the fence and just went ahead and put the fence up, and my parents signed the contract in good faith, as they had hired a "reputable" contractor to do the job correctly in the first place. If there was a problem, why did they not tell my parents? They feel they have been unfairly treated and now ***** ******** wants to charge them $350 more? They are over 70 years old and they are sickly. They expected a fair job to be done and anything that was important to have been discussed with them. They would have moved the sprinklers if they had to, if they knew there was a problem, but the 5inches short, would have kept them from having to move the sprinklers and spend unnecessary money. I am also disappointed with the service as they did not return calls and when ***** ******** returned my email, he stated that he had nothing to do with me as my parents had signed the contract. Surely, seniors should be treated more fairly?

Desired Settlement
My parents do not want to pay another $350 to tag the boundary as what will that do now? That should have been Superior rail and fence's job before doing the job. They want Superior Fence and rail to move the fence or pay for the sprinklers to be moved.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,

Superior Fence & Rail installed ********** fence on XX-XX-XX as per industry standard and in line with our best practices outlined below:

Before we dig, our installers string the fence line and confirm the layout with the customer. Once the customer signs off on the layout, we install the fence. The customer is ultimately responsible for showing Superior where to install the fence as outlined in the terms and conditions of the contract that they signed (#3). Having said that, we assist with finding property pins and recommend installing the fence 3-6 inches inside the property lines to avoid encroachment on neighboring properties. This is industry standard because there is 3-5 inches of concrete around each post.

Superior Fence & Rail is not responsible for moving, relocating or damaging existing sprinkler systems (#6). We have no way of knowing where the existing sprinkler system lines are underground or any other private utility. For that reason, we explicitly state in our contract that we are not responsible for any damage as a result of the fence installation. Having said that, we do work with our customers when there is an issue. We recommend *** ***** ********** to our customers because they are reasonable and very good at irrigation. In most cases we will absorb the initial trip fee as a courtesy ($65 value).

The ********** signed our pre-install check list confirming the fence line and signed the job completion form confirming their complete satisfaction of our work on 12/11/13.

I have explained to ***** in 2 separate emails why and how the fence was installed and that she will need to hire an irrigation company to move any sprinkler heads. This is extremely common. Irrigation tends to be installed haphazardly where as a fence must follow 3-6 inches inside the property line explicitly. We can not move the fence any closer to the property line without encroaching on the neighbors property. Unfortunately, this is not the information that ***** wanted to hear and as a result, she has filed a BBB complaint.

Superior Fence & Rail Terms and Conditions:

3. Customer agrees to locate property pins, stake terminals and property lines. The Company will assist customer, upon request, in determining where the fence is to be erected, but under no circumstances will the Company assume responsibility concerning property lines or in any way guarantee their accuracy. If property pins cannot be located, it is recommended that the customer have the property surveyed.

6. Customer waives all responsibility of the Company and agrees to be soley responsible for damage to the sprinkler system or other buried private utilities or underground lines whose locations have not been properly marked and agrees to indemnify the Company from any liability which it might incur pursuant to the service involved in the performance of this Contract. The Company will call ******** ******** ******* to locate your public underground utilities.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not surprised by the response. I expected to be cited the contract word for word. However, why did the company not return phone calls from my parents and the building inspector? Why, when my parents went to your office, the office manager, *** apologized profusely told them they would fix the problem? Why did no one contact my parents after that and say they were not going to fix it? Why did the salesperson not explain the contract to my parents - seeing they are seniors and maybe did not know what to ask? Why did ***** tell me he did not want anything to do with me when I tried to help my parents?
All in all, sometimes you need to look beyond the bottom line profit as a company to build a good business.
Very disappointed with the experience. Hopefully one day ***** will not have to deal with uncompassionate and uncaring contractors if his parents get into the same situation.

Final Business Response
We have provided excellent customer service to our customer. Superior Fence has the very best customer service record in all of Florida and has been recognized and decorated for our customer service. Unfortunately, this particular customer is requesting service that is outside the scope of our business. As part of our fence installations, we do not move sprinkler systems. We explained this to the customer in person at the time of sale, in person at our office, in two emails and in the BBB response. We have answered every call and every email. In addition, we did speak to the building inspector who subsequently passed the fence inspection with no issues. This complaint has nothing to do with customer service, the fence installation, the product or the warranty. This complaint has to do with the sprinkler system and the customers unwillingness to understand that we don't move sprinkler systems as part of our fence installation service.

Most sprinkler heads are on flex and can be moved very easily. Most of our customers simply move them themselves. We offer to pay the $65 trip fee and many take us up on that offer and hire *** ***** ********** to move them as it is a minimal expense.

We have installed over 10,000 fences in over 42 counties. We install them the same way and provide the same great consistent service to all.

07/02/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fence Contractors, Tool & Utility Sheds, Railings, Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors, Fences - Wood, Aluminum Products, Gates, Fence Posts & Fittings, Fences - Vinyl, Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/17/2012Business started: 11/17/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Lake County Occupational License

BBB records show a license number of 79700 for this company, issued by Lake County Occupational License.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2005, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy W. Jeppesen (President)Ms. Pam Norwood (Office Manager)
Business Category

Fence Contractors, Tool & Utility Sheds, Railings, Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors, Fences - Wood, Aluminum Products, Gates, Fence Posts & Fittings, Fences - Vinyl, Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers Fence Contractor services to residential and commercial customers for sales and installation of Vinyl and Aluminum fencing, Gates, and Railing, including Sheds and Lattice.

Service Area

Altoona, Astatula, Astor, Clermont, Eustis, Ferndale, Fruitland Park, Grand Island, Groveland, Haines Creek, Howey in the Hills, Gainesville, Lady Lake, Leesburg, Mascotte, Minneola, Montverde, Mount Dora, Okahumpka, Paisley, Sorrento, Tavares, Umatilla, Yalaha and Ocala.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Superior Fence & Rail of Lake County, Inc.

3831 W Main St

Leesburg, FL 34748-9716

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3831 W Main St 

    Leesburg, FL 34748-9716(352) 728-4416

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Superior Fence & Rail of Lake County, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Fence Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.