BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2011

Orange County Construction Company

Phone: (407) 855-0404Fax: (407) 855-0408View Additional Phone Numbers6413 Pinecastle Blvd STE 3, OrlandoFL 32809-6694 Send email to Orange County Construction Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2011

BBB has determined that Orange County Construction Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Orange County Construction Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Orange County Construction Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company was contracted to restore our home after a fire. They quit during demolition,did not send an invoice, but placed a lien for excessive amt.
The fire was on the morning of 1/23/2014. Their senior loss specialist ***** ******* stated he was the only one present who could secure the home and rebuild it. He also said he was an owner in the co. I refused to sign the contract as written, giving them the right to all insurance proceeds. The loss specialist warned us against talking to, or signing with a public adjuster. We advised him in February that indeed we had signed with an adjuster, even after he assured us that he would get us the maximum amount allowed under our policy. On 2/18/2014 he sent me an e-mail requesting a signature after we compromised on some elements of the reconstruction; again requesting the assignment of proceeds. During a conversation the following day when I told him I had no intention of assigning proceeds to the company, he abruptly decided that the job was not worth the money and that he was quitting. I requesting it in writing which I have never gotten. There was no further communication for 3 weeks then the loss specialist called to say he understood a check was issued for the work done. I told him I knew nothing about it and had no check for him.
About 4/15 I got a certified notice from the company. I picked it up believing it to be the missing invoice; however, it was a lien notice for $28,000. Now my policy allowed $19,400 for demolition; they did maybe 50% of the work, the non-dangerous part. He had told me that we could use $10,000 of the demolition amount towards the rebuilding of the home which would leave $9,400 for the actual demolition. They used illegal aliens who looted my home of certain items and charged insurance rates for work that was not done. I have another company now completing the demolition at a cost of about $10,000 using American workers. After I received the lien I finally received the invoice from the insurance company with the extraneous charges; including a $4,400 engineering charge for presumed rebuilding plans which we never saw nor received. Also, as time went on the scope of the work was lessened
after he received his subs' estimates. in the beginning everything was going to be demolished; then he was saving the pool enclosure which was obviously compromised; the master shower and bath and the studs that weren't burnt.
We think Mr ******* misrepresented himself to us as a part-owner; we have since discovered that the company is a DBA to a ***** *****, a sole proprietor. We never had an adjuster for the claim; ***** ******* subbed for the Insurance company for which the company is a vendor. He changed the scope of the work then walked off the job unceremoniously; then overbilled and put a lien on our property before we even saw an invoice.

Desired Settlement
A realistic invoice for the work done, producing payroll for 360 hours @ $30.80 for each worker, as well as an accounting for the 25 windows and 3 doors boarded up and replaced. Both the electricity and water were turned off by the firemen so how can they charge more than $500 for work already done.
we had only 20 windows, and only 1 door was boarded up. it's easy to sell this phony bill to the insurance company since nobody there has ever seen the home; but we built it and have the plans to show.

Business Response
This is to address the complaint reported to the BBB on 6/19/2014 by ******* ******* the owner of address: **** ********* *** ********* ** XXXXX, BBB Case # XXXXXXXX.
The customer had a house fire on 1/23/14. He enter into a signed contract with Orange County Construction Company (OCCC) on this same date. It was signed by both the customer and ***** *******, an OCCC owner. The contract gave OCCC permission and authorization to complete work and receive full payment, approved by his insurance carrier.
The customer subsequently hired a Public Adjuster (PA), with an economic interest in the job which was not necessarily consistent with the contract between the customer and OCCC. Once the PA was hired we were told that our services were no longer required and to discontinue any further work. At this point the customer breached his contract with OCCC.
A check from the insurance carrier was issued to the customer or his PA along with an itemization of work completed which would match the amount of the check. The check was intended as payment to OCCC for work completed, and was due per contract. It was never forwarded to us.
The customer accused OCCC of using "illegal aliens", this statement is false. The customer grievance stated OCCC "looted my home of certain items", this again is false. OCCC entered the home during phase one of the construction, after others (firemen, emergency responders, insurance adjusters, etc.) had entered. The customer was at the jobsite, with OCCC representatives, during phase one of construction which included the demolition of the burned structure.
OCCC had an engineered set of plans completed for the rebuild of the home and currently have them in our files. The customer demanded the engineered plans be forwarded to his attention after he breached his contract with OCCC. Unfortunately, when the customer indicated he was not going to pay OCCC for the work already completed, OCCC was unwilling to turn over plans that were not paid for.
Once the customer refused to pay OCCC we exercised our right to file a Construction Lien against his property.
The customer accused ***** ******* of misrepresenting himself as part owner. This is also false. ***** ******* is an owner along with two other owners. The company is not a sole proprietor, it is a corporation. OCCC is an active Florida Corporation duly registered with the Florida Department of State since 2007.
The allegations that the customer is accusing OCCC of are false. This customer breached his contract with OCCC and refuses to pay for work OCCC completed. We conduct our business in a professional manner and stand behind our work.
This is the first complaint that OCCC has received since the company was established eight years ago. The customer appears to have a malicious intent to harm our business and our future work.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Contractor - Commercial, Home Improvements - Additions, Home Builders, Excavating Contractors, Demolition Contractors, Contractor - Remodel & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/19/2009Business started: 04/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of CGC1513578 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr. Certified General Contractor.

Type: FL Construction Industry Licensing Board

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2007, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Cipri (President)Mr. Daniel S. Starr (Vice President)
Business Category

Contractors - General, Contractor - Commercial, Home Improvements - Additions, Home Builders, Excavating Contractors, Demolition Contractors, Contractor - Remodel & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Orange County C. Company
Industry Tips
Construction Liens

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Orange County Construction Company

6413 Pinecastle Blvd STE 3

Orlando, FL 32809-6694

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6413 Pinecastle Blvd STE 3 

    Orlando, FL 32809-6694

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Orange County Construction Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (407) 668-4728

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (407) 898-0058
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

Construction Liens
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.