BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/26/2010

Fred Nickel Tile, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (352) 347-9988Fax: (352) 347-9448View Additional Phone Numbers9200 SE Highway 441, OcalaFL 34480-8212 Send email to Fred Nickel Tile, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/26/2010

BBB has determined that Fred Nickel Tile, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fred Nickel Tile, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fred Nickel Tile, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
10/29/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misrepresentation and false assurances of product and services to be provided. Rude and unprofessional conduct.
7/9/12 - ****** Tile salesperson ***** ***** views our enclosed lanai for providing estimate to install ceramic tile. At this time, we have a discussion on "leveling" the floor since the original concrete slab is pitched to allow for rain/water runoff. Mr. ***** recommends that we speak with "T&D", a local contractor. 7/25/12 - we advise Mr. ***** (****** Tile) of the advisement by T&D and request that leveler be used prior to the installation of the tile and he informs us that he would ensure such process but that it may take several days to perform the "leveling" as it would have to be poured gradually, allowed to set, and possibly poured some more to ensure that the "leveling" does not rise higher that the outside door threshold. We then meet personally with Mr. ***** at the ****** Tile showroom to execute a proposal for the tile installation. Prior to signing the proposal we again discuss the "leveling" process and Mr. ***** assures us that it will be done and the proposal specifies "...underlayment", which we are led to believe, per our discussion with Mr. *****, includes the leveling compound process. 8/13/12 - ****** Tile's "Gill" arrives at our house for the tile installation. I ask him how long (i.e., days) the leveling process may take and he informs me that no one told him to pour any leveler. Mr. ***** adamantly denies having any discussion with my wife and me about the use of leveler . 8/16/12 - Mr. ***** telephones me indicating that he was returning my call. I inform him that I did not leave a message for him, but rather one for Ms. ****** about him. He responds by scolding me about what had or had not transpired in our various discussions/meetings, and insists that I must pay the balance due as is outlined on the proposal "which you signed". I inform him that I will be speaking with Ms. ****** and I advise him to not contact me again. Subsequently, I telephone "Michele" at ****** Tile who had taken my message earlier and ask her why Mr. ***** called me, inform her that he is not to harass me or attempt to intimidate and/or threaten me again, and advise that I will be filing a complaint with the (Sumter County) Sheriff's Office. I then contact the Sheriff's Office. 8/17/12 - *** ****** telephones me. I convey to her the above-noted events. . I tell her that I (and my wife) am upset with the actions of and inappropriate and unprofessional treatment from Mr. *****. She apologizes but endeavors to persuade me into accepting that the floor installation was done correctly and that I need to pay the balance due on the invoice, which she wants to present to me. I receive a telephone call from *** ****** who is irate, angry, accuses me of lying to her, and admonishes me for "playing games". I remind her that it has been Mr. ***** who "played games", who was unprofessional and inappropriate, and who made false representations to my wife and I and that we were not happy or satisfied with the work performed. She demands to know what I want, screeching "what do you want; She tells me that she will speak with her "brother" about a possible reduction in the balance owed, and then abruptly states that she will be filing a "labor lien" against me and she hangs up the phone. 8/18/12 - As good faith, I mail to ****** Tile a personal check for 50% of the specified balance owed.

Desired Settlement
Redo the tile installation as originally indicated, or provide refund/compensation.

Business' Initial Response
Services to be provided:

7/9/12- Mr. ****** met with ****** our estimator, to get a price to tile his newly enclosed lanai. During ******'s visit Mr. ****** inquired about raising his concrete and leveling it. (As the Lanai when originally poured was pitched to divert rain water). Upon ******'s inspection of the pitch, ****** informed Mr. ****** that the degree of pitch was too great for us to level his floor and ****** referred him to a concrete company (T & D Concrete) that we use regularly in cases like this.
7/25/12-Mr. ****** called ****** to go over the contract and to schedule the install. During the conversation ****** inquired if Mr. ****** had contracted with T&D to level his floor. He told ****** yes that he had gotten a bid from T&D, but he would not be using T&D Concrete because it was too expensive. At this time Mr. ****** suggested again that we level the floor and ****** informed him that for us to do level the floor, it would take several trips and several days of applying leveler. This is not the proper way to level a floor with this extreme pitch and we are not prepared to do it. Afterwards Mr. ****** was presented with a contract to tile his floor. At which time he signed the contract paid a deposit and scheduled the work to be done.
8/13/12-our installer arrives at Mr. ******'s home to install the tile on his lanai. While our installer was preparing the job Mr. ****** inquired about how long it was going to take to level his floor. Our installer told him that there was nothing in his work order about leveling his lanai. Which led to a discussion between Mr. ****** and our installer where as our installer informed Mr. ****** again that in order to achieve the leveling that Mr. ****** wants that it would quote "take a load of concrete from Rinker Truck to fix his floor" (Rinker is a concrete company in our area). Our installer informed him that his door would also have to be removed, customized and reinstalled as it would not open and close at the rate that the floor would need to be raised. At this time, our installer offered on his own accord to try to add extra mud to the floor after he gets past the doorway as to not interfere with the door swing. In no way suggesting that he was going to raise his floor the full 4+ inches that it was pitched. Mr. ****** was happy with this solution and had our installer proceed per their conversation.
At this time Mr. ****** had every opportunity to stop the install before it was started and did not.
8/16/12 Mr. ****** calls our office and asks to speak with Mrs. ******. ****** ****** is the owner of Designer Floors. At the time of the call Mrs. ****** was not available. ******** our receptionist presented the message to ****** and asked that he please call Mr. ****** and let him know that Mrs. ****** was not available today. During there conversation ****** does not deny speaking to Mr. ****** about leveler. He does however adamantly deny telling Mr. ****** that ****** Tile was going to level his floor. He informed him that it was not in his contract and that from the begining we told him that we were not going to level it. This is why we referred him to T&D concrete at the begining. Mr. ****** then became irate, screaming at ******. At which time ****** informed Mr. ****** that Mrs ****** would be available tomorrow, and that he would have her call him. At that moment Mr. ****** accused ****** of threatening him. ****** defended himself by saying I'm not threatening you and ended the phone call by repeating that I will have Mrs. ****** call you tomorrow.
8/16/12 later in the day, Mr. ****** called Designer Floors again. ******** our receptionist answered the phone when Mr. ****** immediately attacked her, patronizing her, telling her that he did not leave the previous message for ******. Asking her why she had ****** call him back. Saying that ****** was rude and he felt threatened by him. Mr. ****** threatened to call the Sumter County Sheriff's Dept., insinuating that ****** had said something to him during the phone call that made him feel threatened. ******** immediately informed him that ****** sits right next to her and that she overheard the entire conversation on ******'s side. She then informed Mr. ****** that Mrs. ****** would be available tomorrow and she would have her call him.
8/17/12- ****** ****** calls Mr. ******. He informs her that he is not happy with ******. ****** apologizes for any misunderstanding that happened between him and ******. After which Mr. ****** raves about how good his tile install looks and couldn't say enough about how wonderful our installer was. He then tells ****** to have someone bring our invoice by and he will have a check waiting.
8/17/12-later that day, ****** sends someone out to Mr. ******'s home to pick up payment for the tile installtion. Upon arriving at Mr. ******'s home, Mr. ****** informed the employee that he has changed his mind. He thinks that he deserves a discount for ****** treating him poorly. Our employee left without confrontation. When the employee returned to the office without payment ****** called Mr. ****** back inquiring as to why he did not pay his bill. Per their last conversation everything was ok and we were told to have someone bring out the invoice for payment. He then proceeds to reiterate to ****** his prior complaints about ******. ****** informs him that his job was completed according to the contract, and that we needed him to pay his bill. Mr. ****** then informs ****** that there are no payment terms on our invoice and he can take as long as he wants to pay the bill and there is nothing we can do about it. ****** informed him that she did not appreciate him playing games and having us send another employee out when he had no intention of paying the bill. She also informed him that it is our companies policy that if there is a discrepancy of any kind with an install that we file a labor and material lien. She then advised him that she would review everything with***** ******.

After reviewing all of the information and having a meeting with all parties involved with the install at Mr. ******'s home. It has been determined by ****** Tile that we have met all contractual obligations.

Mr. ********* bid from T&D concrete to level his floor was $2,125.14 (I asked T&D for the quote)
****** Tile's bid to tile his floor was $2,733.00

For a grand total of $4,858.14

If ****** Tile had agreed to level his floor. We would have then contracted T&D to do the work and he would have been presented a proposal in the amount of $4,858.14

There is no reasonable way that after receiving a price from T&D Concrete of that magnitude that Mr. ****** could have thought that our price for tile installation could have included the leveling of his floor. Mr. ****** was not charged for leveling his floor. Therefore we feel that there is no discount due.

****** Tile has been in business in this area for over 30 years. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. That being said, This is the reason that we do everything in writing. We stand by our contract with Mr. ******. At this point in time our contract has been fulfilled and Mr. ****** owes the balance due on his invoice.


****** L ******
President,***** ****** Tile

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not accused T&D nor the installer of telling "lies". My position throughout has been that the salesperson misrepresented and made false assurances of product and services to be provided, up to and including the referencing of "underlayment" on the contract as assurance that a leveling compound would be used to address the slant/pitch of the floor. The effective "bait and switch" type of business conduct, and the rude, insensitive actions by ****** Tile and its agents should not be condoned or tolerated.

Business' Final Response
I stand behind my employees. No amount of name calling by Mr ****** will change his contract.

According to Mr ****** T&D tells lies, my salesman tells lies, my installer tells lies and my management tells lies.

Mr ****** signed a contract for the work that was performed at his home. This work was completed per contract. I have not received any complaints about the work that he was charged for. The complaint is that the floor was not level. Mr ****** was neither quoted nor charged for his floor to be leveled. He was, as was already stated, referred to T&D Concrete to do the leveling. He chose not to do so.




Thank you,

****** L ******
President,***** ****** Tile

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - Flooring, Vinyl Flooring, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/16/2010Business started: 01/01/1985Business started locally: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1986, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carol L. Nickel (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Laurie Nickel (Customer Service)
Business Category

Contractors - Flooring, Vinyl Flooring, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Alternate Business Names
Nickel Tile, Inc. of Ocala

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fred Nickel Tile, Inc.

9200 SE Highway 441

Ocala, FL 34480-8212

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 9200 SE Highway 441 

    Ocala, FL 34480-8212

  • 1067 Canal St. 

    The Villages, FL 32162

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fred Nickel Tile, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (352) 259-5800
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - Flooring

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.