BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/25/2001

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are a local remodeling and repair company providing residential and commercial services since 1999.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/25/2001

BBB has determined that The Handyman Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised The Handyman Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
08/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: We paid The Handyman Co.to lay kitchen countertop. 1st tech never completed the job, the 2nd had to tear up the work the 1st did but didn't finish job
We contracted with The Handyman Company on 4/3/13 to build a kitchen countertop. We bought all the supplies and the technician started he job on 4/4/13. After he started working on it he gave us a completion date of 4/6/13. We paid him the $1050 fee (by check)in full assuming it would be completed as stated. The following week we called him several times to say that the work hadn't been completed and we wanted to know when we could expect him back. He kept saying that he would be there the next day. Well on 4/11/13 he hadn't made any progress on completing the project so we called the Orlando manager (****). He apologized and agreed to send someone else out. So the second technician arrived and agreed that not only was the job not complete, but it was done so badly that it needed to be completely ripped up. The counter the first tech had laid was uneven and some of the tiles he laid were cracked. We questioned the second technician about whether it all had to be torn up and he showed us the damage. He talked to his manager and agreed that the company would reimburse us for the approximately $400 in new materials that we needed to purchase to redo the work. Unfortunately the second technician was very rude and the day that he told us the job would be completed he abruptly left several hours early and didn't complete the job. We called the Orlando manager (****) again and explained the situation. We told him we wanted the $1050 that we had paid back and the $396.12 we had paid for replacement materials and that we would need to find another company to complete the job. At first the manager agreed, later he called and said he would pay part of it, but he ultimately hasn't paid us anything.

Business' Initial Response
7/8/13
BBB CASE#:*********
We regret that we were not able to resolve this matter with Mr ******. In good faith, we have already offered to pay Mr. ****** $1050. Although we dispute some of the claims made in the complaint, we realize the purpose of this is to find a common ground resolution. We feel that $1050 was very fair considering the circumstances.

There were existing conditions that lead to some the problems with the original countertop that the customer was aware of. (Cabinets installed by others were not level and needed to be cut down for tops to sit level). There were a few other contractors working that made it difficult for us to accomplish our job, which is why our second technician left the job.

We were more than willing to go back and complete the job, even though we didn't feel that it was entirely our fault. We also feel that we made the necessary repairs to the cabinets to allow for the proper installation of the countertops.

We are still prepared to offer $1050 as a refund to resolve this. We will require a signed full release document be executed upon the refund being issued.

Best regards,

***********
Vice President
The Handyman Company
407-********

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We do not accept the response from the business. They are willing to refund their labor fee, but the incompetence demonstrated by both of their "handymen" also cost us $450 in supplies that we had to buy a second time to have a third party actually do the job. We also had to have the unit cleaned after the 2nd "handyman" decided to cut tile INSIDE the unit because he couldn't set up his table close enough outside. We also lost rental income because this issue took several days to resolve. We're not even asking for the cleaning fee or the lost rental income. This cost us thousands more than the additional $450 we are seeking.
Their first "handyman" had no idea what he was doing, but was only too ***** to hand me business cards for his "side business" even as he was messing up this job. When we found the counter issue, he dodged our efforts to reach him for a repair for over a week. We finally got frustrated and called the home office. They sent out a second "handyman" who should have just repaired the one area in question, instead insisting that the whole job be undone. This is why we had to buy a second full set of materials.
This person had no regard for the environment he was working in. During the demolition of the first job, the second "handyman" hacked away so hard at the tile, he sent pieces of it flying across a recently refinished and repainted wall, denting it in several places. He trashed our kitchen, leaving tile chips all over the floor. He was also extremely vulgar. His first words to me when he arrived an hour and a half after the time he promised to be there were "You must be (my wife's name) husband. Where the **** do I park? Can your crew move their ***** van so I can ****** park?" I should have sent him on his way then, but decided to give him a chance. He was rude, vulgar and did not fulfill his promise to have the job done the same day. He told three different people (my wife, someone who works for us, and myself) that he would have the job done in 8 hours. He worked a 3 and a half hour day and quit. He brought his wife along on the job as well. All she did was eat a sandwich and stand guard at the door for when anyone showed up to check on him. They packed up their tools at 1:45 and left. When I called him out on this, he said to me "It's ****** Saturday. I'm outta here." They left a dusty mess behind all over the unit, as well as grout and tile bits all over the kitchen and adjoining dining room floors that we had to clean. He made NO effort to clean up. It was the second "handyman" who decided the whole kitchen counter needed to be redone, destroyed it without our final consent, and why we have the additional expense of $450 in replacement tile and materials.
We find the company's response wholly unacceptable. I will never do business with this company again.

Business' Final Response
We have resolved this situation with Mr. ******. We regret that it took this long to come to an amicable agreement. Thank you for your help in this process.

Best Regards,
*********** * Vice President
(Ph): ************
www.the-handyman-company.com

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Job work has not been start as per contract/agreement.
I paid $400.00 deposit on May 23, 2013 for installing two window on May 26 & 27 2013. No one came and no one bother to call.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******, VP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@verizon.net
6/24/13
BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX
We would like to sincerely apologize to Mr. ******** for the events that took place. We did agree to do his project, May 26 and 27th, over the Memorial Day weekend holiday. Unfortunately, the craftsman we assigned hurt his back and was unable to do perform the work on those days. With the office being closed for the holiday weekend, we were not able to contact our customer to let him know in advance of this injury happening, nor were we able to send another employee over to do the work. . The craftsman we assigned did reach out to the customer to let him know he wouldn't be able to do the work on due to an injury.

We did attempt to reschedule with Mr. ******** for the following week. We were available and scheduled to start the job of 5/31 per his request. It was agreed upon that morning that we would provide a full refund to Mr. ******** and he was going to hire another company to do the work. Again we are sorry for any delays or inconveniences caused on our part. Please accept my sincerely apology.

Best regards,

*** *******
Vice President
The Handyman Company
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, On May 26th your craftsman did not call to let me know about his Injury.
Second, On May 31st your craftsman supposed to come 8.30 am and he call around 10.00 am about his vehicle.
Third, I was agreed to get full refund with damage and Interest only.
Forth, I did not receive my refund (with out damage and interest) until June 5th. SO you use my money for almost two week.
I am still seeking my two week of Interest and damage of my canceling long weekend vacation with family
SOFAR, YOU, YOUR CRAFTSMAN AND YOUR COMPANY HAV NOT KEEP ANY OF PROMISES YOU MADE ON THE PHONE AND CONTRACT AGREEMENT.
I will never trust, hire or recommend The Handyman Company...

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Bathroom Remodeling, Remodeling Services, Handyman Services, Drywall Contractors, Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 11/01/1999Business started locally: 03/01/2001
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of CRC1329498 for this company. Certified Residential Contractor.

Type: Certified Residential Contractor

BBB records show a license number of CBC1258366 for this company. Certified Building Contractor.

Type: Certified Building Contractor

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1999, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Smith (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Rob Gardner (Vice President)Mr. Paul Indomenico (Manager)Ms. Tracy Lee (Customer Service)
Business Category

Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Bathroom Remodeling, Remodeling Services, Handyman Services, Drywall Contractors, Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractors - General

Products & Services

This company offers handyman serves, general contractor services, bath remodels, tile and drywall.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 03:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

We have a one year guarantee on our workmanship.

Service Area

Our Orlando branch serves the following communities: Altamonte Springs, Casselberry, Longwood, Sanford, Lake Mary, Celebration, Lake County, Four Corners, Kissimmee, St. Cloud, Osceola County, Lake County, Seminole County, Lake Buena Vista, Azalea Park, Clermont, Conway, Oviedo, Winter Haven, Winter Park, Winter Springs, Mount Dora, Leesburg, Ocoee, Orange County and Polk County.

Alternate Business Names
R & R Smith Enterprises Inc
Industry Tips
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Handyman Company

4407 Parkbreeze Court

Orlando, FL 32808-1021

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1600 Sarno Rd. #119G 

    Melbourne, FL 32935(321) 800-5005

  • 4407 Parkbreeze Court 

    Orlando, FL 32808-1021(800) 931-1106
    (407) 374-2228

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Handyman Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 931-1106
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractor - Remodel & Repair

BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.