BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/12/2015

Summerfield Builders, Inc.

Phone: (352) 425-3172Fax: (352) 307-826217511 SE 106th Ter, SummerfieldFL 34491-6946 Send email to Summerfield Builders, Inc.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/12/2015

BBB has determined that Summerfield Builders, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Summerfield Builders, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Summerfield Builders, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bill Welch, owner, took a deposit for building a utility room, to begin on Aug.10,2015. Contract was signed on July 30, 2015 Didn't show up.
We have a contract signed by Summerfield Builders to build a utility room, signed on July 30,2015 and verbally agreed to start Aug 10th. We paid a deposit of $1,100.00. When didn't show up on 10th or 11th I called and left message (2 x). He emailed us back and said would start that week. Didn't come, call us back or answer any e-mails. It is now August 24th and still no show. We have copies of emails and documented phone call dates, if needed. All we won't now is our deposit back since he doesn't seem reliable. We are senior citizens and feel he is trying to exploit us.
Please help us.

Desired Settlement
Since he won't even call or email us and it is now over 30 days since we first contacted him, we feel he has disrespected us and we have no confidence in him. He also took a piece of siding off our house to match for the utility room. We want that back and the deposit of $1,100.00. No one should be treated like this. Even a phone call would have been nice.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Bill Welch
Contact Phone: 3524253172
Contact Email: Billwelch.albany@gmail.com
Mr.******,
Please accept my apologies for not having any contact, I have been under medical care for a virus that had effected my mobility and hearing. I was released from care on Monday 8/31. I will be getting hearing aids on 9/2 so that I may communicate by phone. I have already purchased roof pans and concrete. The roof pans were custom made to order. Please give me the opportunity to build your shed, I do not do business this way. This is strictly health related and scary.I expect to be back to work on 9/9. I will call you on 9/2. I will state that we only signed the contract on the last day of July and you where going away. Our conversation did include that I was busy and your shed would be something I could slide in. My wife tried to contact all my customers, but your contract was in my truck. Again I ask that you allow me complete your shed and I am very sorry about the misunderstanding.
Thank you,
Bill Welch Summerfield Builders

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Bill welch did call and explain a problem. He did come to our house on the Sept 9th for a few hours with a helper and install a form for concrete. before he left said he would talk to his concrete man that night and get back to us on the 10th no call.no show on the 11th. emailed on the 11th no response. bill welch said he is a man of his words we are not to sure of that yet. we do not want to drop this complaint yet, because we are not sure this job will ever get completed by him.

Final Consumer Response
We would like to dismiss the complaint against Bill Welch of Summerfield Builders Inc. He has completed the job as of 9/16/15 to our satisfaction .thanks

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Construction & Remodeling Services, Kitchen and Bath Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Windows - Installation & Service, Garage Builders, Windows, Doors, Doors - Installation, Remodeling Services, Home Improvements - Additions, Patio & Deck Builders, Patio Builder

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/14/2012Business started: 10/09/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of CRC1329918 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Certified Residential Contractor

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2008, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Welch (Secretary)Ms. Donna Welch (President)
Business Category

Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Construction & Remodeling Services, Kitchen and Bath Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Windows - Installation & Service, Garage Builders, Windows, Doors, Doors - Installation, Remodeling Services, Home Improvements - Additions, Patio & Deck Builders, Patio Builder

Products & Services

This company offers residential remodeling and construction services.

Industry Tips
Construction Liens

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Summerfield Builders, Inc.

17511 SE 106th Ter

Summerfield, FL 34491-6946

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 17511 SE 106th Ter 

    Summerfield, FL 34491-6946

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Summerfield Builders, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractor - Remodel & Repair

Construction Liens
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.