BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

True Builders, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (863) 647-1800Fax: (863) 200-1250View Additional Phone Numbers3914 S Florida Ave, LakelandFL 33813-1114 Send email to True Builders, Inc.http://www.true-builders.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

True Builders, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for True Builders, Inc. include:

  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on True Builders, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 7 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
04/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The project was over delayed. After work was complete the problem was still not fixed.
The Problem date was July 16, 2014. Plumbers came detected the issue and required the $500 deductible. Once that was paid for it took over two weeks for the workers came. Once they contacted my adjuster and were informed that i had received it they called trying to get the check when the work was not even half way complete. I informed them I would not give them the whole amount until work was complete. I called my adjuster on September 9,2014 to inform her that it's about 2 months and the job is yet to be completed. They consistently kept adding charges that at the end I paid $1500.00 out of pocket and they received well over 10,000 for a bathroom remodel. very unprofessional. After work was completed on September 15, 2014 the issue was still not fixed on March 5, 2015 I seen there was still a leak and my ceiling had water stains again. Called and they came and said the problem was fixed. But on March 10, 2015 my kids were taking a bath and when I came downstairs there was a puddle of water on my floor and on my table. Called that same day and they came to fix it the following day to fix the issue it is March 26, 2015 and I still have a hole on my ceiling. I also have called several times to have the issue fixed and they have yet to send someone to patch up the hole. Very disappointed with is company very unprofessional. Will never do business with them again terrible customer service.

Desired Settlement
I feel I should be refunded the amount I paid due to delaying project. Also having issues after the job was completed. I feel I deserve compensation for time and money spent on utilities due to there machines to dry out the area again after it was supposedly fixed.

Final Consumer Response
The company came out and fixed the issues with no hesitation. Apologized for the inconvience and did whatever to make me a happy customer very satisfied.

06/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Improper assessment of concrete slab moisture content, leading to the improper installation of hardwood flooring.
We suffered a slab leak in our floor on Sept. 30, 2013. We had approximately 1500 sq. feet of hardwood flooring, baseboards and part the master bathroom damaged by the water.
We had *** come to the site as directed by ********** insurance. They removed the flooring in the entire home and began the dry-out process.

We then entered into an agreement with True Builders to redo the bathroom and wood floors/baseboards in the home except for bedrooms not affected. TB did estimate of the project and the insurance company did as well and a price was reached to do the job. I never saw TB estimate but was told there were somethings which would be higher than insurance provided and others lower and they would get all of the funds regardless of the actual costs.
As True Builders started to do the job they discovered the slab to be very damp and brought in their dehumidifiers and fans to re-dry what had already been dried once - thus they knew there was a moisture problem. (of course they were paid directly by the insurance company for this extra)
Prior to commencing the project we debated Floating the Floor or Gluing it down. They guaranteed we would not have a moisture problem if we glued it down. I have this in writing. They did not do a Calcium Carbide, Relative Humidity Test (drilling the slab) or a Calcium Chloride Test prior to commencing - just used there hand meters - which is not acceptable by the NHWFA. They selected a membrane/glue product to glue the floor down with which could not be used if the moisture was above 15%. The readings in our floor are much higher. A true water damage specialist or wood floor specialist would know this.

In December when we started to move in - yes 2 months to install 1500 square feet of wood - we noticed the wood was buckling and finished was not right. I have in writing from True Builders acknowledging there is a problem and they will fix it and stand by us. They would have the glue company come and test, a wood company come and test - neither of these has ever happened. Just a lot of promises, stalling and pressure to get paid.

We assisted them to help get them some of the insurance money, but put in writing our concerns. They threatened us with legal action and to sue of if we didn't give them the insurance money. As soon as they received their money - despite again in writing stating they won't leave us once they got paid - they have deserted us. Ten months has passed and there are still elements of the job not completed - put the granite counter top on backwards, and now we have mold, health issues and the entire floor needs to be re-done.

We hired a certified wood floor inspector to evaluate the slab, the wood and installation. True Builders has done nothing but taken the money and left us with a ruined home. Despite all of their promises in writing and verbal, they just walked away from their mistake.
Despite their nice website and all their claimed certifications they are not certified or experts in anything except sales. TB did not know the proper techniques for putting down hardwood floors. I hired them because they claimed to be moisture experts and state certified. Unfortunately they are not and thus they chose the wrong products for the job and we have ruined the wood floors.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking $40,000 so we can re-do the wood floors, walls and baseboards. This is what they were paid - plus we need to have the floor removed - which was not part of their original job, or the housing costs - we were out for 2 months last time to the tune of $6,000.
We do not want them to do the job again. It has been 10 months and we have lost faith in this company. Their claim of Christian ethics is laughable, almost as bad as their claim about being experts in water mitigation.
We would like to avoid litigation in this matter.

Business Response
Here are the facts about this case

1. The date of loss is from November . So it has been almost a complete year since the work was completed.
2. The moisture in the concrete was checked using a Tramax Concrete Encounter (model number CME-4). We found additional moisture in the slab showing 17% so we did an additional water mitigation and brought the concrete slab back to the dry standard of 4.5%. We have moisture readings and dry logs of the additional mitigation that we performed which was approved and paid in full by his insurance carrier Tower Hill Insurance.
3. After completion of the job we came to the home and did a visual inspection and there is no wood buckling.
4. Also the mortgage company came to home and did a FULL inspection of the work and found nothing to be wrong either. The mortgage company signed off on the insurance checks and sent us payment.
5. Mr.****** endorsed our completion form stating that all work was completed and that he was happy with it.
6. We discussed floating floors vs glue down application and choose the glue down application because the customer had his own choice of wood. Instead of ordering wood from our supplier he choose to order from his own distributor.
7. All products purchased by True Builders which includes top quality moisture resistant glue and the seal both carried their own warranty.
8. We filled a claim with both the glue manufacture and with his wood distributor and based off of our moisture readings before installation they both determined that the products were not defective and therefore there was no claim.
9. We believe that he has an additional problem which has nothing to do with the original leak that we were hired to mitigate. I have advised him several times that he needs to look into other issues that he may be having. There could be a couple of different issues occurring in his home.
We have continued to correspond with him and we have not left him high and dry. We have voiced our concerns and went out of our way to advise him on solutions for his problems but he has yet to do any of our suggestions.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not agree with their assessment.
1. I have asked True Builders for information on the glue claim. Nothing has been provided to me. no one from the glue company has come to the project at the request of True Builders and since they will not provide me with claim information I do not think they filed one.

2.I hired a certified wood floor inspector and installer to assess the situation. He tried contacting True Builders and they would not respond to him. His report found negligence in the installation.

3. I did the claim with the **************** company not True Builders. The floor is of superior quality.

4. The problem with the floors was pointed out before we ever moved back in to the home in Dec. of 2013. The problem is not from something that happened since, it happened when they first installed it and was pointed out to them immediately.

4. The mortgage company sent out someone to see if the project was complete, not an expert in anything. I have gotten his credentials from the outsourced company the mortgage company used - no wood flooring knowledge or experience. I did not state I was pleased I signed that an inspection had taken place. I have never received a written report from the mortgage company to sign off on after the report was written.

5. I have emails and text messages from Mr. T***** acknowledging the floor issues but now is claiming is no issue. Will be more than happy to produce those.

6. I will be more than happy to produce the documentation I gave them at each step stating there were issues. I was the fool who assisted them in getting funds paid, only to have them leave me.

7. Mr. T***** and I spoke three weeks ago, for the first time in more than four months and he was supposed to have someone come do soil samples - nothing.

8. True Builders did not do any of the normal testing to gauge the readiness of the slab. They dried it out a second time. No core drilling or normal tests a wood floor installer would do in such a situation.

9. They stated the found the slab at 17% moisture. The glue they used had a 15% moisture maximum. They just provided the proof they did use the proper product. By the time they did the job the slab had regained the same moisture level, which exceeded the warranty on the glue - which is why no glue company has come to look at the claim (that they did not file.) I have asked for this information and is it not provided because it does not exist.

10. True Builders had the wood flooring the home for five days while the dried out the slab. No AC, humidifiers, blowers, fans and other machines cooking the slab - AND the WOOD. The wood was so dry when they put it down it sucked up the glue and the moisture. The problem was evident immediately, and was pointed out immediately.

I have included some of the text messages where Mr. T***** states he won't leave us and knows there is a problem. More where these came from.

Final Business Response
1. The glue manufacturing based of the information received that their material was not defective and therefore would not open a claim for this. We tried several times to get a claim open.
2. I have no record of being contacted by anyone but Mr.****** himself. How could you find negligence in our installation.
3. We called **************** company from the first day of the issue. Mr.****** initially said the floor had a different texture than the original floors and claimed the wood was faulty which started the whole investigation. We did try to make this claim with them as well but they stated that their floors were not defective.
4. The only problem that we were made aware of was that the texture of the wood was different which we explained that the original floors were floating and these were glue down.
4. He signed off stating that the job was complete and satisfactory.
5. Yes we were aware of the issues but we thought that the issues were either with the wood or with the glue.
6. We have never left him and we are still here working with him. He has never hired anyone to looking into other issues for example a sink hole or a pool leak.
7. We recommended that he needed to have the soil sampled but we do not do this. This was only a recommendation. This is another alternative to his real issue.
8. Not true. We responded to this last time. A Tramex concrete meter was used. We have sent pictures of these readings.
9. Yes we found that there was 17% moisture in the slab before we preformed our water mitigation. The concrete slab was at a dry standard of 5% or lower before the floors were installed. We have pictures of this also.
10. There is no problem with the product or the installation. He has secondary issues which he hasn't figured out yet.
Our Note-
He needs to hire someone to do a soil sample, pool leak detection and a sink hole inspection. We are not able to perform any of these and they need to be done by a third party in order to accurately to determine his problem. We have said this from the very beginning. We preformed 4 other services for him and he was extremely happy with us. This is not about our workmanship or the product. We feel very bad for him and are willing to help him but the correct problem must be established first.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
True Builders is clearly not going to stand behind their work and continues to dodge and duck the issues. They are proposing resolutions I have already done and found nothing wrong with my home, lot or foundation.

1. I have in now fewer than five email and text conversations that TB stated they had started a claim and someone would be coming to look at the floor. Now the story is no claim. Dishonest

2. I supplied them with the report from the certified wood floor inspector before and have re-sent it to them. He attempted to contact them. They can contact him now if the want to set the record straight. I am bringing him back out to drill my slab like TB should have done the first time to assess the true moisture content and its depth. Improper Testing for Wood Floor Installation - great for water not for wood floor. Incompetent

3. Please send me your claim number for **********. They requested samples of the wood be sent - you left all the product here. Again - more BS. They have never done a claim with **********. Dishonest

4 - I have told them from before we moved back in the texture of the wood had issues and have confirmation from one of their reps. I supplied it in writing to them on their letterhead. I have the copy of it. Dishonest

5. I will be more than happy to produce and did make copies on my original claim that I was not happy with the wood floors from the beginning. I helped them get their insurance money and then they left. I have the email from their office manager which states " the insurance company won't accept this with all of your writing on it". They are quite aware I am not and have not been happy. Dishonest

6. I have hired three different people to come to this property - which TB has not been to to assist in any way shape or form. I have *********************************** ************************ and a certified wood installer all at this property. I have worked with *****************, I solicted ****************** for advice and contacted ***** glue company to try and resolve this. TB has not assisted in any of these. As stated they have left me and provided no assistance. There is nothing wrong with my home or my lot - just with their work on the wood floors. Uncooperative

7. We need to have someone else test???
This is from their own website.
Accurate Leak Detection

If the water is finding a way to get out, we will certainly find a way to get in and identify the problem. With our state-of-the-art equipment and experience, we find all kinds of concealed leaks, no matter where in your plumbing they may be hiding.

Behind walls
Under concrete slabs and asphalt
Water intrusion in roofs

This is why I hired them since I had a water issue. Now they claim they can't do any of the tests needed. Incompetent and False Advertising

I am very happy with the four services I paid ADDITIONAL MONEY for. THOSE ITEMS ARE NOT WHAT MY CLAIM IS ABOUT. It is about replacing, refinishing or assisting with the wood floors you improperly installed with the insurance funds you received.

I want the money for the wood so I can put it down myself and be rid of this nightmare of a "Christian" company.

03/31/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/03/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Mold & Mildew Remediation, Mold & Mildew Inspection, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Leak Detection, Bathroom Remodeling, Building Restoration & Preservation, Kitchen Remodeling

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/20/2009Business started: 07/28/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395

Polk County Business Tax Receipt
P.O. Box 1189
Bartow, FL 33831-1189

BBB records show a license number of CBC1258346 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is

Type: Certified Building Contractor

BBB records show a license number of 119195 for this company, issued by Polk County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Issac Turpin (Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Mark Lever (Manager)
Related Businesses
True Plumbers Inc. - 3914 S Florida Ave, Lakeland, FL
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services, Mold & Mildew Remediation, Mold & Mildew Inspection, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Leak Detection, Bathroom Remodeling, Building Restoration & Preservation, Kitchen Remodeling

Products & Services

This company offers Certified Building Contractor services for water damage restoration, fire restoration, mold remediation, leak detection, kitchen and bath remodeling services.

Hours of Operation

7 Days a week and 24 Hours a day

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for True Builders, Inc.

3914 S Florida Ave

Lakeland, FL 33813-1114

To | From


4 Locations

  • 349 Ashley Dr 

    Haines City, FL 33844-6355

  • 3914 S Florida Ave 

    Lakeland, FL 33813-1114

  • 7627 Stoney Hill Dr 

    Wesley Chapel, FL 33545-7051

  • 515 Reddicks Cir 

    Winter Haven, FL 33884-3405(863) 299-2750
    Fax: (863) 200-1250

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*True Builders, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (813) 383-3522
  • (855) 349-8447

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.