BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1994

Kellyco Metal Detectors Distributors

Phone: (407) 699-8700Fax: (407) 695-6671View Additional Phone Numbers1085 Belle Ave, Winter SpringsFL 32708-2961 Send email to Kellyco Metal Detectors DistributorsView Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1994

BBB has determined that Kellyco Metal Detectors Distributors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Kellyco Metal Detectors Distributors' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Kellyco Metal Detectors Distributors

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
03/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sent: Tuesday, March 18, XXXX X:XX PM
To: '************************s.com'
Cc: '**********************s.com'
Subject: Correspondence sent through BBB Website



.

Customer Information:
Name: ******* *********
Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
E-mail: ***************@gmail.com
City: *********
State: nv
Zip: XXXXX

Preferred Time to be Contacted:

Description of Product or Service Needed:

I recently made an order , # SOXXXXXXX . The order was shipped missing items that replaced by lesser value items, when I called the woman on the phone was defensive and not kind. 2nd the first time I went out to use the detector the batteries died in less than 2 min. when checked their were 2 duracell and 2 energizer batteries. The unit looked used and clearly was, And I was charged full price, AND did not receive all my items. Lastsly the imitation ***** **** knife broke the moment I tried to use it. very cheap itmes and substituting items for LESSER valus items is baad business , especcially when you try to pass itemes with used / dead batteries. I am in the *** and a local ***** *********** ***** I Intend to make well known of the poor quality and poor customer service of KELLYCO

Found the RAQ form: ****** ****** Result

*******

This request is for: a Home

The customer would like to receive:
Note: Please, do not respond to this automated email, please respond to the customer directly.
Business that will receive this message:

Kellyco Metal Detectors Distributors

Desired Settlement
See Above

Business Response
I spoke with Mr. ********* and did research on the detector that he received. It was not used but it had been used to show in our showroom. I did offer to pickup the one he received and send a new one but he said he didn't feel that was necessary. I am sending him a new knife, batteries to replace the ones that were bad in the detector and a *********** carry bag. The batteries are generally put in the detector by the manufacturer not by Kellyco although 2 might have been replaced. I have no way of knowing for sure. Mr. ********* is to let me know how his detector is working when he has the opportunity to use it and if there are any problems it will be replaced. Mr. ********* was very pleasant to talk to and I am sorry for any problem he experienced and let him know. We are trying to determine who he spoke with initially because that should not have happened and I am sorry that someone here had that attitude.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to give correct calculations of savings on most of equipment sales on website
I tried to figure out the strange price calculations made by this company on their web site. For example : if you will go to the following web page : http://www.kellycodetectors.com/metaldetectors/topgold/
then making calculations of the retail price compare to the "price now" taking in consideration the % of saving - then you will notice that almost all calculations are wrong !!! wrong in a way that is highly discriminating the costumer !!!!!
For example garret AT gold metal detector retail price is 799.95$, after a saving of 45% the price advertised is 675.95$, my calculation shows that the correct price should be 439.95$.
Almost all calculations are wrong in this web site.

Desired Settlement
Would like to get one detector fisher gold bug 2 pro with 2 coils + all free accessories as promised 999.99$ retail price with a saving of 46 % - will due 540$.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@kellycodetectors.com
I do apologize for any misunderstanding when reading the amount of money that is deducted. One of the things we send customers that ask about this is:

Thank you for your question/concern. The savings is based off the retail value of the detector plus the retail value of the free accessories that's included

Example: The Garrett Ace 350 Holiday Pack
* Retail Price: $399.95
* Free Accessory value: $308
* Total value: $707.95

You only pay $339.96

The deduction is based on the total cost of the package and not just the metal detector since other items are included in the package.

If there are any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact me. I look forward to hearing from you in the future.

11/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Kellyco sent an incomplete order and lied to me. Will not pick up and fully refund my money also as promised. They practice bait and switch , very dis
I called Kellyco to give them the opportunity to have my business since I have purchased from them before. They advertise that they will beat any competitors prices by %120. I dealt with ***** ******** and offered to send him an email showing the metel detector bundle I was interested in, he said after telling him where it was on the net that he could do that with the exception of a metal sand scoop. He said they did not sell that brand but would include a similar product. I wanted to buy from Kellyco since my last transaction was very satisfactory. I agreed to purchase Kellyco's bundle. When the box came , I found I was missing 2 key items , I called to see if another box was coming. They said no. I talked with ***** ******** and he said they could not include the scoop but would agree to send headphones. I was not happy with that because the scoop was very important to me. I told ***** ******* I was not happy about that and I feel deceived and I would like to return the shipment, would he please send a pick up . He said he was sorry about it and would send a pickup . Now three days later I sent him an email asking about the pick up. He said read the return agreement.
The return agreement subtracts shipping charges and I will have to pay for the return . I feel this has been a very dishonest transaction. I am actually afraid to return the items.

Desired Settlement
Please send me a metal sand scoop and headphones as agreed , or a Full refund with no cost to me.

Business Response
We are sorry for the problems Ms ******** experienced. I have contacted her and given her the choice of returning the detector at no cost to her or she could have the items she wanted. She preffered the items. We have already sent the metal scoop and headphones that she wanted with her order. The individual that had the order has now been told how to handle a situation like this in the future so that it doesn't happen again. I will contact Ms ******** in a few days and be sure she has received the order and that all is ok.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/01/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Kelly Co took 7 months to replace parts on warranty and provided faulty replacement parts that do not work as original equipment.
Bought a metal detector on 03-22-11, the joystick and cord stopped working in 03/2012. I had a difficult time in getting them to replace parts which finally arrived in 10-2012. I also bought a extra set for $344.09 out of pocket to ensure that on lengthy trips I would have replacements. I immediately tested my equipment with targets to ensure it could reach the depth of 2ft - 5ft and the replacement parts DO NOT reach the target as the original equipment purchased. I have tried several times to get a hold of **** *** to respond with no response via email, or leaves me on extended holds when calling without pickup. I have spoken to several employees but have not received any assistance. This unit cost $6595 and is useless without the proper replacements that are of the same quality as the original equipment.

Desired Settlement
I want 2 sets of replacement parts - 1 set covered under warranty and 1 replacement for the items I purchased. I want the same quality (depth obtainment) of items that were on the original piece of equipment I purchased. I will gladly return the 2 sets of items that were sent.

Business Response
We are prepared to help *** ******** and we have had a salesman call him today. Unfortunately, the person ***** he has been trying to reach has not been here since the beginning of August. The product that he purchased is manufactured in Turkey and that is the reason it can take a longer period of time to get the parts when they are ordered. We have exchanged his detector in the past and sent parts as needed although not as quickly as one would like. Again, we have to wait for the parts to arrive from Turkey and include the cost of shipping a small single item as opposed to a larger order when everything goes out at once.

After speaking with him today we have offered him several option so that we can order the parts that he needs for his machine so that he can continue to use it without any problems. At this time he will call us back as he is not sure exactly what he wants or think he needs.

I am sorry I did not answer sooner but I was out of town.

If you need further information, please let me know.

******** *********
******** ********* to the *********

06/03/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not have part of a package in stock, sent credit but credit does not satisfy
I bought a metal detector package from this company through their Ebay store. Part of the package was out of stock so they sent me a credit. Upon looking at their website I learned that shipping would be nearly as much as the credit I got to replace the part of the package deal that was out of stock. I have sent them several emails over the past 2 months and got ZERO response from them. I purposly bought from this company because if I ever had a problem I could have it serviced through them instead of the manufacturer.

Desired Settlement
The coin pouch apron that was not included in the package should be sent to me free of charge. I did get a credit for them not having that item in stock. seeing on their website it would cost me over $8 dollars to ship it basically would negate the credit I got. It would cost me more money to replace the missing item than it was worth, yet I got charged full price when I purchased from their Ebay store. I would like the item to be sent to me free without being charged shipping, or they can send me a check for that missing item. I have tried to contact them several times before coming here and I am starting to think that their poor customer service is a reflection of how they handle their business. The item in question is "2 Pocket Coin Pouch/Apron w/ Thin Pocket for Probes" which they are selling for $7.95 and I would like this shipped to me for free with an apology for NEVER responding back or a check as a refund for that item since I paid full price on the package deal, along with an apology for terrible customer service and ignoring me attempts to contact them.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@kellycodetectors.com
I just heard that you contacted the BBB and I am so terribly sorry that I did not reach you earlier but due to a problem with my computer system I did not receive the email until today.
I will be happy to send you a coin pouch and, of course, there will be no charge. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me and once again, my apologies for not answering sooner. They are working on my system so that I do not miss any other messages.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 2
04/11/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mislead on true capabilities of this detector and on the 100% satisfaction guarantee on all detectors. $7,800 for a pile of JUNK!
Their advertisement had me believing that there was 100% satisfaction guarantee on all detectors,it wasn't until the small print on a back page did they tell me otherwise.The ad also made claims of unlimited depth which turned out to be nine meters. The true capabilities of this device is quite over rated and a joke. If this device had any merit it would retain a value worthy of a refund and not just being passed off for financial gain at consumer expense. the order #XXX-XXXXXXXXX ITEM#********* price is $7,672.53 They advertise this detector on their page along with many other brands but don't stand behind this one, would like to know why? Paid for with a credit card

Desired Settlement
Simply an other detector of my choice plus refund minus what is fair for both parties. I am not unreasonable, Just want to be treated fair

Business' Initial Response
The detector was purchased on September 11, 2012 and Mr. ****** did contact us on 10/01/2012 and we confirmed that there are no returns on professional equipment. On our website it clearly states under our return policy that the returns "Excludes these non-refundable products including OKM, Nokta, GPX models, Tesoros and other Treasure Hunting devices". Nowhere do we state that the detector has unlimited depth but if Mr. ****** found an object at 29 feet, as he says then I would say that is great depth. Up until this time I do not find any evidence that Mr. ******* contacted us at any other time. Making an exception for Mr. ******, if the detector is still in new condition, we would certainly be willing to work with him with a 30% restocking fee since the detector is used and must be resold as such. This is, of course under the assumption that the detector has not been damaged in any way and is in working condition.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all I would not have even purchased this detector in the first place if they would have mentioned the digging procedure associated with this device. It in itself would take great physical strength and or tractor. Since neither one is a great option, not to mention environmental impact of having to dig 4'x 10' rectangle hole + what ever depth I would need. that is to much! Have many other facts of the short comings this product has!!! There for I believe they should give me a different detector of equal value to the restocking charges and my 70% refund ,and i ****** pay shipping of my choice on both items returned and received!!!! The detector still functions as I received it, not that I would say it works, but does operate as manufacture intended. THANKS Could you imagine if I found an object at 29' the pile of dirt would be TRUCK LOADS OF DIRT 4'x 10'x 29'

Business' Final Response
I apologize for assuming that you dug so deep but I knew that when you purchased the detector you were interested in the depth of the machine and believed that was what you were referring to in your description of the metal detector when you wrote that it did not have unlimited depth but turned out to have only 9 Meters (29 Feet) of depth.

Unfortunately, the detector has been used and we can only sell it as used equipment. We generally do not make refunds on these models but under the circumstances we felt we wanted to offer the best deal that we could. Since this is now a used machine, our original offer stands.

You are welcome to contact us for a Return Authorization Number so that you may return the detector at your convenience within the next 2 weeks and we can refund the balance of the money that you ****** receive.

11/07/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/15/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Commercial Products Wholesale & Distributor, Metal Detecting Equipment

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 01/01/1953
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Seminole County Occupational License

BBB records show a license number of 124661 for this company, issued by Seminole County Occupational License.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Stuart Auerbach (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Margaret Schellang Mr John Fetner (Vice President)
Business Category

Commercial Products Wholesale & Distributor, Metal Detecting Equipment

Products & Services

This company offers Metal Detectors.

Alternate Business Names
Kellyco, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kellyco Metal Detectors Distributors

1085 Belle Ave

Winter Springs, FL 32708-2961

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1085 Belle Ave 

    Winter Springs, FL 32708-2961(888) 535-5926
    Fax: (407) 695-6671

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kellyco Metal Detectors Distributors is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (407) 695-7700
  • (888) 535-5926
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Commercial Products Wholesale & Distributor

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.