BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1994

Kellyco Metal Detectors Distributors

Phone: (407) 699-8700Fax: (407) 695-6671View Additional Phone Numbers1085 Belle Ave, Winter SpringsFL 32708-2961 Send email to Kellyco Metal Detectors DistributorsView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1994

BBB has determined that Kellyco Metal Detectors Distributors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Kellyco Metal Detectors Distributors' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Kellyco Metal Detectors Distributors

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
09/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Receiving a metal detector that was not in working condition. Was told to send it to manufacture instead of it being replaced or refunded.
I purchased a Headhunter pirate metal detector from Kelly co on 3/10/2015. When it first came the batteries were dead but I replaced them myself and went out to detect. With the first time of use it began to chatter in the water. After about an hour of this it turned to constant chatter. I called Kelly co and was directed to several different people before speaking to the right person. I was then told it was the sensitivity on the machine. I let the man know that this Headhunter Pirate did not have a sensitivity knob on it. He said I would have to open up the head phones and adjust it. (Now im new to detecting but know I shouldn't have to mess with any wiring. It even says if I want to return it that the wiring cant be messed with on their site.) So I ask if I can send it in and was told I would have to send it to the manufacture. So I sent The metal detector to ************ whom is the main manufacture and received it back about a week later. The ticket that was sent back said they had replaced a faulty coil. (So Kelly co sent me a machine with a bad coil. Which I was told it was brand new at time of purchase). Now I went out again with my machine a few weeks ago and again as soon as I got in the water the machine started chirping loud again. At this point I called Kelly co to just get my $280 dollars back for a machine that clearly was broken and they tell me its been over a month nothing we can do sorry. So here I am out $280 dollars for a machine that didn't even make it past the first month. It is of now this date 5/28/15 sitting at ************ waiting to be fixed for the second time. I have also written three product complaints on their website under the product review section and not one of them has shown up. It seems they only allow the good reviews so people will buy it. I have documentation on film of me writing one of these reviews and sending after the first two did not get posted. But still my review never showed. Now I am new to metal detecting and this was my first ever purchase of a detector. I feel when the guy I spoke with from Kelly co found this out he took advantage by telling me to send it to the manufacture to be fixed instead of asking for a refund or a new machine. I have downloaded a picture of the purchase and a picture from the manufacture saying it was a faulty coil.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund or the equivalent for being sold a machine that was not working properly. I bought this machine to make money yet have spent more money sending it up to New York to be fixed twice now.

I also would like a review of your product review section. I bought this product based on reviews by others. But seeing that three of my reviews never got posted, I wonder how many other voices are not being herd about a product being faulty.

A company should not choose to post only the good reviews. That's just bad business and doesn't give people a better outlook on if the product being sold is right for them.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Andrea C*******
Contact Phone: 407-699-8700 ext****
Contact Email:**********
We at Kellyco do apologize for any inconvenience that Mr. **** feels like he has went through. I was not able to locate any transaction or phone call where a sales rep here at Kellyco spoke with Mr. ****, but he can give us a call and we will set up a return to replace the said defective unit or issue him store credit for the item. He can speak to any sales rep and they will be able to assist him from there.

Consumer Response
I have reached out to this business because they agreed to exchange for a new product, but are not returning my calls. I would like to keep this issue open until they resolve what they said they would do. So far no luck. Should I hire an attorney???

Final Business Response
Kellyco is more than happy to resolve Mr. ****** ****'s issue. We've run into a number of problems just trying to find the order in question because it was placed under just the name "*******" with no last name and the only way we found it was based on the address on the BBB complaint. As it turns out we found two separate customer records associated with the address on the complaint and neither are ****** **** (********** ******* *******, ********** ********* ****.
The credit card used on the sale in question was under the name "********* ****". Company policy is we do not refund someone money for a defective machine whose name is not on the original sales order or credit card used in purchase. We also record all of our phone calls and have not found any from the number we have on the customer record which is ************. Considering this complaint dates back to May and our recording system only stores the calls for 3 months due to the space it requires could be the reason why we cannot find the calls.
Concerning Kellyco sending Mr **** and machine with a defective coil. We are not the manufacturer and expect performance and quality control to be done by the manufacturer. the machine sent to the customer was a new unit.
As far as the reviews are concerned, I contacted our web department and they found two reviews, his first review was on 4/10/15 under the name ****** ****. On the review page it clearly states "Write a review for the Headhunter Pirate" and he proceeds to bash Kellyco in the review. This section of our website is not a "bash Kellyco" section so that's one of the reasons the review was rejected, if you need a copy of the review it can be provided. We also could not find an order for that unit under the name ****** ****, ***** **** or *** **** in our system as purchasing the unit from Kellyco which was another reason for the rejection. His second review was on 4/18/15 on the Minelab Excalibur. That review was rejected because once again we have no record of him purchasing the Minelab Excalibur from us. In such cases we have no proof that the machine being reviewed is not second hand or a counterfeit so such reviews are rejected.
As I stated at the beginning of my response, Kellyco is more than happy to resolve this issue with Mr. ****. He can contact me directly via email at ******* and we will issue a Return Merchandise Authorization and upon receiving the unit and processing the return we will issue a full refund back to the original card it was purchased with.

Gene K*****
Director of International
and Domestic Sales
Kellyco Metal Detectors

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will email Gene K***** instead of call the company this time and hopefully things will be taken care of.

03/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Sent: Tuesday, March 18, XXXX X:XX PM
To: '************************'
Cc: '**********************'
Subject: Correspondence sent through BBB Website


Customer Information:
Name: ******* *********
E-mail: ***************
City: *********
State: nv

Preferred Time to be Contacted:

Description of Product or Service Needed:

I recently made an order , # SOXXXXXXX . The order was shipped missing items that replaced by lesser value items, when I called the woman on the phone was defensive and not kind. 2nd the first time I went out to use the detector the batteries died in less than 2 min. when checked their were 2 duracell and 2 energizer batteries. The unit looked used and clearly was, And I was charged full price, AND did not receive all my items. Lastsly the imitation ***** **** knife broke the moment I tried to use it. very cheap itmes and substituting items for LESSER valus items is baad business , especcially when you try to pass itemes with used / dead batteries. I am in the *** and a local ***** *********** ***** I Intend to make well known of the poor quality and poor customer service of KELLYCO

Found the RAQ form: ****** ****** Result


This request is for: a Home

The customer would like to receive:
Note: Please, do not respond to this automated email, please respond to the customer directly.
Business that will receive this message:

Kellyco Metal Detectors Distributors

Desired Settlement
See Above

Business Response
I spoke with Mr. ********* and did research on the detector that he received. It was not used but it had been used to show in our showroom. I did offer to pickup the one he received and send a new one but he said he didn't feel that was necessary. I am sending him a new knife, batteries to replace the ones that were bad in the detector and a *********** carry bag. The batteries are generally put in the detector by the manufacturer not by Kellyco although 2 might have been replaced. I have no way of knowing for sure. Mr. ********* is to let me know how his detector is working when he has the opportunity to use it and if there are any problems it will be replaced. Mr. ********* was very pleasant to talk to and I am sorry for any problem he experienced and let him know. We are trying to determine who he spoke with initially because that should not have happened and I am sorry that someone here had that attitude.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Kellyco sent an incomplete order and lied to me. Will not pick up and fully refund my money also as promised. They practice bait and switch , very dis
I called Kellyco to give them the opportunity to have my business since I have purchased from them before. They advertise that they will beat any competitors prices by %120. I dealt with ***** ******** and offered to send him an email showing the metel detector bundle I was interested in, he said after telling him where it was on the net that he could do that with the exception of a metal sand scoop. He said they did not sell that brand but would include a similar product. I wanted to buy from Kellyco since my last transaction was very satisfactory. I agreed to purchase Kellyco's bundle. When the box came , I found I was missing 2 key items , I called to see if another box was coming. They said no. I talked with ***** ******** and he said they could not include the scoop but would agree to send headphones. I was not happy with that because the scoop was very important to me. I told ***** ******* I was not happy about that and I feel deceived and I would like to return the shipment, would he please send a pick up . He said he was sorry about it and would send a pickup . Now three days later I sent him an email asking about the pick up. He said read the return agreement.
The return agreement subtracts shipping charges and I will have to pay for the return . I feel this has been a very dishonest transaction. I am actually afraid to return the items.

Desired Settlement
Please send me a metal sand scoop and headphones as agreed , or a Full refund with no cost to me.

Business Response
We are sorry for the problems Ms ******** experienced. I have contacted her and given her the choice of returning the detector at no cost to her or she could have the items she wanted. She preffered the items. We have already sent the metal scoop and headphones that she wanted with her order. The individual that had the order has now been told how to handle a situation like this in the future so that it doesn't happen again. I will contact Ms ******** in a few days and be sure she has received the order and that all is ok.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/03/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Did not have part of a package in stock, sent credit but credit does not satisfy
I bought a metal detector package from this company through their Ebay store. Part of the package was out of stock so they sent me a credit. Upon looking at their website I learned that shipping would be nearly as much as the credit I got to replace the part of the package deal that was out of stock. I have sent them several emails over the past 2 months and got ZERO response from them. I purposly bought from this company because if I ever had a problem I could have it serviced through them instead of the manufacturer.

Desired Settlement
The coin pouch apron that was not included in the package should be sent to me free of charge. I did get a credit for them not having that item in stock. seeing on their website it would cost me over $8 dollars to ship it basically would negate the credit I got. It would cost me more money to replace the missing item than it was worth, yet I got charged full price when I purchased from their Ebay store. I would like the item to be sent to me free without being charged shipping, or they can send me a check for that missing item. I have tried to contact them several times before coming here and I am starting to think that their poor customer service is a reflection of how they handle their business. The item in question is "2 Pocket Coin Pouch/Apron w/ Thin Pocket for Probes" which they are selling for $7.95 and I would like this shipped to me for free with an apology for NEVER responding back or a check as a refund for that item since I paid full price on the package deal, along with an apology for terrible customer service and ignoring me attempts to contact them.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
I just heard that you contacted the BBB and I am so terribly sorry that I did not reach you earlier but due to a problem with my computer system I did not receive the email until today.
I will be happy to send you a coin pouch and, of course, there will be no charge. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me and once again, my apologies for not answering sooner. They are working on my system so that I do not miss any other messages.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Item is badly made
Detector does not tighten down. Item sweeps and detects metal but the pin point is off about 3-5 inches on swing back. Item sways back and forth loosely even after receiving new tight down collar. Called company but they refuse to help any further.

Desired Settlement
Full refund upon return. I will never do business with this company again. ******* **** ************* Frankfort NY XXXXX XXXXXXXXXX

Business Response
The only response that I see that was made from the customer concerning his complaint was from April the 2nd, when I see that the sales rep sent him out a replacement part free of charge. There is no other complaints noted on his account stating such issues he still had. We would have gladly replaced the unit if he still felt it was still not working properly.

03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/01/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
05/14/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/11/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Commercial Products Wholesale & Distributor, Metal Detecting Equipment

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 01/01/1953
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Seminole County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 124661 for this company, issued by Seminole County Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Stuart Auerbach (President)Customer Contact: Mr Gene Knight (Director of International & Domestic Sales)Mr John Fetner (Vice President)
Business Category

Commercial Products Wholesale & Distributor, Metal Detecting Equipment

Products & Services

This company offers Metal Detectors.

Alternate Business Names
Kellyco, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kellyco Metal Detectors Distributors

1085 Belle Ave

Winter Springs, FL 32708-2961

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1085 Belle Ave 

    Winter Springs, FL 32708-2961(888) 535-5926
    Fax: (407) 695-6671

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kellyco Metal Detectors Distributors is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (407) 695-7700
  • (888) 535-5926

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Commercial Products Wholesale & Distributor


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.