BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Florida

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/07/2004

CoolStuffInc.com, LLC

Phone: (407) 695-6554Fax: (407) 650-3346

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
06/27/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
To Whomever It May Concern,

After visiting the Long Island branch, and then trying your website. I do hope this is the correct email to send this issue to. Also just realized what the BBB does.

The issue I have is with a online retailer known as Coolstuffinc.com, located at
**** ** ** *** ****** ********* ** XXXXX. I live in New York. My issue is pertaining to not receiving a package. I had place the order on May 2nd, 2014, it was supposed to be delivered to me on May 8th. Well the package never showed up. After contacting Fed Ex, and filing a report. I had contacted Coolstuffinc, and after a week they had told me that Fed Ex claims it to be stolen. The issue I have is that Fed Ex has claimed to me, that they had settled the issue with the company. When I had placed the order, there was no option for me to insure my package, that was on CoolStuffinc. I still haven't received a replacement package, or any form of repayment.

I seem to be up a creek without a paddle.
If there is any other information I can provide, please let me know.

Sincerely,
***** ** ******

Business Response
Hi James,

Thanks for ordering with us. We apologize for the issues this order has caused. Your package was shipped on the 5th and delivered by FedEx on the 8th. We received your email from the 8th that the package had not arrived. We started a claim with FedEx the following day and waited for them to process and finalize the claim. FedEx finished the trace and determined that the package had been delivered to the correct delivery address. We appreciate your business and look forward to any future orders you may place.

Thanks,

Cory

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yet Fed Ex has claimed that they have settled with the company. Which seems like double payment. The package was insured on the company's side. There was no option for me to insure it. I have worked with many companies in the past, and in the case of theft, damage, missing, etc. We always replaced it. That is because we insured said packages. I have talked with Fed Ex, UPS, and other delivery companies, and all said the same thing. The company supplying the item is held responsible.

This is not right by any means.

Final Business Response
Hi James,

FedEx has not settled with us. They have marked the package as delivered. We have the following section in our Conditions of Use page: All product purchased from CoolStuffInc.com is made based on our contracts with our shippers. This means that the risk of loss and title pass to you when the product is accepted by the shipping carrier.

09/17/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company shipped an expensive order of merchandise to me and did not insure it at all nor did they give the option for it to be insured.
On June 13th of 2013, I placed an order for $354.86 worth of gaming merchandise from CoolStuffInc.com. This gaming merchandise included a large variety of collectible miniatures that are used to play the tabletop game "War Machine." This order was expensive enough that CoolStuffInc.com called to verify that the purchase was a legitimate transaction to the correct credit card. After verifying that the cred card was correct, the order shipped on the next day. The package was supposed to be sent to the same location as the card holder, but somehow ended up being sent to an old address of mine. Now, that is not the initiate issue here, but regardless the issue is as follows: I returned from a business trip on June 23rd expecting the arrival of my merchandise at my parent's home. When I was informed that the package never arrived, I immediately checked my email to review the status of my shipment. I immediately became very concerned when I found that the package was reported as being delivered. I called FedEx, the shipping company that delivered it to ask where the package was. They informed me that the package had been delivered to an address across town; my old address. I immediately drove to the apartment which currently had nobody living in it and there upon the front porch was the box that my order had been shipped. The box had been torn open and the contents stolen. With that information taken into consideration, this is unacceptable that a package which a company knows is valued to be over $350 worth of merchandise is sent to an address with no insurance. The package wasn't designated to be signed for, handled with care, or anything it was simply left on the front porch of an empty apartment building and stolen because the company that shipped the merchandise failed to value this product to simply be signed for at the front door. When I informed the company over the phone, they did not have any intention of helping me and I believe this is a very unprofessional practice. I lost over $350 dollars because of this and think that other patrons of this company or any new customer should know that this company does not insure their merchandise nor do they give the option on their webpage to have a package insured.

Desired Settlement
I was kind enough to reorder all of my lost merchandise from this company because I have been a loyal customer to their business and enjoy their services. I was severely disappointed in their unhelpful reaction to my issue, however, and ask that my money be refunded to me for the order that I placed on June 13th, because their lack of responsibility to insure my package lead to its careless loss and ultimately lead to my loss of money.

Business' Initial Response
Hi *****,

I apologize for any inconvenience this order may have caused. We shipped this package to the address entered by the customer. The package was delivered to the address entered over the next few business days. Unfortunately because we were not contacted before the package was shipped or while in transit an update on the address could not be made.

Our security measures have us call and verify all credit card orders over $250. We called, verified the billing address and card number and shipped the package at that time.

I apologize that we cannot be of further assistance at this time.

Thanks,

****

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not satisfied with this response. I wish to know why my package was not insured by a signature or any other form of delivery security. Regardless of the fact that the package was not delivered to the correct address, why was a package valued at $350 not designated to be signed for?

Business' Final Response
Hi *****,

Thanks for ordering with us. I apologize for the lost package and any inconvenience or confusion this may have caused. We shipped this package to the address entered on the website when you placed the order. We verified the order over the phone to ensure this purchase was not credit card fraud being the first time you used this card on your account. We currently only flag our most sensitive orders with signature required. When we were contacted regarding the missing package we immediately contacted FedEx to start a claim and, if possible, to recover the package. Again I apologize for this order.

Thanks,

****

05/13/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Quantity available at time of order, no restrictions. Seller backed out due to overnight price increase after order was placed.
I placed an online order with Cool Stuff Inc. for a specific quantity of Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle, which is a collectible Magic: The Gathering card. When placing my order, the quantity was available, with no indication on the website that my complete order would not be filled. I ordered 25 regular versions of this card at $0.99 each, as well as 14 promotional versions of this same card at $1.49 each. My entire order totalled $49.33 after tax. The transaction was paid for in full at the time of order. This order was placed shortly after 12:00 AM on Thursday, September 20th.

My purchase was made as I believed this particular card would increase in value due to a recent ruling on the legality of using this card in tournament play.

I received a phone call from Corey from Cool Stuff Inc at 11:42 AM stating that they would not be fulfilling my entire order, instead providing me with just 8 regular copies and 8 promotional copies of the cards. They were also to issue me a partial refund for the items I would not receive.

When pressed for more information, Corey revealed that they were not fulfilling my complete order as the price on the card increased overnight and they wanted to sell the cards to other customers at the higher price. Corey admitted that quantities of these cards were still available and they were not sold out, they were choosing not to sell to me at the price I ordered at.

I believe this is a clear instance of deceptive business practices as nowhere on their website do they state full order quantities may not be fulfilled. I paid for the items on time and ahead of any price increaes.

Desired Settlement
I believe my original order should be fulfilled at the original purchase price. It is unfair to increase the cost of the item after the transaction is complete and paid for due to fluctuating market conditions.

Business' Initial Response
Hi,

We reserve the right to change any order on the website. This is clearly stated on our "Conditions of Use" page at http://www.coolstuffinc.com/page/977.

This page states "Your Order
We reserve the right to decline the purchase of any item for any reason. We reserve the right to cancel an order for any reason. We reserve the right to reduce the purchase quantity of any item for any reason."

We try to provide a fair amount of product to our customers in the rare case that we do reduce their orders. In the game of magic no more than 4 of a card is ever need and we provided 16.

Thanks,

Cory

02/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered item through their website based on the description shown. Item was not the advertised version of said Item.
*January 10th 2013*
I went to the Winter Park location of Cool Stuff looking for a board game called "Summoner Wars: Master Set" to purchase. They didn't have it in stock but the gentleman working showed me how to use their computer to order one for in store pick up. I checked the description and made the order, paid $35.13 in cash, and gave a friend's name in case I couldn't pick it up personally. *Order number CSI-XXXXXX*

*January 12th 2013* ~11:30am
I picked up the board game and had a question for the young lady that was working (her name was *****). While she was answering I unwrapped the outer plastic and opened the box to examine the contents. As soon as I lifted the lid I saw that this was not the correct version of the game and stated that it wasn't right. It was missing the promo card showed in the game's picture on their website and the custom molded 16 card deck plastic tray storage solution was replaced with cheap ziptop bags. She apologized but had no way of remedying it. I asked if the Maitland store (which is not in the BBB database) would have any in stock and she said yes since they handle all online orders as well.

*January 12th 2013* ~12:15pm
I drove to the Maitland store and spoke to another gentleman who stated that he has never seen this happen where the contents of the box were different than description. He couldn't remedy anything but let me know that a manager would be on staff in around 4 hours if I'd like to come back. I said I would call and speak to the manager first to coordinate and went home.

*January 12th 2013* ~4:00pm
Called and spoke with the manager ******. I explained that I bought the game based on the online description and that the version I received is not the advertised version. He asked me to come in and I said I would leave immediately.

*January 12th 2013* ~6:00pm
Upon arriving to the Maitland location I was told by ****** that he had left me a voicemail saying that I should contact the publisher and see if they can get me the items I wanted. I explained that I already went to their website while I was waiting for him and that the company no longer makes any mention of the tray at all in it's 2nd edition printings. He offered me another copy of the game but there is no way to know it's contents without opening it so he asked I open it in store. I agreed and opened the box to see that is was the same as the first.

He again recommended that I contact the publisher and that if they had those pieces they would probably send it out for free. I responded with why I shouldn't have to do extra work to POSSIBLY get items I want and that his company is advertising are in the box and possibly have to pay more money for them. I asked for a refund so incase the publisher has the proper version for sale, he stated that he couldn't because the box was open! Even though I had stated I didn't want it seconds after opening it in front of one of their employees and that there is no way to know the contents of the box without lifting the lid.

All contents of the box are untouched and wrapped, only the outer plastic was removed. The same outer plastic I removed from the second game which they offered me.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of $35.13, the price of the board game and sales tax.

The publishers of the game contacted me and let me know that A) The promo card shown on the Cool Stuff website is an exclusive for buying through the publisher and B) They have no intention of remaking that storage solution as they have continued to publish more decks and that the custom card tray no longer fits them all.

They were nice enough to give me the exact dimensions of the 1st edition set so I can easily find it through a retailer that treats customers properly.

Business' Initial Response
Hi ******,

Thanks for ordering with us. I apologize for any inconvenience or confusion this miss listed item and our stores may have caused. I'd be ****** to refund you for the cost of this item plus sales tax. We can refund in the store or send out a check or PayPal payment to you. Please email me at *****@coolstuffinc.com with what you would like us to do. I have also spoken to the employees at both stores regarding the proper way to handle this issue. We appreciate your business and look forward to any future orders you may place.

Thanks,

****

12/11/2012Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sent product for purchase from coolstuffinc. been over a week still no payment made.
Sent a package buy ID# ***** of Magic The Gathering cards from their buylist on 10/20/2012 through US Postal service however, as of 10/29/2012 coolstuffinc claims to have not received my product have tried numerous times to contact the company from the date of 10/20-10/29 but CoolStuff has not returned any of my emails or even my phone calls. Ask for payment for my belongings through my PAYPAL account still no payment has been received

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the 74.00 which is the price for my buy order as per the sale contract that was emailed to me.

Business' Initial Response
Customer contacted us to sell cards on the 20th of October. We approved the buy list and advised customer to send his cards in via a courier service with tracking as we do with all customers. We have not received the customers package at this time and are unable to pay them for cards we have not received. When asked for a tracking number to determine the location of the package the customer was unable to provide one.

We are known throughout the community as an honest buyer of cards and have completed tens of thousands of transactions without issue. We have responded to the customers phone calls and emails regarding this purchase.

Page 1 of 2
08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order late and no information to be found
I have made a purchase with CoolStuff Inc. on May 5th of some board games to be sent to Brazil, with the expected delivery date of May 30th. Its more than a month past this and it still hasn't arrived or do I have any more information on when I would get my products . I contact them several times, and no action on their part has been taken, leaving me running around trying to contact both the USPS and the Brazilian Post Office several times, also with only negatives. CoolStuff Inc. has not taken any actions to try to figure this out or seem to be willing to do so.

Desired Settlement
I wish for any kind of resolution, be it a replacement (since I am in the US temporarily), refund or even a certain information on when can I expect my products.

Business Response
Hi ****,

Your package was shipped on the 5th, processed by our local post office on the 6th and left Miami on the 10th. Unfortunately the shipping service you select, USPS First-Class International, does not have an exact delivery date. We recommend all Brazilian customers to contact the Correios regularly for their package in case automated scans were missed. We apologize that your package has not arrived soon but hope the package finds its way to you soon.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have contacted the Correios many times, last being July 15th and the item is still not on Brazil. Brazilian customs usually take a long time to process, but this is not the case. I have contacted the USPS as we'll, and they too don't have any more information. Also, I don't believe that it is only my responsibility to run around contacting everyone to check the information on a package that was due more than 30 days and has just gone missing. The purchase I made was to have it delivered at my door, paying the according price for it to Cool Stuff Inc. Every single reply I have obtained so far is too bad for me that I did not get why I paid for, and I should just hope that someday this package will arrive. Meanwhile, my money is on your hands and have been since May 6th.

Final Business Response
Unfortunately once a package is transferred to the USPS bound for international locations it is completely out of our hands. We have no way of intercepting or obtaining additional information. Because the package was labeled correctly and shipped promptly we are unable to offer further assistance at this time.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I think for the company it's very easy to simply said that the product I purchase is not their responsibility anymore. They arranged the delivery with the company they think it is better suited for this, but if my product is never delivered is not Cool Stuff Inc's or USPS's fault. Both companies claim that there's nothing to be done and no one can know where my products are. Meanwhile, Cool Stuff Inc has received their money, and so has USPS.

04/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order number CSI-XXXXXX made 2/15. This was a order for cards needed for a event I was going to on 3/1. Their website said the delivery time frame was 5 to 12 days. This was from Maitland FL to Miami. Something that normally takes a few days. So when we reached 2/27 and my package hadn't arrived I called the company and spoke with *******. He told me that time frame was just "estimated" and "there is no time frame for arrival". I then requested at refund since my order hadn't arrived and I had to order the items at a local shop(at a higher price) to have them when I needed them. So ******* said he'd enter the shipping claim and refund my money since I requested to cancel the order and get a refund. So checking my mail box yesterday, the order I canceled was in the mail box. So I call the company today and get ******* again. He tells me "that all the orders that shipped on that day when to the wrong UPS warehouse(a very large amount of orders) and I was the first to complain that I didn't get my order". So rather then canceling the order like I requested(which he agreed to do) and refunded me for the items I no longer needed, they decided to send me the order. Now I have to take more time(which is money) and send it back to them to get the refund I requested a week ago. Best part is at first I was to send it back out of pocket, then only after did they "find a way" to email me a pre-paid shipping label through Fedx. But the repackaging, materials and time to send it back are at my expense.
Product_Or_Service: Magic the Gathering single cards
Order_Number: CSI-XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
1st I would like this negative experience posted for all branches of CoolStuffInc.com LLC on your website. 2nd this order totaled $23.17 and it will cost me a total of $40.80 in lost wages for the 2.5 hours its taken me over the phone and will cost me to drop this package off at a Fedx location. $1 for the parking to drop it off at the closet location to my job and $2.14 for the tape needed for this label they sent me to mail their package back. So if there any compensation that would be nice.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** - Shipping Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@coolstuffinc.com
Hi ******,

Thanks for ordering with us. I apologize for any inconvenience or confusion this order may have caused. As you mentioned, there was a sorting error at the UPS facility on the 18th and 19th of February (when your order was shipped. This sorting error caused a 10 day delay on all packages packages shipped via Mail Innovations on those days. You were refunded for the cost of this item and a prepaid FedEx return label was emailed to you. Again I apologize for the issues this order has caused and any inconvenience or confusion this may cause.

Thanks,

****

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not except this response in anyway shape or form. At no point was any aspect of any of my requests "confusing" about this order. When I first contacted to company about my item not being received I made sure to repeat my request to cancel the order. I made my request crystal clear to the rep ****** that I spoke with that I no longer needed the order because it exceeded the time frame I expected it by. Further more this response is nothing more then a weak response to attempt to avoid losing accreditation with the BBB. The company took weeks to respond to the complaint, they sent my order out after I canceled it with a rep, which in turn cause me time/money to resolve their error and to top it off their customer service rep cared more about using his personal phone then handling my return.

I honestly feel that this company doesn't handle it self as a company that is accredited by the BBB should. My only request at this point is to have this company lose its accreditation with the BBB and have this complaint posted on your website so other consumers can be advised as to how this company conducts business.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collectibles, Games & Supplies, Golf Equipment & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.