BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/07/2004

CoolStuffInc.com, LLC

Phone: (407) 695-6554Fax: (407) 650-3346

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
04/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wrong information about inventory stock provided by the staff over the phone for adjustment of my order, costs me extra shipping charge.
I placed an order April 11 (CSI-XXXXXXX), and I called in on April 12 to make an adjustment on this order. During my conversation with the staff from coolstuffinc, I asked specifically about if a certain product (VivaJava: the Dice Game and it's expansion packs) would be back in stock soon, as it was out of stock at the time that I called. The staff told me it's going out of print and there wouldn't be any in stock any time soon. In order to have a full $100 shipment for free shipping, I went ahead and ordered something else (which I wasn't all that interested in actually). The next day April 12 I saw that the product that I actually wanted (VivaJava dice game and it's expansion packs) in the first palce is in stock. I was so shocked since I just talked to the staff the day before. But my order (CSI-XXXXXXX) is already shipped, and if I want to purchase this product I have to pay extra shipping. Since it's their inaccurate information that cause the trouble, I believe waiving the extra shipping charge on the new order would be appropriate. But to my surprise they refused to do so or do anything that proactive to help me out, and that force me to cancel the new order.

Desired Settlement
Place the order for 1. VivaJava: The Dice Game,2.VivaJava: Geekspansion, 3.VivaJava: The Dice Game: Game of the Year Expansion with no shipping charge.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** - Shipping Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****@coolstuffinc.com
Hi ** **,

I apologize for any inconvenience or confusion this order or the website may have caused. Unfortunately in our industry we don't receive 100% up to date information from the multitude of manufacturers and suppliers regarding the supply status of an item. We provide our customers with the most up to date information available to us but sometimes it is inaccurate. I would be happy to provide free FedEx Ground shipping on a new order you play for these items or others on the website. Simply email me at ****@coolstuffinc.com and I'll refund any shipping cost on your order. We appreciate your business and look forward to any future orders you may place.

Thanks,

****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This is the solution and explanation that I was hoping to receive when I contacted the website customer service in the beginning. I'm glad to have it resolved now. Thanks! I'm a happy customer again.

02/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a booster box that had been tampered with prior to shipment and stripped of contents.
Shipment Received 1/29/16, purchased on 11/27/16.
CSI********
Problem date - 1/29/16
Price - $199.98 Paid by Mastercard

Reimbursement Expected - $99.99 or 1 Unopened Booster Box of *********************.

I purchased 2 MTG booster boxes of *********************. One box was fine, the other box had been opened, valuable cards removed, and resealed. I did not know that this was the case until I began to open the individual booster packs to find that cards were missing. On each booster pack it states that there should be 15 cards. I was opening packs with 13 and 14 cards each. I have video documentation and proof of this happening which I will be making public on all social media including youtube unless this issue is resolved.

Desired Settlement
I understand your return policy is only good for unopened product. I however was unaware that I had been scammed until I opened my product. I want to return the contents and packaging of the scammed product for either store credit, refund, or another shipment of the same product, Unopened.

Business Response
Mr. ******** contacted our company shortly after filing the claim with video of the defective product. As per ours and ******************* policy, we instructed him to contact the manufacturer to have the defective box replaced. As of our last correspondence, ******************** was in the process of replacing the defective product to ensure the customer received what they paid for.

01/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE: From a manager named Charles.
Date: Jan 4th 2016
Order Number: ***********
Rep: Charles (manager)
Payment Amount: $152.93 (before shipping)
Payment Method: Visa

This is my very first experience with coolstuffinc.com and I'm completely upset! My account was flagged becausae of the email address I used to sign up for their account. I have NEVER in my live commited fraud and I feel as if I have been treated as a criminal. It's stupid that you ban an entire DOMAIN of email address because of some other stupid people causing fraud. Would you do the same thing to gmail accounts? Way to shoot yourself in the foot.

Because of this I had my order cancelled and now the shipping time is delayed so THEN I had to pay an extra $3.99 to have my stuff ship same day because you guys cancelled the order and now it's past the time you send your shipments. Here's a hint for your billing department: as a merchant you can actually contact banks to make sure billing information is legit DO THAT in the future. I tried to get help from a person in the store he was rude, mean, he talked over me, had zero empathy, he just didn't seem to really give a ****; "he wasn't in control of the billing department" so I guess that means not his problem?, when I asked to speak to someone in the billing department he said there wasn't a way to do so. All I wanted was for $3.99 to be removed off my total purchase or to compensate me half of the shipping cost to overnight or something anything "I'm sorry" doesn't fix problems, THIS WAS NOT MY FAULT that the order was canceled causing a delay in shipment time it was YOUR doing.

Nothing but an "I'm sorry" not even any kind of customer service solution was offered. Probably not going to buy stuff from you guys in the future because of this so you made your quick buck, but I do know a lot of friends that use you guys as an alternative to ****************** we were going to get to gather and play all of the stuff I purchased from coolstuffinc they're going to wonder why it's not at my house when they come over and I will be sharing my experience with them

1st impression of coolstuffin.com: DID NOT GET THIS EXPERIENCE - "Our top priority, however, is providing superior service because we know that happy customers are worth more than a quick buck. INSTEAD I GOT THIS - "our prices are good but we don't really give a **** about your future business."

I sent complaints online about this issue and after that I got a phone call from Charles who later told me that THEY PROCEDED TO cancel my 3rd order and future orders will not be available for me, Sounds like Charles got mad at my criticisms and is now denying me the ability to make purchases from your company. He hung the phone up on me twice then blocked my phone calls. He told me that he I was I.P. banned from making future purchases. I had to call again using google voice to even get through to have him FINALLY listen and forward an email to the billing department so that I can make my messily $200 purchase the only reason you got my business is because of your price but I sure paid for it in the end.

Thank you for wasting my time and flagging me as a thief - that's defamation by the way I should have your emails/account notes for my user information subpoena'ed so I can really hit you where it hurts. You can thank Charles for my determination in this matter.

Sincerely;
***********

Desired Settlement
I want my order to go through SEROUSLY WHY ARE YOU DENYING MY BUSINESS!!!!!?????? When it does go through I want it overnight shipped to my address and coolstuffinc.com will pay for overnight shipping. Consider a new position for Charles as he is not capable of his role as customer service manager. Unflag my account as fraudulent as there is no evidence or truth there of.

Business Response
The first two orders placed on our website were flagged as risk factors by our loss prevention department and the transactions were canceled/refunded. When our customer service department was contacted about the orders you were belligerent, inflammatory, and disrespectful to the associate. After the initial phone call you attempted to circumvent loss prevention by placing two new orders under different accounts, names, and IP addresses. This line of behavior raised several flags which resulted in the cancellation of the subsequent transactions and flagging all accounts associated to prevent future abuse. As stated in our site's conditions of use section, "we reserve the right to decline the purchase of any item for any reason. We reserve the right to cancel an order for any reason."

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
How about posting some factual information: When your customer service department was contacted by me in regards to the original order, your manager told me that because of the domain of the email address that was provided it was flagged as potential fraud. So THAT was the reason for creating a new account with a gmail email address. He instructed me to place another order I followed his instructions to do so. Another order was placed from my cell phone based of his instructions, After that I got a phone call from your customer service manager stated I was attempting to defraud your company. After many times of him labeling me as a FRAUD and treating me as such then telling me that his company does not do business with frauds is where I became defensive and requested him to stop referring as such because that was completely untrue and defamation of character for him to do so, I also brought up the fact that he was not treating me based of your company's mission statement on the internet for customer experience and that is where he HUNG THE PHONE UP ON ME IN THE MIDDLE OF TALKING. This was on a phone call where YOUR COMPANY INITIATED CONTACTED TO ME then to hang up on when me when it was my chance to talk. After being disrespected into the ground is where my belligerence came from I will not be BULLIED by your "customer service manager" because of some issue of pride they may have. Your company has every right to deny my business but NO LEGAL RIGHT TO LABLE ME or CALL ME and treat me as a fraud! I do not wish to have any resolution from this company as I have already made my purchases else ware, I have also hired an attorney to address their defamation they have 10 days to comply with a cease and desist letter. See you in the future!

Final Business Response
Unfortunately this customer cannot be placated. He's treated our associates terribly including swearing and yelling. We won't stay on the phone with a customer that acts in such an abusive manner. We don't want to do business with him. His orders have been cancelled and his money refunded.

It's our right as a company to refuse business.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again here is fact: Swearing AT your associates did not happen. I called him a robot for blindly following protocol just like any good robot would do which happened after he labeled me a fraud. You have already been enough "solutions/options" to placate me however; you are refusing to do so, continuing to argue clearly confers that there are pride issues within your company and shows your company's commitment to customer serve. Incase you have missed it I will gladly repeat again: DELETE ALL OF MY PERSONAL INFORMATION OFF OF YOUR COMPANY'S ONLINE & INTERNAL SYSTEMS. End it already.

12/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Here is receipt of my purchase. I only received two of the 2nd item on the list and the company refuses to deliver what we agreed upon.
I ordered four Big Bang Knuckle Dragon Vanguard cards and the company made a mistake. It delivered four Big Bang Knuckle Buster Dragons instead. I called and talked to them. They only had two and we agreed on credit for the other two after I sent the Big Bang Knuckle Buster Dragon cards back. I got an e-mail saying "I don't deserved credit." They didn't deliver on the credit. So I am filing this complaint to get what was agreed upon.

Desired Settlement
$20 in store credit for the cards not delivered liked promise or what I paid completely paid back which was $54.97.

Business Response
Hi *****,

We apologize for the mistake on your order. You were initially sent the incorrect cards on your order. On 11/9 we sent two of the four cards you ordered and refunded you for the other missing two. I apologize for the mistake on this order and any inconvenience this may have caused. Your order has been completely refunded/fulfilled at this time.

Thanks,

Cory

P.S. Attached is the replacement order for the two correct cards shipped to *****.

06/08/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On May 1st I purchased various cards and items I purchased from the company and request the company to either send me my items or a full refund of $70
I purchased various cards and items from this company on May 1, 2015, and to date have not received any of the items ordered, nor have I been given any tracking numbers. I have tried to contact the company on several occasions, with no avail. No Items, No Response, No Refund. Nothing!!!

Desired Settlement
Either send me my items or a refund of $69.98

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** - Shipping Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****@coolstuffinc.com
Hi ****,

Thanks for ordering with us. In the complaint you said that we have not contacted you about this order or responded to your complaints. I'm sorry to hear that you have not been receiving our answers to your messages. The address we have been have been emailing you back at is ************@gmail.com as that is the address from your account. As it looks like this order is now falling out side the estimated time frame for delivery as stated at the check out process of 5-14 business days we should be able to offer a full refund of the order or have the items that are in stock shipped and a refund processed for the items that we no longer have available. If you would like the reship of what we have in stock we would only ask that you confirm the delivery address so we can avoid any further issues. Please let us know what you would like on this and we will do our best to make this right.
I apologize for any confusion and/or inconvenience this may have caused. We appreciate your business and look forward to any future orders you may place.

Thanks,

****

01/13/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
we order $470 magic cards on Nov. 16 order number CSI-XXXXXXX an over night FedEx, the package never arrived
We ordered $470 magic cards order # csi-XXXXXXX an over night delivery by fedex for $19.04 tracking number XXXXXXXXXXXX,
the package never arrived, we called bothe FedEx and the store, and its been 4 weeks and no refund or finding the package.

Desired Settlement
either to get a refund for $470 +19.04 or replace the cards

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** - Shipping Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****@coolstuffinc.com
Package was shipped via FedEx Overnight to the customer's address and shows as delivered to this address. FedEx Claims finalized their investigation into this delivery and denied our claim. The package shows as being delivered without any signs of misconduct or foulplay.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We didn't receive the package. How fedex claim that the package got delivered? Who got the package?

Final Business Response
FedEx shows delivery to the recipient's address on Nov 18th at 12:03pm.

FedEx claims finalized their investigation on this package previously and shows as being successfully delivered.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collectibles, Golf Equipment & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Games & Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.