BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/15/2007

Stanley Homes Inc.

Phone: (321) 254-8455Fax: (321) 449-3965305 East Drive Unit H, MelbourneFL 32904 Send email to Stanley Homes Inc.View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/15/2007

BBB has determined that Stanley Homes Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Stanley Homes Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Stanley Homes Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
did not adhere to agreed upon change order for side of house

Stanley home builders inc in Melbourne did not adhere to agreements we made with then regarding the building of our house ***************** Rockledge fl

As part of the procedure in building our house- any changes or additions that came up their sales agent put the item in a document for us to sign and pay. Which we did.

The one we questioned is the one regarding the south side of our house.

The document states.ad is to be 24" from side door with a 4' x10' concrete pad with. 24" between the generator and A/C unit.

-What was done was 53 " from the side door and a 4 x 14' pad. Which moved everything forward----brining the fence forward not in compliance with the HOA 10 foot restriction .

The root cause of this is the error on their part which moved everything forward too far.

We have tried several times to get this resolved-,with no avail.

To adhere to the signed change order we need:

- the ac and moved $600 per **************
- move generator $1200 per ***** of *************
-new concrete pad $500 -
-fence moved $600
- landscape bushes moved $ 200
-sprinklers $100

Desired Settlement
resolution to problem

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Jason Stanley, President
Contact Phone: 321-254-8455
Contact Email: *****@stanleyhomesinc.com
The customer directed our field supervisor to place and size the AC/Generator pad as installed. The customer approved the size and location of the AC/Generator pad prior to the concrete being poured. Before delivering keys to the customer upon the home being 100% complete, we walked the home with the customer giving them an opportunity for any items not meeting their satisfaction or per our construction contract (including change orders) to be corrected. The customer accepted the home in writing as being 100% complete per the contract/change orders and to their satisfaction. The customer could have had the fence installed behind the AC/Generator pad to meet their Homeowners Association guidelines but chose to direct the fence company to place the fence as installed in violation of the HOA rules. This is an unfortunate situation and we are willing to help in any way we can. Since we constructed the home as we were directed by the customer we don't feel that we should have to pay for the corrections.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all ---everything done with Stanley homes had to be in writing. (They would not accept verbal anything).
At no time did I ever state- a different size and location of the concrete pad other than the size and location of the attached Stanley documents (produced by *****************).
Sometime in March 2013, ********* and I went over the concrete slab size with Andy (field Supv Stanley), which was poured incorrectly (4X4) (Andy), wanted to add an additional section to make up for the difference. I opposed that, because I wanted one continuous slab. He knew he would have to take it out and was upset. ********* was there and witnessed this discussion.
When it was poured the next time--we were in Michigan - it was started at 53" and went to 14 feet. (Still not following the attached documents).
There was never an outside walkthrough. I had no reason to measure the slab until the HOA came out and wrote us a letter about the 10 ft. set back.
Now the A/c and generator are outside of the fence area which is a security issue for me.
The issue remains why did Stanley Inc. not follow the attached document
we would like either a fix or compensation.

Final Business Response
The customer provided documents do not have signed authorization by Stanley Homes that would make them part of the contract nor do they negate the fact that the final size/location of the AC/Generator pads were verbally modified/discussed between the Stanley Homes Construction Manager and Customer. The actual pads are larger than what the customer contracted for and the customer was not charged for the additional concrete as a favor. The fence was installed at the direction of the homeowner in front of these pads and this is creating the HOA violation. If the customer didn't want the fence installed behind the pads as a security issue in their GATED SUBDIVISION why wasn't this issue of the pad location brought up in 2013 when the house was built? Lastley, as previously disclosed the Homeowner accepted the home as built with no discussion of the location of the subject AC/Generator concrete pads. See attached customer signed move in checklist proving they accepted the home as built. We are here to help in anyway we can but the customer will have to pay the cost of any relocation they desire. Thank you, Jason Stanley, President.

07/30/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Building Contractors, Interior Decorators & Designers, Home Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/15/2007Business started: 03/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Brevard County Business Tax Receipt

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of 200451022 for this company, issued by Brevard County Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CBC1255626 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Certified Building Contractor

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2003, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Stanley (President)
Business Category

Building Contractors, Interior Decorators & Designers, Home Builders

Products & Services

This company offers custom home builder services.

Hours of Operation

Monday - Saturday 10am - 5:30pm
Sundays 12pm - 5pm

Service Area

Brevard and Volusia County

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Stanley Homes Inc.

305 East Drive Unit H

Melbourne, FL 32904

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 305 East Drive Unit H 

    Melbourne, FL 32904Fax: (321) 449-3965

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Stanley Homes Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Building Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.