BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/19/2010

Applied Contracting Services, Inc.

Phone: (407) 347-3366Fax: (888) 357-0370

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unprofessional management, No call backs, Does not know how to schedule for work to be done. No one at office to take complaint.
Had damage occur at residence on 04/01/14 told them I need it done before 06/06/14 because I was leaving the state for 2 months. Upon arrival back home on 08/17/2014 I gave a deposit to start work. It is now 11/20/14 and job is only half done. This is a very small job with a total of 1 week maybe to complete. Hole in ceiling, partial new floor, some trim around windows, and some drywall on wall to get replaced. All due to water line that burst in attic. Customer service is the worst I have ever experienced in my life, and a owner that does not care enough to even call back a paying client. I gave them 4 days a week to work and they show up 1 day a week or maybe once in a 2 week period. There is no follow thru or concerns on damages that are caused nor to clean the job with out someone holding there hand.

Desired Settlement
Want work completed asap

Business Response
A representative of ACS has continuously been in contact with Mr. ********* regarding the work being done on his home. We also immediately reached out to Mr. ********* regarding this complaint. To clarify, this is an insurance covered loss that we are repairing. The time frame for our response and starting work on Mr. *********'s home is dictated by the time frame in which his insurance company reviews and approves his claim. Because of this we were unable to start work until we had a fully approved scope of work and an agreed upon contract price. This process can be lengthy and that was explained to Mr. ********* before he engaged with us for this repair. In addition we were unable to start upon approval because Mr. ******** left the state for 2 months. Upon his return we sccheduled the work to be started in accordance with Mr. *********** schedule. Upon starting work we were informed that we were only allowed to work in his home 2 days per week. Mr. ********* states that we were allowed to work 4 days per week with one of those days being Saturday and the other being Friday which is contingent upon his schedule in which no one has actually been available for us to work any Friday's. Mr. ********* was made aware that we are not compensated by the insurance company to work outside of normal business hours but does not seem to think this is a valid reason not to show up at his home on Saturday's. We have also shown up to do work on his home on Tuesday's and Thursday's multiple times when and we were sent away because it was not convenient for him on that day. We have tried to accommodate Mr. ********* and his schedule in every way we can but we cannot finish the work in a timely manner if we are not allowed access to his home. We are currently working with Mr. ********* to complete the work and hope to resolve this issue with him.

08/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is hard to get in touch with. They did not give me an itemized bill. It took a week to complete the work instead of 2 days.
This company does not return calls in a timely fashion, issue itemize bills or anything letting you know exactly what they are doing, the cost of materials or labor. It took three weeks after receiving payment for them to start project. Bill was submitted to insurance company but not to me. I was charged over 4000.00 to build and replace a vanity, carpet and base board. The paint used belong to me. When asked for an itemized bill, I only received a receipt stating that I had been paid in full and I was charged for someone to supervise the job. No one stayed while the worker was here. Other charges were for administrative work,supply onsite supervision to oversee the project. Frankly I have no idea what these descriptive cost mean. The total cost is $4,256.99 with me paying my insurance deductible of $1000 to them.

Desired Settlement
I would like an itemized statement.

Business Response
This work was approved by, performed for, and paid by, Ms. ******'s insurance company. She knew from the beginning that she was responsible for paying her policy's deductible amount. We tried to explain to Ms. ****** that the work involved would take longer than two days. It takes a week for us to order and receive the cabinetry. We gave her an itemized statement already, but will be happy to send her another copy next week.

Consumer Response
From: ***** ****** (mailto:*********@gmail.com)
Sent: Friday, July 11, XXXX X:XX PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# 90133101 (Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)

I spoke with a representative of the company this evening and he assured me that he would give me an itemized bill. We spoke at length and I feel better about the situation.
Thank you for your support and interest.

02/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After two visits to our home. An estimate was promised but never provided.
We located ACS through the BBB and expected professional service. I and two of my neighbors needed estimates, for the insurance company, to repair construction defects.**** came out the first time and visited all three homes. He asked good questions and spent the time to understand the problems to be repaired. The following week he asked if he could return with one of the building supervisors, ****. We said sure and the following week **** and**** came out to our homes again went over the problems again. They left and said they would give us a price for the repairs. After a week, and no estimate, I called their office and got an answering service. I left a message for ****. My call was never returned. A few days later I talked to**** and asked him if they were going to quote the job. I told him we needed to know so we could move forward. He said he would check with the office. The was repeated over two weeks.**** was called three times and the office was called three times. Not one of our calls was returned. This wasted several days out of our schedules to be at home to meet**** and **** and weeks trying to get an estimate for our repairs. This is not the level of service we expected from an "A" rated BBB listed comapny.

Desired Settlement
We would like to know why our calls were not returned and why we did not get an estimate. We need to know if there is some reason the job cannot be quoted or the repairs made. We would need to take that information back to the insurance company.

Business' Initial Response
We visited Mr. ******'s home twice and advised him at each visit that all he needed to do was enlarge his drain field. We did not charge him for either visit or for our professional opinion. He wants us to give him an estimate on work that is unnecessary, and frankly, not our core expertise. On Friday, Mr. ****** called and threatened our secretary that if I did not call him back, he was going to complain about us to the BBB. She told him that I was out of the office on a personal emergency, and that I would not be able to get back to him until today. His call and threat against our secretary caused us to stop communicating with him. Perhaps we should have been clearer, told him over the phone or told him a third time, but the harassment was the last straw.

We have visited with him twice, at no charge. We have given him our professional opinion, again, at no charge. And we have advised him against spending money and doing work that we feel is unnecessary. We are not sure how this has turned into a complaint about us.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is untrue. The work we requested is pursuant to a proposed settlement of a construction defect case. After the second visit an estimate was promised and on the follow up calls to *** we specifically asked that they let us know if they were not going to quote the job. Both times *** said he would call the office (******) and ask him to let us know.

The call to the office is being mis-characterized. The 12:00 cut off was after trying for three weeks to get an answer. Even so because of the BBB rating I wanted to give them one last chance to respond. Remember for three weeks ****** had not returned a call. The secretary in fact said he was in a meeting and gave no indication when or if he would return the call. However on both prior calls she said she would give him the message and he would return the call. He did not return any of the calls, if he had I would not be writing this.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Building Contractors, Contractor - General Green Builder, Fire Damage Restoration, Bathroom Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Home Improvements - Additions, Home Builders, Garage Builders, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Contractors - General, Kitchen Remodeling

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.