BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/24/2010

Tharp's Tire Store, Inc.

Phone: (321) 725-3395Fax: (321) 953-27821633 Georgia St NE, Palm BayFL 32907-2568 Send email to Tharp's Tire Store, Inc.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/24/2010

BBB has determined that Tharp's Tire Store, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tharp's Tire Store, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Tharp's Tire Store, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We took our Vehicle to be fix and they didn't do the work properly.
We took our vehicle to have it fix for an oil leak problem that was affecting the inside air we breathe by drops falling in the exhaust system. After paying $873.52 the problem wasn't solve for which we took it back again.

When we got it back for the second time, the problem continues -and it's even worse now, and we don't think that taking it in again, and pay more money, would have it repair properly.

We'd asked the store for our money back since we don't believe they can, nor care, to do the work right.

They've refused to give us our money back and said the leak problem is from another source even though they told us in the beginning they'd founded the source of said leak.

Desired Settlement
Since we don't believe in this individual, Stephen Tharp, nor in his shop, Tharp's Complete Auto Repair, we just want our money back as to take our vehicle to a more reputable place to have it fixed.

We're convinced that said shop invented the other problems to increase the cost of the repair and they may or may not have done the work they'd charged us for.

If they did something that wasn't needed -which appears to be the fact- we shouldn't have to pay for those thing. We took our vehicle to fix an oil leak that was creating a breathing/bad smell problem when dripping on the exhaust system.

Business Response
please see attached


BBB COMPLAINT ACTIVITY REPORT #********
Consumer: **************
Business: Tharp's Tire Store, Inc.


RE: RESPONSE FOR THE ABOVE COMPLAINT

Mr. ****** came in on January 27th and stated he had an oil leak in his 2006 Ford Escape. We put the car on the lift and inspected it. He did indeed have multiple oil leaks. We discussed that the leaks that were evident was the oil pan gasket and valve cover gasket. He decided to repair these leaks as well as replaced the PCV, for a total of $873.52 ($820.21 plus tax).

He had groceries in his car and asked if we had a refrigerator. I told him instead of having to wait and put his groceries away, we could give him a ride home, which he agreed to. I had our Office Manager take him home.

After the repairs were complete the next day, we called Mr. ****** and he needed a ride back as well. I again had our Office Manager pick him up.

When Mr. ****** was picking up / paying for his car, I told him to drive it for a week or so and return so we can check for any additional leaks. He asked if we repaired "all" the leaks. I explained to him that we had repaired the leaks that were evident and we had cleaned the underneath of the car to check after our repairs, which we did and did not see any additional leaks. However, this is also why we asked Mr. ****** to drive it for a week and return, because we can only test drive a short distance compared to a week or so worth of driving to see if there were leaks elsewhere. After explaining all this, Mr. ****** asked again if we "repaired all the leaks", which in return I explained the same answer again, this happened at least a total of three (3) times.

Mr. ****** wanted a definitive answer but I was unable to give him that answer. We did indeed repair what we could see but the engine was covered in oil and again, we repaired the leaks that were evident. However, with oil leaks, there can be more than one source causing the leaks, which can cause additional leaks but there is no way to know unless you repair what you can see and then clean and then check again to see if something is still leaking. I tried to explain this to Mr. ****** in detail. After much discussion, it seemed Mr. ****** understand, he paid and left.

A few days later, Mr. ****** returned stating that he had the "same leak". At that time, we again put the car on the lift and discovered that a Breather Hose to the Transfer Case was split. This hose repair/replace was an additional issue with the vehicle that occurred after, but because Mr. ****** was just here and it is a fairly inexpensive repair, we decided that we would replace the hose at no charge to Mr. ****** as a customer satisfaction and explained to him that he would need to leave the vehicle with us and we will do the repair at no charge. He agreed but again needed a ride home. Our Sales Manager took him home.

We replaced the hose and test drove the car, around our shop as well as on the Interstate and then put the car on the lift and left it there for a couple hours, periodically checking for any type of leaks, which we did not see.

We called Mr. ****** to tell him his vehicle was ready to be picked up and again he needed a ride and again our Sales Manager picked him up.

On February 15th, we received an email from the customer stating that we never repaired any leaks the first time he was in on January 27th and that now after he was in last time and we replaced the Breather Hose (at no charge), he has worse leaks. He asked for his money back for the original repairs done on the 27th because they were "unnecessary " because according to him they did not fix the leak. He also threatened that it would be our responsibility if something happened to the car because they now do not have the money to repair it because they spent the money they saved on the repairs on the 27th. He stated he would not be returning the car to us because he did not think we respected our work or our customers.

Per Mr. ******' request of no phone call, only email reply, we replied to Mr. ******' that we DID do the repairs he paid for and that our 29 years in business and the respect we DO have for our business AND our customers and our reputation would substantiate this. We again, explained to him, as we did on the 28th when we picked up his car, that there was a possibility of additional leaks. Either way there is NO way to know WHAT the problem is without seeing the vehicle. There is absolutely NO way to diagnose a vehicle, much less an oil leak, over an email. We stated that we would not be refunding his money.

Mr. ******' sent another email on the 19th again asking for a refund stating that again we lied to him and that we did not repair what we said we did because the "original leak" was still there. Mr. ****** also stated that because we did not fix the leaks that they "... aren't able to use the vents without getting polluted air in for us to breathe".

We chose to not reply to Mr. ****** until now, when we received his complaint from the BBB.

Unfortunately, there again is NO way to know what is leaking without seeing the vehicle. Did Mr. ****** bring his vehicle somewhere BEFORE he brought it to us and AFTER he brought it to us to KNOW what the "original leak" was and is??? There was no way to even know what the "original leak" was due to the engine being covered in oil.

We did the work that we charged Mr. ****** for on January 28th. We stand behind our work and we also explain if not OVER explain what we do, why we do it and what other problems, if any, there may be. Again, we explained over and over to Mr. ****** that there may be additional leaks but we had repaired what was evident at the time. If Mr. ****** has a leak, we would be certain it would be from a different location, which does not mean that what we repaired was not necessary, it just means that what we repaired was only the BEGINNING of what was necessary.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their answer is not acceptable for, again, they lie.

The engine in our vehicle wasn't, nor is now, covered with oil as they stated. They clearly fabricated ALL those oil leaks to make money in a slow week. We've pictures of our engine and it's clean, as it also was when we took it to them for the needed repairs -not for the ones they fabricated.

It's funny to read their report that the engine was ''covered in oil'' when they themselves mentioned the engine to look pristine.

Furthermore, it's very difficult to respond to dishonest individuals when they state that "the engine was covered with oil", that they repeatedly said that they "fixed what they could see" based on the other lie (engine covered with oil).

The engine covered with oil lie is been said here to create confusion and to protect their interest with future readers of the complaint we're presenting here.

THE ENGINE WASN'T COVERED WITH OIL AND THEY THEMSELVES STATED SAID ENGINE TO "LOOK PRISTINE" so don't believe that.

Also, we never asked if "all the leaks had been fix" nor were we told for "at least 3 times" that we needed to "drive it for at least a week and to bring it back to look further for other leaks". That's another of their dishonest statements.

Clearly, if the people working at "Tharp's Tire Store, Inc" (known to us as "Tharp's complete auto repair") or its owner Stephen Tharp had know -by seeing and/or by talking to others- that there were other leaks, they were suppose to tell us before doing any work for what we wanted was for the leaks causing the fumes to be fix. And, individuals in business for 29 years should be able to determine that.

When we took the vehicle back the following week was because the problem wasn't fixed, the same problem with oil leaking over the hot exhaust pipes was still there.

The problem they said -with their impressive 29 years in business experience- was cause by a "pin hole" in a small house which they were going to fix at no cost. WHAT A JOKE

After they fixed (???) what they -again with the 29 years in business experience- said was the problem, the leak is much more profuse and it makes it impossible to drive with the vents open for the extremely high amount of fumes (polluted air) inside the cabin.

Since we don't want to extend this much longer and to end we like to say:

No, we don't accept their answer(s);

They aren't telling the truth about what needed to be done to our vehicle;

They aren't telling the truth about what they told us needed to be done and did to our Escape;

They aren't telling the truth about the engine in our vehicle been covered with oil (the look at this fact would be enough for anyone to see that these individuals are just lying about all else) and we can show how clean we keep the engine to prove it.

Finally, now after all this parade of lies, on top of the refund of our money, we want to be paid for what it'd cost for our vehicle to be brought back to the original state before they "butchered" it to get money our of us, this in a place of our choice. Clearly their 29 years in business -which we translate into experience(??)- wasn't enough to determine the real problem so they had to go inventing problems with the hope one will work.

Final Business Response
Response attached

12/16/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Transmissions - Automobile, Tire Retread & Repair, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 08/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Tharp (Owner)Ms. Karen Hill (Office Manager)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Transmissions - Automobile, Tire Retread & Repair, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers

Products & Services

This company offers auto repair on transmissions, air conditioning, foreign and domestic cars, fleet accounts, including tire sales.

Alternate Business Names
Tharp's Complete Auto Repair, Tharp's Firestone & Transmission
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Shops

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tharp's Tire Store, Inc.

1633 Georgia St NE

Palm Bay, FL 32907-2568

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1633 Georgia St NE 

    Palm Bay, FL 32907-2568

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tharp's Tire Store, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Auto Repair Shops
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.