BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Florida

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/26/2013

Auto Tech II

Phone: (352) 237-4441

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sir,
On Dec. 30, 2013 I took my car for repair at Auto Tech ll, **** ** *** **** ****** ** XXXXX.
That moming the manager asked me to leave the car for a diagnostic and estimate, about 1
hour later I received the ll from Auto Tech ll about how much will be the cost of the repair. I
agreed and gave the ok to do it! The same day in the aftemoon I called them and I requested al
oil change at the same time since the mr was in the garage. Later they called me again and told
me that the car needed 2 serpentine belts changed. I also agreed because I need a safe car on
the road and my car will be ready the next day at 9 am. The next day I was very happy to pick
up my car, I trustthe shop, my car will be running better. 'l1le total of the labor and parts was
for $ 659.06. I paid that amount, expecting the car will run properly without problems. later
that day Dec. 31, 2013 I called Auto Tech ll, that my car was jumping and shutting itself off, the
check light on. They told me to bring the car back to check what was wrong. I took the car back,
one of the techniolans said that the car needed more work. Still they were not sure what was
wrong. I understood that their diagnostic was wondering, they denied warranty like is posted in
the invoice 12 months/12,000 miles. I was upset because the manager was talking about more
money. I went to an auto parts store **** ******* to nd out the honesty of Auto Tech II and
compared the prices of the parts, they changed and noticed the price of the belt were 3 times
of the cost of the store. EGR Vacuum Solenoid and the ignition coil were charged double. The
car was not fixed. The warranty denied and I was ripped off in everything. If the car was running
satisfactory, I did not have to nd out the scam that they do to a senior citizen like me. Like the
big community of retired people in Ocala, Florida. I am not looking for money back. Just to let
you know how this Auto Tech Il operates without mercy to the old people




Initial Business Response
This is in response to complaint # XXXXXXXX.

Customer brought the vehicle in on December 30, 2013 at 3:58pm (not in the morning as he indicated). His complaint was the check engine light was on and it ran rough in the morning. We asked him to leave the vehicle overnight so we could check the vehicle when the engine was cold. He left the vehicle and we took him home.

Upon driving the vehicle into the bay, the technician said that we had a hard misfire. We scanned the vehicle that evening verified a hard misfire in #4 cylinder and excessive flow in EGR system and the codes had been previously cleared; customer indicated that he had the car scanned at one of the parts stores. We then verified the fault with the #4 cylinder and the EGR system. We called the customer with an estimate that evening and he authorized repairs and added an oil change to the repair order. After performing the authorized repairs, we would be able to further check for his complaint. We told him we would change the oil the next morning and check the cold rough running after we had done the authorized repairs.

We checked for rough running on the morning of the 31st and found no further issues. We did recommend a tune-up because the car had 130,587 miles on it and had what appeared to be the original spark plugs. A 100,000 mile tune-up is recommended for this vehicle. Customer declined a tune-up at this time.

Upon doing the oil change, the two serpentine belts were the original belts and showed signs of excessive wear and cracking. We called the customer and he okayed the replacement of both belts. After doing the oil change and replacing the belts, we picked the customer up. We told him if he had any problems with the vehicle to bring it back in.

On January 3rd, 2014 (90 miles later), he called with the complaint that the check engine light was back on and in the morning it was jerking intermittently on acceleration. We again told him that we preferred to have the vehicle overnight again so we could check for the rough running when the engine was cold, since that was his complaint. He was told that we would re-scan and re-check at no charge as was our policy.

When we scanned the vehicle that evening, three codes had been set - two misfire codes - one each for #1 and #2 cylinders and a catalytic converter (CAT efficiency) code. We experienced no misfires and verified that the catalytic converter was operating within specifications.

On January 4th we re-scanned and tried to duplicate faults. Nothing was found. We test drove the vehicle. We could not duplicate any of the customer's complaints about rough running or jerking. Since we could not duplicate complaint, # 1 and #2 cylinders are at the back of the engine under the intake plenum which has to be removed to physically inspect those cylinders, harnesses, coils, etc. Again we recommended a tune-up which was 30,000 miles past due. The intake plenum has to be removed for the tune-up so further inspection could be done at that time with no additional diagnostic expense. We ran an electronic relative compression test to make sure there was no major engine damage.

We could not duplicate the customer's complaint. We did NOT charge customer for any of this recheck work.

On our drivability problems we have a seven mile loop we drive. We could not duplicate the complaint the night of the 3rd when the engine was warm or the next morning when the engine was cold or with tests in the bay.

We never refused or charged for warranty work. We actively pursued all of the customer's complaints. Customers are always encouraged to bring their vehicle back with any issues. Customer did not want to pursue issue further. Since misfires can be caused by many reasons,we cannot efficiently correct unless the vehicle fail while we have it. If customer does not bring vehicle back, we cannot correct issue under warranty or not. There would not be further charges to find issue unless we had to pull something apart or replace parts. Our warranty covers parts and labor as our invoices indicate and we stand behind our work.

As far as customer's complaint about parts pricing - parts stores like ************ sell at wholesale to repair shop and to walk in trade. We mark our parts at a retail price (cannot sell at cost). Customer's need to be aware that there are different quality lines of parts. They need to compare apples to apples. We primarily deal with first line parts - OEM or better, unless customer requests otherwise. Our warranty covers parts and labor.

We continually strive to satisfy all our customers. It is the customer's responsibility to communicate issues with us. This customer is still encouraged to bring the vehicle back for warranty at no charge just as we did recheck warranty work on January 3rd and 4th at no charge.

Thank you for your assistance with this complaint.

Respectfully,
***** ******
AutoTech II



Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother who is 83 went to autotech to get an oil change, after 5 separate price additions alignment,add. exp for alignment,cv axle,tie rods,now steering bushings car is leaking oil , i asked them to save parts was advised parts had been thrown away. this is abuse of elderly an should be investigated
Order_Number: XXXXX

Business' Initial Response
August 18, 2013
Better Business Bureau Case # ******** - ***** ********* ********

It is unfortunate Mr. ********* is upset. The core of most problems is communication. When he came in, he was obviously upset. We have repaired Mrs. *********'s 1997 Nissan Quest van since July 2004. The odometer has not worked since 2009. In November 2009 we told her the steering gear (rack) mounts were bad; she elected not to replace them at that time.

Mrs. ********* came in for an oil change and she needed an alignment. She brought the van in for the alignment and said to fix whatever needed to be fixed. We do NOT just perform repairs even when a customer makes such a statement. As we did with Mrs. *********, we call with needed repairs and estimates for the work to avoid miscommunication as much as possible.

Mrs. ********* was called that the tie rods needed to be replaced and the right CV boot was torn and needed to be replaced. She authorized the additional work. When the technician took the van for a test drive after the repairs and alignment, the steering wheel would not return to center properly. The steering gear (rack) mounts were bad. This condition cannot be found under a normal front end exam. It has to be experienced. The mounts were hard, but not cracked or broken so there was not visual evidence of the problem. We do not test drive a vehicle prior to an alignment unless a problem is indicated by the customer; we test drive it after an alignment to verify the repairs. That is when the problem was found. Mrs. ********* did not indicate that there was a problem with the steering wheel. The bad mounts were allowing the steering gear (rack) to shift, and it should not shift. Mrs. ********* was told in November 2009 the mounts needed to be replaced and they were not replaced at that time. These notes on customers suggested repairs are carried forward for a period of time and then are dropped by our POS system. They again declined to replace these mounts. We told Mr. ***** ********* and his mother that if we replaced the mounts or if they had them replaced elsewhere, we would redo the alignment at no charge.

We also told Mr. ********* that if there was an oil leak relating to the oil change or the axle repair. We would repair the leak at no charge, as is our policy.

All the old parts were available to Mr. ********* when he came into the shop. The only problem was that we required a $36.00 core charge if he took the axle. This is the core charge we pay to the parts supplier when we purchase the replacement part (not all parts have a core charge - the axle does) and we are refunded this core charge when we return the old part to the parts supplier. He did not want to pay the core charge and left all the other old parts on the front counter. We still have all the old parts, but the axle has been returned to our supplier to recover the core charge.

There is no overlapping of labor or repair charges on Mrs. *********'s van, so Mr. *********'s request for a refund is unwarranted. We did not charge labor for work that was already done. ***** and his mother have been long time customers. We are sorry for this situation.

Thank you -- ***** ******, AutoTech II

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Differentials - Automobile, Transmissions - Automobile, Towing - Automotive, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Diagnostic Service, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Auto Air Conditioning, Clutches

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.