BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1996

Credit Cars

Find a Location

Phone: (407) 295-6211Fax: (407) 295-65764500 W Colonial Dr, OrlandoFL 32808-8117 Send email to Credit Cars

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1996

BBB has determined that Credit Cars meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Credit Cars

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/19/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Scott/Dan claimed to have mailed pmts back to me (never got)I made because they said their calls were ignored,took car, wont release my items
Feb 2016, my contract ended On my job. I immediately let Dan know that I would be getting unemploymentin a few weeks and tax refund. This is when he and Vicki were rude and said they had been mailing my payments back, I never got. Checked bank had not cleared. Dan then said he would wait a few weeks. I made payments from unemployment checks to Credit Cars, still awaiting refund to get caught up. Due to Affordable Care Act issues with health insurance my refund was mot released until June 2016, I still was sending pmts to Dans attn. i even sent him a pmt he demanded on a Saturday to his attn with a note stapled asking not to cash until that Wed when unemployment would direct deposit, he deposited it anyway, caused me nsf fees and laughed about it when I called. i had to contact **************** office to assist me with getting corrections made to my health insurance ppwk and my refund was reduced yet finally released. With no job, I had to catch up car insurance, other bills and obligations as well and sent Dan $400, he came and got the car anyway. They never reported my pmts to credit bureaus because he said they were behind. I had offered several times to return the vehicle. I placed a stop pmt on my $400 check and asked for my daughters belongings weeks ago. I went Saturday Aug 20 as she starts back to college Monday and needs her things, school ID etc Dan said I couldnt have the things because he wants his key, he said I should have made an appt, told ********************************** to have me removed as a trespasser. The Sheriff said they have the right to not give me my daughters things because of the key and its a civil matter.

Desired Settlement
I want EVERY pmt I made updated with the credit bureau.
I want my daughters things.
I want the check from Jan they claim they mailed back to me. (Never came). T0
I am have contacted State Atty of Motor Vehicle Dealers but want to see in the contract (its not in mine) that they have the right to accept pmts, not record them, hold them yet repossess despite the $in their hands.
I want to see in the contract where if you dont return a key, you cannot have your personal property.
if Dan & Scott dont have a key, how did they get the items out the car?
I want written stmt with dates of every check, amscot money order they received from me.
I am contacting a colleague whose brother works at Channel 6
They are planted right in the heart of the inner city, with no one that looks like the community they take advantage of.
There is obviously a reason they now have hired Officer************* to work onsite, I hope others are able to realize they can file complaints also, to make this BBB rating go to a D or F as it should.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Scott Lanier
Contact Phone: 407-295-6211
Contact Email:
Re: Complaint Case #: ********

Dear BBB,

We have been selling and financing vehicles in our community for 54 years and have sold tens of thousands of vehicles with no to few complaints. We pride ourselves in resolving any and all complaints prior to the compliant escalating to the BBB or even having complaints at all.

It is unfortunate that Ms. ******* only became dissatisfied with our company after the purchase of this vehicle, as she and her family have done business with us over the last eight years. Yes, she is a repeat customer. Since our business is predicated upon repeat clientele, and represents a good portion of our business, it would not serve us to alienate Ms. ******* or create an environment of customer dissatisfaction. Customer satisfaction is our goal.

To address some of her issues. Her belongings are still here, and were available to her, at no charge, since the initial date of request. Ms. ******* had a confirmed appointment to pick up her property but did not show. When Ms. ******* did arrive she refused to release the key, we ask for the key in exchange for the personal property, in lieu of any fees. Dan communicated to her he would release the property without the key to prevent any further discord. For some unknown reason she left without retrieving her property, Dan called her, and she said she would return at 4:40 that same afternoon but never did.

Due to privacy concerns it is impossible to respond to this complaint in a public forum, as we cannot release personal private information. Ms. ******* is welcome to a transaction history of her account at any time.

We tried, to the best of our ability and resources, to accommodate the situation with Ms. ******* and her account. For over eight months we worked with her so she could keep her vehicle. It is never pleasant for a customer/business relationship to end this way, as we value all our customers. This is why a signed contract is completed at the time of purchase, with the financial terms clearly indicated, and agreed to by both parties.

As with any of our customers that default in their contractual obligations we do not pursue any collection efforts or pursue deficiency balances. Instead, we offer debt forgiveness of the deficiency balance, and report a zero balance to the credit bureau.

If I can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact me.


Scott Lanier

02/05/2015Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Loans

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 05/14/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Orange County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of VI 5649 for this company.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of 21389 for this company, issued by Orange County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity


Incorporated: May 1982, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott H. Lanier (President)Ms. Lessie An Lanier (Vice President)Mr. Steve Murphy (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Loans

Products & Services

This company offers preowned automotive sales and financing services.

Service Area

Orlando and Central Florida.

Alternate Business Names
Scott's Credit Cars Inc
Industry Tips
Buying A Used Car

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Credit Cars

4500 W Colonial Dr

Orlando, FL 32808-8117

To | From


2 Locations

  • 1400 W Colonial Dr 

    Orlando, FL 32808

  • 4500 W Colonial Dr 

    Orlando, FL 32808-8117

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Credit Cars is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Buying A Used Car

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.