BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Florida

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1994

Toyota of Orlando

Phone: (407) 298-4500Fax: (407) 292-6302

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

46 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues13
Billing / Collection Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service28
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints46

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (46)BBB Closure Definitions
05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Broke down 2son's bday party; Call ***** @ Toyota ask 4 help;refuse. Refuse make excption. Refuse call manger. 2hrs late to party 3rd major prob w/car
At mall, exchange gift. come out, park break won't come off. call toyota care. send truck and text. call tow co. let know Toyota Orlando close at 7pm. Tow Co. rush truck. arrive 5:45pm. Tried to release PB. can't. 6pm friend call 2 come pick up boys to party; explain. She says call Toyota, see if stay open little longer. Call, due to how car parked needed 2d tow truck possibly. ***** refuses open til 7. plz call manager? "No managers here. They have day off. I'm NOT going to disturb them for THIS." Make exception PLEASE, I need help. Sorry, we close at 7pm. So unwilling to help? Didn't say that, we close at 7pm, could POSSIBLY be here until 8pm. What do I do if you're not there? How about you get all the paperwork ready and send it to rental place and it goes smoothly and I can take car. No, we close at 7pm and we need your signature and copy of DL. Well, I can find a fax machine and get you that information. No, we close at 7pm. Look, I know you close at 7pm, why are you so unwilling to help. I start to cry by this time and tell him it's my son's birthday party and he's late and all I want is him to help and he won't help. He just keeps refusing. I even asked if someone could bring the car to me at Town Center mall in Sanfor and he said, "No, we close at 7pm." What if we rent a car and you re-imburse us?" I'm not authorized to do that and there's no one here to do that and we close at 7pm. Finally I said, "You know what I love ***** and I love ****** ******** But you're sposed to be a family owned company and I NEED some help, but you're not willing to help me. You're making this about the bottom line. I'm frustrated b/c my son is with me and we're supposed at his bday party and they're waiting for him and his friend and you are not willing to help. I believe the car is a lemon. This is the 3rd major problem with it. The front right strut needed to be replaced, the back right strut is making the same thunking noises as the front was and now this. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS CAR. What would have happened if I was driving on the highway or down 436 going 70/55mph and the parking break froze? Not only was the customer service in the Service Department with ***** deplorable, but now we have a lemon for a car I signed a contract on in 2013 (Oct. 26th) 7420 miles on it. This was my VERY FIRST brand new car ever and I'm going to be 42 in June. I'm BEYOND DISAPPOINTED, scared and extremely panicky, stressed and anxious. Situations like this make it MEGA terrible; as I am currently being treated for HIGH anxiety and depression. Not to mention I no longer feel safe driving that car.

Initial Business Response
April 21, 2014

Ms. ******* ******
Consumer Affairs
Better Business Bureau of Central Florida, Inc.
1600 S. Grant Street
Longwood, Florida XXXXX


Re: Ms. ******** ******* (BBB Case #XXXXXXXX)


Dear Ms. *******

As you may be aware, I am the Chairman and owner of the automobile dealership known as Toyota of Orlando. I am writing in response to your email correspondence dated April 15, 2014, whereby you forwarded a complaint form completed by Ms. ******** ******* expressing certain concerns regarding her recent conversations with service personnel at our dealership and concerns regarding the Toyota Prius (the "Vehicle") she had purchased from our dealership in October, 2013.

Upon receipt of your letter, I reviewed all of the documents in Ms. *******'s file. Thereafter, I discussed her concerns in detail with all appropriate personnel at our dealership.

Ms. ******* notes that she recently experienced certain mechanical issues with the Vehicle. She also notes that she was not satisfied with our dealership's immediate responses to her apparent predicament dealing with the Vehicle's mechanical issues late in the day and on the same day of her son's birthday. Accordingly, after reviewing Ms. *******'s comments, and in accordance with her expressed desires, we arranged for her to come to the dealership this past week in order that we could discuss her concerns and examine the Vehicle.

Initially, we apologized that we were unable to fulfill Ms. *******'s original requests and process a rental vehicle remotely or after our regular and posted closing times. In any event, we then placed Ms. ******* in a rental vehicle at no costs while our service department examined the Vehicle. Later in the week Ms. ******* returned to the dealership and our service department personnel walked her through a summary of our examination and a review of the Vehicle showing Ms. ******* that we could not duplicate her concerns and we could not find anything wrong with the Vehicle.

Ms. ****, we appreciate your inquiry into this matter, and believe that the foregoing fully explains our position and proper actions regarding the same. Having shown that the Vehicle was in full working order and already having provided a rental vehicle at no costs during this examination process we had technically fulfilled our legal and even industry standard obligations to Ms. *******. However, Toyota of Orlando remains committed not only to proper business practices in the Central Florida business community, but also, whenever reasonably possible, to meet our stated goal of 100% customer satisfaction. Accordingly, our sales department personnel worked with Ms. ******* and made arrangements to trade her out of the Vehicle and into a new Toyota Prius. We were pleased thereby that we were able to amicably resolve this matter with Ms. ******* and have her leave the dealership as a satisfied customer.

If you have any further questions or comments concerning this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

****** ** ********,
Chairman
Toyota of Orlando

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: In 10/13, I was in a car accident. The Honda Civic I owned was totaled. I purchased a 2012 Nissan Versa from Toyota of Orlando that same month. I figured a Gold Check Certified used car from a major dealership was safe and reliable. I paid $14,400 cash for the car. On 11/16/13, my Versa did not start. It took a charge with difficulty but died once the vehicle was turned off. The morning of 11/18/13, I took the car to Toyota and paid $110.00 for a new battery. Despite emailing *** ******* ***** ******* and **** ******* about the situation, I was advised there was nothing the dealership could do. I was told the battery was checked and ok when the inspection was completed prior to the sale. On 03/11/14, 5 months after my purchase, my 2012 Nissan Versa died in traffic during rush hour. I had it towed to the nearest dealership, Universal Nissan. I was informed by the service technician at Nissan the Radiator fan blew and the car overheated. Repair cost is $645.00. The car is no longer under factory warranty and it is 1000 miles over the Gold Check warranty sold with it.Worried that the vehicle may have further problems in a few more months, I contacted Toyota of Orlando and requested the CarFax report and a detailed copy of the Gold Check inspection report. After some difficulty, ****** ***** from Financial Services sent me the CarFax. The report showed no major issues. She also advised I would get be contacted by **** ****** in service about the inspection. After not being contacted by **** for several days, I called him and was told the dealership could not provide me a copy of the inspection as they destroy them 1 month after they are completed. He advised there was no other place I could get the inspection from. Again I emailed *** ******* ***** ******* and **** ******** I have received no response 10 days later.At this point, I have no idea what else is going to go wrong with the vehicle. It is neither safe nor reliable. I do not believe the vehicle was checked properly.
Product_Or_Service: 2012 Nissan Versa

Initial Business Response
April 2, 2014

Ms. ******* ******
Consumer Affairs Representative
Better Business Bureau of Central Florida, Inc.
1600 S. Grant Street
Longwood, Florida 32750


Re: Ms. ****** ******** (BBB Case #XXXXXXXX)


Dear Ms. *******

As you may be aware, I am the Chairman and owner of the automobile dealership known as Toyota of Orlando. I am writing in response to your email correspondence dated March 27, 2014, whereby you forwarded a complaint form completed by Ms. ****** ******** expressing certain concerns regarding the 2012 Nissan Versa (the "Vehicle") she purchased from our dealership several months ago.

Upon receipt of your letter, I reviewed all of the documents in Ms. ********'s file. Thereafter, I discussed her concerns in detail with all appropriate personnel at our dealership.

As Ms. ******** notes, In October, 2013 she purchased the Vehicle from our Dealership. She then states that subsequently she experienced a problem with the Vehicle's battery and more recently with the Vehicle's radiator. As a result of these incidents she is worried that the Vehicle was not checked completely and properly and that other problems may currently exist with the Vehicle.

Following receipt of your letter we contacted Ms. ********. She came to the Dealership and met with our Service Manager, Mr. **** ******** A complete inspection was done on the Vehicle while Ms. ******** was present at the Dealership. The completed inspection revealed that all systems and components on the Vehicle were in full working order, except for one rear taillight. A copy of the inspection was provided to Ms. ********. Further, and as a courtesy, the rear taillight was replaced at no cost. Ms. ******** left the Dealership with no remaining issues or concerns.

Ms. ******, we appreciate your inquiry into this matter, and believe that the foregoing fully explains our position and proper actions regarding the same. Toyota of Orlando remains committed to proper business practices in the Central Florida business community and we strive to meet our stated goal of 100% customer satisfaction whenever reasonably possible. In this regard we were pleased to conduct and provide at no cost an updated copy of a complete inspection report on and for Ms. ********'s Vehicle, as well as a new rear taillight that appeared as the only non-working component on the Vehicle. We were pleased that we were able to amicably resolve this matter with Ms. ********.

If you have any further questions or comments concerning this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,

****** ** ********
Chairman
Vineland Motor Sales, Inc.
d/b/a Toyota of Orlando

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: The rental vehicle they provided had engine failure in a dangerous intersection, 3 hours after I left the parking lot. They left me stranded.
As an older, single female, I was placed in a harrowing position by the Hertz vehicle provided by Toyota of Orlando. Yesterday, 02/17/2014, I rented a Hertz rental car through their office in Toyota of Orlando, while my Prius was being repaired. Three hours later, the engine gave out coming off of I-4, in a dangerous intersection getting onto 46W in Sanford. With smoke billowing and the gas pedal not working, I had to roll it into a turn lane. There was a Hertz sales office a few feet away. They said they couldn't help because they only sold Hertz vehicles. A nearby Hertz on Rinehardt Road said they were out of cars and couldn't help. The 800 folks did not respond to my urgent calls. It was only after Deputy ******** ******* arrived from the Seminole County Sheriff and called them about the dangerous situation, and after he and two deputies rolled the car off the road, did the tow truck finally arrive. We were told the only cars available were at the Sanford airport. The tow truck drove me several miles and dropped me off at the airport, only to be told by the Hertz rep that she could not honor my contract from the Toyota of Orlando local office (this, after the 800 rep told me to go there). They offered me a new contract for two days at $557, compared to the $28 a day I had originally contracted for. The Hertz office where I rented the car was not answering, and only called me back after 3 hours, telling me that they couldn't get through to the Sanford Airport agent to ask them to honor the contract, and they were being put through to Oklahoma. They offered no apology and no resolution. After a four hour odyssey stranded at Sanford Airport, my poor 70 year old mother had to find her way in an unknown city to pick me up. I still have not received a call from the Hertz office at Toyota of Orlando offering a replacement vehicle, 24 hours later.

I hope you will provide some compensation for the dangerous situation I was put in through the negligence of the Orlando office on Vineland Road, the unwillingness to get involved and resolve the situation by at least providing me a replacement vehicle, the lack of customer service help from Toyota of Orlando and all the Hertz offices I encountered, the loss of an entire day trying to deal with this, not to mention an apology to the Sheriff's Office of Seminole County and my mother who also almost got herself into an accident trying to find me.

Initial Business Response
March 10, 2014

Ms. ******* ******
Consumer Affairs
Better Business Bureau of Central Florida, Inc.
1600 S. Grant Street
Longwood, Florida XXXXX


Re: Ms. *** ******** (BBB Case #XXXXXXXX)


Dear Ms. *******

As you may be aware, I am the Chairman and owner of the automobile dealership known as Toyota of Orlando. I am writing in response to your email correspondence originally dated February 19, 2014 and re-sent to our dealership on March 6, 2014, whereby you forwarded a complaint form completed by Ms. *** ******** expressing certain concerns regarding the rental vehicle she rented from Hertz while her Toyota Prius was in the service department at our dealership.

Initially, please note that Ms. ********'s complaint evidences that her issues were being addressed to Hertz and not really to our dealership. Accordingly, it was first thought that an appropriate response and handling of the matter would be completed by Hertz. However, as I have explained to our dealership department heads, it is necessary and appropriate that we provide our own response to any BBB inquiries regardless of the underlying facts. Accordingly, and upon receipt of your follow-up letter, I re-reviewed Ms. ********'s comments and discussed her concerns in detail with all appropriate personnel in our dealership's service department.

As Ms. ******** notes, on February 17, 2014 she brought her Toyota Prius to our dealership for servicing. In connection with said servicing Ms. ******** rented a vehicle from the Hertz counter at our dealership, as is common practice by many of our customers who are having various services done to their vehicle and need other transportation until such services are completed. Later in the day Ms. ******** contacted our dealership stating that she was experiencing problems with her rental car. Our personnel immediately transferred Ms. ******** to the Hertz representative at the Hertz counter in our dealership in order that her problems could be handled.

As Ms. ******** further notes in detail in her complaint, the remainder of her day involved various issues in dealing with and attempting to attain a replacement vehicle and/or alternative transportation from Hertz when her rental car had broken down. Although we had first heard from Ms. ******** earlier in the day we did not hear from Ms. ******** any further on the 17th and assumed that Hertz was handling the matter. Again, all of the issues raised in Ms. ********'s complaint involve matters with and are directed to Hertz.

However, on the following day (February 18, 2014) we did receive an email from Ms. ******** outlining the events of the previous day. Accordingly, on the 18th and the following two days we were able to initiate some resolutions and action from Hertz, but even more, when some issues remained unresolved, we were able personally to provide some transportation of Ms. ******** as well as a courtesy delivery of her vehicle all at no costs. Further, we even completed some additional services on and to her Toyota Prius without charge as a result of her unsatisfactory dealings with Hertz. In the end Ms. ******** expressed her complete satisfaction with our dealership.

Ms. ******, we appreciate your inquiry into this matter, and know that the foregoing fully explains our position and proper actions regarding the same. Toyota of Orlando remains committed to proper business practices in the Central Florida business community and in making all reasonable and at times even extraordinary attempts to meet our stated goal of 100% customer satisfaction. Our transportation assistance and complimentary services are evidence of these efforts and we are pleased that Ms. ******** was more than satisfied with our dealership and our services.

If you have any further questions or comments concerning this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,

****** ********
Chairman
Toyota of Orlando


Final Consumer Response
Toyota of Orlando has resolved the case by providing me with a partial refund and contacting their Hertz office to further settle the matter. I consider the matter resolved and closed.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/03/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Purchased extended warranty are now insurance company is not honoring it.
Spoke with sales and service supervisors

Initial Business Response
February 12, 2014

Ms. ******* ******
Consumer Affairs Representative
Better Business Bureau
of Central Florida, Inc.
1600 S. Grant Street
Longwood, Florida XXXXX

Re: Ms. ****** ***** (Case #XXXXXXXX)

Dear Ms. *******

As you may be aware, I am the Chairman and owner of the automobile dealership known as Toyota of Orlando (the "Dealership"). I am writing in response to your email dated February 6, 2014, whereby you forwarded a statement of complaint from Ms. ****** ***** expressing certain concerns she had concerning her vehicle and recent events in the service department at our Dealership.

Upon receipt of your letter, I reviewed Ms. *****'s file and discussed her concerns with all appropriate personnel at out dealership.

Initially, note that on January 26, 2013 Ms. ***** purchased a used 2009 Scion (the "Vehicle") from Toyota of Orlando. In connection with said purchase, Ms. ***** also purchased a limited extended warranty issued by a third party company (Fidelity). In her statement Ms. ***** asserts that she recently visited the Dealership and that the Dealership recommended certain repairs, but that the extended warranty company refused to pay for said repairs. However, Ms. ***** says she still wants said repairs performed without any costs to her as "promised" when she purchased her extended warranty.

As Ms. ***** notes she did come to the Dealership this past month noting a low reading on the Vehicle's oil gauge. Upon examination of the Vehicle our service department determined that certain repairs totaling $$2,859.09 were necessary and appropriate. Just as had been done in November, 2013 when a prior service issue had arisen, we submitted said examinations and repair recommendations to Fidelity for review and possible payment under Ms. *****'s extended warranty. However, unlike in November, 2013 when Fidelity covered and paid for replacement of valve stem seals on the Vehicle, the oil related service and repairs now needed were denied by Fidelity as uncovered "excessive oil usage" and so Fidelity denied said claim under Ms. *****'s warranty and refused to pay for any such service and repairs.

At this point our service department went above and beyond its required service and contacted Toyota/Scion on behalf of Ms. *****. Through our discussions with Toyota/Scion we were able to get Toyota/Scion to agree as a courtesy to pay for 75% of Ms. *****'s uncovered oil related repairs leaving Ms. ***** with a balance owed of only $723.17. Despite these efforts and substantial savings, Ms. ***** has filed this complaint demanding that all her repair costs be paid even though there is no warranty coverage whatsoever to cover said costs.

Ms. ******, we appreciate your inquiry into this matter. We acknowledge that our Dealership is committed to 100% customer satisfaction whenever possible, as well as committed to both proper and excellent performance in the business community in Central Florida. It is evident from the facts in this matter that our dealership has acted at all times in an appropriate and even extraordinary manner. Although the written terms of Ms. *****'s warranty with a third-party (Fidelity) do not afford her coverage for her current repair requirements on her used Vehicle, and even though there is no legal or industry standard whatsoever requiring that our Dealership cover any element of said repairs, we have been able to arrange for 75% of said repair costs to be covered on Ms. *****'s behalf. We know that you will agree that we have acted appropriately and that there is no basis for Ms. *****'s complaint or the demands made therein, and that the same should therefore be dismissed.

In any event, and although Ms. ***** has to date refused to take advantage of our and Toyota/Scion's generous offer, we will honor this 75% payment on necessary repairs, provided that Ms. ***** has not damaged the Vehicle through any continued use and provided that she brings the Vehicle in with a payment of $723.17 before the end of this month (February, 2014).

If you have any further questions or comments concerning this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

****** A. ********
Chairman
Toyota of Orlando

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/20/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertised terms not honored

Complaint: As advertised I contacted Toyota of Orlando,and for car loan for my son, they said anyone can get a used car from them.

While I was watching TV last week I watched an advertisement for Toyota of Orlando. Which stated anyone can qualify for a used car. they had 150 million to lend. So my son **** and I filled a loan app. I was told it would take three days for the paperwork to be processed. I called back after three days. And talked to young lady named ******** who ask me to ask her to be paged when we got there. We got assigned to a salesman then we walked the lot and picked out a used car it was a dodge avenger. And then we went thru a process to get a loan. Our loan agent said he knew nothing about a program that ******** said that we had a loan approved for we drove over 50 miles to buy a car that ad ran on TV is a bold face lie they will tell you anything to get you to come in and be lied too

Initial Business Response
January 6, 2014

Ms. ******* ******
Consumer Affairs Representative
Better Business Bureau
of Central Florida, Inc.
1600 Grant Street
Longwood, Florida 32750

Re: Mr. ****** **** (BBB Case No. XXXXXXXX)

Dear Ms. *******

As you may be aware, I am the Chairman and owner of the automobile dealership known as Toyota of Orlando. I am writing in response to your email correspondence dated December 23, 2013, whereby you forwarded a statement of complaint from Mr. ****** **** expressing certain concerns he had regarding his recent experience with sales personnel at our dealership.

Upon receipt of your letter, I reviewed this matter and discussed Mr. ****'s concerns with all appropriate personnel at our dealership. Mr. **** essentially states that the dealership advertises that "anyone" can qualify for a loan to purchase a vehicle. Mr. **** subsequently states that the salesperson he worked with "knew nothing" about any loan approval program. Finally, Mr. **** states that he wants the dealership to honor its advertisement and provide him with a loan.

Initially, based on Mr. ****'s statements it would appear that he was not approved for a loan for a vehicle purchase and that there appears to be some possible validity to his implied claim that the dealership is not honoring it's advertised claims. However, Mr. ****'s letter is incomplete and inaccurate.

On December 21, 2013 Mr. **** and his son came to our dealership expressing an interest in purchasing a used vehicle. Further, Mr. **** and his son also mentioned the dealership's advertisement claim that anyone could qualify for a purchase money loan. Thereafter, Mr. **** and his son worked with dealership personnel and a sales price for a used Dodge vehicle was negotiated. Further, a proposed loan for the purchase of said vehicle was processed and presented to Mr. **** and his son.

The initial loan calculated and presented to Mr. **** and his son required several thousand dollars down because Mr. ****'s existing vehicle he was to trade-in in connection with the new purchase had several thousand dollars in negative equity (It was noted that all dealership advertisements specifically provided that "negative equity on trades can affect savings/credit approvals"). Mr. **** stated that he did not have several thousand dollars to put down to cover the negative equity in his trade-in vehicle.

Dealership personnel went further and arranged a possible alternative loan for the used Dodge with Mr. **** retaining the existing trade-in (and its existing loan). This loan transaction for the purchase of the used Dodge would only necessitate a standard $1,000 down payment, but based on Mr. **** and his son's credit it would be necessary to have an additional co-signer to obtain bank approval for a new loan while retaining an existing car loan. In fact this alternative was understood to be the plan that Mr. **** wanted to explore further and a follow-up meeting with Mr. ****, his son and a co-signor was arranged for December 30th. However, rather than attend such meeting Mr. **** chose to file his incomplete and misleading statement with the BBB.

Ms. ******* we appreciate your inquiry into this matter. Our dealership is obviously in the business of selling vehicles, and at the same time we are committed to the goals of 100% customer satisfaction and excellent performance in the business community in Central Florida. This commitment includes using our expertise and contacts with financial institutions to assist in arranging loans for anyone that desires to purchase a vehicle from our dealership (exactly as stated in our advertisements). However, knowing that consumers regularly and in most instances will be trading-in an existing vehicle in connection with their new purchase and loan, we specifically disclose in our dealership advertisements that existing "negative equity" can affect a consumer's savings and new loan approval conditions. This is exactly what occurred in Mr. ****'s case. The issue was not whether we were able to coordinate a loan for Mr. ****, but rather his desire to in effect "wipe away" his existing negative equity, which our advertisement claims disclose and warn is not part of our advertisement claims.

We remain ready and willing to work with Mr. **** to finalize his purchase and related loan approval, but it will be incumbent upon Mr. **** and his son to provide the funds necessary to cover the negative equity in his trade-in vehicle. In any event, Mr. ****'s implied claims that the dealership failed to honor it's advertisement claims are incorrect and must be dismissed as baseless, with this matter closed on the records of the BBB.

If you have any further questions or comments concerning this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

****** A. ********
Chairman
******** ***** ****** ***
d/b/a Toyota of Orlando

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 8
04/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: Purchased a car on 2/12/14. I was not happy about a few things and when I tried to rectify the problem, I got no where. POOR customer service.
My daughter and I purchased a 2010 Toyota Corolla le on Feb. 12, 2014. Our sales rep. was ****** *****. The fact that we spent $12200 for a car and told "as is" is crazy. The vin number is **********XXXXXXX. Here is a list of issues: one key $100.00. 4 tires fair condition. wiper blades poor condition. scratches on drivers side. We had to go back and resign paper work because they made mistakes on it. We got nothing for our time or trouble!!! I should have told them "as is". The car is financed. I just can't believe that NOTHING was offered to fix these very small issues. I would have been satisfied with a meet in the middle somewhere. I left not happy when ****** ***** told me that they were NOT going to do anything. I then called and spoke with ****. He gave me the same company nonsense. These folks have NO concern for the customer.

Initial Business Response
March 6, 2014

Ms. ******* ******
Consumer Affairs
Better Business Bureau of Central Florida, Inc.
1600 S. Grant Street
Longwood, Florida XXXXX

Re: Mr. ****** ******* (BBB Case #XXXXXXXX)

Dear Ms. *******

As you may be aware, I am the Chairman and owner of the automobile dealership known as Toyota of Orlando. I am writing in response to your email correspondence dated March 3, 2014, whereby you forwarded a complaint form completed by Mr. ****** ******* expressing certain concerns regarding the 2010 Toyota Corolla (the "Vehicle") he recently purchased from our dealership.

Upon receipt of your letter, I reviewed all of the documents in Mr. *******'s file. Thereafter, I discussed his concerns in detail with all appropriate personnel at our dealership.

As Mr. ******* notes, on February 12, 2014, he purchased the Vehicle from our Dealership. As he also notes, the Vehicle, following Mr. *******'s full review and examination thereof, was voluntarily and knowingly purchased on an "As-Is" basis with no representations or warranties from the Dealership concerning the condition thereof. Further, Mr. ******* notes that he had to return to the Dealership subsequent to February 12th in order to execute different contract documents. Based on all these statements Mr. ******* concludes that the Dealership should make some sort of accommodation and pay him some monies for his "inconvenience" in returning to the Dealership and to cover certain matters of condition related to the Vehicle (ie., scratches, etc...).

Initially, please note that Mr. ******* did in fact have to return to the Dealership subsequent to February 12, 2014. This return was necessitated by the fact that the finance company determined that based on Mr. *******'s credit history they would require a higher interest rate than initially provided in his original proposed contract. As a result of this condition required by the finance company Mr. ******* was being afforded the opportunity to voluntarily "re-contract" at a higher interest rate. As an "accommodation" (neither legally required nor standard for the industry) the Dealership agreed to and did lower the original purchase price (at a loss of profit to the Dealership), whereupon Mr. ******* voluntarily executed a new set of contract documents, finalizing the purchase of the Vehicle on an "As-Is" basis.

Now, Mr. ******* asserts that the Dealership is somehow failing to conduct business properly and treat him well as a customer, unless the Dealership pays him some monies to cover the inconvenience of returning to the Dealership to sign new documents and compensate him for pre-existing and evident conditions of the Vehicle, that were apparent both on February 12, 2014 when he originally signed As-Is purchase documents covering the Vehicle and again subsequently when he voluntarily executed new As-Is documentation.

Ms. ******* we appreciate your inquiry into this matter, and believe that the foregoing fully explains our position and proper actions regarding the same. Toyota of Orlando remains committed to proper business practices in the Central Florida business community and while we strive to meet our stated goal of 100% customer satisfaction. However, such a policy can not require us to pay monies for no valid basis, especially when we have already made non-required monetary accommodations concerning the matter at hand.

As noted above, and without any obligation to do so, we lowered Mr. *******'s original purchase price. Despite this fact (omitted in Mr. *******'s statements), Mr. ******* inappropriately requests consideration for his "inconvenience". Further, he questions the basic "As-Is" contract method (a legal and industry standard process), and thereby asserts that he is entitled to further consideration. Based on the facts in this matter, it is evident that Mr. *******'s allegations and his requests have no valid basis and must be appropriately dismissed.

If you have any further questions or comments concerning this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

****** ** ********
Chairman
Toyota of Orlando


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear Ms. *******
I respect the fact that you made the inquiry on my behalf. I never mentioned my credit as the issue. My issue with the vehicle is that there is only one (1) key. We were told this after we signed paper work on the 12th of February. Then, we were told its $400.00 for the same key or $ 100.00 for a key that opens the door, trunk, and starts the car. When I inquired as to only one key, I was told that people don't always turn them in. Well, that's great, I'm willing to pay a portion of that $100 but they did not offer any type of negotiation. Also, Mr. ******** states that the scratches were on the car the night I took delivery, yes that is true. What I was not told by his salespeople is that I purchased this at 9 pm (which I will NEVER do again), therefor, did not see this damage. Also, did not get a good look at the tires. When I did I had a friend (who has done Toyota Certification for years) look at it. He told me the tires should have been changed. Again, when I mentioned it to Mr. *****, he laughed in my face. Also, he told my daughter, who drives the car, that she will never be left stranded. Well on Sat. March 2, she was left stranded. She went to gas up. When she tried to start the car to leave it would not start. Unfortunately, her cell phone was dead and could not call me. She went back into the store and was telling her problem to the clerk and a gentleman heard her. Lucky for all of us he is a gentleman. He had to tighten the positive terminal on the battery. We all hear so many stories that this could have ended in a bad way. I thank the Good Lord!! Let me leave it like this. I will be willing to sit down with Mr. ******** and discuss the issues as a customer. This will tell how much they care about customer service.
Thanks,
*** *******
XXX-XXX-XXXX
********@**********

Final Business Response

March 6, 2014

Ms. ******* ******
Consumer Affairs
Better Business Bureau of Central Florida, Inc.
1600 S. Grant Street
Longwood, Florida XXXXX


Re: Mr. ****** ******* (BBB Case #XXXXXXXX)


Dear Ms. *******

As you may be aware, I am the Chairman and owner of the automobile dealership known as Toyota of Orlando. I am writing in response to your email correspondence dated March 3, 2014, whereby you forwarded a complaint form completed by Mr. ****** ******* expressing certain concerns regarding the 2010 Toyota Corolla (the "Vehicle") he recently purchased from our dealership.

Upon receipt of your letter, I reviewed all of the documents in Mr. *******'s file. Thereafter, I discussed his concerns in detail with all appropriate personnel at our dealership.

As Mr. ******* notes, on February 12, 2014, he purchased the Vehicle from our Dealership. As he also notes, the Vehicle, following Mr. *******'s full review and examination thereof, was voluntarily and knowingly purchased on an "As-Is" basis with no representations or warranties from the Dealership concerning the condition thereof. Further, Mr. ******* notes that he had to return to the Dealership subsequent to February 12th in order to execute different contract documents. Based on all these statements Mr. ******* concludes that the Dealership should make some sort of accommodation and pay him some monies for his "inconvenience" in returning to the Dealership and to cover certain matters of condition related to the Vehicle (ie., scratches, etc...).

Initially, please note that Mr. ******* did in fact have to return to the Dealership subsequent to February 12, 2014. This return was necessitated by the fact that the finance company determined that based on Mr. *******'s credit history they would require a higher interest rate than initially provided in his original proposed contract. As a result of this condition required by the finance company Mr. ******* was being afforded the opportunity to voluntarily "re-contract" at a higher interest rate. As an "accommodation" (neither legally required nor standard for the industry) the Dealership agreed to and did lower the original purchase price (at a loss of profit to the Dealership), whereupon Mr. ******* voluntarily executed a new set of contract documents, finalizing the purchase of the Vehicle on an "As-Is" basis.

Ms. ******* ******
March 6, 2014
Page Two
__________________

Now, Mr. ******* asserts that the Dealership is somehow failing to conduct business properly and treat him well as a customer, unless the Dealership pays him some monies to cover the inconvenience of returning to the Dealership to sign new documents and compensate him for pre-existing and evident conditions of the Vehicle, that were apparent both on February 12, 2014 when he originally signed As-Is purchase documents covering the Vehicle and again subsequently when he voluntarily executed new As-Is documentation.

Ms. ******, we appreciate your inquiry into this matter, and believe that the foregoing fully explains our position and proper actions regarding the same. Toyota of Orlando remains committed to proper business practices in the Central Florida business community and while we strive to meet our stated goal of 100% customer satisfaction. However, such a policy can not require us to pay monies for no valid basis, especially when we have already made non-required monetary accommodations concerning the matter at hand.

As noted above, and without any obligation to do so, we lowered Mr. *******'s original purchase price. Despite this fact (omitted in Mr. *******'s statements), Mr. ******* inappropriately requests consideration for his "inconvenience". Further, he questions the basic "As-Is" contract method (a legal and industry standard process), and thereby asserts that he is entitled to further consideration. Based on the facts in this matter, it is evident that Mr. *******'s allegations and his requests have no valid basis and must be appropriately dismissed.

If you have any further questions or comments concerning this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,



****** ** ********
Chairman
Central Florida Motor Sales, Inc.
d/b/a Toyota of Orlando

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

04/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose complete pricing information

Complaint: This dealership would not give me a lease price on an advertised vehicle. The complete report of the incident is below.
Office of the Attorney General April 5, 2013
State of Florida
PL-01 The Capitol
Tallahassee Florida XXXXX-XXXX

Dear Attorney General;

I am writing to report an incident which appears to be false advertising, (or "bait," without the switch being executed), because I refuse to play their silly game.

I am a 68 year young, senior citizen with temporary residence in Clermont FL.; AKA "snowbird". I reside in Illinois for the summer.

I am in the market to lease, or purchase a Toyota Prius so I went on line to do some research and ended up on the Toyota of Orlando website.

I wasn't able to get any pricing information unless I filled out a form that offered either a $700.00; or a $300.00 off coupon. I couldn't get the $700.00 coupon to print, but was able to print the $300.00 one which I did. After I filled out the information, I was able to see a lease quote for $ 229.00 per month for 36 months.

Since I have a 2006 Chrysler P.T. Cruiser with low mileage to trade in, I wanted to stop by the dealership to get a quote.

Within an hour, (at about 3:00 P.M.) of my online registration, Janet called me from the internet Dept. She explained that she had 2 vehicles with special internet pricing. One was a white pearl color for $21,289.00, and the other, a black model for $21,970.00. Both were normally priced at around $25,000.00.
She wanted me to come and look at them, so I did.

I arrived at a little before 4:00, met with Janet who introduced me to Chris Avila, a nice young sales rep. I told Janet that I was on a time constraint and only had one hour to get a price.

Then as we were walking out to the lot, I told Chris the same thing; and since I was possibly going to trade in the Chrysler, maybe he should be having it appraised to save time; remember I only have an hour.

He said "That's not the way we do it here, we have to find the vehicle you want to buy first, and then it gets turned over to the finance guy."





By 4:15 we found 2 vehicles that I wanted quotes for. We went inside the show room and sat at a round table and Chris filled out an information form. By then it was 4:25.

Then he called some other guy over to sell me a vehicle. I told him that that he had about 35 minutes left to give me a price, and they still haven't appraised my vehicle.
I didn't get the person's name that came over, but he asked me if I could take delivery of the car today.

I said no, heck I don't even know the price yet; and now there's only about 30 minutes left. That guy said that he would get someone else and walked away.

A few minutes later, a new guy came over, so I started to explain again. I asked if he could give me a price within 25 minutes. He said no, so I left the dealership.

I have bought, and sold many cars, trucks, farm tractors, semi-tractors and equipment since I was a young fellow on the farm. When I'm ready, it doesn't take very long for me to make the deal; but I have never ever had anything as surreal as this happen to me in my life.

I was honest and up front with my intentions from the beginning. I was polite, but firm, maybe even a little abrupt but they were downright rude and disrespectful.

Not that it matters, but the reason I only had an hour to get a price was that I had to get home to take my wife on a dinner date. I'll be darned if I'm going to let some car dealership get me in trouble with my wife; even if I am getting it for her.

After thinking back on what happened, I don't think they ever would sell, or lease me one of the vehicles I picked out. I think they just use them as "bait".

I just can't believe why they spend a lot of money on T.V. commercials, (a man & woman with a white dog) to get people to come in to the dealership, and then treat me like this.

All I know is that I will never---ever set foot in that dealership again.

Sincerely;

****** M. ****** ph: XXX-XXX-XXXX
**************************************

Cc: Toyota of Orlando
BBB of Central FL.; 1600 G

Business' Initial Response
April 17, 2013

Ms. ************
Consumer Affairs Representative
Better Business Bureau
of Central Florida, Inc.
1600 Grant Street
Longwood, Florida XXXXX

Re: Mr. ****** ****** (BBB Case No. XXXXXXXX)

Dear Ms. ****:

As you may be aware, I am the Chairman and owner of the automobile dealership known as Toyota of Orlando. I am writing in response to your email correspondence dated April 12 2013, whereby you forwarded a statement of complaint from Mr. ****** ****** expressing certain concerns he had regarding his recent experience with sales personnel at our dealership.

Upon receipt of your letter, I reviewed this matter and discussed Mr. ******'s concerns with all appropriate personnel at our dealership, including our General Manager Mr. ****** ******.

Mr. ****** initially notes that he made certain inquiries over the phone with personnel at our dealership concerning a-certain lease offers and b-prices for at least two vehicles for which he received price quotes. Thereafter he visited our dealership in order to view the identified vehicles, and discuss a possible purchase of one of the vehicles together with credit for a trade-in of his 2006 PT Cruiser.

As Mr. ****** further notes, during his visit to the dealership he arrived stating that he only had one hour to devote to a possible vehicle purchase transaction. After his arrival he did view the two vehicles he discussed over the telephone and there was some initial discussions over a possible transaction but in the end certain matters (including appraisal of his existing vehicle as a trade-in) did not move along fast enough for Mr. ****** and therefore he left the dealership after an hour. Subsequently, Mr. ****** filed this complaint indicating that he believed our dealership was practicing "bait and switch" tactics and never intended to sell him a vehicle.

Following our review of this matter our General Manager, Mr. ****** ******, telephoned Mr. ****** to discuss his concerns. Mr. ****** noted that price quotes were given to Mr. ****** before he even arrived at the dealership, so a refusal to provide a price was not an issue. However, Mr. ****** apologized if the timing of the transaction process and the communication by dealership personnel did not meet Mr. ******'s expectations. He further stated that the dealership was ready to do anything possible to complete a vehicle purchase with Mr. ******, including Mr. ******'s personal handling thereof. Mr. ****** expressed his appreciation for the apology, but noted that he had already purchased a vehicle from another dealership.

Ms. ****, we appreciate your inquiry into this matter. We regret the fact that there was any miscommunication by and between Mr. ****** and sales personnel, and that we were unable to meet his time expectations in this purchase inquiries. As noted to Mr. ******, we are in the business of selling vehicles and certainly do not practice any "bait and switch" tactics and no evidence of such tactics is actually noted in Mr. ******'s letter. In connection with the sale of vehicles we strive to and are committed to the goals of 100% customer satisfaction and excellent performance in the business community in Central Florida. Having failed to meet Mr. ******'s standards and initial requests we obviously failed to reach these goals. Since Mr. ****** has already purchased a vehicle from another dealership there is nothing further we can do other than Mr. ******'s final statements to Mr. ****** to please consider our dealership again with regard to any automotive needs that Mr. ****** may have in the future.

If you have any further questions or comments concerning this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

****** A. ******
Chairman
Central Florida Motor Sales, Inc.
d/b/a Toyota of Orlando

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I wanted a "lease" price on either of the vehicles; not a purchase price. Again. LEASE, LEASE; LEASE-- NOT PURCHASE!!! They certainly don't listen very well. Like he said, I already had the sale price, although they didn't match the price on the windshield after I got there. Some kind of extra sales fee was added.
The one hour time constraint certainly wasn't a secret either. They just didn't seem to care what I wanted as is evident throughout this conversation.
Of course I eventually did business with another dealership; why would I deal with Central Florida Toyota after being treated like this. He can spin it any way he wants, but it's his business after all. I just won't ever have any part in it after that fiasco. I should have listened to what I've heard in our community.
I may stop in the their new dealership which will be opening in Clermont soon, but my expectations are very low.
****** ******

Business' Final Response
Ms. ****, we appreciate your inquiry into this matter. We regret the fact that there was any miscommunication by and between Mr. ****** and sales personnel, and that we were unable to meet his time expectations in this purchase inquiries. As noted to Mr. ******, we are in the business of selling vehicles and certainly do not practice any "bait and switch" tactics and no evidence of such tactics is actually noted in Mr. ******'s letter. In connection with the sale of vehicles we strive to and are committed to the goals of 100% customer satisfaction and excellent performance in the business community in Central Florida. Having failed to meet Mr. ******'s standards and initial requests we obviously failed to reach these goals. Since Mr. ****** has already purchased a vehicle from another dealership there is nothing further we can do other than Mr. ******'s final statements to Mr. ****** to please consider our dealership again with regard to any automotive needs that Mr. ****** may have in the future.
If you have any further questions or comments concerning this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
****** A. ******
Chairman

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

04/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Improper or faulty brake job performed by Toyota of Orlando and subsequent warranty repair was also faulty.

On Feb 10, 2012 I took my Corolla in for a brake job. Several months later the brakes were performing poorly (a groaning sound and a grinding feeling). I took in shortly before the one year warranty was to expire (on February 8, 2013) and got a new brake job. Note: they owned up to a defective job the first time and performed the second job at no cost, though I had to press them a little on the interpretation of the warranty. On March 4, 2013, the same problem returned (groaning sound and grinding feeling). I believe they ripped me off and will not go back to them. Why go back for them to waste my time again?

Business' Initial Response
March 7, 2013

Ms. ******* ****
Consumer Affairs
Better Business Bureau
of Central Florida, Inc.
1600 S. Grant Street
Longwood, Florida XXXXX

Re: Mr. ****** ****** (Case #XXXXXXXX)

Dear Ms. ****:

As you are aware, I am the Chairman and owner of the automobile dealership known as Toyota of Orlando. I am writing in response to your e-mail dated March 6, 2013 whereby you forwarded a statement of complaint from Mr. ****** ****** expressing certain concerns he had regarding repairs done to the brakes on his Toyota Corolla (the ''Vehicle'') by the service department at our Dealership.

Upon receipt of your letter, I reviewed the same, discussed Mr. ******'s concerns in detail with all appropriate personnel at our dealership, and reviewed our service records regarding the Vehicle.

As Mr. ****** states, on February 10, 2012 he brought the Vehicle to our Dealership noting that the brakes were not properly functioning. With Mr. ******'s authorization, our Dealership performed work on his brakes and returned the Vehicle in full and proper working order with a one year manufacturer warranty covering the parts related to the repair of the brakes as purchased by Mr. ******.

Mr. ****** then notes that he returned to our Dealership on February 8, 2013 because there was a grinding noise coming from the brakes. Following an examination of the Vehicle our technicians promptly informed Mr. ****** that there was a defect in the brake pads and that the same needed to be replaced. The technician also stated that since the required repair would be based on a defective part and occurred within the one year warranty, the repair would be performed at no cost to Mr. ******. In contrast to Mr. ******'s statements, no one ''owned-up to a defective job'' and no one had to be convinced of the proper ''interpretation'' of the brake warranty. Thereafter, our Dealership performed a second repair of the brakes on the Vehicle at no cost to Mr. ****** and returned the Vehicle in full and proper working order.

Mr. ****** states in his complaint that subsequent to February 8, 2013 the brakes on the Vehicle are again not working properly. He therefore concludes that he does not ''trust'' our Dealership and he wants a 50% refund from his original repair costs on February 10, 2012. Initially, please note that we have not been given an opportunity to see what if any new problem exists with the Vehicle's brakes. Further, and in contrast to Mr. ******'s statements, our Dealership has done nothing that would warrant any lack of trust in our repair abilities or justify any refund for our prior services. We performed one brake repair on February 8, 2012. Three hundred and sixty four days later it was discovered that there was a defect in the original manufacturer parts used in our repair and so a second brake repair was performed on February 8, 2013 at no cost to Mr. ****** pursuant to the applicable manufacturer's warranty. Said repair was neither caused by or involved any incorrect or improper actions by our Dealership's service personnel. Now Mr. ****** states there is another issue with the Vehicle's brakes. If in fact a new issue exists with the brakes then we are ready to examine the same in order to determine the cause of any problem. If the problem is the result of a defective part or relates to our previous repair work then we will properly repair the same at no cost to Mr. ******. Otherwise, Mr. ******'s demands have no basis or justification.

Ms. ****, we appreciate your inquiry into this matter. We know that the foregoing facts and the actions and practices followed by our service department evidence our commitment to not only proper but excellent performance in the business community in Central Florida. We performed necessary and proper repairs and services to the Vehicle. A second repair was necessitated by a manufacturer's defect and performed under warranty. Any subsequent problem must be examined in order to determine the cause of such problem. Accordingly, it will be necessary for Mr. ****** to return to our Dealership with the Vehicle for examination and, thereupon, if any problem is the result of either a defective part or a problem with our prior work then the same will be repaired at no cost. Otherwise, there is nothing we can or are legally required to do in this matter and Mr. ******'s complaint should be therefore dismissed as baseless.

If you have any further questions or comments concerning this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,

****** ******
Chairman
Toyota of Orlando

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Toyota of Orlando's response to my BBB complaint is unsatisfactory to me. I was told when the warranty work was done the first time that the cause of the excessive wear was from excessive grease applied the first time. It was not necessarily only a manufacturer's materials deficiency. The symptoms this time are the same as the first time, so I can only assume the same thing happened again. It is not likely another defective brake pad again. Regardless, I refuse to go back to Toyota of Orlando because I have no confidence that they won't do the same thing again (a third time). Also, I believe they may be inclined to cause even further problems to my vehicle after this BBB complaint. If they choose not to issue a partial refund, I respect that as their choice. They must also respect my choice NOT to acknowledge a satisfactory closure to this complaint and, it goes without saying, I will not be doing any business with Toyota of Orlando again.

Sincerely,
******

Business' Final Response
April 3, 2013

Ms. ******* ****
Consumer Affairs
Better Business Bureau
of Central Florida, Inc.
1600 S. Grant Street
Longwood, Florida XXXXX

Re: Mr. ****** ****** (Case #XXXXXXXX)

Dear Ms. ****:

As you are aware, I am the Chairman and owner of the automobile dealership known as Toyota of Orlando. I am writing in response to your e-mail dated today, April 3, 2013, that provides a copy of a rebuttal statement from Mr. ***** ****** dated March 15, 2013, as relates to our Dealership's March 7, 2013 response to Mr. ******'s March 6, 2013 statement of complaint expressing certain concerns he had regarding repairs done to the brakes on his Toyota Corolla (the "Vehicle") by the service department at our Dealership.

Upon receipt of your email and Mr. ******'s rebuttal statement, I reviewed the same, re-discussed Mr. ******'s concerns in detail with all appropriate personnel at our dealership, and re-reviewed our service records regarding the Vehicle.

Initially, Mr. ****** only makes two statements of any substance in his rebuttal. First he alleges that the "first warranty work" was in part caused by "excessive grease applied the first time". While it isn't exactly clear whether he is alleging that our Dealership applied excessive grease in February, 2012 or at some other date, we in any event deny such an allegation. Any and all work that our service department has performed on Mr. ******'s Vehicle has been appropriate and correct. As noted in our original response, in February, 2012 our Dealership performed work on the Vehicle's brakes and returned the Vehicle in full and proper working order with a one year manufacturer warranty covering the parts related to the repair of the brakes as purchased by Mr. ******. We deny that any "excessive grease" was applied by our Dealership at any time or that any personnel ever stated that we applied any excessive grease.

Mr. ******'s second statement is that his Vehicle, subsequent to our February, 2013 warranty repair, has a brake problem with the "same symptoms" as before and that he "can only assume the same thing has happened again". As noted in our original response, we have not been given an opportunity to see what if any new problem exists with the Vehicle's brakes. Even if the "same problem" existed this would only mean that a manufacturer's part had failed and would not evidence any issue whatsoever with our services. In any event, our Dealership has done nothing that would warrant any lack of trust in our repair abilities or justify any refund for our prior services. If in fact a new issue exists with the Vehicle's brakes then we are ready to examine the same in order to determine the cause of any problem. If the problem is the result of a defective part or somehow actually relates to our previous repair work then we will properly repair the same at no cost to Mr. ******. Otherwise, Mr. ******'s demands have no basis or justification.

Ms. ****, we appreciate your continued inquiries into this matter. While Mr. ****** can "feel" anyway he wants and can express that he is "not" satisfied with our response, such statements and position do not mean that his "complaint" is justified. We know that the facts set forth in our original response and herein evidence that the actions and practices followed by our service department were appropriate at all times. In February, 2012 we performed necessary and proper repairs and services to the Vehicle. In February, 2013, a second repair was necessitated by a manufacturer's defect and performed under warranty. Any subsequent problem must be examined in order to determine the cause of such problem. Accordingly, it will be necessary for Mr. ****** to return to our Dealership with the Vehicle for examination and, thereupon, if any problem is the result of either a defective part or a problem with our prior work then the same will be repaired at no cost. Otherwise, there is nothing we can do or are legally required to do in this matter and regardless of Mr. ******'s feelings on the matter, his complaint, should therefore be dismissed as inappropriate and baseless.

If you have any further questions or comments concerning this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Very truly yours,

****** ******
Chairman
Toyota of Orlando

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

02/12/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@***********)
Sent: Saturday, January 19, XXXX X:04 PM
To: *****@*******************
Cc: *****@*******************
Subject: RE: Good news

Dear Mr. *** ****:

Please do not email me again. The reason I'm this way is because you did not take every effort to sell me a new car; and especially the car I truly wanted. I don't know what your problem is, whether you've been doing your job for too long or that particular day I showed up, you just didn't care. I believe that every word-out-of your mouth was a lie! And, you were not concerned about me as a customer at all!

You tried to sell me a filthy dirty automobile from the rack of damaged cars from the back - What kind of ignorance is that?! The car from the back was filthy with dirt and trash inside and the outside was covered with mud, scratches, and the tint was barely hanging on the windows. And, *** ****, you could have cared less about me having the particular make/model and color of auto that I wanted. You even tried to sell me a huge white pick-up truck more suitable for someone other than I !!!

Above all this, you knew I had caught a ride to your dealership location from another city that morning on January 16, 2013. You knew I took a taxi to come and look at vehicles and to buy one. I was literally stranded at your location from 7:50 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. I had no lunch; and you knew I am a retired & disabled veteran from the conversations you and I had. *** ****, you never offered me any drink, coffee, water, or even if I had to use the restroom. I had to pray that I could catch a ride from a friend of mine before he and his daughter had left for work in the evening. My prayers were answered and he was able to drop me off to another dealership around 4:00 p.m., and there is where I found my car; the color and price I wanted. I bought my car in less than one hour.

Based on my experience with you, Toyota of Orlando sucks! And, you are the person that make it suck! They should fire you immediately! The things you said to me were horrifying, such as "You could have a collision" "You know with texting and all." I thought you were insane when you said that to me, but played if off until I could get away from there. Also, *** ****, you waited so late to tell me that your dealership would not except debit cards nor a wire transfer directly from my bank representative. I had been in touch with your dealership for two weeks via email, and asked the question about my debit card when I spoke to your representative over the phone.

So, in summary, I don't know what your problem is or your dealership's problem is, in selling cars. I came there to buy a clean used or new car, but instead was hurled back and forth from either side of the dealership, from the used cars to the new cars, only to try and be forced into financing. Then, lead to the back to damaged vehicles and then to try to persuade me in purchasing a filthy vehicle that didn't run well and had bald tires and no hub caps.

Instead of feeling like I was at one of the finest and cleanest dealerships in town, I felt like I was at a mom and pops junk yard. Laugh-out-Loud, *** ****, you are hideous as a salesman and I stand by my word. Good day.

Sincerely,
****** ******

Business' Initial Response
January 23, 2013

Ms. ******* ****
Consumer Affairs Representative
Better Business Bureau
of Central Florida, Inc.
1600 Grant Street
Longwood, Florida XXXXX

Re: Ms. ****** ****** (Complaint Case No. XXXXXXXX)

Dear Ms. ****:

As you may be aware, I am the Chairman and owner of the automobile dealership known as Toyota of Orlando. I am writing in response to your email correspondence dated January 32, 2013, whereby you forwarded a statement of complaint from Ms. ****** ****** expressing certain concerns he had regarding his recent experience with sales personnel at our dealership.

Upon receipt of your letter, I reviewed this matter and discussed Ms. ******'s concerns with all appropriate personnel at our dealership, including our sales representative Mr. ****** ******.

As Ms. ****** notes she came to our dealership in order to inquire about the possibility of purchasing a vehicle. At the beginning Ms. ****** let Mr. ****** know that she was looking for a vehicle in a particular range of costs. Mr. ****** then showed Ms. ****** certain vehicles that fit within her range, some of which vehicles were recent arrivals on our lot and had not yet been processed and cleaned. Ms. ****** and Mr. ****** also discussed certain other sales and financing options and policies. Ms. ****** continues by noting that she was not pleased with Mr. ******' sales techniques and statements nor the vehicles she was shown with sales prices within her stated costs range. Therefore, Ms. ****** ultimately left the dealership, states that she purchased a vehicle from another dealership, and does not want any further contact from our dealership. Ms. ****** then concludes and asserts that Mr. ******'s sales techniques and comments somehow constitute "consumer fraud".

Initially, please note that Ms. ****** is correct that she was clearly informed about the Dealership's policy regarding immediately available funds, and that therefore the dealership would not accept her proposed "debit card" transaction. Otherwise, none of Ms. ******'s statements evidence any facts whatsoever that evidence or even indicate any element of fraud whatsoever. She came to the dealership to inquire about purchasing a vehicle. She determined that she was not pleased with the vehicles offered for sale to her and therefore she took her business to another business while noting that she was displeased with the sales techniques and the manner in which the salesman conducted his sales activities. Again however, none of Ms. ******'s alleged statements attributed to dealership personnel or any displeasure she may express with the sales personne.

Ms. ****, we appreciate your inquiry into this matter. We regret the fact that Ms. ****** was not pleased with Mr. ****** and for that reason Mr. ****** and myself apologize for failing to meet her standards for sales practices. Further, pursuant to Ms. ******'s request, we have placed Ms. ****** on our Do Not Contact List. We are in the business of selling vehicles while at the same time committed to the goals of 100% customer satisfaction and excellent performance in the business community in Central Florida. Having failed to meet Ms. ******'s standards has certainly resulted in us failing to reach these goals. However, as discussed above, there is no basis whatsoever for any statements (either direct or implied) that the Dealership has conducted its business in any manner than in full compliance with all rules and laws applicable to automobile dealerships, and there is no basis for allegations of "Consumer fraud". Accordingly, and in that regard, the portions of Ms. ******'s complaint other than her "dissatisfaction" must appropriately be dismissed as baseless.

If you have any further questions or comments concerning this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

****** ******
Chairman
Central Florida Motor Sales, Inc.
d/b/a Toyota of Orlando

Consumer's Final Response
From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@***********)
Sent: Monday, January 28, 2013 1:03 PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT38*****@***********37*****@***********39REDACT)

Not Satisfactory.

I am still receiving emails from your dealership. Please make them stop. I just received an email yesterday from your receptionist staff. I would like very much to have my email and address removed from your mailing list. There is no reason for your dealership to still have contact information on me.

I have never heard of a company as in the business of your own; car dealership, to try and hold the customer at fault, when the customer just wanted to buy a car. I am very confused with this whole incident. I just want you to know, Mr. ****** ******, about what is going on at your dealership. I sure as heck will never come there ever again, especially if ****** ****** is there. And, I will never have anything positive to say about what happened to me at Toyota of Orlando, or refer friends, family, and the community there.

Mr. ****** ****** you have gone out of your way, in every aspect to not address the problem you have at your dealership; that problem is ****** ******. You stated in your response to me that your dealership, "We are in the business of selling vehicles while at the same time committed to the goals of 100% customer satisfaction and excellent performance in the business community in Central Florida." NOT! Mr. ****** could have cared less if he gave great customer service or sell me a new or good used vehicle. Mr. ****** alluded me from the new cars area, persuaded me to the used cars area, and then, and I don't know how he did it; but, managed to guide me in the back with the dirty filthy and non-running vehicles. And, the one he wanted so dearly for me to buy was a filthy auto with no hub caps and ripped tinted windows and on windshields. Trash was everywhere in the vehicle; water bottles half empty, food half eaten, wound up hair, old hair rollers, mud, soiled baby pampers, crumbs, and a stitch of someone passing gas. And, as for you, Mr. ****** ******, when you responded to first consumer complaint letter, you couldn't even spell my name correctly. Goes to show who taught ****** ****** his customer service and business savvy.

If this is 100% service in customer satisfaction and business performance? Then what rock have you been living under? The only person who should have been addressed about this matter, should have been ****** ******, and no other of your employees. Because, as I was lead through this maze, I could see other customers very satisfied and happy with what was going on with them and their sales consultant. Truthfully, I really don't know what ****** ******'s intentions were. Overall, he wasted much of my time, and your Company's time; frustrated me, and just held me helpless at your dealership. Fraud is when I asked him about the cars that were advertised on television daily at your dealership at reasonable prices in the new and used area. ****** ****** acted as if he didn't know what I was talking about. I repeated to him over two times, about the commercials the gentleman and his wife advertise daily at your dealership. But, he just kept going with his detailed façade of vehicles that were useless to me.

Obviously, you're going to take sides with ****** ******. Why, I don't know. And, as far as I can see, you don't value your customers either. Again, remove any and all of my contact information from your records and desist from making any further contact with me. I hope this complaint is filed, registered, and posted for any other future car buyers to see. So that they would know what they're in for.

Sincerely,
****** ******

Business' Final Response
From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@*******************)
Sent: Friday, February 08, 2013 5:15 PM
To: ******* ****
Subject: Re: ****** #XXXXXXXX

Good afternoon Ms ****,

I was unable to respond to Ms. ******'s most recent rebuttal because the site is not giving me the option to respond. therefore, please add this response to the site.

I was able to pull a Customer History Report and it shows that the last contact attempt was made on January 18th via phone. Per Ms. ******'s request, we have deleted her from our follow-up system and additionally unsubscribed her email from our mailing list.

Ms. ****** has the capability to unsubscribe from our emails should any communication go through to her email prior to th 24-48 hour wait period for it to become permanent.

If you have any further questions or comments concerning this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
****** ******

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

01/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: I bought a used car they confirmed and was sold as having airconioning. Carfax confirmed it had been checked 2 months prior
I am a Brit living in Florida, for me aircon is a necessity. I had a budget of $10k and i found a car i liked (not a Toyota) it had aircon, was in good shape and just under my budget. I purchased it 15th November.

After only 3 weeks i found out that the aircon did not work and the system is basically non functional.

I go back to Toyota of Orlando and am basically told tough, even though everyone i dealt with when purchsing the car told me yes it has aircon and nothign major wrong with it. Speicalists, even their own told me it had been patched up sometime before i bought it.

They removed the warranty, on their own doing, to
reduce my monthly payment. But was again assured there was nothing major wrong with it.

I am left with a car thats virtually unusable for me in Fl in 10 out of 12 months a year and a $1000 bill if i choose to repair.

I am tryign to get somewhere with the dealership but i hold out little hope

Business' Initial Response

December 21, 2012


Ms. ******* ****
Consumer affair's Professional
Better Business Bureau of Central Florida, Inc.
1600 S. Grant Street
Longwood, Florida XXXXX

Re: Ms. ****** ****** (BBB Case #XXXXXXXX)

Dear Ms. ****:

As you may be aware, I am the Chairman and owner of the automobile dealership known as Toyota of Orlando. I am writing in response to your letter email correspondence dated December 13, 2012, whereby you forwarded a complaint activity report completed by Ms. ****** ****** expressing certain concerns regarding a used vehicle (the "Vehicle") she purchased from our Dealership on November 15, 2012.

Upon receipt of your letter, I reviewed all of the documents in Ms. ******'s file. Thereafter, I discussed her concerns in detail with all appropriate personnel at our dealership.

Ms. ****** initially notes that three weeks after her purchase she experienced certain problems with the air conditioner of the Vehicle. Upon bringing the Vehicle to the Dealership our service department confirmed that the compressor in the Vehicle's air conditioning system had broken down and needed to be replaced. Ms. ****** was quoted a repair costs to replace the compressor of approximately $1,000.00. However, Ms. ****** demanded that said repair be made at no costs.

In contrast to Ms. ******'s position we must note that the documentation covering Ms. ******'s purchase evidences that the Vehicle was purchased pursuant to a valid and proper written purchase agreement and related documents that clearly represent that the Vehicle was being purchased as a used vehicle and on and as-is basis, without any warranty. We must further note that not only were these facts denoted on at least three documents, but further (i) the air conditioner was in working order on and as of November 15, 2012 and (ii) Ms. ****** was afforded ample opportunity to inspect the Vehicle and review the sales documents prior to completing the transaction (SEE enclosed documents).

In accordance with the foregoing, it is evident that in contrast to Ms. ******'s various comments and requests for reimbursements, the sales documents, and the detailed and specific provisions therein, clearly evidence that the transaction was an arms-length transaction entered into, following open and detailed opportunity for review, both knowingly and voluntarily by Ms. ******. However, despite these facts we made two subsequent offers to Ms. ****** as a customer courtesy. First we agreed to reduce our fees and Ms. ******'s costs by more than $200. After Ms. ****** refused this offer we located a working used air conditioning compressor and with our additional discount offer we offered to complete the repairs with the used compressor for a total cost of $525. Despite the foregoing, Ms. ****** continued her baseless demand that the repair be made at no cost to her.

Ms. ****, we appreciate your inquiry into this matter, and believe that the foregoing fully explains our position and proper actions regarding the same. Toyota of Orlando remains committed to proper business practices in the Central Florida business community and while we strive to meet our stated goal of 100% customer satisfaction, such a policy can not include paying or refunding monies related to repairs that arise subsequent to the time of the as-is purchase transaction. Again, despite this fully valid legal position we offered to essentially make the repairs at ½ costs and we will still honor this offer through the end of the year. However, if Ms. ****** continues to demand that her air conditioner be repaired at no cost then we must continue to deny such a request as incorrect and directly contradicted by the written documents and facts in this matter.

If you have any further questions or comments concerning this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

****** ******
Chairman
Central Florida Motor Sales, Inc.
d/b/a Toyota of Orlando

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have read the response from Toyota of Orlando.

Yes, i bought an as used car , but i'd expect that any major problems be declared up front. Infact it stated the air conditionign worked, as did 2 sales managers. Indeed i was offered a warranty and then it was removed 'to reduce my costs' again i checked with **** ******** that nothgin was wrong with the car.

I am not a mechanic and rely on specialists to tell me the truth,.

THe a/c has now been checked by 3 companies including toyota of Orlando and i've been told it was 'repaired' a long time before i bought the car.

Yes i was offered a repair at $525 but at no time did **** ****** tell me it was using used parts! I was lead to beleive it would be new parts.

I would expect to still have 1 yrs warranty on these parts by the installer. I am considering their offer.

But still beleive i was missled by the sellers whether it be the individuals or the company.

It seems very suspicious now that the warranty was suddenly removed. Maybe for a certain reason!!

Business' Final Response
January 15, 2013


Ms. ******* ****
Consumer Affair's Professional
Better Business Bureau of Central Florida, Inc.
1600 S. Grant Street
Longwood, Florida XXXXX

Re: Ms. ****** ****** (BBB Case #XXXXXXXX)

Dear Ms. ****:

As you are aware, I am the Chairman and owner of the automobile dealership known as Toyota of Orlando. You will recall that on December 21, 2013 I responded to your email dated December 13, 2012, which contained a complaint activity report completed by Ms. ****** ****** expressing certain concerns regarding a used vehicle (the "Vehicle") she purchased from our Dealership on November 15, 2012. I am now responding to Ms. ******** "rebuttal" to our response as received by us on January 14, 2013.

As noted in our original response, and in contrast to Ms. ******'s statements, Ms. ******'s original purchase of a used car from our dealership was on an "as-is" basis and the fact that the air conditioner of said vehicle broke down three weeks after her original purchase did not place any obligation on the dealership, legal or otherwise, to replace or repair said air conditioner. We must also note that Ms. ******'s continued assertion that the final transaction did not include an extended warranty is somehow suspicious is baseless. Although an extended warranty was initially considered as part of the original cost analysis, it was Ms. ******'s own desire to lower her costs that resulted in Ms. ****** knowingly and voluntarily electing to complete the transaction without purchasing an extended warranty

Although our original response included an offer to complete the repair of Ms. ******'s air conditioner for $525 (approximately ½ of the actual costs) so long as said repair was performed by the end of the year, we will, as a good-will gesture, keep this offer open until January 31, 2013. However, we will note as stated in our response and as stated to Ms. ****** previously, said $525 repair is based on the use of a used compressor (using a new compressor will raise the overall costs for the difference in the new part vs. used part and any warranty(s) thereon will be as provided by the vendor supplying the ultimate part used in the repair). In conclusion, if Ms. ****** decides to the contrary to continue to assert any wrongdoing by the dealership or to demand that her air conditioner be repaired at no cost then we must continue to note that such assertions are baseless and deny such a request as incorrect and directly contradicted by the written documents and facts in this matter.

If you have any further questions or comments concerning this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

****** ******
Chairman
Central Florida Motor Sales, Inc.
d/b/a Toyota of Orlando

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.