BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/29/2010

Prestige Volkswagen

Phone: (321) 309-8989Fax: (321) 309-89831416 S Harbor City Blvd, MelbourneFL 32901-3211 Send email to Prestige Volkswagen



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/29/2010

BBB has determined that Prestige Volkswagen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Prestige Volkswagen's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Prestige Volkswagen

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did damage to my seats and window film from a detail that I received free from a previous complaint. Trying to charge to fix my seat.
In April of 2014 I brought my vehicle in for a routine oil change. On that day I was charged 13 times for this service. The only reason why I caught this mistake was because I received notification for each time I was charged. I understand that mistakes can happen so I called about the payment mistake and later had to go in person to the dealership to resolve this issue. In regards to this matter I received an email from J ****** apologizing for this mistake and offered a free service and detail for the inconvenience. On December 26th 2014 I scheduled my oil change and my detail for the same day.The service technician that day ***** inspected my car as the techs do before every visit I drop the car off. The vehicle had a a recall on the car that need to be fixed as well, nor did I get an explanation of what the recall was. The service technician did tell me the car would be down approximately at 4 pm. The car was not down until past that time. When the vehicle was finally ready, the car was not brought up to the service desk as usual but I had to walk myself without the technician to the back of the property to collect my car. Since it was dark I could not inspect my car, nor did anyone from the facility offer to go over what was done to my car that day. I received a call on December 30th stating that the wrong part was placed for the recall and I had to bring my vehicle back to fix the part. I had a procedure done on that day so I could not bring it immediately as I wished to get the issue resolved. When I went back on January 6th I asked to speak with the service manager. ********* ********* introduced himself. I explained that I was clearly upset over the mistakes that had happened with dealing of my vehicle. I explained to him that I wanted to show him the state of my car and upset that the wrong part was placed in regards to the recall . Mr. ********** stated that he didn't know how to respond to the situation, I had tears on my seats that I did not have before the detail. Mr. ********* took pictures of the tears and said that he had a man who specialized in the car leather seats. This man only came on Tuesdays to Volkswagen and will tell me later what could be done to my seats. My window tint was messed up as well. Mr. ********* said that that was no problem and that it would be taken care of. A couple hours after dropping my car off, I received a call from Bryon stating that the car was ready, my window tint was peeling off and that my seats had regular "wear and tear". When I went to pick up my vehicle since they told me the car was ready, ***** told me that the paperwork was not ready for the vehicle and it would take an hour to complete the paperwork and that I had the option to wait or he can send it. I asked again didn't he say the car was ready because I had to go to work. I asked to speak with the manager again to confirm if the car was ready why is the paperwork going to take an hour, or why would it be mailed to me. I also did not understand why the manager did not approach me himself to explain what was going on with the car when I spoke with him that morning of all the issues I had and that "it would be taken care of." The only thing I can assume that was done that day was the recall part (that I still don't know what it is) was fixed. Nothing else was resolved. I was wary of going back after I was charged 13 times for a simple oil change. Now that my car tint is messed up, as well as my leather seats I can honestly say that everyone there is useless. No one there seemed to care in regards to the huge inconvenience this was with my car, time, and money.

Desired Settlement
I would like the damage that was done to my car seats and window film fixed and resolved.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* ********** serv
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@melbournevw.com
I would like to apologize for the past billing issues experienced by the customer, we like most businesses use an outside financial institution to process credit card payments and occasional system glitches sometimes happen. I feel that my predecessor offered appropriate recompense for the incident in the form of an oil change and detail which ordinarily cost over two hundred and forty dollars.
December 30th happened to be a Tuesday and the interior trim vendor we use was present and able to inspect the front seats of the vehicle. His professional opinion was that the small area on the driver's seat left bolster and the passenger front seat base was not damage but wear. The perforated vinyl in those areas has been worn over time and it is impossible that any cleaning product we use could produce the damage seen. Besides, any product used to clean or condition the seats would have been used on all seat surfaces in the vehicle, not just those areas. We take the care of our customer's vehicles seriously and take responsibility for our mistakes. We feel that this situation was not one of them.
When the customer returned to me I did inspect the vehicle and found the window tint to be delaminating, a layer of the material was separating, leaving it sticky or tacky. The products used to detail the customer's vehicle are used on literally hundreds of vehicles here monthly and therefore unlikely to have a particular effect on just one.
However, given the past issues experienced by the customer I immediately offered to have the front windows re-tinted to resolve the issue. I explained that this operation would be performed by an outside vendor employed by us and would have to be scheduled at a later date when they had more time. This offer is still in place.
The explanation of these procedures and the time line was supposed to be explained by the service advisor and I apologize if it was not. I personally explained to the customer that the warranty paperwork was still in process and we would be happy to mail it to them in order to expedite their departure without further delay.
They said they would be in touch to arrange a date. I look foreward to hearing from them so the work can be arranged.

Sincerely
********* *********
Service Manager
Prestige VW



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I understand that the tech was there to look at the seat and said that the chemicals were used can't cause damage. But what can cause damage is the force used while performing the detail on the seats. The seat damage was not there before I dropped the car off for the detail that day. At least say something to the customer is that sort of damage happens and don't make the customer go to the back of the facility to pick up the vehicle in the dark. As well as I still do not know what the recall was that was performed on my vehicle. I do not have a problem with the people I spoke with in regards to this issue, but rather the way it was handled.

Final Business Response
As previously stated, while we assume no liability for the state of the window tint, we **** happily re-tint the front windows of the vehicle as a gesture of good faith.
Regarding the condition of the front seats, I request that attention be given to the attached PDF file dated February 2015. The Purpose of this bulletin is to differentiate between outside influence or damage, and defects in material on the manufacturers side. On the upper right of page three is a picture of a condition identical to the issue experienced by the customer in this case and listed as a defect in material called leather separation. As such it would have been covered by new vehicle limited warranty had this vehicle been within those parameters.
Since we have a condition verified by both an independent expert and the manufacturer of the vehicle as defective parts, I see no reason for this dealership to proceed any further regarding compensation or repairs to the front seats of the vehicle in question.
I apologize once again for the issues experienced by the customer but feel our response to be appropriate.

12/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defective a/c compressor installed, only lasted 4100 miles, Dealer or VW of America claim no responsibility in the matter.
a/c compressor replaced in Oct 2013 , I only drove about 4100 miles and the a/c compressor failed. It is clearly a defective part, but because the warranty on repair ended 6 weeks previous. The dealer and VW of America denied any responsibility. Had I drove more than 4100 miles before the 12 month warranty, the part would have been covered. The part is clearly defective. My first compressor lasted over 42,000 miles. They are hiding behind the timeline of 6 weeks passing, although I was out of the country for 6 months.

Desired Settlement
replace the defective compressor at no charge and the dealer can try to collect from the manufacturer of this defective compressor. Come on, the compressor failed around 3900 miles and I drove for another 200 miles and several weeks because we had cold weather. No way to treat a very loyal customer to VW and Prestige VW for many years.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Mr C *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@melbournevw.com
Volkswagen provides a twelve month or twelve thousand mile warranty on all replaced parts. Prestige Volkswagen as a franchise of Volkswagen group of america is bound by their policies and procedures regarding all warranty claims. All requests for assistance outside the normal warranty perameters must be submitted to Volkswagen customer care by the dealer which is what happened in this instance. Volkswagen has offered the customer $500.00 towards needed repairs.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The dealer was asked to try to offer relief to me the customer, they answered through their service tech rep that because it was past 12 months the dealer nor the VW of America would do anything for me. At that point I left the dealer and the tech rep cancelled the work order. IT WAS I THAT INDEPENDENTLY CONTACTED THE VW CUSTOMER CARE CENTER ASKING FOR RELIEF AND THEY OFFERED $500 to me. Now I am waiting to hear if the prestige VW will waive any or all of the labor charge. Let everyone keep in mind that this part was certainly DEFECTIVE. A compressor is not designed to only last 4000 miles.

Final Consumer Response
I would like to close the case at this time. The car has been fixed to my satisfaction. After I sent in a BBB complaint the dealer did another diagnosis of the car and decided I did not need a $1000 repair and compressor change, but rather a reboot of the software that controls the AC system. The fix was done promptly and there was no charge. Case closed

12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car diagnosed with ignition housing defect. Papers signed stating work was completed, however this was not done. not informed repair was no competed.
On April 7th, 2014, while making a left turn, my car died. I had the car towed to Prestige and was called the following day and informed there was an issue with the ignition housing of my 2013 VW CC which had on 14,000 miles on it. Two days later I was told I could pick up my car as the work was complete. I signed paperwork specifically stating "internal problem with switch housing. Replaced ignition housing, R&I dash trim, also causing 15 power to cut out at times." I filed a complaint with Volkswagen Corporate and was told that nothing could be done as all repairs were done under warranty from ***** P on April 28, 2014 with reference #XXXXXXXXX. I continued to have issues with my car not starting occasionally and specifically one time an error appeared on the display stating "Steering column Lock Malfunction". I took the car to another dealership on October 3, 2104 and told them about the issues including the work done at Prestige. When they investigated the work done, I was told that there has never been a warranty claim on my car. My advisor, ******* from Lewisville Volkswagen called Prestige to get information on the work done to the car and was then informed that the part was ordered, but I took the car before repairs were complete and never brought it back. They then stated that they assumed I was going to have it repaired in Texas since I was an out of state customer. I again spoke with VW Corporate who stated that previous work was done under warranty based on the information given from my previous case. When they called Prestige to get information about they work, they were also told the work was not completed due to a part being on order when I picked up the car. I would have never driven an unsafe car from the dealership if I was given the correct information. I was lied to by the service advisor, **** and the Corporate regional case manager about the repairs done on my car.

Desired Settlement
I believe I should be compensated for the six months of car payments I made after being made to believe my car was repaired under the warranty. I would like to return my car or receive assistance in replacing the car at no penalty or cost to myself.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** - ***
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@gmail.com
To BBB (Case#XXXXXXXX)

Re: ***** *****

My name is ***** ****** and I am the COO of The Dingman Group which's owns Prestige Volkswagen. I am very sorry to hear about Ms. *****'s problem encountered with her VW. Our records indicate she was at our dealership for a repair on April 7th, 2014 for a car not starting problem. We did a full diagnose and replaced her car's Ignition starter switch (RO#XXXXX) which we could send over a copy to BBB as verification. The car was then returned to the customer on April 8th. We show no other repair or history with this car in our records. Regarding her request for 6 months compensation or a replacement car; this is an request/issue that is not in realm of our handling and customer should address this to VW's Corporate Customer Center. I am sorry to hear about her other repair needed on October 3rd but we cannot ascertain if that repair was directly related to the April 7th repair. Please let us know if you require any other information from us. Thank you!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The information provided above by Prestige VW is not the same as the information given to my representative from Lewisville VW or to my VW corporate representative. I would like for the BBB to contact Volkwagen of America to review the summary of my case with Regional Case Manager, ****** ** who has confirmed that Prestige VW did not complete the work necessary to make my care safe to drive at the time that they stated they did. I have also attached a document from ****** ****, service administrator, who spoke with a representative from Prestige VW on October 3, 2014, the day I brought my car into Lewisville VW due to having issues with my car not starting properly. He found no warranty history for previous work done as I had explained to him. The woman he spoke with confirmed that the work was not completed due to me needing to leave the state per the notes in my service history. I would like for both ****** **** at Lewisville VW in Texas and VW of America to be contacted in regards to my complaint as they can provide more details for this case.

Final Business Response
To BBB,

I read Ms. *****'s recent comments regarding her VW and do apologize that to date, she is not happy with responses received. I again want to reiterate we replaced in April an ignition housing, submitted it to warranty (VW corporate did pay us for this repair) and we still have her original part if she wants it back or we can send BBB the repair order verifying the repair. I am more concerned if she is still having any mechanical problems with her VW and want to reassure her that we will do anything necessary to assist her. I do apologize that our company is not in a position to buy her VW back or reimburse six months of payments. I will however be glad to talk to Ms. ***** directly to see if there is a way to satisfy her within the realms of what we are capable of handling. Thank you! ***** ******

08/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They replaced my engine. Repairs took 280days(9.3 Months). When returned the car had many issues(including engine function). They refuse to repair it
2002 VW Jetta TDI
7/24/2013- Car Delivered to replace an engine with water damage through Allstate Insurance.
Quoted new engine price(~$8k)
Allstate quoted used engine price(~$2.7k) and included contact information for pre-negotiated local engine.
8&9/2013-I spoke with my service rep 2-5 times a week.
8/29/13-First told that my car would be ready "by Saturday or Tuesday at the latest".
I received no call.
9/5/13-Told it would "be ready by friday".
9/6/13-Allstate called Prestige and were told that the car "would be ready Tuesday for pickup(9/10)".
I received no call.
9/MID/13-Prestige provided me with a loaner car at my request because I had to ride my bike to work for weeks.
10/5/13-Prestige installed the engine and found oil and coolant mixing-more than 10 weeks after they received the car. I stopped by the lot 6 times up to this point to verify that my car was left outside for nearly all of this 10 weeks with a plastic bag duct taped over an open window.
~11/7/13-Prestige requested return of the loaner car. I returned the car and was given a different one, but they insisted that I sign the Allstate payment checks because "the car is almost done, we have put a lot of work and money into it and need to be paid for that". I signed over the checks to Prestige.
~12/01/13-Service rep again told me to insist on a new engine to put in the car(6th request). I told him "Allstate won't pay $8k repairs on a $6500 car. Diagnose the issues, submit a supplemental and Allstate **** pay you for the repairs needed per their instructions". He replied, "We **** see what we can do, but we can't keep you in that loaner forever."
12/XXXX-X/25/2014-No communication(>16weeks)
Loaner plates expired 1/1/14.
3/25/2014-I called to request status. Rep was shocked they had the car so long. After a long pause he told me they were "already working on it and it should be ready Friday". I told them I wanted them to buy the car from me right now so I don't have to wait anymore.
3/26/14-First phone call saying "do you have our loaner car? We really need it back". I asked if they had a status on my car, they had none.
I received 6 calls asking about the loaner car with no information about my car status.
3/28/14-Left msg with service manager. No reply.
4/15-Left msg for ***** ********** of parent company) about the issue.
4/17 ***** apologized and said he would resolve it. Also said they tried 4 engines(no record of this from Allstate or the service records) and would call 4/21. He didn't.
4/23-I called *****, car wasn't done.
4/25-mid day-notified the car was complete and told to pick it up that day or Saturday. I said I was not in town, and just giving me the car was an unacceptable result after over 9 months. I said I was going to make a few calls and call them early the next week.
4/29(Less than 1.5 business days)-Prestige called the police and sent them to my house by telling them I was "refusing" to return their car and that my car was ready 2wks prior(vs actual 3 days).
5/1 Received car(delivered). Documented the following by emails with pictures:
-A/C not working
-temp gauge and fuel gauge not working
-temp, airbag and check engine light on
-oil is black and opaque
-front bumper falling off on passenger ************ all power after accelerating in any gear more than 6sec. Power loss stays until engine is restarted.
-loud, slow rattling sound coming from outside at certain RPM.
-alarming, fast rattle/knock from console area on hill or hard starts.
-Engine vibration is very harsh when accelerating.
-Duct tape residue on passenger **** frame.
5/1-5/22-Mr. ****** said Prestige would call to address the issues. They didn't. Email exchange(3wks) concluded with him saying they would not even diagnose the issues unless Allstate pays up front. Original Service MGR and REP no longer work there.
Now I'm stuck with tons of issues after waiting over 9mths and paying $800 in insurance for a car I couldn't use or sell.

Desired Settlement
I want to get an independent estimate for the repair cost and have Prestige refund that amount plus my insurance carrying costs for the time they had the car. I **** use those funds to have the repairs done at a different service center that is professional and values my business.

This company has shown time and time again that my vehicle is not a priority to them and that they don't care if it is fixed correctly(or quickly). They also accidentally forwarded me internal emails between Mr. ****** and the service manager stating that I "could be a problem" but that they "have a way out" - which was to tell me they won't diagnose the issues(caused by their repairs) without up front payment. They have dragged their feet throughout this processes, taking over 9 months to complete a 2 week job. They sent the Police to my home under false pretense to bother my family and strong arm their position. They repeatedly said they were working on my car and when I drove into the parking lot each time, my car was parked outside and unmoved. Allstate's first request was for them to dry and deodorize the interior, but I saw the car mulitple times in the first 10 weeks and this was not done. My car now has numerous other issues related to the way they treated my car that I am not currently asking anything for(head liner 80% more detached, upper forward ceiling trim peeling, rust spreading on fenders, clouding of the headlights - all due to sitting outside for 9 months with a window stuck down and excess moisture inside the car).

In the end, the car was returned with such a great number of obvious flaws that it's clear they just don't care at all about this job because they received payment for it nearly 7 months before they finished.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@melbournevw.com
Prestige Volkswagen acknowledges receiving a model year 2002 Volkswagen Jetta vin ****************** belonging to Mr ****** ****** on 07/27/2013 delivering the same vehicle to him at his home address of 144 Sonya Dr Cocoa fl on 05/01/2014.
The vehicle was towed to Prestige Volkswagen on 07/27/13 having suffered water damage while being driven by Mr ****** ******.
Prestige Volkswagen found the engine to be internally damaged by water and requiring replacement. Mr ****** ****** insurance company Allstate agreed to replace his engine with a used one from a salvage yard.
Prestige Volkswagen replaced the engine as authorized by Mr ****** ****** and Allstate insurance.
The time taken to complete repairs was excessive due to the first two replacement engines being difficult and time consuming to obtain and found not to be serviceable upon installation. The third engine was successfully installed and the vehicle was test driven 20 miles before being delivered.
Mr ****** ****** was provided with a new vehicle to drive for seven of the nine months his vehicle was at Prestige Volkswagen at no charge to him. The loaner vehicle was a new model year Volkswagen. Law enforcement involvement was deemed necessary when our loaner vehicle was not returned as requested when work was complete on Mr ****** *****' vehicle, and pursuant to the loaner agreement signed by him.
Prestige Volkswagen stands by our twelve month twelve thousand mile warranty on all labor and parts supplied by us. Outside parts carry their own warranty if any.
We **** be happy to perform diagnosis on any issues or defects to Mr ****** *****' vehicle at our current labor rate of $114.00 per labor hour for diagnosis and or repair.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
So I am clear: The response from Prestige is officially that they were working ******* my vehicle for 9 months straight and that the car was returned to me in properly repaired and functioning condition - even though I submitted my list of functional issues the same day I received the car?

I have a recordings of all of my phone conversations with VW service technicians and Mr.*******. I have a recording of Mr.******* clearly agreeing on April 17th that my car and my claim were forgotten from mid December until I called them myself at the end of March. I also have the service technician's shocked response when I called to ask about the status of my car.

The sparse service records I did receive from Prestige do not include(as requested) the serial number and proof of mileage for the engine they installed in the car. Further, there is no mention in the documentation whatsoever of more than one engine being used throughout this repair. The engine issues noted in the service records(and in phone calls) are few and minor and parts for this model engine are readily accessible. Prestige took over 10 weeks to install the engine the first time even though Allstate located the donor engine and made all negotiations, including delivery, within the first week. Allstate also has no records of Prestige ever saying they needed a new engine.

While Prestige might not be reasonably expected to notice some of the issues that I immediately did as the vehicle owner, the service technicians who drove this car 45 minutes to my house certainly noticed that the A/C wasn't working, the engine drops power after a few seconds acceleration, the fuel gauge doesn't work, the temp gauge doesn't work and the temp warning light is on(and beeping).

The fact that I waited 9 months for this repair is unacceptable. The fact that my car was delivered with numerous(well documented) issues that render it un-drivable and now Prestige refuses look at the car without payment is laughable. The fact that Prestige sent the Police to my house 2.5 business days after my car was "ready", even after I specified I would call them the middle of the next week to make arrangements, should be criminal.

I believe I have every right to the following:
-A timely repair service
-A car returned to me in good, usable condition, free from issues caused by the dealership.

I received neither of these. My car is a mess. I've spent a great deal on insurance costs for the last 12 months while this car has been out of service. I have phone conversations, service records, and emails showing that the Prestige response above is knowingly false and that Mr.*******, at least, has no intention of correcting Prestige's mistakes.


Final Business Response

Having reviewed the response with upper management Prestige Volkswagen is prepared to make the following offer. We propose to inspect the vehicle at no charge to the customer. We **** make determinations at the point where each issue is diagnosed, whether it is a result of the initial insurable incident, defect in workmanship or a failure unrelated to either. In the event that it is related to the initial insurable incident, an addendum **** be filed with the insurance company. If it is the fault of Prestige Volkswagen there **** be no charge for the repair. If it is unrelated to either, an estimate **** be presented to the customer with a 25% discount on parts and labor. No addendum was filed with the insurance company for the additional engines as the supplier was responsible for the ones that were not usable and supplied the replacements.
The insurance carrying costs of the customer **** not be refunded as the policy was used by the customer to drive a brand new service loaner during the specified period.
We do not accept the proposal to have an independent repair facility complete the work at our expense. It is our understanding that the insurance company involved, is willing to revisit this case, based on the last conversation between our C,O,O and the insured.

05/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Routan dropped off on may 1st for several issues covered under warranty. It is now May 14th and parts are coming Monday, maybe!
Dropped car off, little delays here or there as the issues were complex. Never the less I have more faith in this place than I do the other dealer I used to go to so I just went on about it. Dealer as off today tells me parts are coming on monday. I have 0 issues with the dealer directly it just sounds like VWOA and Chrysler cant get together on parts and orders placed. I have previously waited for 2 weeks for a set of DVD screens to come in so they could be installed. If the van is going to have have to wait 2-3 weeks for parts coming from the manufacture then we would like some compensation under Madnusson moss warranty act for reasonable time allowed for repairs under warranty.

Desired Settlement
1.replacement vehicle maybe other than routan, same financing terms, credit for van, fees, down payment etc.

2. open to offers

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *******************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@melbournevw.com
The vehicles concerns are repaired as of today 05/16/13. ******************* is also going to compensate the customer's 40,000 mile service and the vehicle is getting a full detail as well. the customer was provided a vehicle to drive the entire time the vehicle was at our facility being repaired. Some of the concerns were sporatic and hard to diagnose but we were able to correct them all. To reassure the customer of the over all condition of this vehicle our facility is going to re-perform the certification inspection and provide him with the documentation of the findings. This vehicle was purchased at another volkswagen location. We want this customer to be satisfied with his Routan and with us here at Prestige so we ****** always go the extra mile to accomplish this. thank you

05/21/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was lied to regarding turning in my lease vehicle early in exchange for NOT being charged for excessive wear/tear on the rear tires.
I want everyone to know about the experience my wife and I went through when we turned in our BMW lease. We were bombarded with lies and deceit.

I wrote a letter to the dealership and to BMW of North America complaining about it; which is detailed in my blog entry below. The best way to keep this from happening to others is to share this valuable information.

http://pccoder.wordpress.com/2013/05/08/my-bad-experience-with-bmw-of-melbourne-fl/

Desired Settlement
I want the $600 fee for excessive wear/tear on the tires; which the sales manager promised he would provide given I turn in my lease early.

Business' Initial Response
It is unfortunate that Mr and Mrs ****** had this experience at Melbourne BMW, but when one signs a lease and agree to the terms, included in these terms are that the lessee ****** have the vehicle pre-inspected and a final inspection. So if there are any cost to be charged to the car, the lessee ****** be aware before the end of the lease. So as to have time to correct any obligations whether you are below miles or above the miles. Condition of the car was not in question, it was the wear of the tires. Whether you turn your car into Melbourne BMW or another BMW franchise. The charges would have been the same.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In an email I received from BMW of North America, they specifically state that their dealers are act independently of one another; therefore Melbourne BMW's claim that I would have received the same fees at another BMW dealer are false. I've attached the email below.


As this is obviously not getting anywhere, my next step ****** be to seek legal counsel.

Business' Final Response
MR ******'S STORY OF BEING LIED TO IS INCORRECT. NOTHING WAS AGREED UPON OR IN WRITING FOR MR ****** TO DISPUTE. IF MR ****** WAS NOT HAPPY WITH THE ANSWERS HE RECIEVED, HE COULD HAVE TAKEN HIS VEHICLE AND CONTINUED HIS DAY WITHOUT RECOURSE. WE DID NOT TELL HIM HE HAD TO TURN HIS BMW IN EARLY OR THAT HE HAD TO LEAVE IT WITH US. HIS CONTINUING TO WRITE LETTERS ****** NOT CHANGE THE OUTCOME WHICH IS HIS TIRES MEASURED UNDER THE STANDARDS OF A BMW EVALUATION THAT WAS PERFORMED IN OUR SERVICE DEPT. HIS THREAT TO SEEK LEGAL COUNSEL ****** STOP ANY MORE CORRESPONDENCE WITH HIS COMPLAINT. MY NAME IS*************, GENERAL SALES MANAGER , *****@BMWINMELBOURNE.COM. THANK YOU

08/20/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 07/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicle
(850) 617-2000

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of VF10022971 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicle.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of MV49347 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service. Motor Vehicle Repair.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Dingman (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Terry Dobbs ( Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Products & Services

This company provides new auto dealer sales, service and parts.

Hours of Operation

Sales:

Monday8:30AM - 8:00PM
Tuesday8:30AM - 8:00PM
Wednesday8:30AM - 8:00PM
Thursday8:30AM - 8:00PM
Friday8:30AM - 6:00PM
Saturday8:30AM - 6:00PM
Sunday11:30AM - 5:00PM

Alternate Business Names
P.V. Motors, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Shops
Buying A Used Car

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Prestige Volkswagen

1416 S Harbor City Blvd

Melbourne, FL 32901-3211

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1416 S Harbor City Blvd 

    Melbourne, FL 32901-3211

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Prestige Volkswagen is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Auto Repair Shops
Buying A Used Car
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.