BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/24/2010

Parks Toyota of Deland

Phone: (386) 734-2184Fax: (386) 736-06091701 S Woodland Blvd, DelandFL 32720-7917 Send email to Parks Toyota of DelandView Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/24/2010

BBB has determined that Parks Toyota of Deland meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Parks Toyota of Deland's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Parks Toyota of Deland

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
02/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refusal to stop calling my phone
I have called this dealership 5-10 times and asked them to stop calling my phone for requests to bring my car in for service. They will not stop. They use robots and now some telemarketing firm.

Next step is legal action if they refuse.

Desired Settlement
Stop calling my cell phone.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Monica A****,Relations Ma
Contact Phone: 386-734-2184
Contact Email: Marcos@ParksToyotaOfDeland.com
Parks Toyota has placed a "stop call" in every system capable to call our customers. Customer says he is still being called, but unfortunately we have not been able to validate if it is really our Dealership or someone saying it is a Toyota Dealership. We will keep working with our customer to find out what is happening.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


12/06/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The dealership charged me FL sales taxes, even though I am exempt as an out of state buyer. They will not rectify the situation.
On September 13, 2013 I purchased a preowned vehicle from Parks Toyota of Deland. I am a Missouri resident who was coordinating an out of state transaction. The car was to be delivered to me in Alabama, and the transaction was to be finalized upon delivery. From my previous experience in buying a car out of state, I have typically been exempt from paying sales tax. Although it is not like that in every state, it's pretty common.
Nonetheless, the dealership was adamant that they did all the research they possibly could and determined, under the circumstances of our transaction, they were required to collect Florida sales tax. Because of this, I paid to the dealership $815.61 in sales tax.
After the car was delivered to me in Alabama and finalizing the sale, I was inclined to dig deeper into the situation. I knew Florida and Missouri are reciprocal sales tax states, meaning if a Missouri resident purchases a vehicle in Florida (accept it in FL), s/he pays taxes to the state of Florida, and those taxes are applied to the Missouri taxes that would be paid when the vehicle is titled/registered. Missouri does something unique when you sell a car (or trade it) and then purchase another vehicle. The sales tax that was paid previously on the vehicle can be applied to a new vehicle. My new vehicle was $19,650 and the old vehicle sold for $19,000, so I was only responsible for paying taxes on the $650 difference, which came out to be $53. That's all I owed to the state of Missouri, whether I paid sales tax to the state of Florida or not.
On October 22, 2013, I called the Florida Department of Revenue and spoke with a representative named ****** *******. I explained to her in great detail the terms of our sale, and she determined me to be exempt from Florida sales tax because the car was accepted outside of of Florida and registered in Missouri. I took this new information to the dealership and requested to speak with a manager. I received a call from ****** *****, customer relations manager, on October 24th and explained to her the new information. ****** inquired with her superior about the new information and called me on October 25th to inform me that there was nothing more they could do. They determined they were indeed right in collecting sales tax from me and that was the end of the story. Her superior was unavailable for comment as well.
Despite being neglected by the dealer, I continued to investigate this situation. I made another call to the FLDOR on October 30, 2013 to get the information that was previously given to me in writing. I subsequently requested a "Letter of Technical Advice". That letter arrived to me on November 8, 2013, and it reaffirms in writing what I was told-based upon the circumstances of our transaction, I am EXEMPT from Florida sales tax according to rule 12A-1.007(7). That rules also states, "The burden of obtaining this evidential matter rests with the seller, who must retain the proper documentation to support the exempt sale."
As a result, I am filing this claim because I paid $815.61 in taxes to the dealership, despite being exempt. The trouble I am having with this is they had this vehicle advertised on Autotrader.com, and it was presumably open to anyone in the US to purchase. It became clear to me that they did not have a lot of experience in dealing with out of state buyers because they did not have any answers to my questions. Accordingly, I should not have to pay the price for their negligence. It took me, the customer, to do my own investigating with the Florida DOR to determine I was exempt from sales tax. Why couldn't the dealer have originally done this? I was about to spend close to $20,000 with them-couldn't they have gone to bat for me? This is the type of thing that the dealer should have done when I originally inquired about it. They treated it as something that wasn't their problem, which is deeply troubling.

Desired Settlement
The settlement I am seeking is reimbursement by the dealer of the $815.61. The dealership was negligent in the fact that they failed to provide an affidavit stating I accepted the vehicle outside of the state of Florida (as noted in the Letter of Technical Advice), which would have made me exempt from paying sales tax. Because they did not provide this to me as an option, I paid $815.61 that I should have never paid to the dealer and ultimately to the state of Florida.

Business Response


November 13, 2013


Better Business Bureau
Attention: ******** ******** Consumer Affairs Rep.
1600 S. Grant Street
Longwood, FL 32750

RE: BBB Case #: XXXXXXXX
Filed by: **** **********
Against: ***** Toyota of Deland

Dear ********:

Mr. **** **********, purchased on September 13, 2013 a pre-owned vehicle from Parks Toyota of Deland. The vehicle was driven to and delivered in Alabama as per the Customer's request. Mr. ********** did not have a trade-in as part of his purchase.

Parks Toyota reviewed the Reciprocity between the State of FL and the State of Missouri, due to the fact that Mr. ********** said his intent was to register the vehicle in the State of Missouri. Please find attached the documents we downloaded from the FL Department of Revenue Tax Information Publication, which guides us on the tax percentage to be charged through reciprocity between FL and MO. As per the FL Department of Revenue information Parks Toyota of Deland is required to collect a 4.225% reciprocity tax. Please find attached a copy of Document DR-123 (Affidavit for Partial Exemption of Motor Vehicle Sold for Licensing in Another State), which was signed by Mr. **********. This document has the Sales Price of $20,549.05 and the MO's Sales Tax paid of $868.20, which is the 4.225%. Mr. ********** received a copy of this document as well.

We have talked with our Customer several times and have done everything possible for Mr. ********** to understand that Parks Toyota of Deland collected the amount of tax for the State of MO, as per the Department of Revenue and its Reciprocity Program.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of further help.
Sincerely,
****** *****, Customer Relations Manager
Parks Toyota of Deland
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Attachments will be sent by mail to your address in Longwood, FL.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
Mr. ********** has asked the Credit Card Company to reimburse his payment and the Credit Card Company has refunded him. Mr. ********** has sent us an email informing us that for him this case is closed. Even though our Customer says the case is closed, we have learned a very valuable lesson. The law Mr. ********** sent us, says that if we deliver a vehicle to another state, we will have to charge the reciprocal amount for that other State. Parks Toyota has always had our vehicles delivered thru a third party but always contracted directly by the Customer. This time, we had it delivered by a third party as well. The difference was that when we delivered this only vehicle, the third party was contracted by us. This made it different than all our deliveries and the misunderstanding started. Mr. ********** has solved the problem. We are sending a new Affidavit to Mr. ********** to sign and he has accepted our apologize. We thanked Mr. ********** for this valuable information.

06/08/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sales person lied to me with a false Offer in the text message. Then denied the offer claiming it was a mistake. I drove 2 hours round trip in total.
I am writing this complaint to express my frustration and disappointment toward the Parks Toyota of Deland (Florida, USA). The dealer lured me come over (round trip drive of 2 hours in total) and lie to me. Yesterday was the last day of the May so that I received so many car offers from different car dealers. I turned down other offers because of the false offer Parks Toyota of Deland gave me.

I drove to the dealer around 8PM on June 1st, 2015 after negotiating hours with a sales person whose name is ****** ********* Here is the brief context: my friend bought a brand-new RAV 4 XLE model on the past Saturday from the same dealer with a out-of-door price of $26,250 and in the text-messages, I tried to negotiate $1,000 off because I don't need the same fancy options added to my friend's car. The sales man ****** said yes in the txt message and agreed to give a $1,000 off if I buy a regular XLE model of RAV 4. After I received his text message, we had the phone call, and he CONFIRMED the discount during the call that the final out- of -door price would be $25,250. Therefore, even though I live at a round-trip 2 Hours away from the dealer, I still drove all the way to Deland planning to get my new car back. I didn't know that he's just luring me with a lie.

It turned out a totally LIE. ****** said that he apologies for the "confusion", he typed wrong in the message. He said the text message was a mistake and he means LE model not the XLE model. If this is really a "typo", how could it even possible for a people type in wrong LE and XLE if you take a look at the ****** keyboard layout and see how far the "L" and "X" apart?? Because his "mistake", I had to drive 2 hours at a dark, rainy day to get fooled????? I really wanted to a Toyota customer before tonight and unfortunately now I feel so hurt and disappointed with Toyota. I am so said the see somebody take advantage of the Toyota's reputation and fooling customers.

I seriously wish this issue can be solved.

****** **** ****
XXX-XXX XXXX

Desired Settlement
Please honor the original offer we agreed in the text. $25,250 Out-of-Door for Rav LXE model.

Business Response
Ms. ****** **** started the basic negotiation to purchase a vehicle with Parks Toyota of Deland. After several conversations and text messages with her sales person, Ms. **** was offered an XLE model for $27,673 market value.

Ms. **** was also offered a lower LE model due to the fact that she said she did not need any navigation system (GPS) nor the rear tailgate remote.

The confusion began when our Sales Person texted Ms. **** and inadvertently made a "typo" in one of the text messages, which, by mistake, gave the lower price for the LE, but the sales person typed the letters: XLE (higher level and more expensive model) instead of LE for the said lower priced model.

Ms. **** came to the Dealership to test drive the vehicle and possibly attempt to finalize negotiations. Our Sales Manager presented options for an XLE model. The Sales Manager gave Ms. **** the Market Value for the XLE vehicle, minus the Manager's Good Will discount and rebate and then, adding Taxes and Fees as normally done by all dealerships in the industry.

As Ms. **** declined the offer for the XLE, our sales person offered again the LE model, which was also declined. Ms. **** believes that due to the "typo" we need to give her the higher model for the lower model price, which we cannot do.

No papers were signed; no contract was done, and Ms. **** left the Dealership.

The Customer Relations Manager has called Ms. **** to explain the situation and to apologize for the misunderstanding. Unfortunately, Ms. **** would not accept our apologies for the confusion between a lower model LE or a higher model XLE.

Parks Toyota of Deland has given Ms. **** great options and hope she accepts one of them. The Customer Relations Manager would look forward to personally work with Ms. **** on her options at her convenience so that she can drive her dream car home. I am available at any time at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext XXXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. First of all, on June 1, 2015 after several conversations and text messages with my sales person, the price I offered is $25,260 out of door price for a XLE model. I drove 2 hours to the dealer. I was not attempting to "finalize" the price or do more negotiating since I thought I already got the offer.

2. Secondly, I was never offered a lower level LE model during our entire negotiation. I said I don't need the navigation system and the auto-rear gate from a XLE model ( which is the options my friend get). The sales person make a counter offer saying that he is able to take $1,000 off from a XLE model with out the Navi/auto rear gate options.

3. Even though no paper signed, the text messages are in writing. According to lots of precedents, text messages are actually considered legally binding. During our text messages, I initialed a offer, and the sales person gives a counter offer ($1000 off from a XLE model without options). And I immediately accepted the offer. Please refers to ** ******* ****** **** v. ******* *********** Inc., No. XX-XXXXX-Civ (S.D. Fla. Mar 23, 2011) to see the ruling.

4. The Customer relation Manager contacted me BUT she never apologized for the whole issue. She keeps asking me " Tell me what do you want? What do you want? ", and " if you want to vehicle, we can move forward. Otherwise, there is NOTHING I can do to help". The conversation was very rude and unresentful.





Final Business Response
Customer Relations Manager apologized for the misunderstanding on the entire situation. Ms. ****** would like to purchase an XLE model for the purchase price of an XLE or lower. We cannot do this. As mentioned before no papers were finalized. Nobody has been rude to Ms. ******. Our Dealership respect every customer or prospect customer. Our Dealership appreciates potential customers coming to our showroom to test drive the vehicles they are interested in purchasing. Once an agreement is signed, our customers take delivery of the vehicle. This last process/step was not taken by Ms. ******. Customer declined our offers and we will not be able to help the prospect customer.

02/03/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/02/2015Problems with Product / Service
01/20/2015Problems with Product / Service
12/01/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Buying Co-Op

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 11/05/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicle
(850) 617-2000

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service
(800) 435-7352

Volusia County Occupational License

BBB records show a license number of VF10021401 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicle.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of MV21541 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of 198502240038-01 for this company, issued by Volusia County Occupational License.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Monica Arcos (Customer Relations Manage)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Buying Co-Op

Products & Services

This company offers automobile sales, service and collision.

Alternate Business Names
Parks Automotive Group, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Shops

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Parks Toyota of Deland

1701 S Woodland Blvd

Deland, FL 32720-7917

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1701 S Woodland Blvd 

    Deland, FL 32720-7917

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Parks Toyota of Deland is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Auto Repair Shops
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.