BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/29/2013

Mercedes-Benz of Sanford North Orlando

(407) 710-51111100 Rinehart Rd, SanfordFL 32771-7360 Send email to Mercedes-Benz of Sanford North OrlandoView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/29/2013

BBB has determined that Mercedes-Benz of Sanford North Orlando meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Mercedes-Benz of Sanford North Orlando's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Mercedes-Benz of Sanford North Orlando's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: Fail to respond to my refund request
I purchased a pre-owned 2012 ****** on 9/28/2013 from this dealer and got loan through them. I also purchased the Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP) coverage for this car. Two months later I refinanced that car through my credit union and paid off the loan which I got from the dealer. Now I need to cancel the GAP coverage and get part of the premium refunded to me as I've already paid off the loan I got from the dealer. First I chatted with their representative online and requested this type of refund. The representative asked my contact information and said a team member would contact me shortly. However, I've never heard back from them. And later I chatted online several times and each time the representative let me leave my contact information and said a team member would touch base with me as soon as possible. So far I've never received any feedback from them. Then I tried to call them directly and I asked the recipient to transfer my call to their financial department and nobody answered my call and I left messages as well as my contact information. However, I still didn't hear anything back from them. I'm not satisfied with the way they treated their customers.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@**************
we have spoken with Mr. **** and he is providing us with the proof of pay off so we can refund him his Gap cancellation. We will follow up as soon as he provides the necessary documents.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The dealer has contacted me and I'm working with my lender on requesting a copy of pay off proof letter.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: I took my car for service, paid for it but it was never fixed, and after several visits, has gotten worse. They now want another payment.
Dear Sir or Madam,

I am writing to you in hope that you can assist me with the resolution to a problem with Mercedes Benz of Sanford. I initially took my car in for service of a part that was fixed but was also recommended to perform a service on my transmission. The car prior to the service was operational, but it was pushing a bit and jerked. One of the service men indicated that the problem was something that had to be fixed with a computer program. I had previously changed the brakes, so it was not the brakes. The technician told me that the service was recommended at 50K miles for this car. He performed the service and I paid for it. Unfortunately the problem continued. I went back to the dealership and explained that the issue was not resolved and they said that they would look at it. They ran a diagnostic program. After they used a diagnostic service, one of the service men said that the car was fixed. I drove out of the dealership and immediately felt the problem again. I drove right back into the dealership and the service technician drove the car and told me that there is nothing wrong. He also said that they used a new program to extend the life of the car, an updated program for the transmission and that I would "get used to it." The problem persisted and I was told by one of their managers to take the car to *** at Mall of Millennia Mercedes Benz. I was ignored even though I had an appointment with ***, and was told that he was in a meeting with the manager. I asked why they had made an appointment for me when he was not going to be available. They did not answer the question, but put me off again. I ended up leaving and the car was not fixed.

I attempted to communicate with the managers at both dealerships as well as with the corporate office, and was subsequently told that there is nothing wrong with my car. The company will not answer my questions or fix my car, and the best that they did for me (case manager, Ms. L) indicated I should again visit the same dealership.

On Thursday, September 5, 2013 I was on my way to a job interview and the car completely stopped and would not move at all. I was on a busy highway (436) and could have been in an accident during normal conditions. I was very lucky that there were no cars at that time, a very unusual situation on this road. If I had been on the freeway, I would have been in a bad car accident.

After my interview, I took the car in to the dealer again and this time they seemed like they were actually going to fix my car. They provided me with a rental car for the time that their car is in the shop and they said that they would cover the cost of the rental car, as they did not have a loaner vehicle.

I told them that I had already paid for repairs that were not originally performed and that I expected them to fix my car. Now they contacted me telling me that they want me to pay $900 for the repairs. I have already paid for the repairs that were never properly done on the car. I truly feel that they never looked at my car and did not fix what was wrong the first time.

They have since had my car and are telling me that I have to pay this amount. I have already paid to fix my car and after multiple visits, many discussions and letters to their service center, they have yet to fix my car. I am asking for your assistance to resolve this issue as I feel that I have been taken advantage of through this whole process and that I paid for something that was not delivered.

Please contact me at your earliest convenience.

Respectfully,
******** *****

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *********** Serv MGR
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@autonation.com
To whom this may concern.
Mrs. ******** vehicle has been brought in to our service department 3 times. The first visit dated 06/17/13 invoice#XXXXXX included a transmission service, flex b service (routine maintenance); she stated the radio was making a popping noise, the sunroof was leaking water, on acceleration the vehicle jerks. Transmission service performed, Flex b service performed, and amplifier was replace for radio popping noise. We were unable to duplicate water leak from sunroof & were unable to duplicate issue with the jerking after driving her vehicle for 60 miles. However we did clear the transmission memory at no charge. We also discounted all repairs by 10%.Mrs ***** returned on 06/28/13 and stated her windshield washers were not working. We found the washer pump faulty and replaced it for her at no charge. No miles driven on this visit nor was there a concern about her transmission. Mrs. ***** returned on 07/18/13 and stated since the last service visit, the vehicle is not driving correctly and the transmission doesn't shift like it used to (please keep in mind--there were no complaints with the transmission on the prior two service visits) We perform a short test and no fault codes were evident -shift values were within specifications-no leaks found, and fluid level was good. We then road tested her vehicle for another 18 miles and could not duplicate any abnormal issues with the transmission. We returned the vehicle to Mrs. *****. Mrs. ***** has since returned on 09/05/13 and stated when attempting to reaccelerate from a stop the car would not go into gear, customer states when they tried to put vehicle back into park it slammed into gears very hard. Customer turned off car and upon restart the car would shift but slam hard into gear. The diagnosis revealed that the conductor plate inside the transmission needs to be replaced. Normal cost for this repair is $1430.00+tax we are offering Mrs. ***** employee cost on this repair as a goodwill gesture for $950.00+tax.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please note my response to the Mercedes claims. I brought my car in four times, complaining about the car that it keeps jerking not just when I break but after they did the service it was jerking every time the car would shift the gear. I did not diagnose transmission problems (I am not a mechanic, that's why I went to Mercedes, as they are), I was told the first time when I discussed the problem with the service Manager and he told me that it is the transmission and the problem will go away after the transmission service, for which I have already paid and it would take care of my issue. This was after Mercedes diagnosed the problem. I paid for the service and received a standard discount offered through a discount card, offered by Mercedes to all customers that spend over a $1000. There was no goodwill gesture, no special discount provided, and my car was not fixed, which is why I came back three more times and finally it broke down on a busy road jeopardizing my safety. They indicated that the issue was with the transmission and it needs to be serviced, during the previous visits they insisted that the car was working as designed and they have installed a new program, also that I will get used to this new program which made the car jerk. I believe firmly that they should have fixed my car initially and they did not. They do not want to admit their fault. Now they are trying to charge me for fixing my transmission when it probably has degraded because they are the ones who suggested that the transmission is the problem and did not perform the initial service correctly, nor when I returned subsequent times. They should make this right by fixing it completely and not charging me as they have cost me money, time, and safety and still have not delivered what they promised, now that they have my car at their service center since September 5, 2013. Their disregard for honesty, customer service, my property and safety is unscrupulous.
Respectfully,


Final Business Response
To whom this may Concern, I have been contacted by Mrs.***** and we have not been able to find resolve. Our offer of employee cost for this repair that is needed is all that we are willing to offer towards a resolve. I have shared this offer with Mrs.*****, however Mrs. ****** believes there should be not out of pocket expense from her.No other offer will be extended at this time. Please feel free to contact me should you have any further questions about this case.

Best Regards,
*** ***********
Service Manager

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
06/06/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/11/2011Business started: 04/01/2011
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Seminole County Occupational License

Department of Motor Vehicle
(850) 617-2000

BBB records show a license number of 177177 for this company, issued by Seminole County Occupational License.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of VF10360561 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicle.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2010, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Walter Grundorf (General Manager)Mr. James Bender (President)Mr. Ronald Eberhardt (Vice President)Ms. Susie Lowry (Office Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This Mercedes-Benz Dealership provides sales and service of new and pre-owned vehicles. Services include Transmission Repairs, Tune Ups, Brake System services, Engine repairs and maintenance services.

Industry Tips
Buying A Used Car
Auto Repair Shops
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mercedes-Benz of Sanford North Orlando

1100 Rinehart Rd

Sanford, FL 32771-7360

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1100 Rinehart Rd 

    Sanford, FL 32771-7360(407) 710-5111

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mercedes-Benz of Sanford North Orlando is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.