BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/09/2010

Jenkins Acura

Phone: (352) 840-5911Fax: (352) 867-8002

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues7
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
08/26/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I Had purchased a Certified pre-own 2010 Acura RL with 25,400 miles on the Odometer. battery failed after 2 months of use. It cost me another $130
I spoke to the general manager and he stated " He could not help me in the Matter". I did do some research on the web in regards to certified pre-own acura's and the must be Brought up to like new specs. I feel I was misled I Paid $28,500 for this car with a defective battery

Desired Settlement
Refund for the cost of the Battery

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: DAVID D*** GM
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email:***********@JENKINSCARS.COM
I HAVE NEVER SPOKEN TO THIS GENTLEMAN BUT I WOULD BE HAPPY TO REIMBURSE HIM

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


06/02/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Jenkins Acura has yet to hold up their end of the contract. Car is unrepaired, contract has incorrect information, I have no clue who my lender is.
I recently visited a car dealership and purchased a used vehicle. This took place on March 3, 2014. I took my existing vehicle to trade, but they wouldn't take it, however they stated that they got me financed for this car separately, which gave me two loans, which seemed weird to me, because I thought a person could only have one auto loan at a time. On March 11, they called me back and said that they got a lower rate for me, so I went back in and signed more paperwork for this "new rate", when in actuality, they just extended the loan for another year to lower the payment, which was fine. All of my documents show one bank ********** ******** **** as my lender, however when I call them, they show no record of me in their system. I called the dealership to find out why, and who my lender actually is, since my contract is apparently incorrect. They gave me the name of ****** ********** I called that company and they also show no record of me. At this point I have no idea who i'm supposed to pay, not to mention that all of my contract information shows the wrong address for me, which means I won't get a payment statement in the mail anyway, which was my reason for wanting to contact the lender to get this corrected. The issues with this dealership have been going on since I got the vehicle, no one ever has an answer, no one ever knows what's going on. Every time I call them, i'm told someone will call me back, and they never do. My payment(per my contract) due in 2 weeks, and I don't know who i'm supposed to pay. Obviously if the payment isn't made, it will look bad on my credit and there could possibly be a repossession. On top of that, I have visited this location on 2 occasions to get the vehicle repaired, and the same issue occurs a day later with the car. Is there anything that I can do at this point?

Desired Settlement
I would like for my vehicle to be repaired once and for all, and I would like for my contract information to be correct as well as know who my actual lender is. I will pursue legal action if this isn't done a.s.a.p.

Business Response
I have spoken to our General Manager ***** **** and the vehicle has been repaired. To our knowledge the customer now knows who the lienholder is. In regard to other loans we are not sure what the customer is referring to as they did not trade in a vehicle.

I hope that this answers the questions and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
Thanks
-****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My vehicle was taken in to have the front panel repaired, it still doesn't work. My vehicle is still missing parts. While I know know who the leinholder is, due to massive research done on my own part to find out, I still have no paperwork with correct information from Jenkins Acura. The general manager called me while I was at work, and I asked him to call me back. He said he would, but I never received a call back.

Final Business Response
I just spoke with Miss ******** and we have an appointment on Saturday at 1:30 to potentially trade her out of her current car. We have all the confidence that this will resolve this situation and regain us a happy customer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I met with the ** at the Acura dealership, and they traded me out of the defective vehicle into another. I am very satisfied and I thank the ***** for treating this like an important matter. Thank you.

01/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When we purchased our vehicle, we were asked if we desired to purchase the warranty service contract, we declined but this price was included in our purchase price anyway. The numbers were not adequately explained to us, nor were we given any information regarding the type and amount of coverage we had unknowingly purchased. We had issues with our vehicle after only three weeks, and upon returning back to the service department, we were still not informed we owned a service warranty package. We did not find out about this service warranty until two months later while we were attempting to refinance our vehicle. We returned and requested this coverage be cancelled and signed the cancellation paperwork, but were not given a copy. We were told by the dealership it would take 4-6 weeks. After 6 weeks, and to response we called the dealership and were told this time it would take some 12 weeks, contradictory to the information our bank gave us. We finally got in touch with some one who got the general manager to call and cancel our coverage, another two months later. We are still waiting for the funds to be refunded to our purchase and we are still paying for this service, which we no longer own. We are being told we are just simply out this money.
Product_Or_Service: 2012 GMC Acadia
Account_Number: Service Warranty

Desired Settlement
We would like some sort of compensation for our trouble and the finances we are out, recognition that this dealership owes us this much.

Business Response
We were able to cancel all warranties associated with this contract. The check went out today and should show on the customers account with PNC with 7 business days.

We apologize that this happened and that the customer request was not handled in a quick and efficennt manner.

Thanks for giving us the opportunity to rectify the situation.
-**** ****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After personal conversation with a representative from this dealership, our issue has been handled with our utmost satisfaction, the representatives from this dealership have offered more that satisfactory customer service since our personal conversation and we are completely satisfied.

Final Business Response
We have cancelled the warranty in its entirety so the customer is not out any money. The checks have been sent to the bank and should be cashed shortly. We are happy to refund the interest and offer $100 towards any future service in an effort to apologize for the manner in which this was handled. I have left a message on this customers voicemail and would like to talk to them so I can fully resolve this issue.
Thanks
**** ****
XXX-XXXX

08/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
misled at point of purchase Aug 2014. On 8/19/15 went in to dealership and was not able to refinance or trade in my car at a lower rate as promised.
I purchased my Acura last year 2014. i wanted to purchase a truck however because i had no credit, I was adviced to purchase a car for the time being and after 6 months (if my payments are up to date) I will be able to refinance or trade in my vehicle for a lower interest rate.
i visited the Ocala dealership on 8/16/2015 and was told my car was upside down now and my monthly payments should I choose to refinance or trade in will be almost double the amount I am paying now.
I was misled/misinformed into purchasing a car that I would have otherwise waited to purchase until such time that I had a sufficient amount of money to put down as a deposit so that my payments would not be as high as they are today.

Desired Settlement
I wish as promised to me at Point Of Sale, the option to refinance or trade my car at a lower interest rate.

Business Response
I just spoke with Mr. *****. I explained we don't control the loaning of money but we did in fact find a lower interest loan for him. He is coming to see me. I am not sure where the misunderstanding is or what the complaint is but I am sure we will get it figured out.

02/25/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
02/09/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
01/20/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
10/17/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Buying Co-Op

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.