BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/2012

Honda of Ocala

(888) 773-7091View Additional Phone Numbers1800 SW College Rd, OcalaFL 34471-1622 Send email to Honda of OcalaView Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/2012

BBB has determined that Honda of Ocala meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Honda of Ocala's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Honda of Ocala

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
03/08/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When purchasing my vehicle the salesman was completely dishonest and lied about the vehicle I was purchasing.
I went to Honda of Ocala to purchase a car. While speaking to the salesman I was told the car I was buying was never in an accident and I would be the second owner. After a year with the car I decided I wanted to trade the vehicle in for something smaller. As I started looking around I was informed that my car had been previously in a car accident and had structural damage which reduced the value of my car. I went back to Honda and spoke to the sales department that sold me the car. I explained the issue and how I was told this was a certified pre owned vehicle which had never been in an accident. However a month before I had purchased the car it had been in an accident. I asked why I was lied to when buying the car. The manager of the sales department told me that they were under new management and the person who sold me the car no longer worked there. I told him I was told it had a clean car fax and he told me that at the time it did because a car fax only shows accidents three months prior to the day. I told him this was wrong and horrible customer service and he answered with good luck sueing a multi million dollar company.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Honda to either take their car back or reduce the amount I paid for it as I was told I was buying a vehicle that was never in an accident.

Business Response
Hello Mr. *****,

I would like too personally thank you for coming into Honda of Ocala on Wednesday evening and purchasing a new vehicle from us. I am very happy our team of dedicated people were able to help resolve your previous concerns. I am confident that you can see that 100% customer satisfaction is our primary goal at our dealership. In addition, I wanted to thank you for your positive Google Review. Feedback from our customers is very important to us and we appreciate your time.

If you have any questions or need any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at ************ or *********************** We will be here for you, sir! Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Andrew V*******
General Manager
Honda of Ocala


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After discussing the issue with Honda management they were very apologetic and sincere. I honestly feel that they understood why I was so upset. It is an absolute shame that I had to go through all this instead of them handling the issue when I went there originally however I hope this was a learning experience. I want to personally thank Christian C**** and Troy R***** along with the AGM.

03/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Went for oil change and they blow a relay and charge me a lot of money
I had gone for a regular oil change and waited for their call but no body called me and i went to pick up my car and it would not start. the sales man was rude and trying to make me pay for the oil change and told the car will not start and i will have to tow it off the lot. I said it was their problem and the car was working perfectly when i came. the manager came out and said they will see what they can do. Then they call me in the evening with a $140.0 bill. It was supposed to be a $15.95 oil change. The receipt says the car was washed and it was not. I had no choice to pay for the repairs. I was supposed to just pay for the oil change. Their techs messed up the relay and made me pay for it. That is not appectable. On the receipt it states that customer declined inspection. I did not decline no inspection of that car. I needed them to inspect the car for problems.

Desired Settlement
i need just to be charged for the oil change and nothing more. I did not decline inspection. Why was that put on the receipt.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Andrew **********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: **********************
To Whom It May Concern:

After carefully reviewing Mr. *****'s complaint, I interviewed all of the employees involved with Mr. **** *****'s service experience at Honda of Ocala for his 2000 Toyota Camry, which has 209,061 miles on it. Mr. ***** was charged a total of $160.68, with $115.00 being a diagnostic charge that is a standard charge for any car that will not start while it is in our possession; his vehicle did not start during his service. When our Service Manager had learned that the customer was unhappy during his visit, the manager waived $20.00 from the initial charge in an attempt to satisfy the customer, which brought Mr. *****'s total to $140.68.

Our #1 goal at Honda of Ocala is customer satisfaction, which is what we strive for every day. In a goodwill attempt, I am willing to credit the customer's account the $140.68 charge from his service visit. If Mr. ***** finds our offer satisfactory, please contact me at ********************** or ************ ext.**** and we will credit his account immediately. If there are any questions or if you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Andrew ***********
General Manager
Honda of Ocala


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


06/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gift card promised but not delivered
Purchased a honda Fit in January 2015 and was promised a $25 visa card for doing a test drive. The salesman said that the person who issues them was off that day and he would "bring it to my house." I had to go back the next Monday and asked again and was told that they were out of them and he would get it to me asap. Since my initial contact I have spoken or emailed the sales person several times, I have spoken to the salesman's "partner" about it, I have spoken to the finance person about it 2 times and have emailed the general mgr once.

Desired Settlement
I am simply wanting what I was promised, my gift card.

Business Response
Good morning,

We have been in communication with Mr.*********** regarding the gift card issue, which it turns out the gift card was lost in the mail after being sent. We have arranged to deliver the gift card to Mr. ***** in person at a convenient time for him. The customer is happy with the resolution. Please close this case as satisfactory.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at ******@morganautonorth.com or *************

Sincerely,

*********
Regional Director


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


01/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealership deliberately lied to us to lure us to their showroom.
On 1/8/15 I called and spoke to salesman whose last name i believe was Robinson. I asked if the dealership was giving gift card in return for taking a test drive.He said yes but he wasn't sure how it worked. We made an appt for three hours later. He said he would find how the program worked before we arrived.When we arrived,I asked him if he got the info.He assured me that we would get a gift card.We spent about an hour taking a test drive and having our car appraised.As we were leaving< I reminded him about the gift card.He said he would get it and left the office.He returned a few minutes later and said we didn't qualify because we didn't bring a coupon.I reminded him that when we arrived I had asked him if we would receive a gift card.He said he was sorry but his boss said no.We plan to buy eithe a Honda si coupe or a subaru WRX very soon.We were serious customers, not people looking for something for nothing.

Desired Settlement
Please send the card promised.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@hondaofocala.com
I spoke to the above mentioned customer. The salesperson who waited on him that day was brand new and there was some miscommunication between Mr. Robinson (salesperson) and our Manager. I will be sending the customer via UPS a $50.00 American Express Gift Card for test driving

Consumer Response
From: ***** *****
Sent: Wednesday, January 14, 2015 11:27 AM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX)

I received a call from Mr. ******,a senior member of management, at Honda of Ocala.He apologized for the actions that cause my complaint and offered a gift certificate for double the amount I was expecting.I received the card today.The response was completely satisfactory.******** *****


06/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have emailed the dealership twice and left a message with the receptionist because the finance manager "was not available" at the time I called.
I purchased a used car 2 years ago from this lot with a Gap policy. In February, I traded this car in and the loan was paid off. I am due a prorated refund refund of the price I paid for the Gap policy. I have tried to contact Honda of Ocala on 3 separate occasions and have no received a response. I need to speak with them to send the proof of the loan being paid off and the car being traded so that the dealer can issue me a prorated refund. I even offered to just have them send me a fax or email so that I can send the information over and they do not have to call me back, this response was also ignored.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a prorated refund of the $750.00 Gap policy I purchased that was in force from July 24, 2011 - February 27, 2013.

Business' Initial Response
We have corresponded with ****** ******** regarding her complaint, have received the needed documents to process her refund and on June 12, 2013, we sent the paperwork to the company who will process her refund. Per the company, the refund could take anywhere from 6-8 weeks to be issued; Ms. ******** expressed her understanding.

We have also provided her with a direct contact number to the company issuing the refund, as well as inviting her to contact us with any questions.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

08/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealer did not pay off lease payments as promised. $1535.40 $482 road hazard, $2516 MV Service contract added to order without our knowledge.
Purchased New Honda Odyssey 5-16-15 and turned in to dealer 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport leased with 5 lease payments left on lease. We were told they would pay off the lease. ************* sales rep, ************* sales manager, and *************** finance officer. Called Sales rep several times about lease payoff. On 6-08-15 Told Check sent to Hyundai 5-22-15. Called Hyundai finance 6-10-15 and they have not been paid. Hyundai lease due 5-13-15 which I will have to pay. The finance officer pressured us over and over to buy road hazard and service contract. We denied road hazard but relented on service contract as we were told it was one dollar more each payment. We did not realize cost of $2516 until reviewing sales contract a week later. Road hazard was also added to contract $482 The final sales contract was not presented to us but stuffed into envelope and we were told everything was there for our copies.

Desired Settlement
Lease to be paid. Road Hazard and MV service removed from bill of sale. Reimbursement for all.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Tom M****
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email:*******@morganautonorth.com
To Whom It May Concern:

I apologize for the inconvenience this has caused Mr. ****. We appreciate the customer's willingness to work with us and bring the issues to our attention so they can be properly addressed.

On May 22nd, we sent a check to the bank to pay off Mr. ****'s trade-in vehicle. However, it appears that check has never been deposited by the bank. We have stopped payment on the first attempt and have mailed a second check to Mr. ****'s bank. The check (#*****) went in the mail today as an overnight package, UPS tracking number ******************, and due to the weekend, it will be delivered on Monday morning.

In regards to the road hazard and service contracts Mr. **** mentioned, our General Manager Steve Hoggle will be meeting with the customer on Tuesday, June 16, 2015 to finalize the cancellations. Based on all conversations with Mr. ****, we believe he is satisfied and all areas of his complaint have been addressed.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at ******@morganautonorth.com or ************.

Sincerely,
Tom M****
Regional Director

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Consumer Response
My account was not credited for the canceled service contract and road service until 07/31/2015!!! I will never do business with Honda of Ocala again !!!
***********

Final Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:

I apologize that Mr. **** is unhappy with the length of time it took for his bank to receive the refund. I can assure you we cancelled it the same day that we said we would, and we backdated the cancellation so he would get a full refund. We spoke to the insurance company and they indicated this is a normal time frame for them to disburse funds.

We tried to reach Mr. **** several times to deliver an apology and explanation by phone, but we were unsuccessful in reaching him. He is welcome to contact our general Manager Andrew V******** who would love to speak with him regarding this matter. His contact information is *****@hondaofocala.com or ************.

Sincerely,

Tom M****
Regional Director

06/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company did not honor their online price, stating the extra $3000.00 on sales price to be bank fees for bad credit.
On Feb 20, 2015, I went to look at minivan at Honda of Ocala. The one I was interested in, A 2008 Chrysler Town and Country, was listed for $12,900 online. After negotiations, "Pistol Pete" presented a contract with a sales price of $15,975. When I questioned the rise in price, he assured me it was bank fees because of my bad credit. I accepted because I felt I had no choice if I wanted a new vehicle. When I received information about why my loans were not approved, they stated that the loan had been turned down, not because of my credit, but because the vehicle was overpriced. I love the van, but feel that I was taken advantage of by having the price raised at the last minute.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have refunded the difference in the $15975 and the $12,900 that was advertised.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:

After speaking with the customer Ms.***************, we have come to an agreement on the appropriate refund amount. Ms. ******** has expressed she is satisfied with our resolution. We will meet on June 2, 2015 to finalize paperwork and issue the refund. Please consider this case as satisfactorily closed.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact me at ************ or ******@morganautonorth.com.

Sincerely,

*********
Regional Director


02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service
11/26/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Online, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/17/2006Business started: 06/30/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicle
(850) 617-2000

BBB records show a license number of VF101709311 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicle.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of MV60836 for this company.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Hoggle (General Manager)Customer Contact: Mr. Tom Moore (Regional Manager)Mr. Brett Morgan (Manager)Mr. Larry Morgan (Manager) Kadie Ogden (Executive Assistant)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Online, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers sales, financing, service and repairs of new and pre-owned vehicles.

Hours of Operation

Monday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday: 12:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Alternate Business Names
Ocala Automotive Management, LLC
Industry Tips
Buying A Used Car
Auto Repair Shops

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Honda of Ocala

1800 SW College Rd

Ocala, FL 34471-1622

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1800 SW College Rd 

    Ocala, FL 34471-1622(888) 691-2191
    (888) 806-1256
    (888) 415-6488
    (888) 250-2475
    (888) 773-7091

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Honda of Ocala is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 691-2191 (Disconnected)
  • (888) 806-1256 (Disconnected)
  • (888) 415-6488
  • (888) 250-2475

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (813) 936-3187
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Buying A Used Car
Auto Repair Shops
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.