BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Gator Chrysler Dodge Jeep

Phone: (321) 724-6611

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints14

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)
05/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
2005 Chrysler Crossfire not able to repair $89.95
Gator Chrysler, Cust# ******, Vin#*****************, brought in April 18, 2016, picked up April 19, 2016, mileage 32,817. When making an appointment to have my Crossfire convertible roof repaired (it would not go down), I first inquired of the Parts Dept. of Gator Chrysler how much parts for this repair could cost. They told me it could run approx. $2200 w/o labor so then I called the Service Dept. to make an appt. to have it repaired & told them what was wrong. At the appointment the Service Advisor, Rodger M********, tested the roof, checked that the tray in my trunk was locked in place (it has to be for top to go down) & said you're right it's broken. Next day it was again confirmed on phone when they called to tell me the status of my car and to pick it up that it was broken & Chrysler would not/could not fix it since Chrysler doesn't have the parts available any more. I was charged $89.95 for this service or lack of service. I told them it was broken, they knew it after the Service Advisor checked it prior to taking the car & they still charged me to confirm what I told them & what the Service Advisor confirmed prior to it being looked at!!!! The Service Advisor should be more diligent in knowing what parts are available from Chrysler since it's their products & also what they can & can not repair. This goes for the Parts Dept. too that is quoting prices for the parts that Chrysler does not make available any more. I knew it was broken before bringing it in, discussed it with both Service & Repair Depts. Why not tell me the parts aren't available anymore and they can't repair it rather than charging me $89.95 for something that was already established. I could understand paying this $89 plus whatever the parts and labor cost if they still stocked the parts. Why can't they just look up on their computers prior to taking the car to see if the parts are still stocked by Chrysler?

Desired Settlement
I would have liked Gator Chrysler to repair my car since that is who does any work needed on it and I purchased it from them. However, at this time I would like a full refund of $89.95 since I have already purchased the parts elsewhere and reserved the date with someone else to repair my car.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Carlos M******* - VP
Contact Phone: 321-724-6611
Contact Email: carlos@gatorchrysler.com
Mrs. ***** brought her 2005 Crossfire in on April 18, 2016 for a diagnosis on the convertible top as it would not go down. Diagnosing the exact cause involved some disassembly to access the convertible top components. We found that both hydraulic cylinders were leaking and need to be replaced. Unfortunately, one of the cylinders is no longer available from Chrysler or Mercedes due to the age of the vehicle. The Crossfires were made by Mercedes for Chrysler and the replacement parts are made and supplied by Mercedes to Chrysler. Even though one of the cylinders was not available, Chrysler's parts system still lists the part numbers and prices as if the part were available. It also lists the Mercedes part numbers and our staff did contact Mercedes, in an unsuccessful attempt to obtain the part.

The *****'s have been long time customers of Gator and their business is very much appreciated. In the interest of customer satisfaction, Gator will issue a refund of the $89.95 diagnostic charges.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept because I am getting it refunded and especially because Gator has realized that they should have checked further before quoting me a price for the part and charging me a diagnostic fee for knowing before taking the car and charging me for a diagnostic fee. Thank you. PS. I have found parts available elsewhere and a professional right here in West Melbourne who can install the part and repair. The refund will help towards the repair. Thank you for your assistance in getting this refund.

01/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had repair of leaking water pump on 05 ram 1500 and in less than 2 years and less than 20,000 miles it is still leaking.
On 12/31/12 I had my leaking water pump on my 05'Ram 1500 replaced for $592.92. Ever since then I have had to periodically add antifreeze but attributed to it previously being topped off at oil changes and since I changed to different oil change provider I didn't think much of it. I also noticed a burnt maple syrup like smell but again didn't think much of it as I didn't observe any visible leaking. Sometime in October 14' I went to do some repairs on my truck in my garage which is carpeted black and when I got down under the truck my clothing immediately became soaked in antifreeze fluid and realized the water pump has been leaking all this time. The pump itself works fine but leaks due to poor workmanship on installation. It clearly was not installed correctly. I suspect the O ring gasket wasn't seated correctly or the mechanic scratched the facing. In any event poor and rushed workmanship. I called service advisor ***** ** who had no empathy and quoted me the 1 year, 12,000 mile warranty on parts and labor. I then contacted service manger ***** ** who listened to my story and told me to bring truck in to have a look. I took the truck in the next morning, met with ***** and ***** and got a rental car and left it to be looked at. About 2 hours later got call from ***** "yes its leaking and that will be $600 minus 20%. I said not happening and will be right down to pick it up. Again met with ***** ** and again explained this is not a part or labor issue but rather a workmanship issue. I already paid $600 to fix it and its still leaking. I found ***** to be rigid with poor customer service skills and disrespectful at times. I even suggested to at least do it for their cost but that was unacceptable. This is about principal. I paid top dollar for a repair and got poor workmanship with a dealer that won't stand by their work with poor customer service. They are clearly all about the money and not the service.

Desired Settlement
I want my water pump replaced correctly at no additional charge

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@gatorchrysler.com
Good afternoon.
I just reviewed the case. Mr. ******'s water pump is leaking again. We did verify that in the shop. It appears to be leaking from the front seal which would rule out any workmanship issues on behalf of the technician in our shop that performed the original repair but rather a faulty seal. The warranty that comes with the replacement pump was 12 months or 12,000 miles, whichever occurs first. I also contacted my District Manager from Chrysler in attempt to get some assistance from Chrysler. Due to the age of the vehicle, being a 2005, they declined any assistance. While being sympathetic with Mr. ******'s plight, Gator Chrysler offered to do the repairs at a wholesale cost which is 20% off parts and labor.
Mr. ****** declined our offer. On behalf of good customer relations, I would like to extend our offer through the BBB to replace the leaking water pump at a discount of 50% off of parts and labor.
Sincerely,
***** ** *******
******* *******
Gator Chrysler.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The offer is reasonable and the right thing to do. However acceptance will be contingent on 50% discount off the fair market value for parts and labor to replace the water pump. In addition since this is my only vehicle I would like monetary assistance on a rental vehicle during the repair.

Final Business Response
Good afternoon.
After reviewing our last offer I think a 50% discount on our previous estimate of $600 is a very fair offer. Our estimate was based on established "book times" for labor rates and established retail parts pricing.
With respect to the rental car that Dr. ****** is requesting, we can offer him alternate transportation through ***** rental cars at our internal rate with no mark-up.
In addition, if the part was still under factory warranty, Chrysler would not provide alternate transportation either. If Dr. ****** would like to have his water pump replaced he can contact me directly and I will be happy to assist him in arranging alternate transportation and setting his appointment.
***** ** *******
******* *******
Gator Chrysler
XXX-XXX-XXXXX

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
My water pump is still functioning well but continues to leak requiring frequent fluid replacement. I'm pleased service manager is willing to discount replacing the faulty water pump and assist in alternative transportation. Therefore I accept the offer and will contact him to make arrangements. Thank you BBB for assisting me in this matter.

08/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dodge Grand Caravan advertised in TC Palms Aug 17,2014 for $14495.00.
Not available,mistake, ad changed as of today. 8-19-2014. False advertising

I called on Aug 18 2014 and spoke with ***** I asked him what model the new 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan was that was advertised for $14495 in TC Palms on Aug 17,2014.He said it was an SXT with all power. I asked the colors available. He said he would check and call me back, since he had 700 vehicles. He did not call back.
I called Tuesday, August 19, and spoke with ***** He said he had no cars, he told the manager about the ad and he changed it as of today. I reminded him that he was going to check the colors for me and call back so obviously there were some available. "There are no more cars left, once they are gone they are gone" he said. He refused to honor the ad and hung up abruptly.
Ad is on page 6F Aug 17 2014 Treasure Coast Newspapers.

Desired Settlement
I want them to honor their ad, and sell me a new 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT for the advertised price of $14495.00.

Business Response
We apologize for any confusion but the ad she read was in fact correct and we do have the vehicles in stock. The salesperson, while handling the call, did not have a copy of the ad at hand. He mistakenly thought that we were advertising '14 Grand Caravan SXTs and thought that we had them in stock. When the lady called back, he informed her that we had none remaining (after checking with a manager).

However, we do have the vehicles in stock that were actually in the ad that she read (not SXTs) and we will be happy to honor the ad and pricing
stated, exactly as it reads.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I went to the dealership and the vehicle
available did not meet our needs . However the salesman , was extremely helpful, knowlegeble and eager to please.

04/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought an automobile but did not receive a second key, and the remote turned out to be defective. The salesman and owner were not responsive.
On Feb 17th I bought a used automobile from the Gator Chrysler dealership, paying them the full asking price without argument, accepting the statement that the vehicle was in top shape. As I finished signing all the paperwork the salesman presented me with one remote with one key attached. I asked for the second key, and was told that there was not one - that he would ask the owner to provide it, but he did not think it would be done. I said I was not satisfied with that alternative. I also asked that I get the owners manual, which the salesman said he would try to do.
I called the salesman the next day, at which time he said the owner had agreed to deliver the manual to him. I again raised the issue of a second key, telling him that for a vehicle of that price, it was not acceptable to be without a second key. (That same day I pressed the button to open the trunk, and the button fell off in my driveway, and the only way to keep it in was to put scotch tape over it. Upon examination, I also found a tiny crack in the plastic case. I planned to address that new issue with the owner.)
On Feb 19th located a dealership where a new key and remote could be obtained and then proceeded to the dealership, where I expressed dissatisfaction about the situation, and asked to speak to "the boss". The owner's glass enclosed office was pointed out to me, and a staff member went inside to brief him on the situation, and came out to tell me he would see me shortly. I have a prosthetic leg that is easily seen, and I cannot stand comfortably for a long period of time. No one offered me a seat, so I used the tailgate of an SUV to sit on for a while, then went to the salesperson's area and found a chair to sit on. It became obvious to me that I was being ignored for a while, perhaps to give me a "cooling off" period. If so, it failed, since I felt I had waited long enough, so as I left I told the staff member that I felt I was being ignored in my attempt to address my complaint directly with the owner, but now he could just take the time to respond to my complaint to the BBB. No one attempted to dissuade me from that course of action, so I returned to the ********* parts department and paid for the 2 needed items, spending a total of $138.68 .

Desired Settlement
I expect to be reimbursed in the amount of $138.68 that I had to spend to get a new remote and a second key.

Business Response
customer was never told a additional key or remote would be available for this vehicle. It wa s sold as is with only one key. We do not supply specific extra keys with used cars. We have a signed we owe stating nothing was owed to customer at time of delivery. We are not in the habit of supplying additional keys to used cars after the deal was completed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their policy about keys was NOT explained to me during the process in which I ended up signing the purchase agreement. For the price I paid I assumed two keys would be provided and that the remote would be functional. I did not believe I had to specify what I felt were obvious items. It was AFTER I signed the agreement that I was told there was only one key, and that it was their (unpublished) policy to provide only one. I guess before that time I should have asked if the remote worked ? I just assumed they had checked out the vehicle before putting it up for sale.

I did later find the windshield wipers were too well worn, and replaced them without complaint, but noted this was a sign they had NOT checked out the vehicle in the way I would have done before trying to sell it.

It seems the purchaser must approach this dealership with great caution and the utmost pessimism. For that reason I do not consider their response to be acceptable or a sound business practice that would encourage repeat business.

I am not going to recommend this business to my friends, and will not seek future vehicles there.

06/23/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
05/10/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MADE A DEAL FOR $525 A MONTH FOR 48 MONTHS WITH WITH $532.81 DOWN WITH 57% RESIDUAL. CHANGED RESIDUAL IN FINANCE OFFFICE
3/28/2016 / 2016 DODGE CHALLENGER R/T SCAT PACK / ACCOUNT #******** WITH **************** / SALESMAN NAME IS MATTHEW D*********** / WENT INTO GATOR CHRYSLER AND MEET SALESMAN AND MADE A DEAL FOR $525 A MONTH WITH $532.81 DOWN AND 57% RESIDUAL WHICH PAYMENT CHANGED TO 525.07 ALONG WITH CHANGING THE RESIDUAL FROM 57% TO NEAR 62%. HAVE TRIED TO RESOLVE WITH DEALER BUT THEY SAY I'M OUT OF LUCK.SALESMAN KNEW THAT I WOULD BE PURCHASING THE CAR AT LEASE END BUT THEY HAVE RAISED THE RESIDUAL UP BY OVER $1870 WHICH WOULD COST EVEN MORE IN INTEREST ON THE LOAN TO BUY OUT. I HAVE RECORDINGS OF THE SALESMAN AND SALES MANAGER STATING THE 57% AND NONE OF THIS WAS TOLD TO ME DURING SIGNING. I WANT THE DEAL THAT WAS MADE WITH THE SALESMAN AND SALES MANAGER. THE CONTRACT WITH GATOR CHRYSLER INC WAS ALSO CHANGED AFTER SIGNING AND WHERE MY INITIALS ARE IS A FRAUDULENT CHARGE FOR OLD PLATES THAT DON'T EXIST AND THAT PLATES COME FROM CHRYSLER CAPITAL IN THEIR DOC FEES. THE DEAL WAS WITH NO DEALER FEES. Also my brother that lives in Melbourne was there and is a witness to me verifying the 57% residual. I can give his number if needed.

Desired Settlement
TO PAY THE $1870 DIFFERENCE OR TAKE BACK THE CAR AND CANCEL THE DEAL.

Business Response




Joseph K****
President
840 S Harbor City Blvd, Melbourne, FL, 32901

04/06/2015

Gator Chrysler has been doing business in the Melbourne area for over 40 years. Over the years our dealership has taken pride in our integrity and sterling reputation. We have consistently been rated as one of the "Best in Brevard" by our local newspaper, and were voted the highest rated Chrysler dealer in the state of Florida by ****************

On March 28, 2016 Mr. ****** entered into a lease agreement on a 2016 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack. The negotiations with Mr ****** took most of the day. Over the course of several hours, Mr ****** had us calculate over 10 different lease options. As with every other leasing company, **************** has a different residual, money factor, and acquisition fee for every different lease term. (Ex. A 36 month lease with 10k milers per year may have a 65% residual while a 42 month lease with 12k miles per year may have a 62% residual) While one of our employees most likely did inform the residual was a certain value for a certain term, each of the 10 different options had a different residual value. As to a charge for plates, Gator Chrysler charges an estimate to the customer for the cost of receiving a new license plate or for transferring a plate. The leasing company, ****************, does not pay for the plates in anyway shape or form. When the tag work is completed, if there is a surplus; IE. If the estimate was $150.00 and the cost ends up being $109.50, Gator cuts a check to the customer for $41.50. If the tag ends up being $175.00, the customer would owe Gator Chrysler $25.00.

When Mr. ****** first began negotiations with Matthew D***********, our salesperson, Mr ****** told our salesperson that he was a retired Chrysler employee with a "control number" which enables a customer to receive a substantial discount. After the negotiations were finished and it was time for Mr. ****** to supply us with his "control number," he admitted that he could not get a "control number" and that if we still wanted his business we could do the deal anyway. Gator decided to honor the price in spite of the limited profit on a highly popular vehicle.

Every lease deal at Gator Chrysler involves a Leasing contract. This contract breaks down every conceivable dollar amount in the lease. It states the exact payment amount before and after tax, how the payment is figured (depreciation, rent charge, tax, etc.), what the residual is and the amount that the customer can purchase the vehicle for at lease end. Our Finance Managers go line-for-line through the lease and the customer has the right to take as long as they feel is needed to review the contract.

Gator Chrysler sincerely hopes that every customer has a pleasant car-buying experience. Unfortunately, sometimes a customer regrets their purchase decision and looks for reason and excuses to try to get out of a deal. Gator Chrysler went to extreme lengths to try and satisfy Mr. ******, but I believe that we have reached the end of what can be reasonably expected of our dealership. We thank the BBB for acting as an intermediary as always and sincerely hope that Mr. ****** can learn to be satisfied with his purchase.












Sincerely,





Joseph K****
President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
************
******************
STRONGSVILLE, OHIO 44149

MR****** WAS ON VACATION AND IS ONLY HEARING FROM HIS STAFF WHICH WE KNOW THE REPUTATION OF SALESMAN! SAYING THAT THE DEAL TOOK MOST OF THE DAY CAN BE DISPROVED BY MY CELLPHONE RECORDED PHONE CALLS WITH TIME STAMPS. THERE WERE NO 10 LEASE CALCULATIONS DONE MAYBE 3 AND THAT WOULD BE ME TURNING DOWN THEIR OFFERS. RESIDUAL CAN BE CHANGE AND ARE NOT WRITTEN IN STONE, BUT WHEN YOU MAKE A DEAL WITH A RESIDUAL IT IS STONE. MR****** YOUR NUMBERS ARE WAY OFF AND I'M SENDING COPIES OF PAPERWORK WITH THE PROOF! ALSO NEVER HAD PLATES ESTIMATED AT ANY LEASE I'VE DONE IN MY LIFE.

FALSE ACCUSATIONS OF ME SAYING THAT I WAS A CHRYSLER RETIRED EMPLOYEE IS A SLANDEROUS STATEMENT. AGAIN I HAVE RECORDINGS PROVING THIS RIGHT FROM YOUR SALESMAN AND SALES MANAGERS MOUTH. AT NO TIME DID I ADMIT THAT I COULDN'T GET A CODE. I SAID I COULDN'T GET IN TOUCH WITH MY FRIEND THAT BEING THE HOLIDAY IT MAY BE HARD TO DO. AS I LEFT AFTER MAYBE AN HOUR I SAID IF YOU COULD DO THE DEAL AT 525 A MONTH 532 DOWN AND 57% RESIDUAL. AGGI CALLED AND I TOLD HER THAT I COULDN'T GET A HOLD OF MY FRIEND AND SAID NO HARD FEELINGS WE JUST COULDN'T GET IT DONE. TWO HOURS LATER SALESMAN MATT CALLS TELLS ME THAT HE TALKED TO THE OWNER MR****** AND HE TOLD THEM GO AHEAD AND DO THE DEAL. TOLD MATT I WOULD CALL BACK, CALLED BACK AND SAID I WOULD BE UP THERE IN A LITTLE WHILE. SHOWED UP AND SAT WITH MY BROTHER ************ THAT YOU MAY KNOW FROM CHURCH MR******, WHY NOT ASK HIM ABOUT RIGHT BEFORE I WENT IN TO SIGN PAPERWORK I MADE SURE THAT WE WERE AT THE 57% RESIDUAL. FINANCE WOMAN FAILED TO SHOW THAT THAT FIGURE HAD BEEN CHANGED WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE. MR****** THERE WAS NO LINE FOR LINE IN THE FINANCE OFFICE. AGAIN YOU WERE NOT PRESENT AT ANY OF THIS AND THAT YOUR EMPLOYEE'S MAY LIE TO YOU TO STAY OUT OF TROUBLE. I AGAIN HAVE RECORDINGS, TEXTS, TIME STAMPS FROM PHONE AND PROOF OF THE OVER CHARGE FROM PLATES WHICH HAVE BEEN SENT TO THE BBB FOR PROOF. SAD THAT YOU THINK THAT I'M NOT SATISFIED WITH MY NEW CAR JUST NOT WITH GATOR CHRYSLER THAT DIDN'T STAY TRUE TO A DEAL. AND IF YOU WOULD HAVE NOT CALLED ME BACK I WAS GOING TO BUY WHEN I GOT BACK HOME TO OHIO. I DIDN'T WANT OUT OF THE CONTRACT I WANTED THE DEAL I MADE WITH YOUR SALESMAN. AGAIN YOU SHOW NOTHING IN PROOF AND YOU WERE NOT THERE. MR****** IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO LISTEN TO THE CALLS FROM YOUR EMPLOYEES I WILL EMAIL YOU ANYTHING THAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO SEE AND HEAR. SO IF YOUR NOT WILLING TO IT JUST SHOWS WHO IS TELLING THE TRUE. LOVE MY CAR GUY AND I DON'T LIE. GOD BLESS YOU

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
CHRYSLER PROGRAMS AREN'T CONFIDENTIAL THAT WOULD BE AGAINST THE LAW. IF A CUSTOMER ASKS WHAT THE RESIDUAL WILL BE THE DEALER MUST SHOW THIS BY LAW. THE SALESMAN SHOWED ME THE CHRYSLER PROGRAM PAPER WHICH HE SHOWED ME THAT THE RESIDUAL WOULD BE 57%. AS A CONSUMER YOU HAVE ALL RIGHTS TO ANY FIGURE IN YOUR FINANCING. DEALS I'VE DONE OUT OF STATE ALWAYS GOES TO THE PERSONS RESIDENTIAL STATE FOR THE DEAL NOT THE STATE OF THE DEALER, THIS IS****************** RESIDENTIAL RESTRICTIONS POLICY. STILL ALL SAID AND DONE THE DEAL I MADE WAS FOR $525 A MONTH AND $532 DOWN WITH 57% RESIDUAL! ALSO MY BUYING OUT THE VEHICLE MEANS YOU OWE ME $210 DOLLARS FROM YOUR CONTRACT FOR SO CALLED PLATE TRANSFER WHICH IN A LEASE YOU CAN'T DO BECAUSE THE PLATES ARE PROVIDED BY **************** IN THE LEASE. ALSO THE FEE'S ON THE LEASE CONTRACT FOR PLATES MUST BE RETURNED. NO PLATES WERE EVER DONE BY YOU OR CHRYSLER BECAUSE I BOUGHT OUT THE CAR AND I WILL TRANSFER MY OLD PLATES ONCE **************** SENDS MY TITLE TO ME. SO I'LL BE LOOKING AT A CHECK THAT WILL HAVE THE $210 AND THE FEE'S FROM THE LEASE CONTRACT FOR MY PLATES. IF AS YOU SAY THAT YOU ARE AN HONORABLE DEALER I SHOULDN'T HAVE ANY PROBLEMS GETTING THESE FUNDS BACK FROM YOU. YOUR CHECK TO THE OHIO DMV WILL BE MAILED BACK TO YOU WHEN I GET MY PLATES. WHY I'M HURT AND ANGERED IS BECAUSE OF THE DECEPTION I RECEIVED. WHEN I RECEIVE ALL THE MONIES BACK FROM YOU I'LL POST ON BBB THAT YOU HAVE DONE SO. I HOPE THIS WILL OPEN YOUR EYE'S AND CHANGE SOME OF THE THINGS THAT GO ON AT YOUR DEALERSHIP. I PRAY YOU DO THE RIGHT THING SO I CAN PUT THIS BEHIND ME.

Final Business Response
Joseph K****
Gator Chrysler
President

May 5, 2016

To whom it may concern,


Gator Chrysler takes pride in the transparency and honest within our sales process. This will also be our final response on this particular issue.
Mr. ****** has produced a confidential Chrysler program as evidence of dishonesty. I would like to first point out that the form that Mr. ****** is using as evidence is from the incentivized lease program from the************ business center. As I am sure Mr. ****** is well aware, our location in Melbourne, Florida is quite a ways away from the************ business center, in fact we are almost 1000 miles away. Since we are in Florida, we are part of the southeast business center, with programs differing in each business center.
I would also like to point out that the program supplied is valid from 4/06/2016 through 05/02/2016. Mr ******'s contract is dated 3/29/2016, which would make it a completely different program then supplied by Mr ******. I believe this is the primary source of Mr ******'s misplaced anger. I have reviewed a copy of the Southeast business center programs, which are confidential, and it clearly shows that the residual is 57%, then an additional 4 points are added due to 10k miles per year, which add up to the 61% residual used within the contract.
As explained in the previous letter, Gator acted with fairness, honesty, and integrity in its dealings with Mr. ******. As stated in his rebutal, Mr. ****** no longer wishes to lease the vehicle, but to purchase the vehicle out right. Mr ****** signed a contract which was funded on 3/30/2016. As is common knowledge, once a contract is funded it is no longer in possession of the dealership but the finance company. As such, his lease cannot be canceled. He may however, buy his vehicle out from the lease, which may be done at our dealership or any other Chrysler dealership in the country. While we do appreciate his offer, the amount that he may purchase the vehicle for is set by ****************, to whom Mr ****** is contractually obligated.
To add further perspective, this would be similar to a situation where one would purchase a home with a mortgage and two weeks later demand that the mortgage company take less money than the principle balance. Unfortunately our financial and legal systems to not operate in that particular fashion.
In summation we sincerely wish Mr ****** success in all future endeavors. He has the opportunity to buy his lease out either here or at any other Chrysler dealership at the price dictated by his contractually obligated lease, plus of course applicable tax, tag, and titling fees.




Sincerely,



Joseph K****
President

11/09/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My vehicle is under warranty for 5 years/60,000 miles but I was denied warranty coverage on 1 part of a very costly $2,000 repair.
After getting 2 calls from the Gator Chrysler/Jeep about my 2012 Jeep Wrangler, my bill quickly climbed to $2,000. I spoke with Chrysler directly and they said that my vehicle VIN# did qualify for warranty of a FlyWheel, which is part of a Clutch assembly. The Chrysler dealership denied my warranty request. The part in question typically lasts between 80k-100,000k miles before needing to be replaced but for some reason mine went bad at 40,000 miles. I feel that the part was defective and broke due to this defect.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Gator Chrysler to warranty my FlyWheel replacement. Chrysler corporate will reimburse them for this but they have to accept that the part was defective. Given the untimely demise of this part and the fact that the warranty is still good I dont see why this cannot be resolved easily.

Business Response
Mr *********'s 2012 Jeep Wrangler was towed into our dealership due to a clutch failure.

The "clutch" assembly consists of 3 separate parts. The clutch disc, pressure plate and flywheel, all of which must be in good condition for the clutch to function properly.

As the lifespan of the clutch disc can vary greatly due to driving habits, driving conditions, towing, etc, Chrysler considers it a "wear item". The warranty on the clutch disc and pressure plate is 12 months or 12,000 miles, whichever comes first.

The clutch disc, rides against the flywheel and when engaged makes the connection between the engine and the transmission. The flywheel is covered by the powertrain warranty against DEFECTS for 5 years or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first.

In an effort to assist Mr. *********, we did contact Chrysler and had the Chrysler District Service Manager come to the dealership for an inspection. The DSM found that the flywheel was damaged by the clutch disc and NOT due to a defect and therefor would not be covered under the warranty.

The decision to decline warranty coverage on the flywheel was Chrysler's, NOT Gator Chrysler Dodge Jeep's.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Here is some more information that has been documented on both chat and via phone calls to case files to Chrysler Corporation, (FCA, inc).

On September 9th at Approximately 2pm I received a call from Chrysler Corporate offices in Michigan from Phone #************. I spoke with an individual in the Executive Offices of Chrysler and he told me that it was not his office, but the dealership which ultimately had the ability to honor the warranty. This is counter to what the dealership has stated in their response to BBB. The representative from Chrysler then told me that if I was really concerned I should ask to have the delearship give me a written analysis of their warranty denial that would include information from an ASE certified technician.

On September 9th, I verbally requested a written response/analysis/ that would explain exactly why the warranty denial was occuring. I was assured that I would receive this information. Upon checking out on September 10th, I did not receive this information.

On September 11th at approximately 9 am, I wrote an email to the co-owners of Gator Chrysler, again requesting the written response to the warranty denial. I wanted the specifics of this denial because A) a Flywheel can be be cracked due to a multitude of issues as a result of defective manufacturing B) The age of my vehicle and the flywheel is well below average lifespan C) it is my position that the warranty denial was done hastily by the dealership and little care was taken to properly document the process.

In my written response to the co-owners of the dealership I also mentioned that my bill (which has been paid in full) included an $800+ amount for Labor but the bill was hastily written and did not include a breakdown of the hourly rate which is customary at an auto dealership, and it also did not provide a total for the number of service hours needed to complete the repair.

My position is that I believe the amount of time necessary to complete the repair was inflated greatly as a means for generating more income for the dealership. I have reached out to several other resources which have assured me that at the most, a full Clutch Replacement should take no more than 6 hours of labor.

I am asking for documentation from the dealership on all of the aforementioned items. My position is that they may not be able to provide this information because they



Final Business Response
***Document Attached***
In speaking with Mr. ********* on 10/02/15, Dealership prepared a detailed written explanation of the repairs performed, the reason Chrysler declined warranty on the flywheel (damaged by clutch as previously explained in this complaint), the name of the Chrysler Rep that made the decision, explanation of warranty coverages and copies of the pages from the vehicle warranty information booklet. We also advised Mr. ********* that we were still in possession of his old parts is he wanted them.

Mr. ********* stated he was going out of town and returning on 10/07/15 and would come to dealership to pick up the old parts and the written documentation.

As of this date, Mr. ********* has not come by the dealership, nor returned multiple calls from the owner of the dealership. Documentation was emailed to Mr. ********* on 10-16-2015 (copy of email submitted with this response). We are still holding the old parts and the documentation for Mr. ********* should he want to pick them up.

02/19/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
09/19/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/29/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.