BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Florida

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2003

Cory Fairbanks Mazda

Phone: (407) 339-4777Fax: (407) 339-0304

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues8
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)BBB Closure Definitions
09/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealership advertises 0% APR/ Salespeople reference 1-2% APR/ Financing assigns 6% APR(w/ offer to reduce ONLY if vehicle add on is purchased).
Vehicle purchased 8/17. Dealership advertises 0% APR, once you're in the dealership however the story changes. The saleperson I worked with advised based on a good credit score financing would fall anywhere b/w 1.9-2.9%. Once in the financing portion of the deal however an agreement with 5.99% was presented with the offer to reduce the interest ONLY if I purchased a vehicle add on in the amount of over $1k.
1)a consumer should not be mislead by being advised so many different things by various members of the Cory Fairbanks team
2)(and most importantly) the APR should be the APR regardless of whether or not the unncessary vehicle add on is purchased at the end.
After having worked with this dealership the entire sales model seems designed to ware consumers out in order to gain a profit rather than presenting factual information on the front end rather than the back end

Desired Settlement
I would like management to be aware of the tactics used in the financing portion of the deal since they did nothing but leave a bad taste in my mouth regarding the company as a whole. I plan to share my experience with those who ask about Cory Fairbanks' business practices in the future.

Business Response
Ms. ****** was contacted immediately by ****** ******, General Manager, and her car purchase was reviewed. We have subsequently refinanced her car at a much lower interest rate.We apologize for any inconvenience.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

09/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misrepresentation of service plan & continual solicitations and reference to a car I leased and turned back in at their dealership.
MISREPRESENTATION OF SERVICE PLAN
In 2007, I leased a 2007 Mazda 6 from the Cory Fairbanks Mazda dealership. Overall, I was satisfied with my negotiation and general buying experience. I did purchase an optional service plan. I was informed this plan would be an additional monthly cost, rolled into my monthly lease payment. I was told that my typical maintenance would be covered and that I would receive discounts on non-routine service. When I got my car, I was given a coupon book for the service. When I attempted to use an oil change coupon for my first oil change, the chashier proceeded to tell me that the coupon only covered a small amount of the charges and that I still had about a $30 balance due. The service plan was not as advertised. I had the same thing happen for my second oil change. I didn't even bother to use the coupons past that time. The "savings" wasn't worth it. To my knowledge, there was no way to de-enroll from the plan either.

When it came time for my lease end, I elected to return my Mazda 6 directly to the Cory Fairbanks Mazda dealership. I chose to cut ties with them due to feeling taken advantage of with the "service plan." I met with a sales representative who retrieved the odomoter statement, which I signed and walked away.

CONTINUAL SOLICIATIONS REFERENCING A CAR I NO LONGER HAVE
Since I returned the car in 2010, nearly every solicitation I have received from Cory Fairbanks (and they are plenty) refers to "your 2007 Mazda 6" being in high demand, and requesting that I come in to exchange my vehicle for a newer one.

I do not have the exact dates; but, on at least three separate occasions, I contacted the Cory Fairbanks dealership (via e-mail and phone) to inform them that I no longer possess the 2007 Mazda 6 they reference in their solicitations as still belonging to me. Each time, I expressed concern that, apparently, their records still indicate that vehicle as being in my posession. Additionally, I requested that they stop sending me solicitations.

Despite my efforts, I continue to receive solicitations and those solicitations still reference the 2007 Mazda 6.

Desired Settlement
I expect that Cory Fairbanks Mazda provide me with written correspondence that they have:
(1) reviewed their records, and edited them if applicable, to reflect that the 2007 Mazda 6 is no longer in my posession, and
(2) removed my name and contact information from their marketing/soliciation databases.

Business Response
Thank you for bringing this to my attention and I am sorry you have had a bad experience in the past. Your records have been updated and you have been removed from our mailing, call and email lists. When you have a moment I would like to speak to you about your experience with the service department. I can be reached by phone XXX XXX XXXX x **** or email *******@BigMazda.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am still concerned about whether or not your records indicate that the Mazda6 is still in my name, as your marketing efforts indicate. Removing my name from your contact lists isn't enough for me to feel comfortable with this situation.

Consumer Response
This complaint was closed, despite my non-satisfaction. Now, I just received ANOTHER solicitation referencing a car I turned in to their dealership 3 years ago! I can't believe how many times I've tried to correct this (i.e., remove that car from being associated with my name) AND to then have them take me off their list. This is outrageous!

I have attached the solicitation and envelope (they don't postmark their envelopes).


Business Response
For total satisfaction for Ms. ****** we have taken further steps to ensure that she will not receive any mailings from us again- we have totally wiped her name from our internal databases and have contacted all of our lead generator vendors (who we contract) and requested they remove her information as well.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This is a satisfactory action. Thank you very much!

09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car is always breaking, still broken and mazda has not fixed the issue the last 2x the car has been in the shop, GM yelled at me
My buying experience was good... until my 2013 had about 4,000 miles... my car randomly wont start then after several tries would finally start up, my husband was late to work over this several times (mazda could care less), id take it in and they could never.duplicate the problem.
Finally it broke completely and had to be towed in (husband late to work again) they had our car almost two weeks, ****** said its in his hands it will get fixed. The cars gauge cluster went out which is what was causing my slew of problems (horrible gas mileage 12-16mpg), window wipers not working all the time, and not shifting gears (its a automatic and ive explained its dangerous.that going down the road my car will randomly.not go over like 1200rpm and im stuck going like 30mph on I4)

So we get the car back, and the "new" gauge cluster is cracked... wow really? Ok so they get the car back for another 2 days (they already had it 2wks) so we get it back again and our gauge cluster only reads we have 70 miles on the car lol so much for resale value. Any way only one week passes before it starts not starting again so I take it back and they keep it 15 days! And claim once again they cant duplicate the problem... so I get it back again 2wks pass and once again it didnt turn on this morning... AND im only getting 15mpg and the car is running like its constantly in a low gear.

Other issues include uneven tire wear to.the point the inside is bald and I can switch lanes by letting go of the steering wheel yet they claim my car is not out of alignment. But ****** did give us two used tires...still doesnt fix the fact something is clearly wrong with our car on the driver side front tire.
Service tried to tell us thats how mazda made them.

Today I go in because its just to much the car is extremely unreliable, I went in to possibly purchase another car...foolish I know. I told the salesman that my mazda5 is the worse car ive ever owned and the mpg suck and its constantly breaking... I mentioned I was going to write on my car how much it sucked thats how fed up I was. He told ****** and ****** started yelling at me outside the showrooom, told me "not to threaten him"... I told him I refused to argue with him and that he was being unprofessional (mind you I had my children with me, at this point I was crying because I felt attacked and bullied) ****** even mentioned "he" always "gave" me a rental car.. I paid for a maintenance warranty that included rentals...

I wasnt going to leave a review at first. But people need to know.... this dealership is nice for only so long, all I wanted was my car to be fixed right the first time. It was brand new and ive been to the dealership countless times, most of the times they didnt log when I came him... just threw it on the battery tester or alignment machine never logged anything. Make sure you always get a work order they arent your friend or family its business... bad business. I traded in a 2011 civic that never had a issue, never left me stranded. My gma got a 2011 gmc and she has never had a problem. It must be mazda with all the faults.
I have tried talking to ****** and the service manager about this for months. When my car first acted up a year ago I requested getting a new one

Desired Settlement
To give me the purchase price of my car back, they have not fixed my car the last few times ive taken it in. Id like a refund of the purchase price of the car, ill keep my previous negative equity. I just wan t to get a car that works, I have been trying to get this resolved for months.

Business Response
The customer first brought vehicle in for their first service at 7,643 for oil change, tire rotation and clean and adjust brakes that is offered with the maintenance plan the customer purchased. She also had a complaint of the air conditioning would stop blowing when she ran over a bump in the road. We test drove vehicle five miles and checked connections at blower motor and resistor and could not duplicate concern. Customer did not mention any concern about the car not starting. The second service was on 1/18/2014 with 13,703 miles on vehicle, we did a oil and filter change which is covered by her maintenance plan. There was no rotation performed customer would have declined, advisors recommend a tire rotation every 5,000 mile interval on our vehicles especially when not covered by the maintenance plan. No other concerns where documented at this time. The third visit was on 5/13/2014 with 20,593 miles. We performed a oil and filter change and tire rotation ( covered by her extended warranty). We also performed a complimentary alignment check which the vehicle passed was not due for alignment. We did at that time recommend tires for wear, this would have been to the neglect of performing a rotation at proper interval mileage and completely missing one rotation that allowed the front tires to stay on the front for a total of almost 13,000 miles. The weight of vehicle and the turning of a vehicle cause front tires to wear much more rapidly than the rear tires. We also checked the radio, the customer states it cuts off, we checked connections and could not duplicate customers concern at this time. The next visit the vehicle was towed in on 6/2/2014 with 21,651 miles on vehicle with the check engine light on and customer said had no power and would go into limp mode. We diagnosed vehicle and found faulty cluster and ordered a replacement cluster. The replacement cluster must be ordered through a secondary vendor who is authorized to set the mileage on the cluster and then sends the cluster to dealership for installation and programming. The cluster failure would cause a vehicle not to start and go into limp mode. We had the vehicle for two weeks waiting to get to fail and after failure waiting on the cluster. During this time the customer complained about the uneven tire wear she was having, the general manager decided to give customer two tires because of the excessive wait on the repairs to the cluster. The customer came to pick up vehicle on a Saturday and complained that we cracked portions of vehicle when installing cluster. The service manager approved replacing the pieces via phone because he was off. The technician also took pictures of inside of vehicle because he knows he did not crack any pieces during install. He took pictures of the vehicles trash and seats and door panels, technicians also complained of **** roaches in vehicle. The service manager approved the replacement of pieces due to the fact we did not note anywhere before that there was damages. The next visit was on 6/27/2014 customer said vehicle would not start and had no power. We kept vehicle and gave customer a loaner vehicle for 14 days, we also put close to fifty miles on vehicle with no problems found on vehicle. We returned vehicle to customer.
The customer returned on a Saturday to possibly trade out of vehicle, she spoke with the general manager who was willing to try to trade her out, during the transaction since the vehicle is not in her name it is a family members name the general manager explained he would have to make a call to the bank on Monday to speak with a representative of the bank. While the general manager told the salesman he had all the information he needed and she would be contacted back on Monday the customer started to go to every customer in the showroom and told them not to purchase a car from our facility. The general manager escorted customer outside and explained how the dealership tried in every way to make her happy with her purchase of the Mazda 5, we gave her two tires, we put her in a loaner vehicle each time ( not covered by her maintenance plan, our plans do not cover rental vehicles and Mazda will not provide one unless a problem is found). The general manger told the service manager that if Mazda calls that we are not capable to give the kind of service this customer is looking for, we try to please each customer with excellence service when coming to our dealership and unfortunately we fall short in her opinion. The customer arrived at dealership 3 days later after service manager spoke with Mazda, service manager relayed the same message to customer and apologized for not being able to service her vehicle any longer and he would recommend one of the other Mazda dealerships to perform any warranty repairs to vehicle. Customer understood and left the property.

06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cory Fairbanks fraudulently sent over incorrect information about a vehicle to increase the value.
This created a false contract.
Cory Fairbanks sent incorrect information about a vehicle to a loan company to increase the value of the vehicle. The car was also listed as certified pre-owned, but contained a fault in the electrical system that should have been found in an inspection.
After the loan company rejected the contract on May 16 2014 they attempted to threaten me into accepting the defective car and claimed they would just get new financing without my approval. They threatened to have the car towed to my residence and force me to take it.

Desired Settlement
Cancel all dealing with them and ensure they do not attempt to refinance the defective vehicle.

Business Response
We have attempted to speak with Mr. ******** several times by leaving him voice mail messages. He refuses to answer the phone or return our calls so that we may resolve. We have the car he was going to buy in our possession, and there is no existing contract in effect.

12/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My car was acting up. I took it to the dealer. The dealer claimed it required $718.57 in repairs. Took car to someone else, who simply reset it.
On Saturday, August 17, 2013, my car started acting very strange. It would accelerate slowly by itself and the brakes were difficult to apply. Also, the air conditioner was not working at all. My husband took the car to Cory Fairbanks Mazda in Longwood, FL. He was there for at least three to four hours, waiting while they "diagnosed" it. Finally, the Mazda sales person came back and told him that it required $718.57 in estimated repairs. My husband told him that he would think about it and declined to purchase the "repairs" that the Mazda sales rep recommended. The Mazda dealership charged $99.07 for their "diagnosis" test.

While the Mazda people were preparing to release the car, my husband googled the problem on his cell phone. He found out that it was possible that the car just needed to be reset. He looked up a location close to the Mazda dealership and found someone in Longwood named **** (of "****'s ****** **** Repair", located at *** ***** ******* ***** **** Longwood, FL). **** told my husband to bring the car in to his place and he would take a look at it. My husband dropped the car off, and I picked him up from there.

Within an hour or two **** called my husband and told him that the problem had been fixed. The car's computer system just had to be reset. My husband was absolutely shocked, as the Mazda dealer -- which one would presume would know their cars better than anyone else -- failed to tell him this, and instead tried to get him to purchase more than $700 in repairs. **** refused to take money from my husband, because he said "fixing" the car was really that simple.

My husband attempted to contact the Mazda dealership numerous times, and was told repeatedly that someone would get back to him. As no one has gotten back to him after almost three months, we are filing this complaint.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded the $99.07 that was charged to my credit card for the bogus "diagnosis" that was actually nothing of the sort.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ************ Service
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@bigmazda.com
Mrs. ***** brought her vehicle to our dealership on August 17. I reviewed her concern of high idle and check engine light coming on. The technician found numerous error codes in her computer system. These codes pertain to throttle body and PCM internal malfunction. Both the throttle body and PCM are electronic components, replacing throttle body could have possibly repaired the vehicle, but resetting first and retesting should have been done to give the customer the choice. I do not believe we gave Ms. ***** a choice on how to repair her vehicle. With regards to complete customer satisfaction, we have refunded the customer her diagnosis fee of $99.07. We have mailed it to the address she provided to us.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 3
03/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was put into a car I am unable to afford.I was told payment would be under $350 and its $425 and I have tried to trade in with dealer and can not.
I had bought a CX-7 and within 5 mths the turbo went out on it and service dept said it would be 5,000+ to fix but promised they could get me into another car same amount per month. I was very distressed and needed a car for work so they put me into a mazda 6 and I have had problems and have been very unhappy with the car and I cannot afford the $425 payment, I have visited the dealership several times trying to get into something with a smaller payment but they said I would have to put over 5,000 down in order to do so. Its a Mazda 6 -2012

Desired Settlement
Would like to get in a car with a less payment or return the car to the dealership. The price I am paying for this car is was above what it is worth and feel they should help me but haven't been willing to work with me at all.

Business Response
The vehicle that Ms. ***** is referring to was bought in June 2012. She has been making that payment for 18 months. She came in in November 2013 to see what we could do about getting her out of that vehicle, however at that time she did not have enough equity in her vehicle, so we could not lower her payment. We advised her then to come back at a later time and hopefully she would be in a favorable position. ****** ******, our General Manager, has spoken with her personally & she has agreed to come in and meet with him to see what we can do about lowering her payment.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am still working with them to resolve issue and as of today it is not resolved but I will continue working with them in hope to settle this problem.

Final Business Response
I(****** ******),spoke to Ms ***** last week about
trading her vehicle,at the present time it is too early for her to trade the vehicle and that we will
have to wait for the right time to trade her at a payment that works for her and the bank,but we will continue to try.
Unfortunately for Ms ***** she was in a tough choice
when she purchased this vehicle since trade to this
one she purchased did not run and left only a few options to choose from.We did not sell her this trade but given the options at the time we offered her the best option at the time.We are very committed to assisting her any way we can.

06/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sales practices to a first time car buyer and manipulation of contract verbiage to complete that sale.
My Daughter (19yrs old) negotiated to buy a car from Cory Fairbanks Mazda.
Several times during the original negotiation, my daughters car payment changed (original negotiated numbers were changed). CFM allowed my daughter to leave with a car before all documents were signed (or credit run)and then hounded me as well as my daughter for signatures on numbers not agreed upon, causing my daughter to get a ticket for an expired temporary tag (CFM has agreed to take care of ticket, however no documentation has been shown yet).More then 1 month after original negotiation, CFM realized that then numbers discussed could not be met (predatory lending?) while both my daughter and I received over 1 DOZEN statements from contacted banks for loans (many explanations included "excessive credit inquiries)My Daughter was then offered a "Mazda" vehicle with "Mazda" financing; a deal was struck, however I did not wish to be the "Borrower" of the vehicle, I wished to co-sign (wanted the vehicle in my daughters name) I was told my Mazda Financing that I would be the Co-borrower (that it made no difference), I have now been sent a payment schedule (in which my daughter and I both live under the same address here in Las Vegas; I live in Vegas, she lives in Casselberry FL!), and CFM has gained access to my Chase account for what I can only assume as withdrawal purposes.
I feel as though I was misled as the co-borrower, and that CFM manipulated the contact to finalize the deal.

Desired Settlement
Mazda needs to change the contract stating as i originally wished, that my Daughter be the "borrower" and I be the co-signer; and remove access from my Chase Bank account. I need letters sent to the 3 main credit agencies explaining the over use of credit searches for both myself and my daughter.
I also would like to see 6 more payments removed from the car in lieu of the tactics used to sell my daughter the car as well as abusing my credit rating.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, Controller
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@bigmazda.com
****** ******, General Manager, has spoken with Mr. ****** on the telephone and he is satisfied with the resolve. Mr. ******'s daughter is the Borrower and he is the Co-Borrower. CFM does NOT have access to Mr. ******'s bank account. He has a checking account with Chase, and this loan is with Chase as well, so they both show up in his "Accounts" when he signs on online. It is customary to submit the customer's application to multiple banks is order to secure the optimum loan. Multiple inquiries for the same purchase within a 2 days period will not create derogatory marks on a credit bureau report.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In Speaking with Cory Fairbanks Mazda I feel as though they have not been properly trained in responding to a Customer complaint. As I make statements they never show empathy, they immediately respond with a "defensive" answer (shown if you read their answers to my accusations).
"I" received a welcome letter for purchasing a "new" car, when I applying a a "co-signer", not "co-buyer", which they tell me "is the same thing" (BTW my daughter had been driving the vehicle nearly a month before CFM "closed the deal" , having to change vehicles because they could not get financing).
I received 12 letters(I have them all) of denial within a 2 month period (not 2 days), after trying to force a deal through; and yes, I do believe this would hurt anyone's credit.
As for Chase Bank... that is my Bank, I also received a denial letter from them on 3/6/2013 for one of the reasons being " # of inquiries having adverse affect on credit score"!
I have "co-signed" on vehicle for my Fiancee here in Nevada... she received a 0%finance rate;I know my credit was run a couple of times, but she is the owner of the car, and I do not receive and statements on her car...so I know this car be done, however Cory Fairbanks Mazda did what THEY needed to do to MAKE A SALE...congratulations!
I have purchased 5 new cars in my life and have never gone through this before.
I realize the "sale is done", I tried to assist my daughter in buying her first car, I only with I was in Orlando with her instead of Nevada. I don't expect to receive anything,perhaps a valuable lesson learned for my daughter and myself not to accept a deal that does not seem right.

07/02/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Buying Co-Op, Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.