BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/25/2011

Carl Black Chevrolet GMC Buick of Orlando, LLC

Phone: (407) 426-3000Fax: (407) 384-8083

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service10
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints19

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (19)
03/24/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have been getting the runaround on the payoff of our vehicle we traded in two months ago.
We purchased a vehicle January 14th. We gave the salesperson Will a payoff amount $19990.35 at 4:48pm. We pulled this up from our ****** account and took a screen shot of it and texted it to him. This was good until January 25th and was on the document sent to Will. The first record of an attempt for them to payoff the vehicle was February 9th and this was sent to the wrong financial institution, ************************* vs ****************. Had it been sent to the correct location, it would've been posted on February 3rd which was still after the deadline for the payoff given them. For the last month and a half we have been dealing with personnel in all departments, Hector in Finance, Adrian who is a manager there and Kamel and even tried to get to the General Manager Omar but he was always busy. All with no avail. We are consistently told we will get a call back but to this day we have may have gotten one call back on the numerous messages we have left or when they are looking into the issue. A payment of $19990 was finally posted to the account on February 19th but this for some reason was removed and basically put on hold. This payoff was based on the original payoff given to them and expired on January 25th so of course there was a balance still on the account of under $59.70. Even if this was posted on time there would have been a $.35 balance, minor detail but just leads into the details that have been overlooked. We were told that we will most likely be responsible for this. We were never asked to provide another payoff amount and according to ****** they never requested a payoff amount even though we were told they had done so. According to ******, they would not have been given one because they were not authorized. The only call received from the dealer stated they had sent the payment to the wrong institute and we're now sending it to them. Bottom line to me is this, had the dealer not dragged their feet in paying off the vehicle by January 25th when the original payoff expired, there most likely would not have been an issue. Throughout this whole process, we feel we are being blamed for all this and have never really been apologized to for all of this happening. It does not sound like they want to own up to a series of mistakes made and prefer to push the blame on us or on to the financial institute or anyone besides the people responsible. They even blamed the sales person for the payment going to the wrong financial institute although it clearly shows on the payoff document the name and location of the institute. Sounds like to me someone in the finance/payoff department just wasn't doing their job. Through all this we have been told by ****** this will put a marker on our credit report. We will fight this if it indeed happens.

Desired Settlement
We are wanting this traded in vehicle paid off and that account finally closed and out of our name and for once maybe getting some sort of response from them other than we are looking into this so we will get back to you.

Business Response
This matter has been rectified. The loan payoff was processed and received by the lender.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We did receive confirmation from ****** that the loan was paid in full.

02/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I cancelled extended warranty within legal time of Co. regulation & the cancellation was acknowledged by their finance Mgr.***** ****** in-person.
The purchase date of this transaction was 10/26/2014 at the office of ****** ***** financial Mgr.We both signed documents that stated complete customer satisfaction.I excepted extended warranty as part of deal purchase but when I studied it further at home I realized it didn't cover 3 additional years & 36,000 miles but was covering the same time & mileage that came with the auto purchase duplicating most of it.I called the next day ****** ***** & verbally cancelled the extended warranty & requested a refund since total sale was paid up front.****** didn't respond to my calls for conformation so I went physically to the dealership & saw *****,Fin. Mgr.instead who reassured me the refund plus tax would come to me in about 10 days,which would have been about Nov.19.Many calls & messages were left to both Mgrs.to no avail.Several times they told telephone operator to say be patient the check is in the mail.Now that's lying,unethical & abusive business practice.I sent the complaint package,registered,return signature on Jan.2nd.addressed to Sr.General Mgr.Personal & confidential & still no reply or acknowledgement.Refund amount is $1,295

Desired Settlement
I believe the complaint statement says it all.It,s been a horrible experience doing business with Carl Black Orlando.Refund amount is $1,295.

Business Response
This matter has been resolved with the customer. Mr. *********** was reimbursed the full amount of $1,295.00 and he communicated with us that he was now completely satisfied. We were under the impression that the Mr. *********** was requesting the BBB to remove his complaint. This is why we have not responded until now. We deeply apologize for the lack of communication on our part with Mr. ***********. Our goal is to ensure the complete satisfaction of al of our customers.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There check was $1216.00 dollars or $79.00 dollars short which they promised to correct & haven't yet to date.

Final Consumer Response
Re Complaint #90143274-3-210 second payment of shortage was received on 2/5/2015 & considered as paid in full on initial complaint of refund of cancelled auto repair extended warranty.I therefore withdraw my complaint as being satisfied.I never received an answer on why the Dealership took so long to be acknowledged & rectified. Thank You BBB!!!

11/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Told both vehicles had same options but was not false.
I test drove a vehicle and the numbers didn't line up. Was shown a different model truck and was told it had same options. After getting home I discovered it had a totally different navigation system than the first one. Due to my required driving with job a full navigation system was a needed item. Found out vehicle only has OnStar navigation which does not fulfill my required needs. When I called salesman he stated he never said it had same navigation but never denied stating it had same options.

Desired Settlement
After researching full navigation can be added to vehicle.

Final Consumer Response
Resolved please delete

07/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I test drove a 2014 Chevrolet Traverse and was charged $37, 753.00 including Bluetooth "my link upgrade" in the radio system. I was told I had to wait for the vehicle to come from Ohio, I received a call on Saturday May 17, 2014 that they had found the vehicle I wanted in Panama City, Florida, to come by at 2:00pm to pick it up at the dealer, I went to the dealer and they had me fill out additional paper work because it was a different vin # than the one that I had purchased, I did not look at the radio until Sunday, and noticed that it did not include the My link Bluetooth upgrade. I called the dealer they had me come in and told me that the radio did not include it and that if I wanted it I would have to pay an additional $3,000.00 for the "My link upgrade". they were very rude with me. I was cleaning my vehicle the following Tuesday and noticed a paper under the seat it was the specs of the vehicle and the selling price was for $37,100.00 when I called the dealer and told them that they had over charged me, they said that it is what it is.. they owe me for the OVER payment on this vehicle and they owe me for the "My link upgrade" they made my life a nightmare. This is the second vehicle that I purchase from them and I would never go back to them again.. They Owe me for the over price & the "My link upgrade" I want what i originally paid for not what they delivered.
Product_Or_Service: 2014 Chevrolet Traverse

Desired Settlement
I want the "My Link Upgrade" in my vehicle, to get the Bluetooth connection in my radio. I want to get reimbursed for the $653.00 dollars they over charged me on the selling price of the vehicle.

Business Response
Good morning,

We received the complaint from Mrs. ***** *******. We are aware of this customer's complaint. In an attempt to rectify the situation for the consumer, we did attempt to swap the consumer out of the current vehicle that she currently has into a vehicle with the "My Link" system and the consumer refused. We understand the consumer is frustrated and we want to do right by the consumer, however, our hands are somewhat tied. The process of "just installing" the My Link radio system to the consumer's current vehicle is not something that GM has the capability to do. This option was fully investigated and exhausted when the consumer first had the complaint. The best option that we had was to swap vehicles prior to the title work being processed through the state. Now that the vehicle has been titled, we cannot offer a new car swap to the customer as her current vehicle would be considered a used car. However, there is an option of installing an aftermarket radio system that has the same features as the Chevrolet My Link system. We are willing to install this unit for the consumer at no cost to the consumer or give the consumer a refund for the cost of this aftermarket unit. The cost of the unit is $1,400.00. We sincerely hope that this will satisfy Mrs. ******* as we strive for all of our consumers to be completely satisfied.

Thank you,


**** ********* ****

XXXXX **** ******** *****
*******, ** XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I would like to say that they offered aldifferent vehicle not the same one that I had purchased (they lied again)
I would like to know the type of aftermarket radio they have to offer. Also I would like to know why they are not saying anything in reference to the $653.00 they overcharged me
As soon as they tell me the model of the radio I will make my decision

11/01/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Promotion giveaway not honored, even after repeated attempts to contact dealership (salesperson) to rectify.
We bought a car there in May. We were told since we purchased a vehicle, we could throw a basketball 4 times and each time we make it, we would receive $25. We threw 4 times and made the basket twice. Our salesman said we would receive a check in the mail for $50 in 6 to 8 weeks.

To date we have never received any such check. I have spoken to the sales man twice about it. He said they would look into it, and it still never comes.

It's only $50, but it just doesn't seem right that they run a promotion like that and then wait long enough for customers to forget about it and not send them their checks.

Desired Settlement
$50 check.

I also purchased a maintenance plan with my car. I was told that the plan details would be sent to me via mail. To date, I have not received that information. I would also like that info sent to me as well, please.

Thanks

Final Consumer Response
I received a check in the mail for the promotion. They also called me, but I have been very ill and have not returned their call. I plan to do so early next week.

You can close my complaint as completely satisfied.

Thank you

Page 1 of 2
05/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Eight weeks ago we canceled our extended warranty and we still have not been credited the $1,986. They don't return phone calls/pretend not to be the
We bought a new truck on Jan 25th and took delivery on the 27th of Jan. Upon taking delivery, we canceled our extended warranty because they neglected to tell us there would be a charge of $100 per visit if we didn't bring the truck to Carl Black. I have place about 14 phone calls and all it get is that the finance manager is busy as well as the general manager. I spoke with the finance manager twice and he assured me he would take care of this issue but that was two months ago and he's always busy now. The warranty fee of $1,986 was supposed to be credited to my loan balance but now I'm just paying interest on the money for nothing. As far as I'm concerned, they have stolen $1,986 from me and won't return the money.

Desired Settlement
Credit my $1,986 to my loan balance as promised.

Business Response
The customer's loan account was credited in the amount of $1,986.00 on 1 April 2016.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Carl Black GMC credited our loan only after the BBB made the inquiry. They're refusal to return the money for 9 weeks or the phone calls is evidence their business ethics are in real question. They never gave any explanation as to why they attempted to keep our money nor did they provide any comments about the matter being an oversight.

09/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased extended bumper to bumper warranty
2yr. Will not accept. And employee had me sign form
To allow work to proceed. But was for charges??
T
Purchased extended bumper to bumper warranty
2yr. Will not accept. And employee had me sign form
To allow work to proceed. But was for charges??
It's fraud.

Desired Settlement
Service done by different dealership
And vehicle returned to me.
Remainder of extended warranty refunded!! Replacement

Business Response
The concerns that Mr. **** is having with his vehicle are not covered by the service plan that he purchased. Unfortunately, when we tried to explain this to Mr. ****, he became very hostile and irate. This is the second time that this customer has reacted in this manner when getting his vehicle repaired at our facility. We have even attempted to call the customer and rectify the situation with him by offering to settle this for him even though we have no obligation to do so. During that attempt, he again became very hostile on the phone and hung up. At this point, we would like to honor his request to cancel his service contract and have him refunded the unused prorated portion of his service contract. Other than that is our belief that there is nothing that we can do to satisfy Mr. ****.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was missing led with warranty when purchased.
They fixed this issue once before under same warranty
So this is a recurring issue!!
As far as the irate issue. I kept getting disconnected..

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Want this to go to mediation!!
This had nothing to do with loan to truck


Final Business Response
Due to there being a loan/lienholder on Mr. ****'s vehicle, we had to send the refund to his lienholder BB&T. The check was cut, signed and mailed to BB&T on Sept 18th.

08/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchasing a 2015 Chevrolet Silverado - Forced by the dealer to return it
On Friday June 5th I went to the mentioned dealer to see a Chevrolet Silverado 2015 with about 3000 miles on it. I spoke to the salesman and I stated my intention of buying the vehicle if they meet my available monthly payment. On Saturday June 6th, I received a phone call from the salesman indicating that the credit was approved and I could come to pick up the vehicle, which I did.
On June 10, I received a phone call from the Financial Manager to ask me for a copy of my Social Security Card. I immediately made a copy and I sent the copy via email.
On June 18, after 12 days of having the car on my position and paying Insurance and OnStar extra services, the salesman called me again to request me the immediately return of the vehicle. I took my lunch time and I immediately went to the dealer looking for an explanation. The version I have from the Financial Manager is "it seems like somebody else used you number of SSN". I did not received any explanation form the Bank (GM Financial) and off course, I had to return the car.
If the dealer inform the customer that the credit is been approved and they make delivery of the Vehicle, they should be responsible for the outcome, (negative or positive) I do not deal with the Bank, my point of contact is the dealer. The dealer, instead of correcting his issues with GM Financial, opted for the easiest path, The client.

Desired Settlement
I want the issue corrected with GM Financial to avert future problems with me purchasing another vehicle

Business Response
Thank you for notifying us of this complaint from Mr. *****. Unfortunately, when we delivered the vehicle to Mr. *****, we were not aware of any issues with his SSN. It wasn't until the lending institution received the file that we were notified about there being an issue with Mr. *****'s SSN. We did our due diligence as instructed by the lending institution. We requested a copy of the SSN from Mr. ***** as we were instructed to do so by the lending institution and it was not sufficient for them to process the loan. Normally, we gather all information requested by the lending institutions prior to sending the loan packets to them. This is standard operating procedure for us. In this particular case, we were not aware of any issues with the SSN until after the loan packet was sent to and received by the lending institution. We did however try to get that stipulation waived by the lending institution (which took several days) but were unsuccessful.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was not aware of any "issues" with my SSN. The Financial Manager was unable of giving me an accurate explanation the last time I went to the dealership. The bank did not recognize that I took delivery of the vehicle and it was in my possession for 2 weeks. The dealership did not took any responsibility and they just make me return the vehicle. I received a phone call from the Sales Manager on 07/17 (more than a month after this event). I feel very mistreated and disappointed. I give to the dealer the maximum monthly payment that I could afford and they "close" the deal based on that. Are they responsible in any way of their own commercial decisions?

Final Business Response
Since our last response, we have continued to work with the financial institution and Mr. ***** in an attempt to resolve the SSN concern that the financial institution has had. Through much communication and continuous follow up, we have been able to get past the SSN issue with the financial institution. We have been in communication with Mr. ***** as well and have informed him of our progress with the financial institution. Mr. ***** has communicated to us that he will return to Carl Black to proceed with the purchase of a pre owned truck. We look forward to finalizing this transaction soon.

08/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I BROUGHT MY 2003 SATURN ION TO THIS DEALERSHIP TO HAVE GM RECALL PERFORMRD FOR IGNITION.I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO START AGAIN.
HAD IGNITION REPLACED UNDER RECALL FROM GM. DROVE HOME PARKED NEXT MORNING WOULD NOT START. PAID TO TOW BACK TO DEALERSHIP THEY SAID MOTOR NO GOOD.BATTERY NO GOOD . HAD NEW BATTERY FEW MONTHS EARLIER CHECHED OUT FINE.MECHANIC SAYS MOTOR FINE.THIS DEALERSHIP DOES NOT WANT TO FIX WHAT THEY DID.

Desired Settlement
WANT AUTO TO START LIKE IT DID BEFORE NEW IGNITION

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: John B********** BDC Mgr
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ************@carlblack.com
We performed the recall on Mrs. ********** vehicle on August 8, 2014. The vehicle was towed in to us recently and the cause of the starting issue was a weak battery. We were able to jump start the vehicle. Once the vehicle started we noticed that the engine ran extremely rough and bellowed smoke when starting. Mrs. ******** declined repair and when she came to retrieve the vehicle we jump started it and it was driven away. We could find no other fault with her vehicle causing the no start concern other than the battery. The parts installed with the recall were operating as intended. We would be more than willing to help Mrs. ******** out by offering a discount if she wants us to repair her vehicle.

12/07/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.