BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/08/2010

AutoNation Ford Sanford

Phone: (407) 680-0781Fax: (407) 328-6096View Additional Phone Numbers4911 Wayside Dr, SanfordFL 32771-8612 Send email to AutoNation Ford SanfordView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/08/2010

BBB has determined that AutoNation Ford Sanford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AutoNation Ford Sanford's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AutoNation Ford Sanford

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
11/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Autonation Ford has damaged my vehicle and told me several things but never followed through. I have filed several reports with Ford Motor Co.
Back in June my alternator went on my 2006 Ford Mustang, I had it towed to AutoNation Ford where they told me it needed an alternator and a new battery. The battery was 2 years old and I knew it didn't need a new one so I had it towed down the road to ***** where they replaced only the alternator. When they put the vehicle outside they had put down the window inside and left it outside in the pouring rain and I had no way to get it up because the battery was completely dead. My drivers side door panel got soaked and the window would not roll up or down for several days and now I have an issue with the electronics in the door. I had went there for oil change also and that wasn't performed but they had plenty of time to go ahead and get paid for recall work that I didn't approve. I was then contacted by Rich after contacting Ford and complaining and he told me that he would take care of me the next time I came in. I came in again in October and got an oil change and mini inspection and was charged 47 dollars when back in June I would have only paid 19.99 for the same service if it had been done then. During this visit they said my brakes were fine even though I had been hearing noises and 1.5 weeks later the brakes now make a very loud noise and I was told they need replacement and it should have been easily noticed 1.5 weeks ago.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be fully credited for the 47 dollar oil change and I would like for them to look at my drivers side panel and fix the damage that has been done to it and it now affects me being able to unlock the car.

Business Response
I have called and left message with no return call. Mr. ******* is welcome to come by and I will be glad to go over his work history we have done on his car . Thanks Bill A*******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I reached out to Bill A******* the day after I got his response and reached out to him about setting up a meeting. I met with Bill and Rich on 11/5. The outcome of the meeting was that I would be reimbursed for the oil change and all fees that I had endured due to the incident that occurred back in June. I have yet to receive the check but strongly feel that the merchant will mail the check to me in due time.

05/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a purchase agreement, and a check was written for more accidently than the purchase amount-jan 13, 2015...after visits, calls and emails,
PURCHASE DATE (10/25/14-CONTRACT DATE 1/13/15 & 1/18/15). DEAL #XXXXXX STK #FSXXXXXX CUST #XXXXXXX. TOTAL DUE FOR OVERPAYMENT IS ONLY $53.74 AS A CHECK WAS WRITTEN FOR THE WRONG AMOUNT.I HAVE GONE IN PERSON, LEFT EMAILS AND VM'S...EVEN FILED A COMPLAINT WITH FORD, WITH NO RESPONSE OR ASSITANCE FROM THE DEALER OR FORD.

Desired Settlement
$53.74 AS DOCUMENTATION HAS BEEN SUBMITTED TO THEM ALREADY, AS THEY ALSO HAVE THE SAME PAPERWORK.

Business Response
Mr. **********. thank you for bringing this to my attention . We will get a check cut and sent to Capital One today and also mail you a copy. Because you paid with a Capital One Auto check the money must be sent to the bank. Feel free to contact me with any questions. Thank you for your business. ************* ************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Such poor customer service or lack thereof if we ever purchase a new Ford it will not be at autonation. Hopefully your dealership will send a letter explaining why your mailing a check to capital one as the lender may not be aware of why they're receiving a check from you.

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service dept. tried to sell me rear brakes. When I did not need them. Was told I would never make it back to NH. Brakes were insp. at home and were ok
Back in March I needed to make a appointment with dealership due to a front left brake problem. I own a 2011 Ford F-350 with approx. XXXXX miles. I got a ride back to rv park and waited for a phone call to let me know what was wrong with brakes. I was told I needed both front and rear brake job. Since truck only had less than XXXXX miles I declined rear brake service. I was also told by service rep that I would never make it back to N.H. When I got back home I took my truck in for its annual state inspection. ***** to find out my rear brakes were fine. My complaint is I feel service dept. tried to sell me a **** of material I did not need.

Desired Settlement
I need to hear from the service manager why service adviser is still employed. I have made numerous calls to dealership service manager with no call backs.

Business Response
We **** contact Mr.*********** .

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealer charged me to replace a part that I believe was not faulty
My truck shut off, on I-4. I towed it in to Ford, for service.
The diesel mechanic supervisor/manager called me and told me I had blown the fuel pump.
I asked how I could have blown it. He told me his best guess was that I ran it out of fuel.
I told him that the gauge was reading just under a 1/4 tank, when it died, so I know I did not run out of fuel. Even if I had, simply running out of fuel should not blow a fuel pump. He charged me $1600 for the repair. two days later, my truck is doing the exact same thing that I took it in to be fixed for.
A friend of mine told me that his truck had done the same thing, and it turned out to be a bad fuel sending unit. So the gauge was showing about a 1/4 tank, when it was actually empty.
To test this theory, I put about 7 gallons of fuel in the truck, and low and behold it fired right up. Since I told the diesel manager the gauge was showing nearly a 1/4 tank, he should have thought to check the gauge and/or the sending unit. But he did not.
When I called him back and told him this, he said he had no way of knowing it was the sending unit. But if I bring it in he would not charge me diagnostics to check it out. I already paid $1600 and I am convinced that the fuel pump was not bad to begin with. But, since they never offered to give me the old pump, I cannot test it to confirm. I told him that I did not feel it was right that I should have to pay to disassemble and reassemble to the truck during the diagnostics either, and his response was that they never had to disassemble the truck for the fuel pump, but they would have to, for the sending unit, and there is just no way I was getting out of paying that cost.

Desired Settlement
Since I cannot prove the fuel pump was still good, and they can't put the old one back in the truck, I think that at the very least, they should refund all service related fees. I would like a refund on the part, but doubt seriously they will do that.

Business Response
Mr. *****'s truck was out of fuel when we got it. The first thing we did was to put 10 gallons of fuel in the truck. The fuel pump had no pressure. We called Mr. ***** and the work was approved. I believe we fixed his truck correctly.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If they had fixed the truck correctly, the truck would not have experienced the exact same issue 2 days later. They replaced the fuel pump on Wednesday, and on Friday, while still showing that I had nearly a quarter of a tank of fuel, the truck would not start. I added 5 or 6 gallons of fuel, and it started right up. This clearly indicates the sending unit or the gauge was faulty, and even though I had explained to the diesel manager, that exact situation, they never even looked at the sending unit or the fuel gauge, and just charged me to replace a part that I do not believe was bad. As a Ford dealer, they should know what to look for, based on ALL of the info provided to them, so that they can make the correct judgement as to what needs to be repaired. They clearly DID NOT DO THIS. If they had, they would have found the faulty sending unit and/or the faulty gauge.

Final Business Response
Unfortunately as we stated the truck was out of fuel and we put 10gallons in and the fuel pump was not working so it was replaced . Has the sending unit or gauge been replaced ?

10/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
POOR SERVICE DEPARTMENT.
ON 10/11/2015, I BROUGHT IN MY 2015 FORD FUSION WHICH WAS LEASED THROUGH THIS DEALERSHIP FOR THE WORKS PACKAGE. THE OIL LIGHT HAD TURNED ON IN MY CAR A WEEK EARLIER THOUGH THE OIL WAS RECENTLY CHANGED IN JUNE MOST LIKELY DUE TO THEM NOT RESETTING THE COMPUTER, BUT I DECIDED TO HAVE MY OIL CHANGED EARLY DUE TO THIS FACT AND WAS WILLING TO GIVE THIS SERVICE DEPARTMENT ANOTHER CHANCE. WHEN I ARRIVED THEY DID NOT HAVE MY PAPERWORK READY, SOMETHING THAT WAS ACTUALLY NO FAULT BUT MY OWN AS I HAD SCHEDULED THE APPOINTMENT FOR NEXT WEEK BUT THEY WERE ABLE TO TAKE ME IN ANYWAY. AT THAT TIME THE TECHNICIAN WHO WAS ABLE TO ASSIST WAS A BIT RUDE AND EVEN STATED THAT THE WORKS PACKAGE WAS $49.95. I HAD CORRECTED HIM AND EVEN SHOWED HIM MY PAPERWORK FOR THE APPOINTMENT AND THE $10 CREDIT FROM MY REWARD ADVANTAGE PROGRAM. I EVEN INFORMED HIM OF THE OIL LIGHT INDICATOR AND ASKED THAT HE BE SURE THAT THEY RESET THE COMPUTER. SOMETHING THAT HE RIGHT AWAY BECAME VERY DEFENSIVE OF. WHEN I FINALLY RECEIVED THE PHONE CALL THAT MY CAR WAS READY I DROVE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TO PICK UP MY VEHICLE. WHEN THE CASHIER INFORMED ME OF THE PRICE OF $54.66 I ASKED WHY IT WAS SO MUCH. APPARENTLY, THE TECHNICIAN LEFT THE PRICE AS $49.95 FOR THE WORKS PACKAGE AND CHARGED AN ADDITIONAL 4.95 FOR AN ADDITIONAL QUART OF OIL, SOMETHING THEY DID NOT INCLUDE IN THE FIRST OIL CHANGE. HE DID CREDIT THE $10.00. ALREADY UPSET WITH THE RUDENESS I HAD RECEIVED FROM THE TECHNICIAN EARLY I PAID THE ADDITIONAL AMOUNT, WHICH I HAVE DOCUMENTATION THAT SUPPORTED THE $39.93, JUST TO LEAVE THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. AS SOON AS I GOT IN MY CAR, WHICH I USE FOR MY BUSINESS, THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT HAD TURNED ON THE "MYKEY" FEATURE ON THE CAR WHICH ONLY ALLOWED ME TO DRIVE UP TO 65 MPH. I DRIVE ON THE HIGHWAY ON A DAILY BASIS. THE ONLY WAY THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN ENABLED IS IF THEY ACTUALLY SAT IN MY CAR AND MESSED WITH THE DASHBOARD. THEY ALSO ADJUSTED THE VOLUME TO MY STEREO TO WHERE IT COULD NOT GO PAST 50% OF THE VOLUME. AS A RESULT I HAD TO DRIVE BACK HOME AND GET THE SPARE KEY TO DELETE THE SETTINGS THEY HAD PLACED ON MY CAR. A COMPLETELY UNNECESSARY AND IMMATURE ACT MY THIS SERVICE DEPARTMENT.

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE A REFUND FOR THE ADDITIONAL FEE I WAS CHARGED FOR THE WORKS PACKAGE AND ADDITIONAL QUART OF OIL AND SOM SORT OF ACTION TAKEN ON THOSE WHO HAD ADJUSTED AND LOCKED MY CAR FOR SPEED AND VOLUME.

Business Response
We post our price at 49.95 with up to 5 quarts of oil. *******'s car takes 6 quarts. We discounted our price 10.00 the day of the service. If ******* has a coupon we would be glad to honor it. I have called twice and would be glad to speak to her about our charges.

07/27/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to replace defective part under warranty
I've been continually lied to by the Service department. I brought my car in for a recall issue in November and they said they'd make sure I got another SUV for a rental car- they gave me a Focus hatchback. They called me 2 days after I dropped it off telling me the car was ready to be picked up. When I got there they told me it was a mistake and the part hadn't even been ordered. I picked the car up 2 weeks later and at that time requested they look at the faded black rubber trim around the windshield. The trim started to fade within a couple months of buying the car and was still well within warranty at this point. They said they would order the part and replace it under warranty. They never called. In January I called and they said it was never ordered and they would go ahead and order it. I never heard back so I called a month later and they said it was still on order and they'd call me as soon as it came in. Never heard back. I finally called back once again in April and was told the part came in and that they tried to call me but couldn't get ahold of me so they had to send the part back. I confirmed multiple times that they had my phone number but I never had any missed calls or voicemails from the service department. So again they said they would order the part, call me when it arrived and replace it under warranty. I called back a week later to confirm it was ordered and that they had my number. It's now July, I've never heard back from them.

Desired Settlement
I moved last month to the Fort Myers area so I'm no longer in Sanford. I would like to have the Ford dealership down here replace the part under warranty or just have the trim sent to my house so I can do it myself. This was a warranty issue from the beginning and I feel like Autonation Sanford has just been stringing me along with no intention of replacing their defective part.

Business Response
I have spoke with Mr. ***** Saturday and he will be taking his car to the local Ford store for repairs. We looked at his car back in November and never ordered any parts.Thanks for you time Mr. *****.

04/20/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/09/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Buying Co-Op

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/03/2010Business started: 03/13/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicle
(850) 617-2000

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service
(800) 435-7352

Seminole County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of VF 10018721 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicle.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of MV28869 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of 103217 for this company, issued by Seminole County Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2003, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Anderson II (General Manager)Mr. James R. Bender (General Partner)Mr. Pete Devita (Market President)Mr. Ronald Eberhardt (Vice President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Buying Co-Op

Products & Services

This is an AutoNation company which operates an automobile dealership for sales and service of new and preowned vehicles.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair Shops

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AutoNation Ford Sanford

4911 Wayside Dr

Sanford, FL 32771-8612

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4911 Wayside Dr 

    Sanford, FL 32771-8612(407) 328-6196
    (407) 680-0781

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AutoNation Ford Sanford is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (407) 328-6196
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Auto Repair Shops
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.