BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/08/2010

AutoNation Ford Sanford

Phone: (407) 680-0781Fax: (407) 328-6096

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
01/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
To whom it my concern:

My daughter **** ****** went into Auto Nation at 4911 Wayside Drive on the first part of November to purchase a vehicle. When she went into the dealership she was approached by a salesmen by the name of ****** *******. November passed and we went into the month of December, no finance decision yet. On December 5th my daughter***** was called in to sign the papers for finance with ***** ******* ***** had **** to sign the paper, not knowing **** needed a co-signer so, I was call to come and sign as the co-signer for ***** On Dec 6th I went to the dealership to sign the paper work with ***** ***** ****** asked me for a down payment of One Thousand, so I gave her a check, but we was in agreement that she could not deposit the check and I was going to bring her cash before the 26th of December. On December 19th the Manger by the name of ***** ******* called my phone and told me to tell **** to bring back his "f"(Expletive Language)Car Now," and the deal was off. So **** and I went into the dealership to return the car. Upon entering the dealership we was stop by ***** ****** to let us know they didn't have ******* trade in car (2010 HHR Chevy) so we needed to kept the car until they was able to locate her car. On the 20th I called ***** to see if they had ******* car and was told no. On December 23rd we went to the dealership and **** car was there. I asked ***** to give me something stating the deal was off and that they was not going to put my check thru. ***** assured me the check wasn't going to be put thru my acct, but on 30th December they put the check thru and we don't have the vehicle and it cost me $30.00 service fee. I called and spoke with her again abut putting my check thru, she said she was going to check to see why they put it thru and call me back because I didn't have their car and it never should have happen, but she never called. Once again on the 7th of January they put the check thru again and the credit union paid it and charge me $30.00, it cost a total of $1060.00 for NSF fees and the amount of the check. On January 7th I called and spoke Mr. *** in the Finance Department about the check and he told me if I could fax over the prof they would return my money to me. I told him I would come after work to get the check for the total of $1060.00. Upon entering Auto Nations I was approached by Bill ******** he stated if I didn't get off his property he was going to call the police to remove me. I told him I was there to speak with Mr. *** because I spoke with him and he was waiting on me to give me a check.

Business Response
Mrs.****** **** recieve a full refund when her check clears our bank. Thank you **** ******** GM

12/22/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vin# WDDHF5GB7BAXXXXXX Advertised as Mercedes CPO
On the AutoNation site Vin# WDDHF5GB7BAXXXXXX was a Mercedes E350 advertised with the Mercedes CPO logo as a Mercedes certified pre owned vehicle. When I called the dealership they said it was certified, when I followed up with questions regarding the financing specials that are available for Mercedes CPO cars the back peddling began. First I was told it did not say that it was Mercedes CPO, once I walked him through the web site he found it and acted surprised that it was there and expained it had to be an error because a Ford Dealership could not certify a Mercedes. I then asked why they would even have the logo to use on the listing. I felt they were being completely dishonest.

Desired Settlement
I think they should send the car to one of the AutoNation Mercedes dealership and certify the car and I would purchase the vehicle.

Business Response
We only Autonation certified this car . What website is he seeing this? I looked on our website and do not see this.Ford is the only brand that we can be factory certify!
thanks **** ********

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service dept. tried to sell me rear brakes. When I did not need them. Was told I would never make it back to NH. Brakes were insp. at home and were ok
Back in March I needed to make a appointment with dealership due to a front left brake problem. I own a 2011 Ford F-350 with approx. XXXXX miles. I got a ride back to rv park and waited for a phone call to let me know what was wrong with brakes. I was told I needed both front and rear brake job. Since truck only had less than XXXXX miles I declined rear brake service. I was also told by service rep that I would never make it back to N.H. When I got back home I took my truck in for its annual state inspection. ***** to find out my rear brakes were fine. My complaint is I feel service dept. tried to sell me a **** of material I did not need.

Desired Settlement
I need to hear from the service manager why service adviser is still employed. I have made numerous calls to dealership service manager with no call backs.

Business Response
We **** contact Mr.*********** .

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was treated very poorly by the appraiser at autonation ford in Sanford FL on 04/10/2014. The man was extremely rude and hostile
I was treated very poorly by the appraiser at autonation ford in Sanford FL on 04/10/2014. I was simply trying to figure out if it was possible to trade my car in for a used vehicle (I was well aware of my negative equity and the accident history of the car) and I was up front and honest about the vehicle's details and history. After test driving two vehicles, the sales representative ****** ******* proceeded with the credit application process. Before I could even finish the application, the other man who appraised my car approached my table to tell me that they cannot accept my car. However instead of politely telling me that they cannot accept the car, he came off as very hostile and rude, he would not let me ask any questions and was actively trying to kick me out of the dealership. I was treated like a mangy dog by this individual and proceeded to be very rude with my girlfriend when she asked a question. I recall my girlfriend asking if it was possible just to put down a large down payment and he responded with "yeah, like $15,000 dollars...do you have that kind of money? didn't think so." This man's behavior infuriated me and caused me to storm out of the dealership with my girlfriend in tears. I have been a loyal customer of autonation ford for six years, purchased 3 vehicles from them and have had all of my vehicles routinely serviced at the dealership. After this experience, I **** never give them another dime of my money and I **** service my vehicles elsewhere. To be honest, I **** probably never buy another Ford again after this experience. These individuals are as far from professional and courteous as one could possibly get.

Desired Settlement
I want this man fired. He should not be able to get away with treating loyal customers like dirt.

Business Response
We strive to make every customer happy. Sometimes we can\'t make the deals. This car is in rough condition . I\'m always open to meet and talk with our custmers to try to resolve any problems.Thanks
**** ********

11/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealership failed to honor 3 day money back guarantee! Returned cash deposit, have to date, failed to return loan balance to bank.
On 10/06/2013 I purchased a used vehicle, 2004 Ford F350, from AutoNation Ford of Sanford, 4911 Wayside Drive, Sanford, Florida. At time of purchase I was told they have a 3 day money back guarantee. I explained to the sales manager that I would have the truck looked at by an independent mechanic, to which he stated "I would expect you to".

On 10/08/2013 I took the vehicle to ******** ****, **** ** *** **** Kissimmee, Florida, for a detailed inspection and diagnostic exam of the engine. This inspection revealed the engine was in need of some major repairs totaling $3600. Before leaving ********, I contacted AutoNation and explained the issue. They asked me to bring the truck to let their diesel techs to look at it.

On 10/09/2013 I returned to AutoNation Ford of Sanford. After 2 hours, they tried to explain off the needed repairs, placing blame on their "competition"(********) but never denied the repairs were needed and downplayed the extent of repair needed. This is when I terminated the deal.

That day (9th) I was refunded my cash deposit(bank card), and my trade was returned to me in the same condition. The new truck and keys were turned back over to AutoNation. I was told to contact my credit union and they would cancel the loan draft($16552.57).

That evening I contacted my credit union(Navy Federal). I was told they can't cancel a loan draft like that and that was the dealer responsibility.

From that point and tothis date, I have been ignored, lied to, and misguided by this dealership in getting the money returned to Navy Federal. I have been told by Navy Federal that I am still obligated to them, but they are doing what they can to help. They have been very helpful.

I was told by one of the managers(autonation) that they had attempted to cancel the loan draft, but found out through my credit union, they had in fact called, but it was to ensure the check had cleared.

They claim this is a process to return the money, but have made zero effort to contact me or return the funds to my bank. Only when I threatened to contact local news station to exploit this issue, would they return telephone calls. This is not a process, this is a borderlne criminal and I am considering legal action.

10 days since the deal was terminated and still no contact from the dealership.

Desired Settlement
I want the funds returned to the bank immediately.

Business Response
The customer has already received this money back
and the Credit union has received they money . The truck was returned without any problems.Just needed the bank check to clear.

Page 1 of 2
02/09/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They sold me a car with a bad transmission
My pay was cash 6650.00, 2004 honda/accord, salesman ***** When I purchased this car on 11/28/14, I had to bring it back the next day, they put a new battery in it, a new starter, and they owed me 2 tires. The car was stopping and starting when it got ready to, since 1/16/15 I've had this car towed 3 times, and while I know they can sell a car as is but not needing a transmission, and that is my problem which was in the carfax they gave me. I let them know that the car stopped on me in less than 2 months, so on Friday they told me it is an as is car, but the transmission is not suppose to be bad. The cost to replace the transmission is 1600 .XX - XXXX.00

Desired Settlement
I want them to pay for the transmission because they had no business selling me a car with a bad transmission and not disclosing it in the carfax

Business Response
Mrs,****** purchased an as-is car. At the time of sale we offer an extended service contract. I would be glad to offer a deep discount on the repair or a possible trade.Thanks **** ********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have already had the repairs done, I was afraid to let them do anything else to this car, since they deceived me the first time, as far as a trade, they probably want more money. I **** accept 1605.00 what I paid to have a rebuilt transmission done on this vehicle. I wasn't expecting to spend what I paid for the car plus 1605.00. Still I have not received the 69.00 for my first tow which Mr Ledford told me I would receive in the mail. As I've stated before, while they can sell a car as is, they can't sell a car with a no good transmission. They knew the transmission was bad and did the other stuff as a bandaid

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will accept a discount on my repair job of 1605.00, I don't understand MAYBE a trade. I still haven't received my 69.00 check for my tow which Ledford and ******** are aware of

Final Business Response
We will not pay for repairs done outside of our store.**** ********

07/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Selling a used car with a know major defect that could have killed a single mother and child.
I bought a used Jeep Liberty with a ongoing defect in the ball joints. They say that they do a Rigorous 50 point safety inspection on all vehicle's. If they knew about the problem they should have had it fixed and not sold it to a single mother with a small child. The ball joints where so bad that if I hit a pot hole I would have lost my tires and in result would have more then likely killed me and my small child or someone elst. They either lied about doing the inspection or just plain over looked it.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for the amount of the vehicle which was around $6995.00 because if I did not get the ball joints fixed and would have hit a pot hole and lost my tires, more then likely would have lost control of the vehicle in return would have seriousley injured my small child and myself if not killed us.

Business' Initial Response
**** ******** bought a 2006 Jeep with 111,826 mile AS_IS on 2/6/2013. She was offered a extended service contract and declined. Her and her father came to the dealership on 7/4/ 2013 .Her father got vary upset and agessive with the sales manager and was ask to leave so that we wouldn't have to call the police. **** ******** came back to have her Jeep towed out and I ask her to let me look at the problem and she decline and had the Jeep towed out.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Apparently the GM did not read the complaint. They sold me a vehicle yes As Is. But in there paper work they also say that they do a "riorous 50 point SAFETY inspection" hint the word "safety" is in all caps becasue they sold me a car with bad ball joints which had a manufacturers SAFETY recall which they knew about. Which could have broke at any time in return majorly hurting myself my small child and anyone else. Ball joints do not just break over night they have to be warn down. So in there paper work they either lied about doing the inspection or they just over looked it just to get a pay check. If they overlook something like that it makes me question what else they "overlook" just to sell a car. The GM had a verbal aggrement with me to fix my transmission if I was to take down all the bad publicity, I called a couple days before my Jeep was ready and the GM **** said he nologer can pay for the transmission which he broke a verbal contract between us. Like I said before they don't care about the customer only there paycheck. If they can sell a car like this with out any regreats what else do you think they **** sell. I just don't want something bad to happen to anyone else. The reason my father got upset is because the manager would not help me in any way shape or form and made me cry infront of customers while he had a smile on his face because he knew I did not have the money to fix the Jeep so he though that he was going to get yet anouther paycheck out of selling a car.

Business' Final Response
As stated in the first responce we offered to help
and she declined. The car was sold as is.
Thanks **** A

07/08/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Two weeks after purchase of used truck, truck was rendered inoperable due to negligence of dealer. Two days after we buy car things start breaking.

Two days after we bought truck the power steering hose was loose and we tightened that. Then the third day my husband had to use the windshield wipers and they broke. So he replaced that without much complaint. The same week at the end the upper radiator hose split in two and exploded without the temperature gauge moving past normal. Because of that the head gasket blew and we had no truck. When we contacted the dealer and spoke with not only the sales manager but also the General Manager the only thing they we willing to do was repair it at a cost to us of 2600.00. They were not willing to pay any amount of that. Then because we were not willing to pay that amount either. They then offered to take the truck back but as a trade in which would have cost us more money or even payments which was what we didn't want in the first place and the reason we paid cash. So no other option was offered. We ended up having to pay a mechanic 1000.00 dollars and on top of that the clutch fan was broke even before the motor went bad. And the clutch fan is still not working correctly even after being replaced once. Now we have to buy yet another one. The worst part is they gave us a paper at closing saying that there were certain things inspected and some of those things were what broke. The spark plugs also were very old and dirty. The handle in the back for the bed was broke when we bought it but did not realize that neither until he went to use it for work.

Desired Settlement
The first and foremost thing is that people know the truth about this dealer, they are not honest or good people. I feel like if we had been making payments they would have done more to make us if not happy then at least satisfied. Secondly, if they could reimburse us for the repairs we have made and are still making that would be nice. Thank you

Business' Initial Response
We have offered Mr. ***** to trade his truck for a like 2000 Nissan with lower miles and cold air for a small differance . Mr. *****'s hose broke and he chose to drive the truck and damage the motor. He has roadside that would have towed it. As for the 2600 I offered to pay half if he had the work done here.Mr.***** bought on older truck that we sold as-is. Thank you **** ********

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First off we didn't want to pay anymore money when we couldn't trust them anymore. How do we know we wouldn't have traded one problem for another problem. And as I already explained the temp gauge never moved to let my husband know it was hot. His car never smoked or nothing the hose just blew. Additionally he never offered to pay half if they did the work there. I asked him if he'd be willing to pay half and he told me no because it wasn't worth it for him to pay half that he wanted us to trade and pay more. This company AutoNation is huge and their commercials online and television make them sound trustworthy and that they do inspections and it is not true. On top of that I am pretty sure they knew that there were problems with the truck more than they disclosed, because my husband just told me that they would not let him go out of the dealership. They told him he could take it for a ride in their little parking lot where the truck was parked. That should have been a clue to us but the supposed owner of the truck which happens to also be an employee told us the truck ran good and things had been replaced and the only problem was the a/c which we had fixed immediately after we bought it. It was a lie and fraud because the hose is not going to just explode it had to have been worn down.. This company is not trustworthy or honest at all and I am sorry I ever did business with them or gave them my money. If I wanted to get ripped off I would have gone to a buy here pay here and at least I would've known what I was getting.

Business' Final Response
The truck was sold AS_IS the customer drove the truck and did the damage.We offered to trade and help some he diclined .

03/12/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/23/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Buying Co-Op, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.