BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Florida

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

The Recovery Room

Find a Location

Phone: (407) 277-8778Fax: (407) 277-4078View Additional Phone Numbers3941 W State Rd 46, SanfordFL 32771 Send email to The Recovery Roomhttp://www.therecoveryroom.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

The Recovery Room is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered The Recovery Room's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on The Recovery Room

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
12/21/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When we picked up or car, the remote was gutted--digital keypad and battery gone. They denied wrongdoing--then offered to sell us one for discount!
On Thursday, October 4, 2012, we left our 2004 red Mazda RX8 at the Recovery Room shop in Altamonte Springs to fix a car door. When we dropped off our vehicle, it had a fullyintact remote. When we picked it up on October 9, 2012, the remote was gutted--no digital keypad or battery! They denied doing any wrongdoing, but did offer me a discount to buy a new one!

Desired Settlement
I would like them to replace the remote that they gutted.

Business' Initial Response
From: ***** ********* (mailto:*****@therecoveryroom.com)
Sent: Friday, October 26, 2012 1:22 PM
To: *****@bureaudata.com
Subject: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT34*****@therecoveryroom.com33*****@therecoveryroom.com35REDACT)

We responded to this complaint already. We have no reason to gut a Remote it serves no value to us. Customer just wants a new remote

***** *********

The Recovery Room Of Central Florida Inc
3941 W. SR 46
Sanford, Florida XXXXX
OFF: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX
*****@therecoveryroom.com

Consumer's Final Response
The Recovery Room promised us a used remote as settlement and we agreed to this, yet as of 12-7-12, we have not received this remote from them. When can we expect the promised remote? Is there any action they expect of us?

Business' Final Response
Did he call the shop. Did he advise what the agreement was. Did he expect it to just appear in the mail. Call the Shop and speak to Brad and they will order it and get it to him.

12/06/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Recovery Room used incorrect part on my vehicle resulting in my trucks head gasket to blow.
back in 2010 i was involved in a accident on i-4 where i hit a deer. My insurance company advised me to go to the recovery room. I took my vehicle there which they stated they replaced the front end and my radiator. after 9 months I noticed that the radiator was leaking coolant. I took my truck to the dealership which stated that the radiator was not replaced. I then went straight back to the recovery room and they called my insurance company which advised them to go ahead and replace the radiator with a OEM. After they replaced the radiator I noticed that the truck was overheating so I took it to a mechanic which advised me that they used the incorrect Fan located on the engine and also incorrect Fan Shroud. I contacted back the recovery room which advised me that they used the correct parts and they are not going to do anything further. After speaking with the mechanic he stated that the engine is overheating due to the fan shroud and the incorrect fan placed on the engine which made the head gasket blow on my truck which is a 2005 dodge dakota. Iam a 65 year old man I do not no about mechanical work I feel like they took advantage of me and the insurance company by using parts not even made for my truck. if they did this to me i know there are many other people they have done this too...

Desired Settlement
I want them to correct the issue but replaceing the parts that was incorrect and paying for the truck to be fixed due to them using the incorrect parts on the truck...

Business' Initial Response
I have verified that the Upper and Lower Shroud that was installed on the vehicle were in fact corect. We never replaced the Fan Blade according to the estimate and the supplement. and there is not an invoice for a Fan Blade.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have photos to verify that the above statement from the business is not correct. I have statement from the mechanic that i'am using states that the fan shroud was incorrect. The fan shroud that was placed in was smaller that the fan shroud than what was placed after i took my vehicle to recovery room.

Business' Final Response
i can only go by what invoices i have in the folder and in the payables folder of which match. I cant be responsible for parts i did not provide.

07/16/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was given false documentation stating our frame was not bent. Vehicle not driving right took it somewhere else and frame is bent.
Truck was in an accident not our fault. Per insurance we took vehicle to Recovery Room for repair. Upon picking up the vehicle the bed of the truck is not level. We complained and we were told that the truck's frame is not bent and there is nothing they can do. We asked for documentation that the frame was not bent. We were told that they did not have it there and they would send to us. **** ***** with Geico emailed me the documentation showing the frame was not bent. However upon my reviewing the documenation I noticed it was for a different year truck and did not have our vin number. Upon my suspicions of this document I took the vehicle to the dealership for their opinion. First thing is they said something was definately wrong with it and he wanted to check the frame. We paid for it to go on the frame machine and found it is indeed bent and the bed was so twisted that it would be very costly to fix and may still never be right. This truck is a work vehicle and has rack on it for pipe. The racks will no longer old pipe correctly as one side of the truck bed is higher than the other. I have contacted Mike Kuntz about this problem but still have not heard back. We now have a truck that is uselss to us and were lied to and given false documention.

Desired Settlement
We want vehicle to repaired properly and we want a refund for diminished value.

03/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repair unnecessarily delayed.
Screws in tires.. That weren't damaged upon drop off...
Vehicle still not properly repaired
Car accident 11/17/12 company had repair parts since 11/24 car just picked up 12/20/12... Screw in my tire that wasnt there when I dropped off truck to be fixed.. My lights are also not working properly...

Desired Settlement
2 New tires not plugged... NEW.. The tire that was originally punctured in car accident, and the tire that now has a large screw in it from the repair shop.... I want them replaced not plugged..
Headlights working properly
The fact that I didn't have my truck for a month and it cost me $100.00 at the car rental due to the delayed repair of my truck!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Auto Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 01/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

S Semoran MV 39257 Citrus Ave MV05337 Alt Springs MV05494 SOBT MV36967 Deland MV51896

Contact Information
Principal: Mr George W Torn (President)Mr Al Marshall (Winter Park)Mr Mark Matson (SOBT Orlando)Mr Chris Nickel (Deland)Mr Kevin Pachler (Altamonte Springs)
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Auto Air Conditioning

Products & Services

This company offers auto body collision repair.

Alternate Business Names
Zuluaga & Torn RMS Invetment Corportion
Industry Tips
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Recovery Room

3941 W State Rd 46

Sanford, FL 32771

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Recovery Room is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (407) 880-0580
  • (407) 447-9538
  • (352) 409-9000
  • (407) 682-1868
  • (386) 738-3757
  • (407) 671-4839
  • (407) 936-0047
  • (407) 857-8089
  • (407) 891-8088
  • (386) 738-0333
  • (407) 262-8181
  • (407) 936-0051
  • (352) 394-5440

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (407) 936-0061
  • (407) 857-0212
  • (407) 671-7943
  • (352) 394-8892
  • (407) 682-4849
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.