BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/17/2014

Morris & Hancock, P.A.

Phone: (407) 894-0853Fax: (407) 835-66132014 E Robinson St, OrlandoFL 32803-6045 Send email to Morris & Hancock, P.A.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/17/2014

BBB has determined that Morris & Hancock, P.A. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Morris & Hancock, P.A.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Morris & Hancock, P.A.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
01/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Morris & Hancock entered into a flat fee retainer agreement with me and then attemptedto get out of it after feeling it was too costly for them.
After entering into a legal contract in the form of a flat fee retainer agreements, Morris & Hancock attempted to continuously charge me additional fees that were services listed the the agreement that they were to provide. When I asked them to list for me the services not specifically listed in their agreement...they refused. They then got upset and started attempting to bill me for services which had previously been listed as "no charge" in previous invoices. When I have written to discuss these issues, they refuse to return calls. These people seem to not wish to honor legal contracts that they enter into. This firm is very unprofessional and has attempted to cheat me out of additional funds at every turn. When I explain to them that THEY set the rate for the representation, they simply say I should pay them more out of the goodness of my heart. They clearly do not know what a contract is.

Desired Settlement
I have repeatedly asked that they honor the contract they entered into and stop billing me for services the contracted to provide and are specifically listed in the agreement.

Business Response
******* ****** is a former client AND ATTORNEY (who does not practice as an attorney) who came to Morris & Hancock, after he filed a frivilous lawsuit against his mortgage company to try and "get a free home" with the advice from non lawyers. The non lawyers advised him (**** ****** - a current member of the Florida Bar) to stop paying his mortgage because he would get a free home, and sadly, he followed their (non lawyers) advice.

Shockingly, he ended up in foreclosure (even though he could afford to pay his mortgage, unlike the hundreds of thousands of Americans today who have lost their jobs due to the economy). When he retained Morris & Hancock, he used his "attorney" skills to manipulate the non lawyers to pay for his the initial services. **** ****** requested additional services, and when Morris & Hancock invoiced **** ****** to pay his invoice for said services (WHICH HE REQUESTED) he refused to pay his invoice, just like he refused to pay his mortgage.

Ironically, after all his complaints, when Morris & Hancock tried to withdraw from his case due to the obvious conflict of attorneys fees, he contested it by showing up at the hearing, and asked the judge to keep the Firm in the case, so that he could continue to receive free representation. When trial was approaching and the realization kicked in that he would inevitably loose his home, he simply stroked a huge check to pay off his mortgage, so the foreclosure would stop. After the case was completed, he was billed for the services and shockingly, contested them. Morris & Hancock requested several times to specifically identify which services he was contesting, he would idiotically and ignorantly respond with "nobody has answered me." Morris & Hancock performed over $17,000 worth of services for **** ******, however, only requested to pay for services, which were additional to the initial retainer (upon his request) which amounted to approximately $2500 (which was one months mortgage payment for him).

**** ****** has now filed this complaint with the BBB (and threatened bar complaints) in hopes that the Firm would back down and not bill him for the services performed.

The facts, track record, evidence and history of **** ******'s actions show that he is nothing but a cheap, greedy, extortionist, who is simply try to scam the mortgage system, from trying to get a "free home" and now trying to tarnish a reputable law firm's reputation, just so he can get free legal services. This complaint is frivilous slanderous, just like his lawsuit against the mortgage company was. At the end of the day, **** ****** will eventually end up paying triple legal services to Morris & Hancock, just like he ended up paying his mortgage company.

As a licensed attorney, **** ****** is obviously embarrassed that he took legal advice from now lawyers (as he should be) which ended up in a foreclosure action, and now is trying to prove to his wife and maintain whatever pride he has left, that he was not in the wrong. It is a shame there are people in this world like **** ******, and scary there are attorneys out there like him.


09/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** ******* has repeatedly failed to communicate or follow up with tasks, resulting in the loss of my home.
Morris & Hancock was hired to represent me in a foreclosure defense and mortgage modification. In Dec 2013, Morris & Hancock had advised me that the bank had asked us to present an offer to settle the case. On his advice, I submitted many documents to Morris & Hancock to submit an offer. Morris & Hancock confirmed receipt of these documents on Dec 31, 2013. Morris & Hancock had advised that this process would take at least 3 months, possibly more. 5 months later, I received notification from Morris & Hancock that I was to appear at a hearing for a summary motion of sale in 6 days. This was ** a Thursday afternoon, and Morris & Hancock could not meet with me until Monday evening, May 6, the day before the hearing. Although the motion they forwarded to me stated that it was served on Morris & Hancock on April 1, I was not notified until May 1. I met with Morris & Hancock, and discovered that they had never submitted my mortgage modification offer made in December, nor had they responded to the court regarding the summary motion. Morris & Hancock filed the response after 5:00 PM the night before the hearing. Although nobody from Morris & Hancock contacted me regarding this motion until May 1, I received an invoice from his office claiming that one of their attorneys had a 3 hour call with me on March 29 to discuss my case. Please note that this was before they had even been served with the motion. This call never took place. After this hearing, Morris & Hancock suggested I submit a modification offer. I submitted all requested documents to Morris & Hancock for submission to the other attorney. Since then, Morris & Hancock has failed to advise me of requests for more information in a timely manner, and had failed to submit information I provided to the other attorney. This has resulted in a denial of my mortgage modification request on the part of the bank. Since this time, Morris & Hancock has not responded to any e-mails I have sent or phone calls to his office. Due to Morris & Hancock failure to provide the services for which he is billing me, I will now lose my home.

Desired Settlement
1. I would like Morris & Hancock to contact me.
2. I would like Morris & Hancock to take immediate action to rectify the situation caused by the failures of his office, delay the sale of my home, and work with the bank and their attorneys to reach a mortgage modification agreement.
3. I would like Morris & Hancock to waive billing for time associated with correcting the situation caused by his failure to communicate and perform.
4. I would like Morris & Hancock to investigate where the breakdown was in his office and advise me of the outcome.
5. I would like Morris & Hancock to advise me of what steps he has taken to rectify the breakdown in his office and insure this will not happen again.

Business Response
The customer alleges that there has been a denial of his mortgage modification due to the firm, however, the customer has actually been approved for a loan modification.

Further, the customer has not lost his home and is not going to lose his home, as customer states.

The firm does not know where customer is receiving the information from, and can only assume customer's complaint is based on assumptions and misunderstandings about how loam modifications work. The firm has attempted to explain the process to the customer, but unfortunately, the customer does not understand and insists that the firm is the reason why he is facing foreclosure, when in fact, the firm assisted customer in receiving a mortgage modification offer.

The firm has contacted the customer to discuss this matter and customer's concerns in hopes to clarify and come to an amicable resolution, as well as to complete all of customer's desired resolution (1) - (5).


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The responding attorney has misstated facts, and provided false information. He has also failed to address most of the items within the complaint filed.

Misstated facts:
1. The client did in fact receive a denial letter from the lender or servicer of the loan, on August 25, 2014.
2. The denial letter was forwarded immediately upon receipt to 2 attorneys, including the responding attorney, and a paralegal within the firm.
3. This forward of the denial letter was followed up with several more e-mails and phone calls requesting a reply until August 29. The responding attorney was copied on each of these e-mails.
4. The firm did not take any steps to respond to or even acknowledge receipt of the denial letter until after this complaint was filed.
5. The responding attorney, as copied on these e-mails, is fully aware of where my information regarding a denial is coming from. To claim otherwise is a false statement on his part. I will be happy to provide copies of each of these e-mails.
6. At no time before filing this complaint did the firm contact me to explain the denial letter, or how we could proceed.
7. The denial letter, dated August 19, clearly states the reason for denial was requested information was not provided. I had provided this information on August 13, but it was not forwarded to the opposing attorney or bank until August 23, after the modification was denied. Therefore, I believe I am correct to state that the reason for denial is due to a failure on the part of the firm to forward the information I provided to the opposing attorney in a timely manner.
8. The responding attorney claims that I filed false information in this complaint, as a modification offer was indeed received. This modification offer was not received until September 15, the day before the attorney filed his response. Responding attorney is fully aware of the date this offer was received. If he was in possession of an offer prior to the date of this complaint, or any other information indicating there was a modification offer pending, the firm has again failed to inform the client.
9. On the advice of the attorney handling this case, this modification offer has not yet been accepted, as it could potentially increase my mortgage principal by $100,000. We are still in negotiation with the lender.
10. The responding attorney claims that the client is not going to lose his home, however, as of the date the responding attorney replied to this complaint (September 16), the firm has not filed a motion to delay the sale, which is still scheduled to take place on October 9.

Items in the original complaint that the responding attorney failed to address include:
1. Client provided all requested information to apply for a mortgage modification in December 2013, but the firm failed to submit this request for modification.
2. The firm received a motion for Summary Judgment on April 4, for a hearing date of May 7, but failed to notify the client of this motion until May 1.
3. The firm failed to file a reply to this motion for Summary Judgment until the night before the hearing, not within the times required by the courts.
4. The firm has a history of failing to respond to or forward information to the client in a timely manner.
5. The firm has a history of failing to provide information to the courts or the opposing attorney in a timely manner.

Since hiring this firm to represent me, I have never met with the responding attorney. The responding attorney has made incorrect assumptions regarding the client's knowledge of the case and process, has misstated facts in the case, and has made false statements regarding the client.

Since filing this complaint, I have met with another attorney in the firm. This is the attorney who has been working ** my file since May 2014. This attorney and I have been working together to resolve the issues noted in my complaint. This attorney is also working to reach an agreement for modification with the lender. While I believe I will be able to resolve the issues within this complaint with the attorney I am currently in contact with, I felt it was important to address the incorrect and false information provided by the responding attorney.


Final Consumer Response
Please be advised that I have been in discussions with Morris and Hancock, and we have come to an agreement of resolution regarding my complaint. Although the case is ongoing, Morris and Hancock is fully committed working with me for a successful resolution to my case. Therefore, this complaint can now be considered resolved and closed.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Attorneys & Lawyers, Foreclosure Services, Loan Modification, Attorneys & Lawyers - Civil, Attorneys & Lawyers - DUI, Attorneys & Lawyers - Collaborative Divorce, Attorneys & Lawyers - Estate Planning, Attorneys & Lawyers - Divorce, Attorneys & Lawyers - Criminal, Attorneys & Lawyers - Real Estate, Attorneys & Lawyers - Family, Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy, Attorneys & Lawyers - Adoption

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/12/2011Business started: 12/16/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Bar Association
651 E Jefferson St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6584
(407) 425-5424
http://www.floridabar.org

BBB records show a license number of 81493 for this company, issued by Florida Bar Association. Their web address is http://www.floridabar.org. Florida Bar Member.

Type: Florida Bar Member

BBB records show a license number of 85033 for this company, issued by Florida Bar Association. Their web address is http://www.floridabar.org. Florida Bar Member.

Type: Florida Bar Member

BBB records show a license number of 105138 for this company, issued by Florida Bar Association. Their web address is http://www.floridabar.org. Florida Bar Member.

Type: Florida Bar Member

BBB records show a license number of 431206 for this company, issued by Florida Bar Association. Their web address is http://www.floridabar.org. Florida Bar Member.

Type: Florida Bar Member

Type of Entity

Professional Association

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher P. Hancock Esq. (President)Mr. O. Kim Byrd Esq.Mr. Jordon V. Fosky Esq.Mr. Michael E. Morris Esq. (Vice President)
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers, Foreclosure Services, Loan Modification, Attorneys & Lawyers - Civil, Attorneys & Lawyers - DUI, Attorneys & Lawyers - Collaborative Divorce, Attorneys & Lawyers - Estate Planning, Attorneys & Lawyers - Divorce, Attorneys & Lawyers - Criminal, Attorneys & Lawyers - Real Estate, Attorneys & Lawyers - Family, Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy, Attorneys & Lawyers - Adoption

Products & Services

This law firm provides legal counsel for Bankruptcy (Chapters 7, 23, 11), Civil Litigation, Foreclosure Defense, Family Law, Divorce, Adoptions, Second Parent Adoptions, and LGBT Matters.

Methods of Payment

Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

Service Area

Located in Downtown Orlando, serving Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Brevard, Lake, and Volusia, counties.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Rescue

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Morris & Hancock, P.A.

2014 E Robinson St

Orlando, FL 32803-6045

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2014 E Robinson St 

    Orlando, FL 32803-6045

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Morris & Hancock, P.A. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Attorneys & Lawyers

Foreclosure Rescue
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.