BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/12/2011

Community Management Specialists, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (407) 359-7202Fax: (407) 971-14901942 W County Road 419 Ste 1030, ChuluotaFL 32766-9017 Send email to Community Management Specialists, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/12/2011

BBB has determined that Community Management Specialists, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Community Management Specialists, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Community Management Specialists, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

CMS representative was rude to my wife today saying that they had not received our payment although our bank shows the check cleared 5 days ago!
My wife called CMS to find out how much the transfer fee would be which the person refused to answer as to the amount and then told my wife that we had not payed our quarterly fee. We have lived in the community for 9.5 years and have found that this company is normally rude dealing with customers.

Desired Settlement
An apology and the information requested

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********,Operations
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
CMS, Inc. has always been courteous and professional with every homeowner and client alike even when we must deliver difficult or bad news. We understand that sometimes homeowners do not receive the answers they are seeking but none the less we always give each client the appropriate and correct answer. Mrs. ******* recently received a denial from the HOA's Board of Directors for a request she made, and although we understand this may have made her upset, we merely are the deliverers of the decision. Henceforth, Mrs. ******* called our office with several questions and each question was answered amicably and respectfully with as much information as allotted for each topic. Mrs. Steward clearly asked if there were any transfer fees and the answer was "yes there is a transfer fee, and this and all other fee breakdowns could be found at", for which she asked the spelling of. Mrs. ******* never asked the amount of the transfer fee, also her realtor inquired as to the same thing, only requesting to know if there was a transfer fee, with no mention as to needing to know the amount of the fee (email received from agent on file). Furthermore, never was she offered any information as to the status of her HOA account until she personally requested it, this is when she was informed that the payment had not yet posted in our system from the HOA banking institution, (if we can't see it, we can't say it's there) sometimes it takes a few days the bank data to upload to our accounting system. Mrs. ******* called yet again regarding gate issues and was greeted amicably, personally by ***** ******** who took her concern and dispatched gate maintenance. Once gate maintenance was on site, they called Mrs. ******* from the gate call box, while online with CMS, and confirmed that nothing was wrong with the gate call box or Mrs. *******'s phone number at the gate. Mrs. ******* also claimed that CMS gave her wrong information as to the gate not calling long distance or cell phones. CMS advises everyone that calls that the HOA does not pay for the gate telephone line to call long-distance therefore the gate does not call long distance. CMS has also informed homeowners that the gate does not guarantee calling to cell phone only to landlines. This is standard, no gate system can guarantee calling a cell phone, and it is up to the cell phone provider whether it is tone or pulse or long distance based.
We certainly regret that Mr. and Mrs. ******* feel that they have been mistreated, but rest assured that has never been the case as CMS, Inc. prides itself in providing the most courteous and accurate customer service available in our industry. But under the same token, our firm only executes the sometimes harsh decisions of the Board of Directors which places our firm in a difficult position with homeowner when the decision of the Board do not accommodate their individual need at the time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The gentleman that repaired the call box send it was not working and would not call anyone at the time and had been broken. The call box has been repaired and it does call her cell phone now. Concerning the price of the transfer fee both my wife and the realtor asked the question as to the price and were told to go to website that only gives the price of buying 3 different forms and non are identified as a transfer fee so at this time we still don't know the transfer fee and want to know. Additionally I am sure that Ms. ******** doesn't feel that she could be rude since she is responding to the complaint. The initial complaint did not include anything about a request being denied which we are fine with and understand the boards decision. But since it was brought up the board may a decision on a Tuesday and forwarded it CMS who never notified us of the decision luckily the board president told us Friday evening on the communities Facebook page. The request was to have the gate opened for an open house on Saturday.

Final Business Response
the estoppel fee is $100.00
And again, there was never and inquiry as to the amount of the transfer fee. the only enquiry was if there was a transfer fee at all.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you after a month I have an answer I will never have an apology!

05/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Association Management, Property Management

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/16/2006Business started: 01/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395

Seminole County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CAB3106 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is

Type: Board of Real Estate

BBB records show a license number of 164507 for this company, issued by Seminole County Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity


Incorporated: September 2003, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin M. Davis (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Susan Cardenas (Operations Manager)
Business Category

Association Management, Property Management

Products & Services

This company offers (HOA) Home Owner Association services to Residential Condominium and Commercial Associations.

Hours of Operation

Monday - Thursday: 9am - 5pm
Friday: 9am - 1pm
Saturday & Sunday: Closed

Lunch 12:30 - 1:30pm (office may be closed periodically during this time)

Service Area

Orange, Seminole, Osceola, Polk, Lake, Volusia and Brevard county.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Community Management Specialists, Inc.

1942 W County Road 419 Ste 1030

Chuluota, FL 32766-9017

To | From


3 Locations

  • 1942 W County Road 419 Ste 1030 

    Chuluota, FL 32766-9017

  • 1750 W Broadway St., Ste 222 

    Oviedo, FL 32765-9618

  • PO Box 620368 

    Oviedo, FL 32762-0368(888) 359-7202
    Fax: (407) 971-1490

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Community Management Specialists, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Association Management


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.