BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1990

White Aluminum Products, LLC

Phone: (800) 292-6606Fax: (352) 787-4157

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues5
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
White Aluminum constructed a sunroom that did not meet current building code, rendering it unusable in Florida in that it cannot be air conditioned.
White Aluminum was contracted to build a sunroom for us by using glass enclosures to transform a screened lanai into a sunroom. We intended to air condition this room as stated to White's rep during the estimate phase. White was to obtain the required building permits. White obtained a CAT 3 permit which does not allow the room to be air conditioned without extensive additional work. A CAT 4 permit was required. When we contacted White about the possibility of repermitting to CAT 4, they stated it was possible and would have a rep contact us about installing electrical outlets. After not hearing from White for approx. 2 weeks, we again called. When the rep called us, he said there was nothing they could do. The details are in the attached letter we sent to White regarding the permit and their taking no action to correct the situation. We have not heard back from White since we sent the letter. We are asking that they work with us to correct the situation. We currently have a sunroom that is all glass and cannot be air conditioned in Florida. The county code did change January 1, 2015, but this was before construction, and White as our agent had an obligation to notify us of the change and change to scope of work to meet current construction code. The Current permit that is attached has never had a final inspection. White is the holder of the permit and as such, they must be the one to close it out and re-permit at a CAT 4.

Desired Settlement
We want White Aluminum to re-permit the sunroom job to a CAT 4 to allow it to be air conditioned. There **** be an electrical upgrade that we would pay for, and there is a requirement to raise the slab the sunroom was build on to meet current code. We would also pay for the concrete work. We expect White to remove the current glass enclosure and birdcage to allow the concrete work to be done. After the concrete is work is completed, we expect White to reconstruct the glass enclosure and birdcage at their expense. Use of current materials would be acceptable as long as there is no evidence of cuts or other modifications that would make the sunroom appear to be construction with old materials and not a new addition.

Business Response
In response to the complaint filed by the customer, White Aluminum would like to clarify some of the references to the Florida Building Code. The room described does meet the code for a Category III sun room which is most common sun room package White Aluminum installs. The sales person for the project has 20 years experience in the product line and understands the requirements for the installation. The documents attached, ( Sun Room Affidavit, Permit Application, Notice of Commencement ) all reference the Category III. Two of these documents were signed by the customer. The General Manager of White Aluminum contacted the homeowner during the first week of February to discuss a solution. During this conversation the homeowner assured the Manager that he informed the sales person of his intent to air condition the space. The sales person was aware that an exemption to the energy code was allowing AC contractors to install "dehumidifiers" which homeowners were using to condition sun rooms. This exemption was removed on 1/1/15 not allowing the space to be air conditioned. White Aluminum was made aware of the change to the exemption at the beginning of January and advised sales staff about the change moving forward. The contracts that were in progress at that time were Category III, White Aluminum didn't have any designation on the customers contract regarding intent to install AC so no notifications were issued. The customer has contacted the building department to obtain the requirements to be allowed to air condition the space. White Aluminum has agreed to revise the Permit accordingly and coordinate an electric contractor, the homeowner will cover the additional costs. The air conditioning work will be performed under an additional permit. As of this response White Aluminum is in communication with the customer, working through the process and considers this complaint resolved.

Consumer Response
Notified today that the request for an updated permit has been dropped of at County Building Office. Based on the support received by White Alluminum over the last two weeks, we would like to withdraw the complaint. After a rocky start, White Aluminum has worked closed with us to resolve this issue.

10/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They put a porch om my house, the roof continually leaked. I informed them they came twice roof still leaked. Called many times calls never answered.
Porch was added in 10/17/2012 job was finally finished 1/24/214 At a cost 5,592 dollars. After numerous complaints they came back to attemp to repair it but never succeeded. The shoddy work done didn't even pass inspection the first time. Finally my phone calls were not even answered. Could not live any more so finally had a roofer come and repair it at a cost of 650 dollars. That was repaired on 8/29/2014. I wrote a letter to white telling them they should share cost of repair because it was there shoddy work that cost me that expense. That letter was written in August of this year, again no response.

Desired Settlement
I think they should reimburse me for the cost of the repair.


































Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@whitealuminum.com
White Aluminum installed a glass enclosure with a composite roof for Mr ***** in December of 2012. The roof system was adjoined to a shingle house roof connected at the fascia. White Aluminum's standard procedure is to apply sealant without disturbing shingles when the original roof is in like new condition.This protects the homeowner from the shingle roof warranty being voided by the roofing company. In most cases these installations perform correctly and no leakage occurs, in the event that leakage occurs White Aluminum will send technicians to seal the leaks. The attempts were not successful and White Aluminum should have hired Mr *****'s roofer to install flashing between the shingles and the composite roof. White Aluminum does agree with the request for responsibility and payment of the repair ****. A check for the requested amount of $650.00 **** be delivered to Mr ***** today 10/08/14. White Aluminum values Mr ***** as a customer and considers this complaint resolved.

Consumer Response
White Aluminum was gracious and said they were sorry for the misunderstanding. The delivered a check today for the amount of $650 for the total compensation my roof repair.

05/05/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On November 2013 the company white aluminum products perform the work of a fromt of the house at entry way screen in with aluminum framed with a 36x80 screen door and the roof in 12"pan roof at 13'x6' projection with gutter with two years warranty and with all the rain **** be getting one side of the wall of the house is leaking a lot I been calling the company for the pass *** week and leaving a message in a machine with no respond this is why Iam filing this complain the way it look to me is that they are ignoring my call

Desired Settlement

Business Response
This response is in reference to the 13'x 6' screened in porch with an aluminum pan roof on the front of the customers home. The customer contacted our company on XX-XX-XXXX in reference to some leaks that he was having inside the room. We responded on XX-XX-XXXX and addressed the issue in a timely manner. The customer contacted us again on XX-XX-XXXX about performing some work on the gutter on his porch. Although we did not respond as quickly as we would have liked, we resolved the problem on 3-26-2014. The customer contacted our company again on X-X-XXXX about leaking problems with his enclosure. The customer did try to contact us on a couple of occasions and we did not respond as quickly as we should have. We did set up an appointment with the customer on X-XX-XXXX and was shown exactly what the issues were. The leaking problems were addressed and we are confidant that the problems have been solved. If any other problems should arise with the customers enclosure within the two year warranty period, our company **** gladly resolve them. White Aluminum considers this complaint resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No communication between sales office in Ocala and production office in Leesburg. Sales Contract is not being honored.
On January 29,2014 we signed a contract with an "installation Specialist" in Ocala for garage screen doors. The Specialist measured the doors and was very specific that the doors would be installed in 4 1/2 - 5 weeks. It became an issue because we were planning to be away for the month of April and he told us, no problem, they would be installed by then.. He wrote the installation lead time on the contract and had me initial that fact. He told me that if I didn't hear before hand to call the Leesburg office in about 4 weeks and they would give me the installation date. On February 29, I called the Leesburg office. Not only did they not have an installation date - they had not even ordered the doors. When I told them that my contract states 4-5 weeks - they told me that the specialist should never have told me that and they still needed to send someone out to look over the job before they would order the doors. I told them I needed those doors put in as we were leaving in April. Finally, they had someone come out the first week of March to "re-measure". When I asked this second man whey they had to re-measure - his response was " they can't always trust the salesman's measurements!!". IF YOU CAN'T TRUST YOUR "INSTALLATION SPECIALIST TO MEASURE" perhaps they need to hire someone else. AND, WHY would it take 4 weeks to send someone else out to re-measure. Apparently, if I hadn't called them, I would still be waiting for the second man to come out. Anyway, the second man assured me that now that he had re-measured - the doors would be ordered and I would get a call no later than March 11 with an installation date. I re-iterated the fact that we needed them in before the end of March because we were planning to leave for an extended trip and wanted them in before we left. March 11 came and went - so I called them again on the 14th of March and asked to speak to "customer service". Apparently, they have no customer service dept. because the receptionist asked me which product needed service. When I explained to her that I had a complaint - she, very nicely, asked me what it was so that she would know to which manager to transfer my call . She did transfer me to a manager who wasn't in and I left a message asking why it took 4 weeks to send the second man out to re-measure( again, only after I called them) and why they had no problem taking my money and doing nothing for 4 weeks. I also said that if they could not put in the doors to give me back my money and I would find some other company who would..7 hours later a message was left on my answering machine. Mainly it said that she didn't understand why the "salesman" had told us 4-5 weeks, they appreciated our business, the doors had been ordered and were due in THE LAST WEEK OF MARCH and they would call and let us know

Desired Settlement
I just want the **** doors put in or my money back. If they are not put in by the end of March - they **** have to wait for my convenience to install them when I return from my trip

Business Response
White Aluminum Products does not dispute the timeline that Mrs. ******* outlined in her complaint. The sales contract was noted with a 4 1/2 to 5 week installation lead time which is shorter than our current lead time of 6 to 8 weeks. The Installation Specialist called the office, requested the average lead time on this product line and wrote the contact to reflect the customer's needs.In these situations when the contract enters the production system the abbreviated lead time is noted,and a field check is done asap,while remaining consistent with our first in first out policy.It has always been White Aluminum's procedure to remeasure prior to ordering and that is the process Mrs. ******* references in her complaint.White Aluminum offers our apology for the obvious communication breakdown and is taking steps to correct this issue.In response to the installation, the doors were delivered to White Aluminum on 3/28/14 and installed on 3/31/14. White Aluminum apologizes for the inconvenience to Mrs ******* and considers this complaint resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
the doors were installed by April 1 ( 8 weeks after the order was made - not 4-5) but they are in. I do think that if I had not made a fuss - they would not have been.

08/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service was requested to repair leak. Service was done on roof but leak was not fixed. Company now states that roof leak was not part of the re-seal.
Here is the letter that was sent to the company.
Dear Sirs;

I am writing you to say that your customers service is dead. If you pull my records you will see that I had a screen room installed by you several years ago. This past year I started to see leaks in the roof with the main leak between the house and the screen room. I called to get an estimate to have the roof re-sealed. After several attempts I finally got **** ***** to come out and give me an estimate. I pointed out the areas of concern and **** gave me an estimate of $625.45 to re-seal the roof. I made the down payment of $100 and **** said someone would be in touch to schedule the re-seal. After a week and a half I called and was told the scheduler had not received the paperwork to get the job scheduled. After several more calls I finally was told by Charlie that we were on the schedule. 2 weeks after signing the contract to have the re-seal done your guys came out to do the job. They were very courteous and worked for about a half of a day. I paid the balance of the amount due and the team left. That evening (4 or 5 hours after they left) it rained and the leak I told **** about was as bad, if not worst as ever. I called back and left a message that I still had a bad leak in the same spot I had called about. It took over a week to get the crew back out to check out the roof leak. The crew said they tested the roof and there were no leaks, (I was not home when they tested). They told me that I had a roof issue as the leak was coming from 3 to 4 shingles up on the roof and not from the screen room leak and that it would need some flashing on the roof to fix the problem. I called the Leesburg Office again and was told that since the flashing was not included in the original quote that they would have to get in touch with **** to have him come back out and quote the flashing. I was told he would call me as soon as he arrived back in the office that day. 2 days later I called **** on his cell phone and told him that the office said he would call me to set up an appointment for a re-quote. **** said he had not heard anything about it and would check with the office and get back to me. That has bee 4 days ago and still no one had called.
To say the least I am not a very happy camper. I have paid over $600 to fix a leak that I am now told was not part of the quoted job. I am also tired of calling and not getting a return call when they say they are going to call me back. I have not keep perfect records of my called to the Leesburg office but I am thinking I have made over 15 calls and have only been called back twice. This will be my last communication to your company. My next communication will be to the Better Business Bureau with this same information.

Desired Settlement
Either repair the roof leak as requested or give a "SUBSTANTIAL" discount on the service performed that did not address the issue.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****@whitealuminum.com
White Aluminum does not dispute the facts as Mr. ***** has presented them. The reseal work was performed as estimated in the original contract but the work did not correct the leak. The crew's water test after the repair demonstrated that the leak was in the shingles above. White Aluminum's estimator should have contacted Mr. ***** to offer a corrective action but did not do so in a timely manner. **** ******* General Manager contacted Mr. ***** and offered to refund money due to an improper assessment by the estimator. Mr ***** informed Mr ******* that a roofing company had estimated $350.00 to repair a low nail condition and a refund of that amount was acceptable to Mr. *****. On 7/23/13 a refund of $350.00 was processed on Mr *****' s account. White Aluminum apologizes for any inconvenience caused to the *****'s, It is our position that we have answered this complaint and reached a solution with our valued Customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 2
11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/25/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/22/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/22/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Aluminum, Screen Enclosures, Aluminum Products, Storm Windows & Doors, Shutters, Awnings & Canopies, Aluminum Fabricators, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Siding Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Carports

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.