BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Florida

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1990

White Aluminum Products, LLC

Phone: (888) 474-5884Fax: (352) 787-4157

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
04/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: No communication between sales office in Ocala and production office in Leesburg. Sales Contract is not being honored.
On January 29,2014 we signed a contract with an "installation Specialist" in Ocala for garage screen doors. The Specialist measured the doors and was very specific that the doors would be installed in 4 1/2 - 5 weeks. It became an issue because we were planning to be away for the month of April and he told us, no problem, they would be installed by then.. He wrote the installation lead time on the contract and had me initial that fact. He told me that if I didn't hear before hand to call the Leesburg office in about 4 weeks and they would give me the installation date. On February 29, I called the Leesburg office. Not only did they not have an installation date - they had not even ordered the doors. When I told them that my contract states 4-5 weeks - they told me that the specialist should never have told me that and they still needed to send someone out to look over the job before they would order the doors. I told them I needed those doors put in as we were leaving in April. Finally, they had someone come out the first week of March to "re-measure". When I asked this second man whey they had to re-measure - his response was " they can't always trust the salesman's measurements!!". IF YOU CAN'T TRUST YOUR "INSTALLATION SPECIALIST TO MEASURE" perhaps they need to hire someone else. AND, WHY would it take 4 weeks to send someone else out to re-measure. Apparently, if I hadn't called them, I would still be waiting for the second man to come out. Anyway, the second man assured me that now that he had re-measured - the doors would be ordered and I would get a call no later than March 11 with an installation date. I re-iterated the fact that we needed them in before the end of March because we were planning to leave for an extended trip and wanted them in before we left. March 11 came and went - so I called them again on the 14th of March and asked to speak to "customer service". Apparently, they have no customer service dept. because the receptionist asked me which product needed service. When I explained to her that I had a complaint - she, very nicely, asked me what it was so that she would know to which manager to transfer my call . She did transfer me to a manager who wasn't in and I left a message asking why it took 4 weeks to send the second man out to re-measure( again, only after I called them) and why they had no problem taking my money and doing nothing for 4 weeks. I also said that if they could not put in the doors to give me back my money and I would find some other company who would..7 hours later a message was left on my answering machine. Mainly it said that she didn't understand why the "salesman" had told us 4-5 weeks, they appreciated our business, the doors had been ordered and were due in THE LAST WEEK OF MARCH and they would call and let us know

Initial Business Response
White Aluminum Products does not dispute the timeline that Mrs. ******* outlined in her complaint. The sales contract was noted with a 4 1/2 to 5 week installation lead time which is shorter than our current lead time of 6 to 8 weeks. The Installation Specialist called the office, requested the average lead time on this product line and wrote the contact to reflect the customer's needs.In these situations when the contract enters the production system the abbreviated lead time is noted,and a field check is done asap,while remaining consistent with our first in first out policy.It has always been White Aluminum's procedure to remeasure prior to ordering and that is the process Mrs. ******* references in her complaint.White Aluminum offers our apology for the obvious communication breakdown and is taking steps to correct this issue.In response to the installation, the doors were delivered to White Aluminum on 3/28/14 and installed on 3/31/14. White Aluminum apologizes for the inconvenience to Mrs ******* and considers this complaint resolved.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
the doors were installed by April 1 ( 8 weeks after the order was made - not 4-5) but they are in. I do think that if I had not made a fuss - they would not have been.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract on 10/28/13 with White Aluminum to install sliding glass doors and glass side panels in order to enclose a porch to make a sunroom. The salesman told us that the work would be completed in 8 weeks. After 8 weeks had passed and we were into January 2014, my husband called White to inquire as to when the work would be done. He was told they were waiting on the factory to make the doors. White was called on a weekly basis after that to see when the work would be done. We were always given some excuse as to the delay. We had already paid the company a $2000.00 retainer for the work with the balance to be paid upon completion. The salesman never once called us to explain the delays. Workmen were send out on two different occasions to measure for the doors and panels. Finally we were told the work would be done on January 29. We did not hear from White and called to confirm. We were told at that time one of the doors had been shipped but one of the doors was defective and we would have to wait 2 more weeks for that door to be shipped. This was extremely upsetting after we had waited 3 months for this work to be completed. I called White and spoke with the Scheduling Manager at which time she had an attitude and continued to make excuses. I then called the salesman that wrote the contract. He said he was sorry and continued to make excuses about how busy he had been. I told him I wanted my money back and I wanted to cancel the contact.The salesman then asked if we wanted the one door installed and then the other door would be installed in two weeks. I told him I wanted the door installed. Workmen from White's came out (1/31/14) and started preparing to install the one door. They did not get finished and came back on 2/1/14. The workmen then discovered the door would not fit into the opening but they were going to try and make it fit. They left at that time and said they would be back on 2/3/14.
Product_Or_Service: sliding glass doors and glass panels

Initial Business Response
White Aluminum agrees that we entered into an agreement with ***** and ***** **** on 10/28/13.At the time of contract signing our installation lead time were at 8 weeks. The sales representative was correct in providing that schedule to Mr an Mrs. ****'s. On November 11th our first office contact was made leaving a message that the deposit was received and that Field Supervisors would contact the ****'s for additional measurements. A Field Supervisor logged out the project 11/20/13, with expected completion cycle of 7 days in this department. The Field Supervisor held the documents until the second week of December when the production department requested a status. The Field Supervisor then proceeded with the second measurements as required by process. The documentation was then placed in a drawing status to be prepared for the engineer, on 1/3/14 the drawing was submitted, this delay was not normal process.On 1/10/14 the stamped plans were provided to the permitting department and windows were ordered on 1/13/14. The window manufacture advised White Aluminum on 1/28/14 that there was a back order of one door due to a glass issue, the ****'s were advised of delay and requested that the work be started without all the doors. On 2/1/14 the work was started and on 2/5/14 the second door was received with installation was started on 2/6/14 and completed on 2/7/14.The project is completed including final inspection as of today 2/11/14. White Aluminum values All of it's customers and apologizes for any frustration that Mr. and Mrs. **** experienced. There will be corrective action taken within our communication program and staff adjustments made to provide faster service when these issues arise. White Aluminum will continue to communicate directly with Mr. and Mrs. **** through the close out of this contract.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Service was requested to repair leak. Service was done on roof but leak was not fixed. Company now states that roof leak was not part of the re-seal.
Here is the letter that was sent to the company.
Dear Sirs;

I am writing you to say that your customers service is dead. If you pull my records you will see that I had a screen room installed by you several years ago. This past year I started to see leaks in the roof with the main leak between the house and the screen room. I called to get an estimate to have the roof re-sealed. After several attempts I finally got **** ***** to come out and give me an estimate. I pointed out the areas of concern and **** gave me an estimate of $625.45 to re-seal the roof. I made the down payment of $100 and **** said someone would be in touch to schedule the re-seal. After a week and a half I called and was told the scheduler had not received the paperwork to get the job scheduled. After several more calls I finally was told by Charlie that we were on the schedule. 2 weeks after signing the contract to have the re-seal done your guys came out to do the job. They were very courteous and worked for about a half of a day. I paid the balance of the amount due and the team left. That evening (4 or 5 hours after they left) it rained and the leak I told **** about was as bad, if not worst as ever. I called back and left a message that I still had a bad leak in the same spot I had called about. It took over a week to get the crew back out to check out the roof leak. The crew said they tested the roof and there were no leaks, (I was not home when they tested). They told me that I had a roof issue as the leak was coming from 3 to 4 shingles up on the roof and not from the screen room leak and that it would need some flashing on the roof to fix the problem. I called the Leesburg Office again and was told that since the flashing was not included in the original quote that they would have to get in touch with **** to have him come back out and quote the flashing. I was told he would call me as soon as he arrived back in the office that day. 2 days later I called **** on his cell phone and told him that the office said he would call me to set up an appointment for a re-quote. **** said he had not heard anything about it and would check with the office and get back to me. That has bee 4 days ago and still no one had called.
To say the least I am not a very happy camper. I have paid over $600 to fix a leak that I am now told was not part of the quoted job. I am also tired of calling and not getting a return call when they say they are going to call me back. I have not keep perfect records of my called to the Leesburg office but I am thinking I have made over 15 calls and have only been called back twice. This will be my last communication to your company. My next communication will be to the Better Business Bureau with this same information.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****@whitealuminum.com
White Aluminum does not dispute the facts as Mr. ***** has presented them. The reseal work was performed as estimated in the original contract but the work did not correct the leak. The crew's water test after the repair demonstrated that the leak was in the shingles above. White Aluminum's estimator should have contacted Mr. ***** to offer a corrective action but did not do so in a timely manner. **** ******* General Manager contacted Mr. ***** and offered to refund money due to an improper assessment by the estimator. Mr ***** informed Mr ******* that a roofing company had estimated $350.00 to repair a low nail condition and a refund of that amount was acceptable to Mr. *****. On 7/23/13 a refund of $350.00 was processed on Mr *****' s account. White Aluminum apologizes for any inconvenience caused to the *****'s, It is our position that we have answered this complaint and reached a solution with our valued Customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: I entered into a contract with White Aluminum of Leesburg to build a 5 x 8 utility shed, they obtained the building permits. contract signed 02/27/13
On 02/27/13 contract was signed and I paid a $500.00 deposit, White was to obtain building permits for the concrete work and construction work to be done to build a 5x8 3 sided shed. Concrete work was done and inspected 4/15/13 crew showed up on 4/18/13 to start construction, worked part of day and started rough in work by installing front barring wall and removed the cutter on the house,and left for the day, 4/19/13 and 4/22/13 no crew showed up to work. I called and talked to the forman, he had no idea they had not been at project, he said he would send another crew out on 4/23/13, crew showed up and started to complete the rough in that day, they called for inspection of framing and sheeting, county inspection was done on 4/26/13, inspection failed (no termite shield and barring wall not anchored correctly. I called white to see when they would send a crew back to work on project, 4/30th and then called back and said 5/02 would be the earliest. I called white on may 9th to tell white that no crew had been out to finish the project, on may 13th I got a bill in the mail and white wanted payment if I was satisfied with job, I called and said that the project had not been worked on for 3 weeks and it was still in the rough in stage. Called white and they could not explain what happened to the project. They sent another crew to finish job, May 29th got a call that job was done and asked if I would check and send a check, I called my neighbor and he said the job had been worked on but the shirting was not done. called white and told them that the skirting was not done to enclose the under side of the house, they said that a crew would be out June 8th to finish, I got a call june 14th that the work was done, I had neighbor check work and it still was not done, no crew had been out to finish work. So three times I was notified that work on a 5x8 shed was done and that they would like the payment sent asap. Called white again and left message that job was not done on June 17th. Have not heard back as of the 18th of June, 3 months after the project was started.

Business' Initial Response
From: **** ******* (mailto:****@whitealuminum.com)
Sent: Wednesday, July 03, XXXX X:XX PM
To: ***********@centralflorida.bbb.org
Subject: ************** ******* *****

********

In regard to case ********* ******* *****

Mr. ***** signed a contract with White Aluminum on 2/27/13 as stated in his complaint. In accordance with our customer contact procedure, a first office contact was made on 3/7/13 to inform him of the job procedure and tentative timeline.

On 3/10/13 a field supervisor went to Mr. *****'s home to verify the estimators measurements and prepare to create engineered drawings. The drawings were finished on 3/18/13 and they were reviewed and approved by the engineer on 3/19/13.

The building permit was issued on 3/21/13 and the material for the job was ordered on 4/9/13.

The concrete slab inspection was completed on 4/15/13 and wall framing inspection was requested on 4/25/13, the inspection was rejected and at this point the production manager at White Aluminum failed to reschedule the rework in a timely manner.

On 5/1/13 White Aluminum executed production planning management changes and a new manager was assigned to the project. Corrective action was taken and re inspection of the framing was performed on 5/20/13. After this approval siding was installed and a Final inspection was performed by Lake County and approved on 5/23/13.

The billing department verified that inspection and called Mr ***** and inquired about final payment on 5/29. As Mr. ***** stated in his complaint the neighbor had verified that a small area of skirting had not been completed and crew was dispatched to make the corrections. The material required for the skirting was not on site, and had to be reordered which added 2 weeks to the corrective action process. In the interim the billing department made an additional call about final payment based on a completion reporting error.

At no time did White Aluminum intend for Mr ***** to pay for incomplete work, on 6/25/13 the skirting was completed. White Aluminum has communicated with Mr ***** and believe that he is satisfied with the result.

White Aluminum and the management team take responsibility for this delay and apologize for any inconvenience caused to Mr. *****. We believe that at this point we have satisfied this valued customer's complaint.


Best Regards,

**** *******
General Manager
White Aluminum Products
Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ****
Email: ****@whitealuminum.com

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/22/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Aluminum, Screen Enclosures, Aluminum Products, Storm Windows & Doors, Shutters, Awnings & Canopies, Aluminum Fabricators, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Siding Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Carports

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.