BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/22/2009

Air Handlers Inc.

Phone: (407) 320-1855Fax: (407) 320-1865View Additional Phone Numbers119 Commerce way STE C, SanfordFL 32771 Send email to Air Handlers Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/22/2009

BBB has determined that Air Handlers Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Air Handlers Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
11/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service estimate or agreement

Complaint: Breach of contract, breach of warranty,fraud,deceptive and unfair trade practices,intentional infliction of emotional distress,negligent infliction
****,
Your company, Air Handlers, was selected by my family to install a brand new Goodman AC unit, which was done 5/23/2013. During our estimate, your employee Shawn, who seemed to have done a very detailed inspection, suggested a 4 ton unit be installed. We were told it should put icecicles on our windows, and after all the measurements were complete, we hired you all to install our new 4 ton unit, done on 5/23/2013. A week later, when the home never cooled down to the set temperature and continuously ran, you and your men were out here trying to resolve the issue. You, personally, and your crew have been to our residence at least 6 plus different times. You all have come out to inspect, rewire, measure and test this unit due to the unit not cooling the home properly. We quickly realized that the 13 year old, 3.5 ton unit which you all were hired to replace, worked as good as the new unit your company installed. You have replaced the coil in the unit with a brand NEW one, still the same outcome. You have replaced two, that I can count thermostats, along with the leaking valve on the indoor unit as well. I have made numerous calls to your company, which I have documented, per week to find out what our resolution to our problem was going to be, only to have been met with pure disregard. I have gone days and weeks with zero response from you. I am always the one reaching out to you, the owner, with no response. When you finally did make contact, after my family endured multiple birthday parties, baptisms, and bridal showers in a brutally hot house over the summer, your only response was to turn everything over to the manufacturer, Goodman. They, as you said, were to get back with you. Weeks went by and yet, when they did finally come out to our home to inspect our unit, it was interesting to learn they both live locally in the Orlando area. But that wasn't the most shocking and upsetting part of their inspection. They informed us that the 3.5 unit installed was not large enough to support the square footage of our home and that we needed a 4 ton unit. This brings a new challenge as we PURCHASED a 4 ton unit and had to be informed by Goodman it was a 3.5. Come to find out, the unit you installed, which we paid for, which every member of your team, along with yourself came out to inspect, was only a 3.5 ton unit, knowing it was sold to us as a 4 ton. Since the unit has been installed, we have had nothing but problems, and clearly the undersized unit which was installed, even though we paid for a 4 ton, was the issue. Imagine our suprise when the Goodman reps divulged that the unit was a 3.5 ton and not a 4 ton as you and your company assured us many times it was. That being said we were undersized for what we purchased and you all knew this.
**** now its your turn to make this right. This has felt like an all out scam. Even the indoor and outdoor unit size is significant enough to realize the unit we paid for to initally have installed, was replaced by a lesser unit without our knowledge or concent. I have a wife and three children in my home. I have asked as much as I can to please support your product you sold, so we could have what we paid for. I don't believe it's unreasonable to want to get our moneys worth, in what for our family was a big investment. You have not even asked or suggested anything else you could do during this time, while you waited on Goodman to respond. So needless to say our summer was miserably HOT! Finally after Goodman arrived with ***** and they inspected the unit which was installed four months later, I feel like we have been taken advantage of and need some type of resolve before I can move forward.
Following our conversation yesterday, here are the bills we discussed which have encountered over the summer.

Final Consumer Response
From: **** ***** (mailto:************@gmail.com)
Sent: Wednesday, November 13, 2013 11:50 AM
To: ******* **********
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#9*******(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)

This complaint has been resolved. Please confirm. Thanks

11/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: The 24" condenser fan was replaced with an 18" fan. The system would over heat and not work properly. They also claimed there was a leak.
Invoice ***** dated 7/23/13: "Found fan motor locked up." "measured fan blade only it is 8" wth x 9 1/4" length." (This alone proves it was a 24" fan that was taken off. In their own words on their invoice.)
Comfortmaker Model:******** S/N:XXXXXXXXXX PXX XXXX

Invoice ***** dated 7/25/13: The fan that was taken off was a 24" fan, I commented to the tech that it was odd that the size would be different. He assured me that he was installing the correct part. He then claimed there was a leak at suction valve and "recommend replacement of system over parts". (Note: His truck's breaks went out and causing the tech to be late and having to get him picked up.)

I contacted the office and questioned them about the fan size. They sent out another tech and adamantly said that the 18" fan was the correct size even when I told them I had contacted the manufacturer and verified it was not the correct part. I contacted two separate dealers and a distributer inquiring about the fan size. Each time I was told; 24", 3 blade, 33 deg, CCW. What they installed was an 18", 3 blade, 27 deg CW fan. There was a 3" gap all the way around the end of the fan blades and the rest of the opening. It is very easy for even a layman to tell that this was not the correct fan. I called Air Handlers to get the part number and specs of what they installed. They claimed that only the tech had that information with him in his truck and that the truck was also broken down, so they could not provide the information. I found it unusual to not keep any records on a computer or copies at the office. Also I find it unusual to not have any inventory control of parts checked out or installed. This company is either grossly irresponsible or they were lying. They are either completely inept at repairing air conditioners or they were trying to defraud me for a new system.

8/6/13 A different A/C company came out and found a leak at the liquid line filter dryer. (Right where the Air Handlers techs had been working. I believe they caused it to leak by moving it.) That was repaired by the new company. He charged the system and found "The unit was running hi head pressure due to wrong condenser fan blade. Blade to small need bigger blade."

8/7/13 I contacted Air Handlers, they sent out another tech (They did not produce an invoice) and swore that the 18" fan size was correct and that there was still a leak.

8/12/13 The other A/C company came out and installed the correct fan blade and reversed the motor for the proper CCW fan blade. "Told there was a leak at suction line service valve. No leak detected at valve."

The system has been working perfectly ever since.

I had no air conditioning for 20 days, in the middle of summer, in Florida!
Air Handlers staff were rude and unwilling to resolve the problem they caused. The techs were inexperienced and should not be working in this field until properly trained.

Initial Business Response
BBB of Central Florida
1600 South grant St.
Longwood, Florida 32750
Attn: ******* ********** October 4, 2013

Re: Case # ******** ***** *******

Having reviewed all of the documents, notes, correspondence and work order paperwork it appears that the event described by the complainant does not match the reality of the events. I have attached copies of all documents for your review. The below chronological detail describes the actual event per our records.
1. On 7-22-2013 Home Warranty Co of America called our firm regarding a request for service one of their customer for a non-functioning air conditioning unit at XXXXX ****** ** Orlando, Fl. XXXXX.
2. Their customer, ***** *******, was call and after he described the problem a service call was set up for 7-23-2013.
3. On 7-23-2013 @12:22 our service tech arrived on site and he completed his work @ 1:57.
4. While on site he:
A. Checked the system.
B. Found that the fan motor was locked up which was causing the condenser to not operate. Failure may have been caused by the motor overheating numerous times or just due to age or for other reasons. The fan motor needed to be replaced.
C. The fan's run capacitor had failed and also needed to be replaced.
D. The copressor run capacitor was leaking oil and therefore needed to be replaced.
E. It was noted on the invoice that the fan motor was a 825 rpm 1/4 hp. motor, that the run capacitor was a 40/440 type and that the fan paddle blade measurements were 8" x 9".
F. The fan motor and blade was left in the garage per the customer's request.
G. The customer paid $75.00 for his warranty deductible and the technician after calling in his findings left the site.
5. On 7-23-2013 the warranty company was called for approval which was necessary in order to have the service work performed.
6. The warranty company denied the claim and therefore if the repair was to be made the customer would be responsible for the services rendered.
7. The customer (***** *******) was informed of the warranty company's refusal and indicate that he would be responsible or the payment of the services to be rendered.
8. On 7-24-2013 the repair work was scheduled and on 7-25-2013 the repair was performed. (See attached invoice # ******
9. During the 7-24-2013 service call it was noted, by the technician, after installing the new electric parts and fan motor tested the system that the Freon very low and again the leaking in the suction value. Since the inside air handler is over 10 years old and the outside condenser unit is over 15 years old and in very poor condition he recommended replacement of the system. System needed Freon. Customer did not want to pay for Freon at this time because he was waiting on the home warranty company to approve the replacement. System was left with the testing nitrogen in it.
10. On the work order invoice #8866, please see that the customer signed, under terms and conditions, indicating that the work had been completed in a manner satisfactory to them.
11. The customer subsequently questioned the size of the fan which was put in the unit.
A. The fan which was placed in the unit was the same size as the fan removed.
B. The fan replaced was order from Johnstone Distributers the same supplier as the fan motor. Fan motors are matched to the units based on matching the model numbers from the units involved and the correct fan is determined by the equipment supplier.
12. On 8-7-2013 a service technician was sent to the customer's house at no charge to verify that the fan blade was the correct one for the unit. The technician determined that it was. He did notice that the suction service valve was still leaking and that at least that should be replaced. Customer did not want to have that done as he was awaiting more information from the home warranty company, (See attached invoice # ******
13. On 8-9-2013 the customer called our offices every 15 minutes for several hours and was finally told by our representative to stop calling that he needed to contact his warranty company about his approval request. He was informed that we could not replace the system unless we received authorization from the warranty company first.
14. At 4:45 P. M. after his warranty company told him they were getting another company to come to his house he called and threaten to come to our shop and cause problems. All employees were warned of this potential problem.

As you can see from the attached documentation very detailed records are maintained by our company. Since there are hundreds of possible combination of unit configurations and many more individual parts systems may require no contractor maintains an inventory of all such parts. Parts are ordered as needed from several distributors in the area. As can be seen from the attached documentation the problems were determined at the first service call. The customer wanted the warranty company to pay for the repairs or replacement and when they wouldn't that caused their frustration. We have been told that the other company was a friend of the customer and that he did the final work. The work done by our firm to replace the broken parts has allowed the unit to perform properly and that the only thing the new company did was plug the leak (a short term fix at best) and place an incorrect fan in the unit.
I hope this will clear up this matter. Our firm takes great pride in our work and attempts to offer the finest service and installation work in the area.

**** *********
President






Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Air Handlers was blatantly wrong with their repair and the way they managed the entire situation. They are ignoring the facts and the evidence, which is still available. They are not admitting what they did and are doing is wrong and because of it, this will happen again to all of their customers in the future. People who are capable of doing this should not be in business.

Final Business Response
we have received the response from the customer and we stand by the information we provided. thank you for your assistance.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/29/2007Business started: 03/01/2005
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 North Monroe Street
Tallahassee, FL32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com

Seminole County Occupational License

BBB records show a license number of CAC1815376 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com. Certified Air Conditioning Contractor.

Type: Certified Air Conditioning Contractor

BBB records show a license number of 186046 for this company, issued by Seminole County Occupational License. Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2005, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Harrelson (President)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers full service air conditioning, repairs and sales. Service of all major brands, install of pool heaters.

Alternate Business Names
Air Handlers of Mid Florida Inc.
Industry Tips
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
Dont Get Burned by Furnace Fraud
Heating Your Home
In-Ground Swimming Pools Can Be a Major Investment
Safety Considerations When Using Kerosene Heaters

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Air Handlers Inc.

119 Commerce way STE C

Sanford, FL 32771

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 119 Commerce way STE C 

    Sanford, FL 32771

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Air Handlers Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (386) 409-8266
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.