BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/22/2009

Cool Air Conditioning & Refrigeration, Inc.

Phone: (352) 429-0750Fax: (352) 429-07903900 Mount Pleasant Rd, GrovelandFL 34736-9487 Send email to Cool Air Conditioning & Refrigeration, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/22/2009

BBB has determined that Cool Air Conditioning & Refrigeration, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cool Air Conditioning & Refrigeration, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cool Air Conditioning & Refrigeration, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they never fixed the issue after repeated calling and a promise to be back to fix it.they even refuse to refund me cause they claimed the job was done
on june 6th a tech came to my house to fix a leak in my AC unit. He applied a paste like substance on it to seal it. the paste never dried and it still leaks the cold air and there is a puddle of goo from the paste they used that has never dried. I called repeatably about the leak and the goo the owner/manager told me he will come out to look at it. he came out and said he will refund me the money. when he returned he told me the check was already deposited and he will send someone in a few days to come fix it properly after a week no one came and i called to refund me the fee i have already paid on their first visit but the manager told me the the job was done and to stop calling him.

Desired Settlement
i have already had another company come and fix the unit so i want my money back since they didnt fix the issue and even told me refund me or fix the job neither was done.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Sally L****
Contact Phone: 352-429-0750
Contact Email: Coolair.refrigeration@yahoo.com
On June 9th, Mr **** called our office and asked how much to apply duct tape to his ductwork. Our office explained it would be a service call. When the technician arrived, he found that the plenum was not sealed properly when it was installed (by another company). The technician did as Mr **** wanted, which was to seal the air leak in the plenum by applying mastic. The technician told Mr **** the a/c would have to be left off for a few hours to allow the mastic to dry. About an hour later, Mr **** called the office and said the mastic was still wet and dripping down his unit. When the boss called Mr **** back, Mr **** said that he turned the a/c back on as he could not leave his a/c off for a few a hours. Mr **** also told the boss he wanted his money back and he was going to call the BBB. Mr **** also accused us of watering down the mastic. The boss made arrangements to go out to Mr ****'s house with the technician to try to resolve the issue.

When we went back out to Mr ****'s house, it was explained to Mr **** that the technician did what Mr **** wanted; and to fix it right, the plenum would have to be replaced. He was told that normally this runs about $300. The boss offered to refund the service call if Mr **** did not want the repair done. At that point, Mr **** gave our company the go ahead to schedule to replace the plenum. Later that evening, the boss called Mr **** and explained that we stand behind our work and he just wanted to take care of Mr ****. He then explained that we would come out and replace the plenum at no extra cost to Mr ****. The boss told Mr **** to just give a couple to days to get out there, as our schedule was pretty booked at this time. The following morning, Mr **** called the office and told our office staff that someone from our company called him up last night and was "drunk", and he said that he did not want anyone to come out anymore and that he just wanted his money back. The office staff told him that they could not authorize this, and they would leave a message for the boss. He called the office back several times that day, he was very rude, and stated he was calling the BBB. The next morning when Mr **** called again, the boss got on the phone with Mr ****. Mr **** started cursing the boss, called him a "Son of a B...", and asked him if he was drunk. The boss told Mr **** that we would not refunding his money at this point, as we had made a couple visits out to Mr ****'s house and did everything to appease Mr ****, also Mr **** has harassed the office staff and has been belligerent over the phone. The boss ended the phone call abruptly due to Mr ****'s language. Mr **** called the office back several more times in a row. At this point, we advised him not to call back or we would place a phone call to the police for harassment. Several days later our technicians were working at a house down the street from Mr ****. Mr **** stood in the middle of the road and yelled obscenities at them.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
i do not accept this response as it is outlandish to say that i called within an hour after the job was complete to say that the mastic was dripping down the side of my unit,the technition told me it would take an hour for the mastic to be dry i left the unit off for 90 mins there for how could i have called within an hour of the job being completed. i called the following day when i saw the mastic dripping down the unit. thats when i was told by the boss i had to leave the unit off for 2 days not 2 hours as indicated in their response.
they told me that they would come out to the house to check the job out. the boss then at that time said he would give me my check back ( which was already deposited.) Which it is indicated in their response to my complaint that they would refund me but then said they are not able to refund my money. the company does not authorize refunds ( as per their response )

there was never a discussion about $300 for any services that they were going to do ( as per their response ) the boss only told me that he would make things right. furthermore they claim that the unit was not properly installed from the installment company ( as per their response ) which was installed in 2010 and there was never an issue until Cool Air did their "repairs" I even contacted the installation company for them to know that Cool Air is slandered their name in saying that they did NOT installed the unit properly.

i was never standing in the road yelling obscenities at their workers. i even have a witness that can verify that their response to my complaint is false. I did call and cuss the boss after he refused to give me the refund that he told me for weeks he was issuing.

Final Business Response
Apparently, Mr **** has selective memory. My statement is true and factual. However it is not worth the minimal service call to have to deal with a difficult customer like this. We always do our best to make things right with our customers, that is why we have an A+ rating with the BBB. However, we know there are some customers we cannot please whatever we do. Accusing the boss of being drunk on the phone while he was just trying to make things right is absurd, and calling and cursing at our office staff is not acceptable. Also, he did stand in the street and curse at my technician, and that is not acceptable either. Against my better judgment, I will reimburse Mr **** to close this case and move on.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Air Duct Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 07/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

Lake County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CAC1814077 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Certified Air Conditioning Contractor

BBB records show a license number of 10237 for this company, issued by Lake County Business Tax Receipt.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2003, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William B Lilly (President)Mrs. Sally A Lilly (Vice President)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Air Duct Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

This company offers certified air conditioning, heating and refrigeration contractor services including maintenance, repair, and replacement services for residential and commercial customers.

Service Area

Lake, West Orange and Sumter counties.
Orlando, Winter Springs, Groveland, Clermont, Minneola, Tavares, and Leesburg.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cool Air Conditioning & Refrigeration, Inc.

3900 Mount Pleasant Rd

Groveland, FL 34736-9487

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3900 Mount Pleasant Rd 

    Groveland, FL 34736-9487

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cool Air Conditioning & Refrigeration, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.