BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/30/2008

Back To New Heating & Cooling Co

Phone: (866) 963-9247Fax: (352) 628-4427

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
08/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I PAID FOR NEW AC UNIT AND PAID FOR MAINTENANCE SINCE I BOUGHT THE UNIT,THAT INCLUDE TWICE A YEAR
THEY DIDNT COMPLY WITH THE AGREEMENT.
I CALLED THIS BUSS ,BECAUSE I DID SEE THIS PAGE BEFORE CALLING TO INSPECT MY PREVIUS UNIT,THEY TOLD ME THAT I NEED TOCLEAN THE DUCT SO WE ASKED A QUOTE FOR A NEW AC AND TO ANY WILL NEED ,WE ACCEPTED AND WE PAID BY CHECK $3403.00 THAT DAY 04/05/2013 WITH A BAL OF $3260.30 TO BE PAY THE DAY OF INSTALLATION , THAT INCLUDED ALSO ONE YEAR OF MAINTENANCE, AFTER THAT THEY SUPPOSELY SANITIZE AND DO THE DUCT CLEANNING. THE UNIT
HAS A LIMITED WARRANTY FOR 10 YARS IS A NUTONE SERIAL NO.************ MODEL*********** AND SKU******* MODEL********** SERIAL NO ***********

Desired Settlement
I BEEN CALLING THEM AND ITHEY REFERED ME TO AN OFFICE IN PORT RICHEY THAT I CALLED AND WENT THERE. THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY WILL COME, NEVER DID THEY ARRANGE ANOTHER VISIT NEVER COME, KEEPING ME WAITING EVERY DAY WITHOUT ANY CONSIDERATION OR COMPASIONATE.LAST TIME I CONTACT THEM WAS 08/05/2015 12;15 PM AT ************** PORT RICHEY 34668

Business Response
I spoke with the customers when they came to our office, the problem they were having was with their plenums that attach to the equipment we installed. The plenums were not replaced at install, as we always connect to what is existing and I explained to them that they are not covered under the equipment's warranty. The plenums had a build up on them due to moisture. I agreed to come out and take care of the plenums but that they must take care of whatever is causing the issue and would have my installer go thru the duct work thoroughly to make sure whatever was causing the build up of moisture would be properly corrected. They were scheduled on 8-10-15 for us to come. Unfortunately, our installer had a family emergency that kept him out for several days. We kept in contact with them thru 8-12-15 and explained that we would be out on 8-17-15 when our employee would be back unless someone else became available sooner. Then this morning on 8-17-15 I called them regarding this complaint and to see why they would place a complaint knowing that we were coming today. They did not like that they had to be rescheduled. After trying to explain to them that the employee had a family emergency and had to be out, they just felt it was an excuse and said they are done dealing with our company and did not want us to come out and hung up on me. We tried to resolve this with the customer and we are not being allowed to. We can not control an emergency happening, we did our best to keep them up to date and informed, and today when scheduled to come out they do not want us to come. We can not resolve an issue if the customer will not allow us to.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I ACCEPT THE RESPONSE,. BUT , I HANG UP THE PHONE TO THE PERSON , BECAUSE I AM NOT GOING TO TOLERATE A PERSON RAISING HER VOICE ASKING ME WHY I MAKE THE COMPLAINT. ANOTHER THING I WANT THEM TO MAKE A REFUND FOR THE MAINTENANCE I PAID UNTIL 2016. I DONT WANT ANY SERVICE FROM THEM, IWILL WISH THEM THE BEST, BEST REGARDS. THANK SO MUCH

10/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The technician Randy/Joe, sold me a Preventative Maintenance Agreement for $135.00 and then the $60.00 house call would be free. I already had one with another company & in the commotion of replacing the "under warranty" A. C. motor, I had forgotten that. After he left, I called Randy shortly, within the 3 day cancellation period & cancelled. He said call the office in the morning. I did & Jerry said email Val & told me what to say & I did & ***** said it would take about 10 business days. I called in 10 business days & that's when the run-around started. I was told Michael ******, the owner would handle it. A few days later, I got a letter from Mr. ****** saying "Due to the many discounts given you as a result of your purchase of the PMA, no refund is due to you at this time." After the $60.00 deducted, $75.00 remaining is due me. No discounts appeared on the statement. I am being robbed of $75.00 by Mr. ******. I would like that back ASAP! **** ******
Product_Or_Service: PMA, UV light for $176.00, labor of installing
Order_Number: N. A.
Account_Number: N. A.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund Of $75.00 as soon as possible, Thank You!

Business Response

As the attached invoices show this customer received a $60.00 discount on invoice it XXXXX for the
service call a $60.00 discount on the fan motor (same invoice) and a $44.00 discount on the ultra violet
bulb replacement (same invoice) for a total of $164.00 in discounts for purchasing the P.M.A.
(Preventive Maintenance Agreement) for $135.00.
ALL SIGNED BY THE CUSTOMER.
This seems to be the latest scam being attempted in the area. You purchase the P.M.A. to get the
discounts and then try to get a refund for the P.M.A. and still keep the discounted prices. It does not
work that way. Ifthe customer wants a refund on the P.M.A. then they will have to pay back the
discounts received. The customer knew this going in and that is why she did it. For the discounts. This is
not the first customer to try this from the same area so obviously some other companies who have
something to hide are paying it. We however have had a great reputation since 1997 and we will not be
threatened into falling for this scam.

Consumer Response
The response from Back to New was not satisfactory. The only discount noted on the statement was the $60 because I bought the Preventive Maintenance Agreement for $135. Since I cancelled the PMA, Mr. ****** may keep the $60 for the house call & return the $75.00. My question to you ***** is, why can they display the BBB logo on their letterhead when they've had numerous complaints? Thank you, Joan ******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I stand by my original complaint. No discount was noted on the invoice except the $60 for the house call. $135-$60=$75. Simple math. Mr. ****** has given me, a valued customer, the highest insult imaginable by calling me a "scammer". No where in the transaction is there any hint of a scam on my part. Not only is he losing a customer, he's also losing good will. That's worth more than the money we're quibbling about!

Final Business Response
Pursuant to our conversation on the phone today we stand by our last response. To put it simply this
customer received $164.00 in discounts for purchasing the "contract" as she calls it for $135.00 and if
she wishes to repay the $154.00 in discounts she received we will gladly refund the $135.00 to her. As I
stated before this seems to be the latest "scam" used by some less than honest customers to try to
receive the discounts made possible by the purchase of the "contract" and then try to get a refund on
the cost of the "contract" without paying back the discounts. This is not how it works and I strongly
expect that this customer is well aware of this. To simplify this to the simplest level this customer can
pay us the $29.00 difference and we will cancel the "contract" she signed.

09/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
WAS OVERCHARGED TO SERVICE ON MY AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM. AND WAS ALSO CHARGED FOR A UV BULB OF WHICH I DO NOT OWN THE SYSTEM.
BACK TO NEW CAME OUT TO MY HOME ON JULY 9, 2015 TO TRY AND FIX MY AIR CONDITIONING UNIT. AS THE HOUSE WAS NOT COOLING OFF. TWO MEN CAME AND AFTER THEY LOOKED AT THE UNIT THEY SAID I NEEDED REFRIGERANT AT A COST OF 160.00 A POUND. THEY SAID I NEEDED 10 POUNDS. THEN THEY SAID I NEEDED A UV BULB AT A COST OF 106.05. I AGREED FOR THEM TO DO THEJOB. WELL HERE I AM A LITTLE OVER A MONTH AND I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM,. WELL I DID NOT CALL THAT COMPANY AGAIN. I CALLED ***** AIR AND COOLING COMPANY THEY CAME OUT TODAY 8/17/2015 AND THEY SAID I HAD A LEAK IN THE SYSTEM AND I NEEDED COOLANT AT AN ADDITIONAL COST OF 561.95. I ALSO NEED A NEW COIL AT A COST OF 1,657 IF THE UNIT IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY, IF IT IS THE COST WOULD BE 742.00. IN REFERENCE TO THE FIRST INCIDENT, I CONTACTED MY BANK ABOUT THE UV BULB AND THEY REFUNDED ME THE 106.00. I THINK THE FIRST COMPANY SCAMMED ME. THANK YOU

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE FOR THEM THE GIVE ME BACK MY MONEY OF 858.75 BECAUSE THEY DID NOT RECTIFY THE PROBLEM.

Business Response
On 07/09/201.5 we responded to a service call from ****************. Upon arrival our technicians found
that the system was low on refrigerant and the element in her ultra-violet purication system was long
past due for replacement. The customer was made aware of our ndings and asked what the cost of
repairs would be. Our technicians told her the price of the element replacement and that the refrigerant
would oost $80.00 per pound. When asked how many pounds it would take to charge the system
properly our technicians followed protocol and told her they could not know the exact amount of
refrigerant required until the system was cooling properly but based on the readings it would require AT
LEAST 2 pounds ($160.00) and possibly more to bring it to proper levels. The customer was made aware
that more refrigerant was needed after the 2 pounds were installed and instructed them to charge it to
proper levels which they did. The technician also recommended a "Leak Search" be done to determine
where andl or how many leaks were in the system as is indicated on the attached document but the
customer DECLINED.
A month later when some of the refrigerant again leaked out of the system, due to not following our
recommendation for a "Leak Search", she called another company who did the exact servioe (Leak
Search) that we recommended and found as we suspected that there were in fact leaks in the system.
We followed proper protocol in recommending the leak search but it is the customer's decision to follow
our recommendations or not. She chose not to and ended up paying someone else to do the exact
service we recommended which ended up costing her an additional charge.
The $106.00 she says she was refunded did not come from our company or bank account as there was
no reason for any refund.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
THE COMPANY DID NOT RECOMMEND A LEAK SEARCH IN WHICH THEY SAID THEY ASKED ME WHICH THEY DID NOT. THE CHARGE FOR COOLANT WAS 160.00 A POUND WHICH THEY SAID THEY PUT IN 10 POUNDS. THERE WAS A LEAK IN THE COIL IN WHICH *****, HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONING FOUND THEY CHARGED ME AN ADDITIONAL 561.00 AND ANOTHER 884.00 TO REPLACE THE COIL. BACK TO NEW DID A SCAM ON ME. THEY DID NOT FOLLOW PROPER PROTOCOL. THEY CHEATED ME OUT OF A LOT OF MONEY. I AM A WIDOW LIVING ON A FIXED INCOME. I THINK THEY TOOK ADVANTAGE OF ME BECAUSE THEY KNEW THIS.MY NAME IS **************** AND I AM RESPONDING TO COMPLAINT CASE #********. I AM NOT SATISFIED WITH THE RESPONSE FROM THE COMPANY BACK TO NEW. NO THEY DID NOT RECTIFY THE PROBLEM I HAD TO CALL ANOTHER COMPANY TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM OF THE COIL THAT FROZE WITH ALOT OF ADDITIONAL EXPENSES TO ME. BACK TO NEW DID NOT DO A LEAK SEARCH IF THEY HAD THE PROBLEM WOULD HAVE BEEN RESOLVED. THEY CHARGED ME FOR THE 10 POUNDS OF COOLANT AND A REDICULOUS PRICE OF 160 PER POUND. THIS COMPANY SHOULD NOT BE IN BUSINESS. OTHER PEOPLE KNOW THE SCAMS THIS COMPANY HAS PULLED. THEY DID NOT FOLLOW PROPER PROTOCOL I DID NOT CHOOSE TO DECLINE THE LEAK SEARCH THEY NEVER ASKED. I WAnt my money back and get this business out of circulation. thank you

Final Business Response
THIS WOMAN IS A FLAT OUT LIAR !!! We have already sent documents signed by her that clearly show our recommendation for a "leak search" in writing not more than half an inch from her signature but she did not want to pay the additional charge as she ultimately did anyway because we told her that we could not come back and put anymore refrigerant in the system without checking for leaks which is why she called another company in the first place who ended up doing EXACTLY what we recommended. SHE IS ALSO LYING ABOUT THE COST OF THE REFRIGERANT OR SHE CAN'T ADD. We put in 10.66 lbs. of refrigerant at a cost of $858.75 that's about $80.00 a pound not $160.00 and it's all in writing signed by her. If this person is telling the truth than I beg her and I dare her to take this to any court in the land because people that lie like she is should be made to pay. She will get nothing and will have to pay our attorney's bill on top of any slander of our good name that she may cause.


Michael D. Powell
Pres.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
THAT COMPANY IS LYING ABOUT EVERYTHING THEY ARE SAYING IN THEIR RESPONSE. THERE IS NO UV SYSTEM FOR THE BULB THEY CHARGED OF 106.00. THE REFRIGERANT COST THEY CHARGED WAS 160.99 A POUND NOT 80.00 THAT THEY ARE SAYING. THEY DID NOT DO A LEAK SEARCH. IT ALSO IN MY MY RECEIPT IN THE COST COLUMN 160.00 OF 410A REFRIGERANT. THIS COMPANY SHOULD NOT BE DOING ANY SERVICES FOR ANY CUSTOMERS. THEY SHOULD BE PUT OUT OF BUSINESS. THANK YOU ****************

03/16/2015Problems with Product / Service
10/14/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/03/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Equipment, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.