BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/11/2009

Altman's Cooling & Heating, LLC

Phone: (321) 300-1407Fax: (321) 383-4335View Additional Phone Numbers3485 S Hopkins Ave, TitusvilleFL 32780-5678 Send email to Altman's Cooling & Heating, LLC



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/11/2009

BBB has determined that Altman's Cooling & Heating, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Altman's Cooling & Heating, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Altman's Cooling & Heating, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
09/17/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sitting with broken air, tech hung up and will not call me back or answer my calls. Paid for warranty but now no t getting service
Purchased a ****** unit in March of 13. Broken blower on august1,2014. Ordered part on Monday was told will be in following day they would cover overnight charges. Today is the 5th and sitting her in 88 degree home and still not fixed. Why did I purchase a warranty. Tech hung up on me and will not return my calls. I have 4 kids 2 are babies. I cannot keep paying for a hotel and eating out. It is to hot to cook. My warranty should have covered this and it should have already been taken care of. Worst customer service ever. If I had been paying instead of my warranty covering I'm sure my air would have been fixed yesterday. Love the professional way they handle their customers. It's great service to just leave them with no air and no response!

Desired Settlement
To have my air fixed today but that is not going to happen so cover my hotel bills and eating out. I'm not eating steak dinners one was little Caesars and Publix chicken. I'm sorry would also be nice.

Business Response
In reference to the complaint led 8/5/2014
Mr. *** **** seat ******'s Cooling a message via Facebook in which we immediately responded
below is our reply.
We work very hard to care for the needs of each customer I'm sorry your feeling let down we at
******'s did pay out of our pocket for the over night fee we did not ask for this fee from you we took it upon our self to pay to try and speed the process along for you we called to schedule the service and did not get answer om you we called several numbers on file that day. The extended warranty you stated you purchased docs not cover overnight freight nor after hours service labor charges but we can
certainly put you on the schedule for tomorrow with a time that works for you please call in the
morning XXX-XXXX so that time slot is held for you and again I'm sorry you have been with out air) do
know its hot we will take care of the problem for you thanks for using our company.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Nothing was mentioned of our filter being the reason of the unit to break on the call out to ******s on 8/1/14. We were told that it was the blower motor. Our repair invoice from ******s, that we all signed after the unit was fixed on 8/6/14 does not state it was caused by our filter or have any documented findings about alleged filter. Also if we failed to comply with our warranty maintenance and ******s is sending supposed "findings" to Net Solutions the third party warranty company, Why did ******s give us a one year care plan warranty at no charge? ******s did not comment or state anything about a filter until after the unit was fixed and the sales manager called me to ask if we could remove or add positive comments on the Facebook review about being lied to and poor customer service. We had no idea ******s would take to their company Facebook page to slander and talk about us as a paying customer after the unit was fixed. As a result of not removing the review due to utter disrespect by some of the employees and inconsistencies in their actions, so ******s retaliated with lies and photos aiming negative comments, post, and opinions at us. ******s stated they tried to contact us between 2:00 and 2:15 on 8/5/14 to set an appointment. I am showing phone records for both of my numbers to prove no incoming calls from ******s and my outgoing call to ******s at 2:30. Upon my call at 2:30 I was told they were waiting to verify the part would arrive, nothing was said about an appointment to install the part. I was not informed that the alleged call at 2:00 was to set an appointment until the next day 8/6/14 after the unit was repaired. So I asked the sales manager "Why they didn't ask to make the appointment, when I called in and spoke to the exact same person that made the alleged phone call at 2:00? Instead I was told they were waiting to verify that the part would arrive" my wife and I did call multiple times on 8/5/14 that were rolled over to the call out center . We were told " The call center was instructed not to accept our calls" This was after the tech hung up on us when we asked for a call back from a manager. ******s appears to be lacking customer service and ethics. Is it ethical business to charge customers for permits and then not file for or obtain them. With all of this we have contacted the city because ******s charged us for a state and city mandated permit for the installation, they did not pull. There has been no code inspection done for this reason. This and the fact that the unit was not installed to the manufactures recommendations could very well be the reason for the unit to fail. As also stated in one of your other BBB complaints, this company has failed to pull building code permits as state and city law requires. I am also emailing documents of signed repair invoice, receipt from install, phone records, and the care plan invoice. ïïï

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To the last response by ******'s Cooling, we went to the city prior to our last reply to the BBB complaint and there was no application that had been filed for our address. The city stamps the date received on a building permit application. We were informed by the city after the reply that there had been a computer system change and that some INSPECTIONS were lost. But there was no application and no inspection so it is impossible for it to be REINSPECTED as stated by ******'s Cooling. Also that would not have any effect on the application being submitted, dated or a permit or permit number being issued. I am also attaching documentation from the City of Titusville website displaying the laws required for building permits. ******'s Cooling states the original application date of 05/24/2013 yet the application submitted to the BBB has no application date. City law requires application to be submitted 24 hours in advance but my unit was installed on 05/24/2013, and the building permit is to be posted so it is visible from the street prior to commencing any work on that site. In regards to all paperwork previously submitted by ******'s Cooling, there is not one form, date, or signature that can not be duplicated today, tomorrow, or next week. The notary is a personal friend as noted and circled by the notary. The Energy Calc also submitted and signed off by ****** Simms is from a company partly owned and run by **** ******, also listed and proven in paperwork submitted to the BBB. We received a copy of this via certified mail from ******'s Cooling. I would like to know, When does applying for a late building permit require copies of BBB complaints, FaceBook post by the company, and a copy of an extended warranty? There is no acceptable resolution for the consistent lies and disrespect. I have gladly provided any documentation that is from an outside source than myself to support any comment or claim made on this complaint.

Final Business Response
Please note this will be my last correspondence regarding this matter. Mrs. **** in her own words and writing admits that the City of Titusville explained to her during a conversion of software permits where lost. We have been in business many years and a check of pulled permits at the city and county will reflect the gross number of permits we pull. We hold every lic. needed and than some we are well aware of state regulations. We can assure the ****'s we don't have any special pull that would have the City of Titusville doing a cover up as insinuated with forged undated documents. Mrs. ****'s claim that ******'s has duplicated documents is totally absurd and if any other accusations like this are made we will be contacting our Attorney. Mrs. ****'s comment in regard to the Notary claiming she was a personal friend, ***** Burcham was employed by ******'s and terminated her employment and moved to another state late 2013. ******'s has several employees who hold Notary Lic. Mrs. ****'s claim that the Energy Calc business is owned by **** ****** and that he is the same **** ****** that works for ******'s Cooling is also inaccurate. Further research on the her part would prove this. The two **** ******'s are not the same individual. Any further correspondence regarding this matter shall be turned over to ******'s attorney. I refuse to waste any more of my time on her petty accusations all of which have no merit and are solely based her assumptions and not FACTS.

07/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The thermostat was not the one stated by the salesman, the installation of the outside and inside AC are inferior, no permit posted or inspection.
The salesman, *****, came to my home on Thursday, June 13, 2013. He stated that I needed to cut out a wall in order to fit a 4" wide shut-off box. The shut-off box was never installed. He stated that my top-of-the-line AC came with a top-of-the-line thermostat. He then made a huge rectangle on the wall with his fingers and stated that is was a touch screen and not to worry. The installers put in a bottom of the line thermostat. When I called *****, he said that I should have gotten that in writing and what he said at the estimation does not matter. At the original estimation, I asked ***** about fixing my condenser pad outside because the old pad was crooked from years of settlement. He said that I would get a new pad because the old one was too small. It was too small, but they just put the new pad on top of the old pad. It sits very crooked and it hangs over the old pad by over 12 inches. When I called *****, he stated that what they did will pass inspection and they are not going to take my concern into consideration. He stated that the insulation would be replaced from the unit to the ceiling inside and out. The insulation was not replaced. When I complained, they came and redid the insulation from the outside unit to the roof covering the copper line, but left a large hole in the sophit. They also left trash outside. They never replaced the inside insulation from the air handler to the ceiling. In fact, there is a large amount of dirt and dust that fell from the ceiling into the coils of the air handler when they went up in the attic to seal the planeum they had shifted. They put a single bead of foam to seal it. This is like putting a band-aide on a large wound. I feel that problems will occur in the not so distant future. Again, when I called, ***** stated that it will pas inspection and that he would not take my complaint into consideration.
Also, they stated that they would put an insulated box around the condensate pump, but never put an insulation box around the condensate pump. It is loud and wakes me up at night.
There was never a permit given to me or posted outside my home so I could call and check on an inspection.

****** ******** the certified installer, signed a paper stating that the air ducts were checked. They were never checked and the following week I found a huge split in a flex duct line.

When I called about an inspection, they said that the inspection manager was on vacation for the week, but I had the AC installed 2 weeks prior to the phone call. They said the inspection manager would call me when the inspection was scheduled, but never called. I called today and it took 2 minutes to schedule the inspection, but they said it will fail and I will be charged $75 because there is no permit posted. I am also concerned that they forged my signature on the energy rebate form. I never signed to form because it stated on the bottom to only sign if you are completely satisfied with the install. The rebate form was for $880 from Florida Power and Lights, or FPL.

Desired Settlement
I want to hire a profession company other than Altmans to come to my home and make the above changes do what ***** originally stated would be done. I want that new company to be paid out of the $6880 I paid Altmans. I also want to $130 for the service contract for 1 year to be refunded that I may use a different company. I also need the 10 year parts and 1 year labor warranty transferred to a different company, and any expense associated with that to be taken form the original payment to Altmans of $6880.

Business' Initial Response
Installation date of the new HVAC equipment was June 18th, 2013.

The original proposal signed by Mr.******** (********)does not indicate a touch screen thermostat would be included with the installation, only a standard thermostat. In an attempt to satisfy Mr. ******** we agreed to replace the standard with a Honeywell 6000 digital t-stat at no additional cost to Mr. ********.

A permit was applied and paid for by ******'s on June 18, 2013 (********) Then posted to his property and inspected by **** D. ***** an employee and official building inspector with the Brevard County Building Department the installation received a PASS ****** upon inspection the first time no inferior work noted by building official.(********)

Mr. ******** received a New Condenser pad as promised standard practice is to apply the new pad directly over the old pad if the new pad would not be elevated out of the ground as required by building code.

I think his word insulation refers to new supply and return which we did do.

Condensate pumps do not require any type of insulation it is a plastic box.

Florida Building Code requires a visual inspection of duct work to insure no obvious leaks. Florida Power and Light does a more complete inspection when the installation is completed.

Mr. ********'s comment regarding ******'s forging his signature NOT TRUE. Mr. ******** called Florida Power's HVAC rebate program and spoke directly to Mr. ********** who heads up this department. Mr. **** told Mr. ******** that a rebate was not submitted my ******'s Cooling there for no forgery existed. Mr. **** was going to issue his own statement to this as well to the BBB.

******'s Cooling has made every attempt to satisfy Mr. ******** we sent installers back to his home on June 20, 2013. We installed the new thermostat, did a walk thru with Mr. ********. Upon completion of the walk thru I ****** ****** part/owner phoned Mr. ******** and ask him if he was completely statisfied in which he replied YES. I than ask him for payment on the open invoice at which time he gave me his Visa card and authorized payment in the amount of $6,000.00. I reminded him that he had not signed nor returned the FPL rebate form and that the $880.00 had already been deducted from his invoice so it was important that he return to my office.

Note: Since his complaint to the BBB Mr. ******** has signed and returned the original FPL rebate the one that he claims we forged.

We are a professional HVAC company with over 30 years of experience. ******'s Will not pay for any one or any company to go to Mr. ********'s home to redo work that has been completed and passed ********** no infractions.

The $130.00 he refers to was not paid by Mr. ******** no refund will be given. It is a value on a free service we give to customers to do maint. during the first year of installation.

Mr. ******** can transfer his 10-year parts warranty to any company he desires. The one year labor again is something I give to my customers at no cost for the first year.

We submitted drawings to the manufacture of the pad and received an approved status on this as well.



Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
******'s and I have different view points, insights, and details of the install and follow up. I have described the events as I recall them in the original BBB complaint. My story has not changed, nor has theirs.
I contacted ********** from FPL, I spoke extensively with ****, the Brevard inspector, and I spoke with *****, ****'s supervisor. I also spoke with Diversitec, the manufacturer of the pad. I even spoke with ***** reps, the manufacturers of the A/C equipment. All of these people spoke with me over the phone or in person and at times through email. All of these people unofficially told me that they thought it was an improper install from their standpoint with various aspects of the situation. Some of them called ******'s to speak with them. Not a single one of them would make an official statement.
The fact of the matter is that I am one consumer and Altmans pays to be with the BBB, makes lots of sales with the pad and AC equipment manufacturers, is a contracted service provider for FPL, and the Brevard Inspectors didn't want to make any trouble.
My only option left would be to go to small claims court, in which I would end up paying a lawyer more money than the reinstall and I would have to miss more work. I would end up wasting more of my time and the judicial systems. This matter has had no victors. It has been a huge waste of time and energy on all sides. ******'s is left with an upset customer and I have wasted far too much of my time with spineless men and empty promises.
At this point I will agree to disagree and currently I see no hope for change in the future.

With that said, I am not sure if I accept their response or not. I accept that they are not going to change and that I am not going to change, but I do not accept their statements as truth or as settling our dispute.

On a side note, I did petition the BBB to remove the thought of ******'s forging the FPL rebate form the day after I submitted the BBB complaint. I would think those comments were included with the original complaint, as they were filled out formally.
********** stated that the FPL rebate form is a contractor incentive and should never be used on an actual invoice because it has no cash value to the consumer. He also urged me not to sign the form, as ******'s, **********, and I all knew I was not satisfied.
Altmans threatened to put a lien on my house for the value of the FPL form. As I have a family to look after and money is tight, I felt coerced to sign the form.
I will not waste more time describing other statements from officials that they then changed while speaking to Altmans. This entire matter disgusts me.

Business' Final Response
**************

08/23/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Furnace Cleaning, Air Duct Systems, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Quality Service, Thermostats, Dehumidifying Equipment, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/21/2008Business started: 04/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St STE 50
Tallahassee, FL32399-0750
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr

Brevard County Occupational License

BBB records show a license number of CAC058194 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Certified Air Conditioning Contractor

BBB records show a license number of CAC1816499 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr.

Type: Certified Air Conditioning Contractor

BBB records show a license number of 200010564 for this company, issued by Brevard County Occupational License.

Type: Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Altman (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Teresa Teague (Owner)Mr. Brian Bair (Sales Manager)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Furnace Cleaning, Air Duct Systems, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Quality Service, Thermostats, Dehumidifying Equipment, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers air conditioning and heating contractor services for new construction, commercial, and residential customers.

Alternate Business Names
Altman

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Altman's Cooling & Heating, LLC

3485 S Hopkins Ave

Titusville, FL 32780-5678

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3485 S Hopkins Ave 

    Titusville, FL 32780-5678(321) 300-1407

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Altman's Cooling & Heating, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (321) 383-7910
  • (321) 433-0092
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.