BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/03/2014

Advanced Air and Heat of Florida, LLC

Phone: (386) 427-1665Fax: (386) 427-3421

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/30/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Just learned the "new" "best energy efficient" a/c unit they installed at our home in 2006 was manufactured in 2000 and sat in their w/h 6 years.
Had been customers for 15 years. On July 27, 2006, we paid Advanced Air $4,535 to replace our a/c unit which included the outdoor compressor and indoor evaporator and furnace. Included in total price was $395 for a 10-year parts/labor warranty.
Imagine our surprise when we learned last month while dealing with another issue with the a/c that the "new" "best energy efficient" a/c unit installed in July, 2006 was manufactured in 2000, six years earlier. Sat in warehouse for 6+ years. On September 19, 2014, we emailed Advanced and asked for an explanation as to why they would have installed a unit at our home in 2006 that was manufactured in 2000. On September 22, 2014, the Service Manager responded that he "did not have a very good answer regarding the age of the unit when it was installed". He stated "the company was under different ownership at the time" and "the previous owner often purchased units in bulk and they would take some time to sell off". "Some time"....really? Six years? He also states "Although almost all of the same staff is still currently employed here at Advanced Air, none would have been in control of such a decision". "Such a decision" sends the clear message that someone at Advanced made the conscious decision to take a unit that had been sitting in some warehouse for 6+ years and install it at our home and claim it was "new" and the "most energy efficient". It's wrong, it's unethical and it's fraudulent. With respect to his statement that almost all of the same staff is still currently employed there, that's correct. We've had many service calls over the past 8 years on the 2000 unit that we purchased "new" in 2006, and generally have recognized the service techs from earlier calls. In fact, the technician that installed the 2000 unit in 2006 is the same technician that came out on August 12, 2014. In his September 22, 2014 response, the Service Manager also states "the warranty is still in full effect from the date of installation". We certainly hope so, we paid for that...$395 dollars for what they represented as a 10 year "parts and labor warranty". Looking back now at all of the original materials, we find the manufacturer's warranty is 10-years on parts and lifetime on the compressor. Apparently it was just a "labor" warranty that we purchased. Good thing we did since the unit was already six years old when they sold it to us and we've had many issues with it over the years. We wrote back to the Service Manager on September 22nd and September 29th and have received no response.
We have questions:

1) Is it common practice for a company to install an a/c unit as "new" that was manufactured 6 years earlier without disclosing that to the customer? Is it ethical? Is it fraudulent?
2) We were charged for a 2006 unit when in reality it was 6 years old. How much were we overcharged?
3) A/C units are constantly improving their energy efficiency. How much have we lost in energy savings by having a unit that was 6 years older than what was represented to us at the time of sale?
4) We want a copy of all service records from the date of installation. For all the times they've been out to repair the unit, service records/receipts were not given to us.
5) We've referred many friends and family to Advanced in the past. How many other customers have they installed units that were manufactured more than one year prior to the installation date?
No doubt they will argue that the "new" company that acquired the "old" company didn't have anything to do with "such a decision" and are not responsible for their prior practices. While there may have been a change of ownership on paper for purposes of licensing, there has been no change in the company to the unsuspecting and trusting customer. They represent themselves under the same name, phone, staff and logo. Our position is, when you acquire a company, you acquire both the good and the bad. That's the risk you take.
What a violation of trust.

Desired Settlement
We want a replacement unit or fair monetary restitution for the overcharge and loss of efficiency savings.

Business Response
Mr. & Mrs. *****,
Thank you for sharing your concerns about our company. I wish your lack of trust and displeasure could have been avoided. Please rest assured that even though your installation was performed by Advanced Heating and Air of Volusia County, we at Advanced Air and Heat of Florida had no intention to violate your trust or mislead you. I want to also apologize for not returning your email in a timely manner. We value and appreciate every review/comment whether good or bad, and to have your email go unanswered is a failure on our part. In regards to the system that was installed at your home in 2006, the outdoor unit is in fact a 2000 model with the 2 indoor components being manufactured in 2006. It is possible that the equipment could have been stored at the distributor in Texas for an extended period of time and then sold to Advanced just prior to your installation. The outdoor unit that was installed is in fact a 14 SEER unit which at the time in 2006 was High Efficiency. In 2006 the minimum SEER rating on installed equipment was 10 SEER. The new law that goes into effect on January 1st 2015 will be a minimum of 14 SEER which is what you currently have installed.
Below are the answers to your list of questions and concerns.
1. Companies that keep a vast inventory of equipment often are not able to "sell off" the inventory within a 1 year period. In your case the time frame is uncommon which is why I understand your concern and frustration.
2. Being overcharged is a hard thing to validate as all companies charge different amounts for their services and replacement costs. There is also different overhead which companies must account for in their pricing.
3. There has been no lost energy savings since the equipment that you have is actually the SEER rating that was presented at the time of the sale. The unit still holds the same efficiency rating as a 14 SEER manufactured in 2006 would have.
4. We would be happy to supply you with the service records for work completed since the installation of the system.
5. We cannot quantify the amount of people who may or may not have had equipment installed that was older than 1 year from the manufacture date. However the efficiency ratings that were offered would have been the same that were installed.

We appreciate the referrals over the years and hope to not lose you as a valued customer. You are also correct about how we represent ourselves as a company. The "old" Advanced Air had a great reputation, one which we as the new company are striving to build upon.

We would like to have the opportunity to regain your trust and offer a cost savings solution if you have not already had the issue resolved. Once again thank you for your time.

Consumer Response
We have resolved all issues with Advanced at this time. They reached out to us and provided what we consider to be a very fair resolution to the issue. Their handling has restored our confidence in them.

01/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After being a customer for over 15 years, we had to buy a new heat pump in 8/2012. Advanced air and heat, quickly came out and install another unit the next day, but we had had problems with unit 3 times. Replacing major parts on our unit each time, Schrader valve first, then motor and fan blade, after just 1 year of use. Tried to call to talk to owner about problem, but could not get him on phone, or to return call. This unit is to last ten years? Will not be using them anymore, now stuck with them for warranty on this **** unit!!!After researching unit, found that list price was $3020, they charged me $5540.00, with rebates, down to $4840.00, still ripped off for over $1500.
Product_Or_Service: Amana heat pump
Order_Number: AXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
After researching price, I would like to replace unit.

Business Response

On 8/31/12, the owner purchased a new Air Conditioning and Heating system for the initial amount of $5540, after all rebates, discounts, and credits the total sale price was $4235. The owner decided to purchase an optional 10 year extended labor & refrigerant warranty for an additional $495 making the total purchase price $4730. As for pricing comparisons, it is impossible to compare equipment only internet pricing with an installed price that includes the system, labor and materials to install the system, and the warranty that guarantees parts and labor to service the system.
Our records show that on 11/27/13 the first service request on the system was made by the owner, our service technician diagnosed that the reversing valve in the outdoor condenser was leaking refrigerant. The reversing valve was replaced with the factory authorized part the same day at no charge to the owner. During the repair our technician noticed that the outdoor condenser fan motor was still working but did not seem to be operating properly. The technician decided that a new motor and fan blade should be ordered as a precaution for the owner, to prevent the motor unit from failing and causing any further damage to the unit should the motor become defective.
On 12/13/13, our office called the owner to schedule to have the motor and fan blade replaced at their convenience, a phone message was left at that time. On Saturday 12/14/13, the owner called back and spoke with dispatch and asked why we are replacing parts in his unit that is a little over 1 years old. Dispatch could not answer the question and asked if it would be ok that a manager call him back on Monday which the owner agreed to. On Monday 12/16/13, our Service Manager called and spoke with the owner explaining the reasons for replacing the motor. The owner was not satisfied with our plans to repair his system at no cost to him, instead the customer wanted his system to be replaced, which the Service Manager did not have the authority to approve. On Friday 12/20/13, the General Manager called and spoke to the owner's wife and asked that she have her husband call back to discuss his concerns, she informed the General Manager her husband would call back on Monday 12/23/13. On Monday 12/23/13, the owner called back and spoke to General Manager about his issues with the system, during the conversation the General Manager offered to replace the entire outside condensing unit at no charge to the owner. The owner however, was not satisfied with our offer to resolve the problem as he believes we should fully replace his warrantied system with a completely new system of a different brand than what he originally purchased.
We take pride in our customer service values, always working hard to resolve any issues our customers may encounter. We want to take care of this customer's needs, we have offered to replace major components under the warranty process to provide our customer with a fully functional system, all which would be done at no cost to the owner.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
What ever.............

Final Business Response
Mr. ******* pricing concerns are with the previous company that is no longer in business.

Our company did not sell him the system. However, we will replace the outside condenser unit that had service with a new condenser unit (same model) at no charge.

This will give Mr. ******* a new condenser unit and the existing parts and labor warranty will remain in affect.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Air Duct Restoration, Air Conditioning Repair, Generators, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Contractor - Insulation

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.