BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

AB Cool Heating & Air

Phone: (407) 297-0550Fax: (407) 290-0456

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I complained about a repeated loud scraping noise coming from the A/C as early as June 2010.The repairmen would not acknowledge a problem.
On Feb. 11, 2010 ABCool installed a York heat pump/AC Unit. In May or June when I started using the AC, I noticed a repeated loud scraping sound at start-up, and when the AC cycled on and off. I immediately reported the problem to ABCOOL. Both technicians that came to my house would not acknowledge the problem. One technician stated on the repair invoice,"Noise is normally heard when filter is pulled against filter back grill. Unit is in good working order." The problem that I reported as early as June 2010, is what caused the AC to stop operating on Aug.30,2013.

Desired Settlement
AS early as June 2010,I reported the repeated loud scraping noise coming from the AC unit. ABCOOL refused to acknowledge the problem that I reported in June 2010, when the labor warranty was in effect. ABCOOL charged me $320 to replace the fan motor.The independent AC repair person that I called in for an opinion said, "The AC break down was caused by the fan motor hitting against the motor housing." ABCOOL is responsible for the problem, and should pay the charge.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@btenterprisesap.com

October 7, 2013


BBB of Central Florida
1600 South Grant St.
Longwood, FL 32750
RE: Case # ******** ****** ******
Abcool A/C & Heat is responding to the complaint by Ms. ******. On August 30, 2013 Abcool was called to service Ms. ******'s system for a "not cooling" call. Abcool responded by sending a service tech to Ms. ******'s house at 8:30pm. After the tech went through and checked the A/C system he concluded that the evaporator blower motor had an electrical short which was not allowing it to come on. The tech informed Ms. ****** of what is diagnostic was and that the motor was bad. Ms. ****** proceeded to tell the technician to order the warranty motor and to come back in install it. The warranty motor was ordered from York/Florida Air Distribution and installed per Ms. ******'s request. After the technician completed the installation of the motor and gave the labor bill to Ms. ****** she then refused to pay after agreeing to it beforehand.

The motor failure was an electrical component and not a mechanical one. As warranty regulations go we cannot replace the motor that a customer thinks is bad without proof. The system has worked for three years after Ms. ******'s original complaint of a scrapping noise. Abcool could not find anything wrong with the motor during the service call in 2010. We have been to Ms. ******'s house for preventative maintenance calls that she requested and another call for a bad breaker. We understand that Ms. ****** does not want to pay for the labor cost but her original contract only covered for one year labor and ten years on parts. We have no control over when parts or equipment break down. We will send a copy of when we were called out for a scraping noise in the A/H.

Abcool would like to resolve this issue with Ms. ****** bur we are having this issue reviewed by our Attorney.



Thank you,
ABCOOL A/C & HEAT AP, INC.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
After reviewing and consulting with our attorney we at ABCOOL A/C & HEAT have decided to void Ms. ******'s invoice# XXXXX in the amount of $320.00. Instead we will pursue York manufacturer for payment. Our attorneys would like for us to pursue with further action against Ms. ****** but we against their advice have decided to avoid spending any more time on this issue. This does not mean that we do not believe we are owed the total amount of $320.00. We will send Ms. ****** the voided invoice. In the future we would prefer that Ms. ****** contact another York dealer to service her York equipment

Thank you for your time,
ABCOOL A/C & HEAT

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Contractor - Insulation, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.