BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Certified Tire & Service Centers, Inc.

Find a Location

(951) 369-0025View Additional Phone Numbers1875 Iowa Avenue, RiversideCA 92507http://www.goodyear.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Certified Tire & Service Centers, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Certified Tire & Service Centers, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service15
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Certified Tire & Service Centers, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (22)BBB Closure Definitions
12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Initially went in for a alignment and two new tires.
On 10/05/2014 I went to the location to obtain a wheel alignment and two new tire. I was told it would take about a 1 1/2 hrs which was fine, it was a Saturday and busy so I understood. My car was returned (at that time Kevin told me we checked your brakes and the look good, I knew that already because I just got them done). So I left didn't drive my car much that weekend but when Monday came I noticed it was still pulling to the left a the wheel was shaking. So by mid week I called back spoke with ******* who immediately told me "oh no it is probably your brakes" he is giving me push back and finally said bring it in we **** test drive it. So the next day (I believe) I went in talk to kevin told he what happened he kindly said ok we **** re align it and re balance but can you come back. I make an appt. But I have a illness and the day of the apt the illness was getting the best of me I resched. Came in and again im dealing with ******* and he starts with the no its your car not us...he is so rude and grumpy I get stern with him so fine they do it again I leave and come back another walks up and said who did you brakes I said why he starts with it could be them but we did fix something today I get the owners # and call. I told the story to ****** and when Rio called back again im telling the story. Rio is already on the defense because he has spoken with the staff at the shop. He begins to tell me they have a $75,000 machine that cant be wrong I told him I don't care because again Today they fixed something which means it wasn't done the first time Rio told me since I didn't let him finish here is whats going to happen nothing and hung up I called back spoke with **** he told me Rio wont speak to me I said who is the boss above him he told me figure it out and hung up. I called again Rio told be clearly my "momma" did teach me much and I must have not finished school and im bipolar and whats wrong with you people. I said oh you are talking about my mom now and insulting me. he hung up. I called back for corps number **** again laughed and said oh wow you must have only finished 3rd grade and more insults. I finally called corp and Im waiting for someone to call me back. I am African American yes however I am very well educated. I have a degree and I am a manager at my HEALTHCARE JOB not Mcdonalds like **** stated. I have some type of gel in my tires that when it is low I have to go to Goodyear I don't feel comfortable and I tried to tell Rio that we can part ways but I need them to remove the gel and put or or give me my money back

Desired Settlement
Again I purchased two new tires but had them but the gel in all 4 . this means when my tire is low they have to fill it. I don't feel comfortable with them and per Rio the owner they **** not assist me. I want my money back or we can talk on a solution .

10/27/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On aug X XXXX I took my car for an oil change and the sales man told he would not do my oil change if I didn't get a ever wear treatment.
He told me that the treatment cost 200 and if I didn't do it he wasn't going to do a regular oil change that there was some gunk in my oil tank. Than he proceeded to tell me I needed new shocks stuts and tires. I applied for the good year card he lied and told them I owned my car and that I only paid 300 rent. My car now needs a new head gasket and cat converdor which cost over 2000. He told me I didn't get the new tires stuts shocks and alignment than my car would be unsafe driving. Basically got something I didn't need at the time of service.

Desired Settlement
A refund for the tires stuts and shocks and all labor. 1300 of the good year credit card paid. I do not own this car and **** be returning it to the dealer due to continuing repair issues

Business Response
Customer bought this used car and there was a myriad of problems with it. Tires were dangerously low causing a vibration when driving. The vehicle was inspected as she had bought it used and needed various fluid services as well as the struts were leaking. Manager showed all these items in need of repair and the customer agreed and approved the work to be done.

The beef that the customer has should be with the selling dealer and NOT with us. It's not Certified's fault that the head gasket began to leak and the catalytic converter is now clogged. Both these major items should be fixed by the selling dealer.

The work that Certified Tire performed was necessary and was cone correctly and completely!


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The manger who helped me explained to me that my credit card payments would not start until January of 2015. I called once I got a **** in the mail for September 10, 2014. For my first payment and he said he would fix the issue with the card and has yet to fix it. I have called over 3 times to the store and credit company and he hasn't called to fix the problem. At the least be honest to your customers.

Final Business Response
I **** have the manager call ****** to help with the credit card issue. She does NEED to pay a minimum monthly payment...its the interest that doesnt begin to accrue until next year. ITs not "no payments" until next year and I think thats where ****** is confused.

06/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have spent over $5,000 in the last 24 months at this location in vehicle repairs. More than once the result was less than satisfactory. However, we always brought the issue to the attention of the manager and had a resolution. While continuing to feel uneasy, but wanting to give a local business the benefit of the doubt, we continued to seek repairs at this shop. After our latest break down, last week, I learned today, May 12,2014 that repairs made seven months ago have already failed. I am trying to contact them for a refund of the money spent specifically on these parts and repairs but cannot reach anyone. I am asking for a refund to our "Goodyear" card in the amount of $758.13 for parts and labor for the installation of three 'new' motor mounts in our 2002 Mazda MPV. We have proof of failure and have authorized another shop to install new mounts. I know that this shop **** ask to let them do the repairs, but we have already done that. I no longer have confidence in their ability to do an acceptable job, and need a refund to pay for the work to be re-done.
Product_Or_Service: Vehicle maintenance and repair
Account_Number: Invoice no. XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Motor Mounts: 1. 92.99, 2. 171.99, 3. 215.99, plus labor 157.50 and 135.50 for a total of 701.97 and Tax of 56.16 totals 758.13. I would like this amount refunded to the credit card we used to pay for the repair.

Business Response
We at Certified Tire Goodyear, any Goodyear for that matter strive to deliver great automotive service. Our warranties are good nation wide HOWEVER, you need to return to any Goodyear store so that warranty can be honored!

Consumer Response
I see the business requesting me to return to their store to have that work done. This is NOT the first problem we have had. We have been more than fair giving them ample opportunity to show their workmanship. It is unacceptable. The repairs are in progress at a shop near where my vehicle broke down. I need the refund to help pay for that service.
Also please note. This vehicle uses very expensive 100,000 mile spark plugs. Goodyear instructed us to have them replaced 27,193 miles after they replaced them. I guess they figured we were too busy to check our records and they could get away with doing $480 with of unnecessary repairs. They were right. We did not notice until now. Like I said in my complaint. In the last 24 months we have paid out over $5,000 in repairs to the van. That doesn't count what we spent on our other vehicle. You have profitted enough from us. Put the $758.13 refund back to our Goodyear account used to pay for services. Otherwise I **** have to ask for the $480.10 paid for unneeded work as well.

Final Business Response
There **** be no refund. The warranty clearly states that she needed to return to the store. ***** took it upon herself to have the vehicle repaired elsewhere.
We have 3 stores in Moreno Valley that she could have gone to if she didn't want to return to the originating store and she didn't.
Certified Tire considers this matter closed, there **** be no further correspondence on this matter.

05/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had some weird sounds coming from my car so I took it to my local service center, I live basically across the street. The cashier was very nice and all of the issues were taken care of but because of the high price they helped me apply for credit through Goodyear. Our **** shows close to $600 being paid at the time of service and we financed $1200 with Goodyear Credit on Sunday December 1st 2013. As I sit here on February 27th we have still yet to receive a **** on that $1200 that was financed. The only reason we are aware of this is because it was reported to the credit agencies that we were seriously delinquent on an account that we have not received a single **** or telephone call about. My address and phone number are on the invoice correctly but there has not been any attempt to contact me and request payment. I don't feel I should be punished for their failure to even attempt to get a payment from me.

Desired Settlement
Other (requires explanation) I would like to receive an actual **** so I can make timely payments and to have the delinquencies removed from my credit score immediately)

Business Response
**** the number to call for any account information is XXX-XXX-XXXX
they can answer any questions you have on your account.

03/31/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I told the service writer that all I wanted done when I bought the tires was to have them mounted and balanced, that was it nothing else. When I got the **** there was a $48.00 charge for nitrogen and a $51.00 charge for TPMS(valve stem censors) when I told him I did not ask for them he told me they were mandatory, which they are not.When I asked for the old ones he said they were thrown away.I called four other tire stores to see if they were mandatory and they all said no.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for the TPMS.

Business Response
I have attached ****'s receipt to show you that the Nitrogen was credited back when he was cashed out. He original signed for it and the TPMS however I guess he changed his mind. Call Americas Tire and you'll see that they ALWAYS rebuild the TPMS on a tire sale.

I **** consider this matter closed.

Thanks,

Page 1 of 3
04/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The negligent of the mechanic who worked on my son's truck could endangered my son's life and caused his death.
My son bought a 2004 Dodge Ram Truck and it needed new tires and other mechanical issues so we took it to Certified Tire on 2/21/2015. They assessed the services to $3175.00. Then we took back the truck on 3/5/2015 for another mechanical issue that was the rear differential bearing that came to $1,190.29. And on 3/6/2015 while my son was driving the truck the driving shaft fell in the middle of the street and he has to call the towing company to tow it to Certified tire. And after he picked up the truck the engine light is on and the truck jerks. When I called the manager said we do not know what happened but what we can do is to fix the shaft at no cost, and hanged up the phone on me. As far as the engine light and the jerking they refused to fix it, and if they do it is going to be at my cost.

Desired Settlement
I request a refund for every single dollar I paid at that place. They were irresponsible and they put my son's life in danger. They almost killed my son with their negligence and improper repair.

Business Response
There was a myriad of problems with this vehicle. The biggest which caused the rear end to go bad was the rear end was replaced and nobody made our shop aware of that. The rear end that came factory with the vehicle was a 3.50...it was replaced by a 3.92.

Certified tire replaced the entire rear end at NO COST to the customer.

If the customer is having check engine light issues, we **** scan for the customer at no charge and pull codes to determine what is wrong with the vehicle.

The work that was done had nothing to do with causing the check engine light to come on however, for customer satisfaction we **** diagnose for no charge. IF a repair is needed though, there **** be an additional charge.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I AM NOT SATISFIED WITH THEIR RESPONSE. IF THEY REALLY CARE FOR CUSTOMER SATISFACTION AND SAFTEY, THEY WOULD CHECK THE TRUCK BEFORE HANDING IT TO THE CUSTOMER AND ENDANGER HIS LIFE. ALSO, THE STORE MANAGER COULD BE MORE POLITE AND NOT TO HANG UP THE PHONE. ALSO, WHEN MY SON TOOK THE TRUCK BACK WHEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, THEY PREFERED TO SERVE OTHER CUSTOMERS AND TOLD MY SON TO BRING THE TRUCK SOME OTHER TIME BECAUSE THEY ARE BUSY, AND SINCE THAT DAY THE TRUCK IS PARKED MY SON IS AFRAID TO DRIVE IT. AND HONSTLY WE LOST THE TRUST TO TAKE THE TRUCK BACK TO THEM. EVEN MY CAR WHICH IS SCHEDULED FOR AN ALIGNMENT, I AM AFRAID TO TAKE IT BACK TO THEM SINCE I BOUGHT THE TIRES FROM THEIR STORE. FINALLY, PUTTING A YOUNG MAN'S LIFE IN DANGER IS NOT A JOKE. HE COULD BE KILLED WHEN THE DRIVE SHAFT FELL WHILE DRIVING IN A BUSY STREET WHICH PROVES THAT THEY DO NOT CARE FOR CUSTOMERS SATISFACTION OR THEIR SAFTEY.

Final Business Response
Certified Tire takes the safety of our customers very seriously. Again, the reason for the rear end failure AND the driveshaft coming out was the rear end was changed and we at Certified Tire did not know this as the customer had not disclosed this fact to us. The bearings that were installed were for a rear end that the VIN code says is in the vehicle.

This repair was made at NO CHARGE to the customer and we stand behind our work. We are willing to address the other concerns that the customer has in regards to the engine light being on and the general run-ability however, if he does not want to return to the store that's his decision.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
MY SON'S LIFE WAS ENDANGERED AND SOMETHING LIKE THIS TO HAPPEN IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY STREET COULD CAUSED A DISASTER. THE SHOP FIXED THE ISSUE AT NO COST BECAUSE THEY KNOW THEY ARE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR CHECKING THE CAR BEFORE HANDING IT TO CUSTOMERS. IF THE MECHANIC DROVE THE TRUCK FOR QUITE SOMETIME HE **** NOTICE THE ISSUE. I STAND BEHIND MY REQUEST FOR A REFUND. MY SON'S LIFE IS PRICELESS.

01/07/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
dishonest practice forcing sales misrepresenting safety mandate
this Tuesday 8/26 I presented a $15 coupon for oil change. CSR **** misrepresented "I'll sign you up for free Goodyear membership giving first oil change free, charging only $3 tax". After my vehicle was drained oil, he misrepresented to me "there is a dent on oil pan, for safety we can't fill oil into damaged pan, you have to replace oil pan". this forced me to mandatory replacing pan in sound service condition at $445. Further to my surprise, instead of membership, I was misrepresented to have unknowingly applied to Goodyear credit card. I ask why it's misrepresented and a un-necessary external pan/container bolt off/on simply task less time consuming than oil change would mandate over $200 labor cost it's unprofessional and dishonest?

Desired Settlement
review/mitigate Goodyear unprofessional dishonestly practice to avoid harming future consumers and advise how this would be accomplished;

refund at least half of the $445 overcharged to me.

thank you for your assistance

Business Response
Mr. **** was NOT misled as he stated on the complaint. The Goodyear application that he signed clearly states at the top of the form "Goodyear Credit Card Application"

As far as the oil pan is concerned, he hit something very hard and big to damage the pan like it was. The salesman took him out to the car to show him and he authorized Certified Tire to replace the pan. Below is the exact verbiage that is on his invoice that we type when given permission to change the pan-

"TOOK CUSTOMER OUT TO THE SHOP AND HE SAID OK TO REPLACE THE ENGINE
OIL PAN"

I would suggest that MR. **** turn this repair **** into his insurance company as he did inadvertently strike something on the road causing this particular damage to his car!


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not sign any credit card application. Is it just mispresentation or now fraudulent signature (challenge shop to provide any image of such app/signature)?

there is no dispute from the shop initial response that:
"After my vehicle was drained oil, he misrepresented to me "there is a dent on oil pan, for safety we can't fill oil into damaged pan, you have to replace oil pan".

is this unprofessional and dishonest? Please update, thank you for the assistance.



Final Business Response
Brenda that application has LONG been sent into Goodyear corporate per company policy. I have attached a copy of what he signed and I assure you he signed and knew full well as there is sensitive information required. I highlighted in yellow where he gave us his social security number as well as where his signature went. Also please note at the top how big the font is where it clearly states " Goodyear Credit Card Application"

Hope this helps on his "confusion" of the circumstances.

Pio


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Deceptive business practice seems not merely isolated. Open questions undisputed and unanswered despite repeated. When can business direct answer consumer open question?

Actice seeking parallel mitigation in both government public service and class auction against this malpractice. Again, any and all assistance from bbb are appreciated.

08/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Their salesman came into my office and sold me 2 Discount Coupons,standard "Free Oil Change" They won't honor it. Say's "No Expiration" on it. Rude...
Their salesman came into my office and sold me a Discount Coupon, a standard "Free Oil Change" coupon that they 'punch' a hole in after each service. This coupon also has discounts for other automobile repairs and services. It says "OVER $450.00 Worth of Quality services for only $39.95. It says "Totally Transferable" and "Call in advance for scheduling" and I did set up an appointment.

I've been sending my vehicles over there for years.... today they told me that the coupon is expired, I showed them, printed on the coupon, where it states "No Expiration!" yes, it has an exclamation mark. The young fellow at the counter said "the coupon is expired anyway". He also said that "the coupon can not be used by a business, no company cars". It doesn't say that on the coupon. He told me to go ahead and call their corporate office! He said "he didn't care if I called the corporate office".

I actually have two coupons, these coupons are different. One say's "Expires On Completion Of All Services" the other say's "Totally Transferable No Expiration!"

I've been sending my company vehicles and my personal vehicles there for years. We get other work done on the vehicles while they are there for the "Free Services".

Bottom line, They came into to my office, at my business, in a large commercial building, so they knew we were a company, right? Now they say "the coupons are expired and they are not for companies".

Desired Settlement
I want them to honor the Coupons.

We also wasted an hour of one of my employees' time dealing with them. They kept my employee standing at their counter while they were deciding not to honor the coupons. I would like to be reimbursed for that hour.

I would like them to acknowledge that they were uncooperative and rude. They should write an appology letter to me and my company.

Business Response
Certified tire did not sell the coupon cards a company called Spectrum did. There is a number printed on the back of the card to call to get his money refunded.
Certified tire considers this matter closed.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been taking my vehicles to their shop for years. Using the two coupons that they sold us. We have been there 13 separate times. Each time they honored their 'Goodyear Certified Tire' coupons by 'punching a hole' in the coupon.

Thirteen separate times? And now they say they are not involved? I should have receipts for all of the services.

When the vehicles are at their shop, they use that to point out different issues with each vehicle. They seem to operate on a 'commission' basis?? The sales people really try to get us to add more repairs when we take the vehicles in which would create higher 'commissions'.

I **** call "Spectrum" the company they referenced and I **** also call "North County Advertising" since they sold us one of the coupons.

08/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Everytime Goodyear perform a repair on my truck another problems occurs and I have to returm several time to get the same problem fix.
CATALYTIC CONVERTER (January 19, 2013)

On January 19 Catalytic Converter and Muffler was replaced. I was driving to work and when I stepped on the gas, it **** make an acceleration noise but the truck was not moving at all. I got it to drive again but it **** only drive below 50 miles an hour. I drove it to Goodyear for repair. They determine that the Catalytic Converter was the problem. When I took my truck out of the Auto shop, my truck was making a very loud noise. The muffler was too loud. I went back and told them that the muffler seems too loud. They told me that it is normal. On March 29, 2014, I found out that an Alternator that was ban for sale ******** 31, 2008 was installed on my truck.

May 6, 2013

My truck was still doing the same thing. I step on the gas. It makes acceleration noise but the car **** not speed up. They replaced Starter Motor.

May 5, 2013

It was doing the same thing.

May 9, 2013

It was doing the same thing. I got it towed to Goodyear.

ALTERNSTOR & RADIATOR COOLANT – (May 13, 2013)

Alternator, serpentine belt, hose clamps, radiator hose, radiator coolant was replaced.

May 24, 2013

The same problem occurred again. It makes acceleration noise but the car **** not speed up.

May 30, 2013
Coolant was leaking. The lower hose clamp was loose.

June 10, 2013

The same problem occurred again. It makes acceleration noise but the car **** not speed up. I was able to drive it to the gas station and got it towed again to Goodyear.

TRANSMISSIONT- (June 13, 2013)

Transmission was replaced. I paid for a new transmission but when I look at the invoice on April 12, 2014, I found out that they installed a refurbished transmission. The manager at that time told me that for refurbished **** have one year warranty but for the new one has 2 -3 years warranty. I paid for new transmission and refurbished was installed.

June 21, 2013

The same problem occurred again. It makes acceleration noise but the car **** not speed up.

July 3, 2013
Check engine came on and I feel the transmission kind of **** when it is shifting gears.

July 9, 2013
Check engine came on and I feel the transmission kind of **** when it is shifting gears. It is still doing the same thing.

July 17, 2013
I notice that my truck was leaking. Hard. Shift cold, and pan gasket was replaced.

July 23, 2013
I hear grinding noise and still leaking.

July 26, 2013
I still hear f=grinding noise and still leaking.


CATALYTIC CONVERTER – (March 29, 2014)

The Catalytic Converter was replaced on January 19, 2013 because when I was driving to work, I stepped on the gas and it does not move. It just made acceleration sound. On March 29, 2014, I went to get a smog check and it failed because they installed a Catalytic Converter that was not legal for sale after 12/31/2008. I called Goodyear and spoke to Dave Warren, Assistant Manager. He said that the Catalytic Converter was no longer under warranty; therefore, he can no longer help but he **** print out the invoice and I **** be the one to contact him directly and deal with Livermore Muffler. I went to Livermore Muffler but I was lost. I called ***** *******, Goodyear Manager; he was nice and helped me getting my muffler replaced. He became our middleman. Livermore Muffler catalytic converter was replaced on April 9, 2014.

ALTERNATOR - April 5, 2014

On April 5, 1014, I went to Goodyear because my car was making a grinding noise. I looked at my engine I saw fresh shavings of metal behind the pulley. Goodyear replaced and removed the bracket. Three days later, April 8, I went to Livermore Muffler. There was a miscommunication with the schedule of the repair. I went back to my truck and my truck **** not start. It seems like every time they work on my truck something goes wrong. This time the truck **** not start at all. Livermore Muffler employee charged my battery because it was dead. I went directly to Goodyear to have them looked at. According to t

Desired Settlement
I want a refund on my transmission rapairs, Alternator repairs, tow charges, and stress that they inflect on me by just giving up on repairing my truck. I have known that they **** give up on the repair, I would have not invested $8000. I could have gone somewhere else.

Business Response
**** is a good customer of ours. Going through the records I do not show all the dates that **** recorded however, the main thing is to get him taken care of. **** needs to return to the shop where we can inspect the car of the issues that he is speaking of. I have talked to the store manager about this and **** email **** the same thing...take the car in.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If Goodyear could not find all the records, I **** provide all the records. I have all the invoices and I was provided a printout of the my car history by Goodyear's manager. If you like me to post a pdf copy of it I ****. The Alternator that was replaced three times and was not repaired by Goodyear as they have given up. The responce I got from the manger after the Alternator was replaced the third time and still **** not start, "I don't know what else to tell you. My mechanic thinks its a wiring issue." and they are not capable to repairing my truck. and I have no choice but to go somewhere else. My truck was repaired by another auto shop. It was not the Alternator at all. All that it requires was a tune-up. Part replaced: Spark Plugs, Air Filter, Fill Filter, EGR Valvue, O2 Sensors, and gas filter. How can I bring my truck for them to inspect when it was already repaired by someone else. However, my transmission is leaking fluid and the pan gasket must be replaced. And I believe my tire is under warranty and want that replaced also. If these things are replaced, would be awesome. Bureau of Automotive Repair is also aware of my complaints about the Alternator fiasco. I just want to resolve this amicably. I hope that you do to.

Final Business Response
Refund was given to **** for the alternator that was installed. Certified Tire now considers this complaint closed

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I still need to replace the missing cover to the front passenger, after this taken cared of, then I **** consider the case close. Otherwise, leave case open.

07/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Given a package deal to fix warning indicator issue along with a list of issues they found. Not notified on issues not fixed. Refused fix or refund.
Went there for an oil change and fix the warning indicator of rear lights on 6/7/2014. During checking they found several other issues. Talked over the phone and I told I don't want to invest because it is an old car and planned to trade in for a new car if there is anything expensive to fix. They convinced me they can fix all and gave me a package deal for all mentioned fixes at a cost of $925. I agreed to proceed.
I picked up the car and paid $925 at the end of day. Nobody told me that something is not fixed.
Found at the night that the warning indicator is still on. Went back on 6/9 (Monday), the manager on duty (*****) told me he forgot to tell me the problem when I picked up the car, but they were busy that today and asked me to bring it back on Tue. I dropped by again on Tue (6/10) and they checked and tried to replace the rear light bulbs, but didn't work. They told me it is possibly an electrical problem of the cable in the trunk, and they don't do electrical fixes. I argued about their promise and the package deal and were told they cannot help me.
I went there again on Wed (6/11) to catch the store manager (***). He asked me to bring the car back for further checkup. I took the car there on Sat (6/14). *** did the checking himself and tell me it is for sure an electrical fail and they are incapable of fixing it. I requested for either a fix or deduction. He rejected saying they have put a line in the statement that the warning indicator issue is not fixed and they didn't change me anything for it. It turned out that they did put a line there and remove this problem from list to fix in the itemized cost list and overall cost is still $925. They told finally they cannot do anything for me and the "conversation is over".
Here is a summary of what they did wrong here:
1. They misled customer to spend on the issue they cannot fix.
2. They failed to fulfil their commitment to fix all issues in the package deal.
3. They failed to notify customer properly after failed to commit to the agreement
4. They refused to resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement
1. Fixed the issue, or
2. ** they are incapable of fixing it, I can go the dealer to fix and they deduct what the dealer charges from my payment, or
3. $465 deduction from my payment for the fix and time wasted on this.

Listed in the order of preferences.

Business Response
Mr. Li's was notified of the repairs needed to fix his car and agreed to the repairs. The package deal that he speaks of was for the repairs made meaning, that the manager authorized the repairs to be made for a specific price. The repair Mr. Li speaks of is a back-up bulb that is supposed to come on when the vehicle is in reverse. The store put a new back up bulb in the vehicle however there is a short in the car not and we do NOT do electrical repair.

This was very clearly noted on the invoice and Mr. Li was never misled about anything.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The package deal includes all the mentioned issues including the warning indicator of rear lights. As a customer, I don't know what the problem is and what they can do or cannot do.

When I agreed to proceed with the fix, this problem is part of it. Nobody told me that they cannot fix this issue at the time, and when I picked up my car and paid.

They do have a line in the invoice that they didn't fix it, but I was not notified until I found the problem myself and visited the store again.

This is definitely a mislead and they failed to fulfill the agreement.


Final Business Response
We are in a circular argument. The package price that the customer speaks of was for the work that was done on the vehicle and was approved by the customer to be done. The customer was shown that there is a short at the back of the car preventing the bulb from lighting. He was NOT charged for the bulb, nor was that repair part of the "package" price that the customer speaks of simply because we don't get into electrical shorts or work of that kind!

There **** be no further correspondence regarding this issue. Certified Tire considers this matter closed!

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tire Dealers

Additional Information

top

Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable, but not guaranteed as to its accuracy. The BBB has not verified information including, but not limited to: business start date, ownership, licensing, and registration (if applicable). BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

Business started: 11/01/1997
Business Category

Tire Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Certified Tire & Service, Certified Tire & Service Center, Certified Tire and Service Centers, Inc., Certified Tire Center, Certified Tires, Goodyear, Goodyear Certified Tire & Service Center, Goodyear Tire Center, Rynck Tire

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Certified Tire & Service Centers, Inc.

1875 Iowa Avenue

Riverside, CA 92507

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Certified Tire & Service Centers, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (760) 242-4005
  • (714) 636-2263
  • (909) 822-0549
  • (858) 552-1235
  • (951) 343-8535
  • (951) 656-6466
  • (760) 241-8802
  • (714) 593-6161
  • (909) 946-1968
  • (951) 849-5028
  • (714) 828-5990
  • (619) 670-7001
  • (619) 440-3831
  • (858) 274-5420
  • (951) 653-6800
  • (888) 978-4737
  • (951) 243-5655
  • (760) 948-2405
  • (510) 523-2900
  • (510) 886-9500
  • (925) 363-5900
  • (925) 833-9700
  • (925) 455-4330
  • (925) 462-4900
  • (925) 734-3444
  • (925) 944-8174
  • (925) 846-8018
  • (858) 452-7370
  • (510) 886-1637
  • (858) 573-8473
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Tire Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.