BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/27/2001

Carroll's Tire Warehouse, Inc.

Phone: (559) 781-5040Fax: (559) 781-5218

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
05/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Technician carelessness and damage caused to vehicle due to oil filter being left loose and "courtesy" adjustment of what was said to be the issue 1st
On X-XX-XX I visited this location for an oil change and alignment service , Within a week and a half I had to return to this location due to the tech leaving the oil filter loose and all of my oil had drained from the motor, they promptly apoligized and re did the serice claiming it was a different issue that had caused the oil filter to come loose but out of courtesy had fixed it for me. Less then a week passes ** after this encounter and driving down clovis ave my car stalls and wont start back up, checked it out all over and again oil filter looser then last time and 0 oil left in car, was late for work and had to tow car home and fixed it myself. Now a 3rd incidient after me putting the filter on myself and filling oil with the same issue oil filter loose and all oil is gone and the head of motor was close to seizing at this time, now when the problem was fixed the tech claimed it was the turbo oil cooler adapter plate was loose and that was reason for the filter coming loose and fixed for me as a courtesy. ive never once had this issue with the oil filter and have had the problem ongoing ever since the tech from this business performed my services. I dont know exactly what can be done or will be done but all i want is my car properply fixed and ensured that an experienced technician be performing the service.

Desired Settlement
i would like an engine check to see if any extensive damage to head has been caused and the turbo oil cooler adapter plate to be looked at throughlly or replaced if damaged was caused by negligince . all damages caused to motor etc due to this issue i am requesting to be replaced.

Business Response
Due to the Clovis location being no longer open, we will be happy to have the customer go to our Hanford location and they will check over the vehicle. We are sorry about any inconvenience that this has caused.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I've only drivn the car in town since the last incident and has costed me $75 or more in oil and 3 replacement filters as well. I'm requesting a refund of $86.47 for the amount in which was paid to the clovis store for the service and 37.22 for the oil and oil filter that I had to purchase while stranded due to oil being depleted from car. I have the origanal sales reciepts for refunds I'm requesting. I will be using the refund towards paying another shop to look at vehicle.

Final Business Response
To resolve this issue we have sent the customer a check in the amount of 123.69 on 4/24/14.

06/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
my tire was wearing on the outside shoulder from hitting a curb i took it to carrolls within a couple thousand miles my tires were worn on the front

the sales rep was the owner of the store my truck needed an front end alignment i had just purchased new tires front and back and the tires had more than twenty thousand miles on them left i was told that i needed new tires and that he the owner would sell me some new tires i informed the owner that i had just bought new tires but just needed an alignment on the front. there was wear on the outside of the front right tire of my truck. he informed me after he had the truck aligned that the truck would pull to one side because of the wear of the one tire that was misaligned. i payed with my credit card visa bank card. i just had the two tires that were on the front replaced with new ones two hundred and ten dollars i had to spend because he purposely misaligned my tires to try to get me to buy tires from him i drove over nothing but flat surfaces and hit no potholes or did no off roading or ran off any curb or hit any curb driving over normal conditions my truck is not an offroad veichle. the company i had an coupon and i was recomended from another place i payed 49.00 for a front end alignment the tires i bought brand new cost me 105.00 a piece brand new i went back into carrolls and talked to him told him what happened and asked for the money back or i was going to file an complaint and that it would only make his company look bad he said to go ahead because he had the alignment specs which showed it was aligned but was clearly not the truth according to americas tires which told me that the wear was on the outside edges and needed to be realigned and that the tires needed to be replaced because the alignmenbt was clearly off. this has happened to me many times with other tire shops brake masters is the only place that has done it correctly i just recently started to file complaints i have wasted hun dreds of dollars on many shops in bakersfield by being overcharged or by people just not serviceing the car or truck correctly the guy dosent care about service or customer service or customer satisfaction he said so himself when he wouldnt refund my money

Desired Settlement
i would like the 49.00 and the two hundred and ten dollars back that i spent on the new tires atleast the refund for the service but **** just deny everything and i wont get anything so **** just lose my buisness and get a complaint filed against him on the bbb which obviously he does not care otherwise he would have handled my complaint so it shows he dosent care i feel sorry for him cause he has no buisness ethics he s not someone i want to do buisness with or anyone like him

Business' Initial Response
We are sorry that the customer feels this way. Our aligner is computerized and is difficult to do incorrectly. We did not sell this customer any tires therefore, we are willing to refund the customer $49.95 for the alignment for customer satisfaction. We here at Carroll's Tire Warehouse are not in the practice of misinforming the customer of any alignments. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.

12/03/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/20/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/05/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
08/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Late Oct 2012, I went to tire shop to get a tire repair on 2008 Cadillac. Original tires on car were swapped out and replaced with lower grade tires.
Oct 31, 2012, I went to tire shop to get a tire (BF Goodrich brand) repair on front passenger tire with on 2008 Cadillac CTS (owned for 2 years, tires were brand new). Repair was needed for patching of the tire due to running over a screw, cost was $17.95 invoice #XXXXXX. When repaired, store noted on reciept that the repaired tire had sealant (fix-o-flat). Im claiming that the original tires on car were swapped out and replaced with lower grade tires (Nexen Brand). Bringing this to attention of store manager *****, he agreed to help me and advised me to call corporate. I called ***** (store manager in Porterville) he said his crew does not operate a chop shop and I should call the police to further an investigation. Later back in Clovis, CA when asked the tire store to in fact remove the tire from the rim that had been fixed to show me that they in fact repaired that specific tire there was a patch however no sealnt present. A photo was taken my myself. Since the original tire repair, the tires have been rotated for regular maintenance at locall Jiffy Lube in February 2013. Recently realizing that I might need new tires is when I noticed that my original tires are not of those that are on my vehicle. I voiced to ***** and to ***** that I did insepect their repair due to me trusting that they would take care of their customers. I asked Carrolls to help me in this matter since they've been whos helped me with my car since I've owned it. They gave me a quote for brand new tires and sent me on my way. The quote was for 4 brand new BF Goodrich Advantage TA tires ATD 235/55R17 99H @ $624.27.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a cash settlement for the full price of the tires as listed on BF Goodrich tire website listed as part #05491, size 235/55R17 99 H, priced at $166 per tire totaling $664.00.

Business' Initial Response
On October 31, 2012 we performed a flat repair on the customer's tire. We patched the tire and we noted on the invoice that tire has sealer. At no time do we ever use a sealer like fix a flat. We do not even carry it at any of your 10 locations. We acknowledge that she returned to the Clovis location 8 months after that date. As requested by the customer, we dismounted the tire and showed her the patch we had previously installed. We deny that we removed all of the customer's original tires and replaced them with a tire that was of a different brand. She claims she had her tires rotated at JiffyLube in February 2013. She claims she only recently noticed that the tires were not what she believed to have been her original tires.

Our records show only ONE invoice, that of the October 31, 2012 flat repair. IF we had replaced her tires we would have had other records. If her car was purchased in 2008 then her tires were approximately 4 years old (when she came in for the flat repair) and there would have been NO incentive for us to fraudulently remove and replace those tires.

We quoted her a fair market price to replace her tires. We felt the customer was served in a satisfactory manner and that we are under no further obligation to her.
Thank You

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The year of the vehicle is 2008, it was purchased in 2011, and in fact their are 2 invoices for separate service dates. I have a photo from the dealership of my vehicle with brand new tires showing the paint on treads on them. On 6/25/2013 I purchased a set of 4 brand new tires from a different company. Employee mentioned tires were in need of an upgrade. I explained that these were not my original tires and asked the when replacing the tires to please remove the tires and do not dispose of them so that could take them home along with rim weights on 2 rims indicating they have been balanced after being swapped. On upon inspection of old tires that have been replace, there in fact was no sealant on the repaired tire indicating that they were not in fact my original tires. Clovis store manager noted originally on the invoice that there was sealant on right front tire, which in fact I did use fix o flat in order to drive my vehicle to the shop for repair. From the Since my original repair in October 2012, Jiffy Lube was in fact the only place that has touched my vehicle and they only rotated my tires. A worker from Carroll's said it may be possible that someone could have swapped my tires in my driveway, and having patches on the tires could be just a coincidence.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tire Dealers, Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies, Auto Repair & Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.