BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central California and Inland Empire Counties

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/13/2005

Bakersfield Pool Plastering

Phone: (661) 588-1688Fax: (661) 588-228812700 Jomani Dr, BakersfieldCA 93312-3449

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/13/2005

BBB has determined that Bakersfield Pool Plastering meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bakersfield Pool Plastering's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: We did not receive clear and precise instructions on how to achieve maximum contract agreement result. Little to no customer service follow up

New finished color quartz completed May 2012.The entire pool was gray. Service Tech came by the house for first 30 days,never came when my husband was home,talk to my husband once on phone about calcium levels being high,then called my husband back and said it was fine. We were told to brush pool everyday,the more we brushed the more the blue quartzs would come though. From May to August 2012we brushed pool 2 to 3 times a day and only a few spots of blue quartzs was showing in the 8ft end the rest of the pool was still gray.We continued to brush pool has we were told
August 2012 though October 2012 Still only a few spots of quartz showing and only in the deep end.
After winter when no more blue quartz was showing though to surface,we called Bakersfield Pool Plastering and they sent someone out about a week later. I showed them the blue spots that where in the deep end only,service person told my husband that the blue spots were "scale" and the gray was the pool correct finished color,then he got some sandpaper and sanded the blue spot and it would not come off. He came a second time with new sand paper said again that the blue spots where "scale" and they would not come off,and the entire gray pool was the correct color. If thats the case then where is our "blue quartz" we paid for thousands of dollars for? On third visit another person came and said the pools chemicals were low and the calcium levels where high and that caused the gray color and it was all our fault. I told him that the pool was the same color gray when it was finished in May 2012. The owner said he will not,fix the problem. He did send out a service person to test the pool. And sent out people to acid wash the pool,very little blue came though,but they also sanded several spots in the shallow end by pool steps (which where all gray before)they sanded about a two foot square spot,a round spot on floor of pool. It looks bad, all this gray and now two big spot areas,looks terrible and blotchy. Owner refuses to work with us on a solution to getting what we paid in good faith and we paid in full of $8106.00
"Bakersfield Pool Pastering is the experts",we are not, the instructions we where given hurriedly and never gone over with us,to our clear understanding. We sweep the pool has instructed
for a year, with little results. I called and talked to the owner in May 2012 He stated it was all our fault not his company's I asked if the mixture of plaster and quartzs was correct? and
We did not get proper instructions on care of pool,we brushed the pool like we were told and the quartz has not appeared per contract?
We where told the blue was scale and the gray was the correct color three times by his people? I contacted pool chemical companies,and was told the chemicals where not the cause of the quartz not showing though and that the plastering job was the problem.
I have called the owner aleast 3 times and left messages, have not received a call back on resolving this issue.

Business' Initial Response
This letter is in regards to your swimming pool that has discolored and lost its original shade of blue. As per our conversation, after testing the pool water chemistry, we have determined the change of color was due to extreme conditions of water chemistry.
At this point, we know you did not intend to maintain an unbalanced pool. In retrospect, we should have spent more time helping you understanding how to maintain your pool after the initial start up was complete. But also acknowledge the abnormal discoloration isn™t a defect in product, but the extreme environment it was subjected to.
In good faith, it is important for Bakersfield Pool Plastering to keep in good standing. We™ve given you two options to resolve this matter: resurfacing of your pool or $1500 rebate. You have chosen the $1500 rebate as an accepted resolution to this matter. All warranties, except color discoloration, will still apply for the given amount of time.
Deposit of this check will be accepted of final resolution to this unfortunate matter.

Consumer's Final Response
An agreement has been made. We chose to take the refund.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/06/1983Business started: 01/01/1982
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr
Sacramento, CA95827-1703
(800) 321-2752
http://www.cslb.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 350767 for this company, issued by Contractors State License Board. Their web address is http://www.cslb.ca.gov.

Type: Contractors State License Board

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1982, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kirt Campbell (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Christie Watson
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Products & Services

This company offers swimming pool remodeling and new construction plastering.

Alternate Business Names
Capri Pools, Inc.
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
In-Ground Swimming Pools Can Be a Major Investment

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bakersfield Pool Plastering

12700 Jomani Dr

Bakersfield, CA 93312-3449

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 12700 Jomani Dr 

    Bakersfield, CA 93312-3449

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bakersfield Pool Plastering is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

In-Ground Swimming Pools Can Be a Major Investment
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.