BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/12/2010

Regency Property Management

Phone: (559) 221-3113Fax: (559) 225-3174331 W Shields Ave, FresnoCA 93705-4106

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/12/2010

BBB has determined that Regency Property Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Regency Property Management's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Regency Property Management

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
02/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

invoice monthly statement needed.
Regency Property Management assumed financial management Services for Shaw Creek Homeowner's Association effective December 31st, 2014. I sent what I assumed is the correct amount for our association maintenance fee for JANUARY 1, 2015. I also sent a check for the assumed correct maintenance fee for February 1, 2015. I still have not received a statement or invoice or payment coupon for January or February, 2015. I normally pay my bills on time, but I get the impression that Regency Property management does't care whether the funds are paid or not. I have lived at this location since 1978 as the ownder. The association was well run when it was done by the board of Directors but has continously gone downhill since a management unit was hired and every time a new one is hired it seems to just get worse.

Desired Settlement
Just need to receive a statement of how my maintenance fee account stands in at least 15 days before the new month payment is due.

Business Response
January 29, 2015

***** ****
**** ** ****** *** ****
****** ** XXXXX

PROPERTY ADDRESS: **** ** ****** ****** **** ****** ** XXXXX

Dear *****,

I am in receipt of your letter dated January 29, 2015;

In regards to the monthly statements:

The payment coupons were mailed out on January 27, 2015; from our office. This was stated in the letter we mailed out on 12/19/14. Please in the future contact my office directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. My name is **** ***** and I am your property supervisor for your Homeowner Association (Shaw Creek). BBB is for consumers that need resolution of a dispute; however, needing a statement or a coupon booklet doesn't fall as a dispute. As a reminder, we meet monthly on the last Monday of each month at the clubhouse to go over Homeowner business.

I hope to see you at our next meeting in February.

The company aims to consistently deliver a professional service to our customers. I hope I have answered all your questions or concerns. If you have any other questions or comments, please feel free to contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX ext102.


**** *****
Regency Property Management

11/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I asked for my rent recipes. They haven't gave them to me for months.putting work orders in an management her name is ***** on 9/28/14
Bad managemen
I talked to the owner his names **** .things are okay now but ***** his employer is harassing me an I already spoke with her
Boss but she is so rood very unprofessional . My son got shocked by stove I have her on recording sayn"bla bla bla I don't care im not fixing nothing she putting notices on my dooreevery day I never had any problem before until she took over the apartments where I stay an now I have a 60day notice she is very unprofessional .the business is terrible . Im be honest I had to call city on them because im living in an unsanitary apt with my children . An the doing half maintenance work like the city said my things still are not being fixed . The management ***** is not professional some one needs to double check that business again they are very rood all the women yell at people. An do things on there time there other property owners that act professional.this company NO NEED LOOK INTO THAT MORE PLEASE THERE SUPPOSED TO TREAT THERE TENITS RIGHT WITH RESPECT .

Desired Settlement
The settlement between I an the owners witch are **** an **** was that im able to stay here untill I move out on 11/2/14 but ***** the women that rent out there's units is not liking that to well an she tryn her best to get me an my 4 children out .
I dont understand her problem but she's very unprofessional an there business should fix that . An be professional licensed management company like there supposed to

Business Response
I am in receipt of your letter dated, October 10, 2014; with e Better Business Bureau.

In acknowledgment of the items you mention in your letter:

In regards to receipts, this is the first time hearing of this request; therefore, I have attached a tenant ledger to this response.
In regards to the stove, this is the first time hearing anything regarding the stove; however, I have put a work order in regarding the stove. This service order was called out to Rubio's Appliances, as of today. This is the same company that check the Fridge and found the fridge was turned off.
In regards to the City of Fresno, we have not had any communication with them as of now, on this property or this unit.
Tenant was asked to vacate within 3 days due to guest(s) behavior in our office lobby. Unfortunately, we will not tolerate hostile, aggressive, and threatening behavior from any tenants guest. Tenants family came into managements office and a incident happened therefore, the tenant has been asked to vacate. We will not allow or tolerate this behavior. We understand the tenant feels this is all because of *****, however, that is incorrect. This is because people do not know how to handled themselves in a professional manner. The owner of the property is not **** ****** or **** ****** we manage for many investors and no one is harassing the tenant. The tenant has been served a 3 day notice to quit due to father in law video taping children on the property without parents consent, plus unauthorized guest living in apartment without managements approval. Tenants have until 10/13/14 to vacate from the premises. Originally, tenants were served a 60 day notice to vacate due to fathers behavior and actions that took place in managements office. However, since then they were served a 3 day to quit for the other specious items that took place on the property 10-10-14.

Consumer Response
From my understanding I called plenty of times to get my rent receipts .still haven't received them
Yes I did get my stove . That was a work order I put in a long time ago . Yes my children turned off my refrigerator. Thank you for that . As for city of fresno I don't understand how you haven't an I received my copy of letter witch was on October 8,2014 his name is john f outfleet you can contact him at XXXXXXXXXX case #14_XXXXXXXX an from my regards **** told me he was the owner or I would have never said that I did go in the office spoke to.adam an he said I payed my rent for October I do not have to leave . Its a 60 day notice to terminate my tenancy that was the agreement with **** an I . Betty I understand but there should have ben no reason for her harassing me I do apologize for my father in law but these are his grandchildren an to see them hot for a month an no cooler it hurted us . **** did say a threat I made a police report an the case # is 14bm6753 video taping children there in high school an it was one kid his father was in the background of the video he ovisly didn't mind it . Since then we stopped we just told on 10/10/14 on the property that the onsite management should pick up the broken beer bottles on the property because my son cut his foot beer bottles ben broke out there for months .
But like I said the settlement between **** an I was that he hears nothing else an for me to leave the property with in the 60 days . An the settlement between adam an I was that I still can stay for October do to I still payed my rent for that unit in October an just to be out with in the 60 days . Its just about the women in the office to be professional people an even if others or tenants go in there acting some way they shouldn't act like them neither . Thats it thank you for your time . I will be out . Ofthat unit as soon as possible .

Final Business Response
I am in response to the consumer's response on October 20, 2014. The City of Fresno is reinspecting the property on 10/28/14, and the following exterior items will be done and in compliance. Our office has been in contact with the City.
Consumer has been contacted and was informed verbally and in writing tenancy will end the last day in October (XX-XX-XXXX). The agreement is no eviction will commenced if tenant vacates the premises before or on Friday, October 31, 2014. Tenant is still owning rents in the amount of $265.00. A customer ledger was mailed to the tenant on 10-13-14. However, I have mailed another copy on 10-20-14.
Management, thanks the tenant for her cooperation with this matter and will patiently await for keys to be turned in.
Thank you,

09/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Yes I put a deposit down on a place and I had ten bussness days to change my mind and I did that left two e mails and a voice message to cancel this contract and they have just ignored me
Product_Or_Service: deposit on 540 north fultun ave

Desired Settlement
To get my $250.00 dollars deposit back in a timely matter

Business Response
I am in receipt to your letter dated August 21, 2014, regarding Security deposit.

A Itemized Disposition of Security Deposit was sent out on August 27, 2014. A check was enclosed for the amount of $160.00 check number # 5131. I have attached for your review the Itemized Disposition of Security Deposit, a signed holding deposit agreement, and a email from Ms. ******* stating she is no longer interested in the property.

In response to Ms. *******'s claim she has 10 days to change her mind is incorrect. Please refer to the holding deposit agreement form. This form clearly states failure to enter into rental agreement and the consequences. There is no cooling off period once you sign the agreement, unfortunately. The unit was pulled off the market for Ms. ******* and therefore, there is lost rental damages.

Ms. ******* was charged for 5 days of prorated rent from her security deposit for the time the unit was off the market. I am requesting this case to be closed.

Please do not hesitate to contact me with any additional questions or concerns.

Thank you,
**** *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
i never sigened a contract stating that iwill see them in court i never lived in that unit and i will not accept the the check he sent please advise **** not never call me again or i will get a restraing order against him **** has been harssening me at all hours of the day and night

Final Consumer Response
Please tell **** ****** to stop calling and harassing me and my friends
A restraining order will be obtained should this harassment continue

08/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

It has been 90 days since I turned in my keys and I have not received my deposit or itemized statement of charges for keeping deposit.
I turned my keys in 11/19/2013 and was told my account would be settled in 21 days. After 25 days I called and was told my check had been sent on 12/10. When I asked about a statement of deductions I was told they didn't normally send those out so I requested a copy. Two more weeks passed *** so I called again this time I was told it was never sent because they didn't have my zip code. This was untrue my new address with zip code is clearly printed on my 30 day notice that they made me a copy of when I turned it in plus they have always had my phone number if there were any address issues. Once again I was told it would be mailed. It has been over 90 days I have still not received anything from them.

Desired Settlement
They are in violation of California civil code 1950.0 section G. and I would like my full deposit back.

Business Response
Hi Charlene Paez, Complaint Specialist

Re: case # XXXXXXXX

I am in receipt to your letter dated February 25, 2014, regarding **** ******* Security deposit.

A Itemized Disposition of Security Deposit was sent out on December 10, 2013. A check was enclosed for the amount of $310.00 check number # 9530. As of today, I am showing the check hasn't cleared our bank. The itemized disposition was mailed to the following address: 905 Inyo Street Fresno, CA 93706. I have attached for your review showing the date and the address we mailed the check and the forms too.

I will put a stop payment on this check today, and reissue a check to him. I would like him to pick it up here at our office, first thing in the morning. This will assure me he gets the check. Our address has changed we are now located at: 331 W. Shields Ave Fresno, CA 93705.

Please change our address within your business too.

I am requesting this case to be closed once he picks the check up.

Please do not hesitate to contact me with any additional questions or concerns.


**** ***** - BRE#XXXXXXXX
Regency Property Management
331 W. Shields Ave
Fresno, Ca 93705

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Once again this company is refusing to send the requested material violating civil code 1950.5 and acting in bad faith. They knew in December I had not received the check or statement but did not resend either of them upon request. They knew in January I still had not received them and this time when I requested it they said they would stop payment and reissue the check then but did not. Now they are saying they have just reissued the check in March but won't mail it. I have asked multiple times for the statement to be mailed separate from the check but that was not done. So, yes I said I would consult a lawyer if the BBB could not resolve my issue but I have never said I wouldn't cash a check. Regardless of the check the statement was held back after multiple requests. The civil code 1950.5 states that the statement and remaining balance of deposit should be personally delivered or mailed 1st class to guarantee delivery. If they had done this when the check was allegedly mailed on December 10th they wouldn't have this problem. Someone clearly did not do there job correctly and they have been dishonest with me and the BBB trying to cover up there mistakes.

Final Business Response

I am in receipt to your letter dated April 14, 2014 regarding **** *******'s security deposit. This is the fourth letter concerning this case number and considering the fact that both parties already agreed to an adjustment in the security deposit resulting in an additional refund of $590.00, I will make this our last communication on this matter.
Mr. ******* was contacted by our company on April 3, 2014 and spoke to our company President **** ****** regarding his dispute of charges against his security deposit. Mr. ****** agreed to refund Mr. ******* an additional $590.00, making a grand total of $900.00, in security deposit refunds. Mr. ******* verbally accepted this offer and requested that we send him a check for the additional amount. Check #XXXXX was issued and mailed to Mr. ******* on April 3, 2014. We believed this matter to be closed at that point. Mr. ******* has yet to cash this check and is now asking for additional funds. We feel we have been more than generous in his deposit refund and we will not be disbursing any more funds. We have dealt with this matter fairly and have acted in good faith. If Mr. ******* does not either cash the refund check #XXXXX by April 30, 2014 or return it to our office by April 30, 2014, we will cancel the check and revoke our offer. If Mr. ******* cashes refund check #XXXXX we will consider the tenant wholly satisfied and will consider this matter closed. Either way, we won't be responding, and quite frankly, wasting our valuable time trying to answer a litany of nonsensical accusations such as complaining about the cleaning vendor's invoice when the cleaning charges were waived for Mr. *******. We don't feel the need to waste more time on this matter.


Gina Means


Regency Property Management
331 W. Shields Ave
Fresno, Ca XXXXX

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like to point out that the attachment with the response from Regency on 3/3/2014 shows that the address on the envelope that was mailed to me has no zip code and this is probably the reason it was never received. And yet Regency claimed in their 3/11/2014 response that I refused to cash the check and then in their 3/19/2014 response claims I discarded the check. How could I discard a check that was never received due to Regency's inability to address an envelope properly. This is an example of Regency's bad business practices and dishonesty.

Now that I have received the statement, 100 days past the 21 day due date, I have been able to review it and understand now why they tried to withhold it.

First it contains only two receipts:
-$140.00 for cleaning services. Civil code 1950.5 states that all receipts must contain name, address and phone number for business or entity contracted for work plus a reasonable description of work done, time spent and the reasonable hourly rate charged. The hand written receipt contains only a barely legible name and total amount charged.
-$100.00 for full service cleanup and maintenance date of service 12/1/2014. The lawns were mowed 2 days before vacating so maintenance done 12 days after is not my responsibility. And there is no breakdown of charges on the receipt so I don't know what is being charged for maintenance and what is being charged for clean up.

Second the summary statement is supposed to include itemized estimate for materials, labor and supplies for work not completed within 21 days of vacating. The total estimate is for $850.00 but the only actual itemized repairs are:
-Bathroom faucet parts $39.00 labor $40.00
-Toilet flush valve parts $15.00 labor $30.00
-Electrical outlets 2x $25.00
-Doorknob $35.00
Totaling $209.00
I dispute these charges, they all fall under normal wear and tear. Leaky faucets, running toilets and faulty electrical on a 74 year old house is not the tenants responsibility. As for the back doorknob it never worked right, although I doubt it was the original from 1940 it was still old and falls under normal wear and tear.

The rest of the items on the statement have no prices quoted for labor, material or supplies and do not comply with civil code 1950.5.

-Touch up paint. No dispute but no price quote.
-Trash removal upstairs. I dispute this. The so called trash was a pile of curtain rods light covers, outlet covers and other accessories for hanging shelves and miscellaneous items that was removed for painting and never re-hung previous to my tenancy. Also any trash removal should have been included in the cleaning services allegedly done on 1/2/2014. So they are trying to double charge for one service.
-Removed broken screen upstairs. I dispute this. The screens in the house are the original wood frame screens from 1940 and have dry rot and termite damage that was painted over. The upstairs one literally falling apart, 74 years of wear and tear.
-Tighten towel rack (seriously) I dispute this is normal wear and tear.
-Replace light switches. I dispute this. The tenant is not responsible old or faulty electrical due to normal wear and tear.
-Replacing batteries in 2 smoke detectors and 1 CO2 alarm. I don't dispute this but no price was listed.
-12 outlet covers. I dispute this the outlet covers were never put back on after the house was painted sometime prior to my tenancy and were in the so called pile of trash that was removed from upstairs.
-2 Kitchen cabinet handles. I dispute this one handle was only hanging by one screw when I moved in and the other was missing.
-Caulking sink. I dispute this it falls under normal wear and tear.
-Caulking holes in floor. I dispute this I am not responsible for termite damage on 74 year old hardwood floors or the drill holes made from a cable or satellite company installation done for a previous owner or tenant. I had satellite
installed in one room only and the installation was done using pre-existing holes.

The total estimate is $850.00 but there is only $209.00 in actual itemized prices this leaves a $641.00 discrepancy.

Regency is asserting bad faith claims against me and retained my deposit for damages and defective conditions that preexisted my tenancy and for ordinary wear and tear that occurred during my tenancy and the cumulative effects of ordinary wear and tear during multiple tenancies.

I am demanding a refund of $1090.00 in addition to the $310.00 already returned.
-$641.00 That is not itemized or accounted for in the summary statement that is not in compliance with civil code 1950.5..
-$209.00 For items in the summary that fall under ordinary wear and tear.
-$100.00 For yard maintenance that is not my responsibility.
$140.00 For cleaning services with a receipt that also does not comply with civil code 1950.5.

09/02/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/19/1997Business started: 01/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95815-5149
(877) 373-4542

BBB records show a license number of 01074711 for this company, issued by Bureau of Real Estate. Their web address is

Type: Real Estate

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: October 1989, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Hardie (President)Customer Contact: Gina Dobson (Vice President)
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Regency Property Management, WA Funding INC
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Regency Property Management

331 W Shields Ave

Fresno, CA 93705-4106

To | From


1 Locations

  • 331 W Shields Ave 

    Fresno, CA 93705-4106Fax: (559) 225-3174

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Regency Property Management is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Property Management


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.