BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/19/2011

Oak Tree Property Management

(559) 298-3535516 Bullard Ave, ClovisCA 93612-1101

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/19/2011

BBB has determined that Oak Tree Property Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Oak Tree Property Management's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Oak Tree Property Management

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Oak Tree charged our lease deposit over $1300.00 for items they did not afford us the opportunity to remedy.
Oak Tree's inspector took a total of approximately 30 minutes (it was more like 25) for our initial walk through. The inspector stated his job was to point out ALL of the deficiencies he could so we would have an opportunity to remedy them. The inspector did not step one foot in the backyard. He stood from the kitchen breakfast nook window and noted the leaning fence in the backyard. The inspector said the place looked in relatively good shape and he did not have much to report. The inspector showed us the list and stated “I will not add ANYTHING to this list”. This would lead ANY reasonable person to believe that barring one or two small items he may have missed that his list is was what would be on the final inspection. There was NOTHING in the house, in the garage, in the backyard or anywhere that would have hindered the inspector from identifying the deficiencies that our deposit was charged for. Any reasonable person would assume that the inspector was competent and was well aware of what the Final Inspection would entail. Any reasonable person would have listened to your inspector, looked at the list of items, compared those items to the original move in check list, and felt safe turning in the keys.
Not only does all of the above hold true but we have receipts to prove we paid a professional cleaner $200 to come in AFTER we had already cleaned the place to make sure everything was up to par. On our original move in checklist the place was absolutely filthy. Grease, grime, dust and even miscellaneous items in some cabinets. We have receipts from Coit Carpet cleaning that proves we had professional carpet cleaners come in and clean the carpet. This proves that we as tenants were responsible in our move out process. This proves that even though we moved into a filthy house we left the house in better condition than when we leased it. This corroborates our claim that if we would have been afforded an opportunity to remedy deficiencies we would have remedied ALL OF THEM.

There are references to the "initial inspection" in California Civil Code 1950.5 that state the initial inspection should give the tenants an idea of what deficiencies they need to remedy. According to the California Department of Consumer Affairs the initial inspection should do the same. There are also laws governing a landlord's responsibility for returning the deposit and regulations on inspections. If Oak Tree did not violate this law explicitly they certainly violated the spirit of the law and did not act in good faith

Desired Settlement
I am seeking $1031.50. This is the amount that I was charged for deficiencies that #1 were already pre-existing or #2 Oak Tree never afforded us any opportunity to remedy as they were not on the inspectors list.

Business Response
When a tenant gives notice to move, our office mails the tenant a packet providing instructions on our move out procedures. Mr. ******* was sent this packet on December 5, 2013. This packet informs the tenant the property is to be returned in the same condition as received. The property should not have any conditions/damages which were not noted on the original check in form provided the tenant at move in.


We are providing a copy of the packet sent to Mr. ******* highlighting sections related to his responsibilities at move out.


When we began management of this property, Mr. ******* was already residing in the house. Therefore the original move in form with the prior management company was what we based our decisions for charges against his security deposit. To insure accuracy of the deductions, all charges were confirmed with the property owner who had firsthand knowledge of the condition
of the house.


In the beginning, Mr. ******* was not upset about the charges made against his deposit, he was upset he was charged for items he was not allowed to correct before his move out. In the interest of compromise, we recently offered Mr. ******* the opportunity to re-enter the property and make the necessary corrections to receive a full refund of his security deposit. Mr. ******* refused our offer.


Throughout this entire process Mr. ******* has been very difficult to work with. He has made good on his threats to damage our credibility by posting negative reviews about our company on numerous web sites included the BBB.


We have tried to work with Mr. ******* to resolve this situation, but have been unsuccessful. As such, we are requesting a mediation meeting between Mr. *******, ourselves and the BBB. It is our hope that through this forum we can come to amicable agreement.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are lying

Final Business Response
Mr. ******* would like you to believe that we have acted in bad faith when in fact we have tried to help him. For example, Mr. ******* claims he had the home professionally cleaned yet the oven and refrigerator were dirty, drawers in the bathroom and kitchen were also dirty. Mr. ******* was not however charged for this as he had written on his move in form that the house was dirty when he moved in. We did this on several items written down and because they were on the original check in he was not charged.
Mr. ******* has not been charged for any items that were on his original check in form. We have explained this to Mr. ******* over and over with no willingness on his part to understand. Mr. ******* has not been "Duped." The materials sent to Mr. ******* clearly states that the pre-check out is not the final check out and that Mr. ******* was still in position of the property after we left the pre check out and anything could of happen while he was still in position of the home. ie: scratches on the door, smoke detector taken down. Mr. ******* turned in the keys the following day.
Mr. ******* claims I have not tried to work with him. I had to beg Mr. ******* to put in writing what he disagrees with so we could go to the home owner and ask what they wanted to do. After several request for him to do so he finally did. I personally went to the home owner to see how he felt about allowing Mr. ******* to go back into the property and fix the things he was charged for. It was my mere coincidence that the homeowners answer was given to us when they did and had absolutely nothing to do with his filing with the BBB. Mr. ******* was offered the opportunity to return to the property and correct the items he was charge for but he refused. Oak Tree would like to find a resolution for this. It appears Mr. ******* is not interested in resolving anything, but instead just wants to smear our good record.
Mr. ******* was only charged for items not on his original check in form stating the condition of the property. It was Mr. ******* responsibility to go over his original check in form and make sure there were no discrepancies between what the home looked like when he moved in as to how it looked when he moved out. As he lived in the home this should have been easy for him to do.
Oak Tree Property Management would be happy to have mediation with the BBB and Mr. ******* at any time.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/05/1990Business started: 12/01/1980New Owner Date: 01/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95815-5149
(877) 373-4542
http://www.dre.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 00976748 for this company, issued by Bureau of Real Estate. Their web address is http://www.dre.ca.gov.

Type: Real Estate

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Durbin (Co-Owner)Mrs. Susan Durbin (Co-Owner)
Business Category

Property Management

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Oak Tree Property Management

516 Bullard Ave

Clovis, CA 93612-1101

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 516 Bullard Ave 

    Clovis, CA 93612-1101(559) 298-3535

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Oak Tree Property Management is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.