BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1983

Manco Abbott, Inc.

Phone: (559) 435-1756Fax: (559) 256-4065

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
05/23/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/10/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/13/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I had to move during Christmas and had to stay in hotel with 5 year old disabled son and no Christmas tree it was real hard for him to understand
I moved out of marbella apts on dec 20 2013 due to my home being violated with graffiti put on my door with black spray paint I asked manco Abbott to let me out of my lease and they dented me so I filed a police report and had a medadtor contact them at Wich time then they agreed to alolow me to break it and when I moved I got wat over charged for cleaning and repairs that we're not needed got video to show that it wasn't also was provided with fraudulent pappers and recipits also got yo s

Desired Settlement
I moved out of my apt on dec 20 2013 due to destruction of my property (graffiti on front door) Not only did I have to get mediation. To help break my lease but when I moved out I got over charged and did not revive my deposit back when I asked to be sent recipits from the cleaning I got fraudulent papper works fake recipits I have video showing how great the apartment looked the day I moved I wrote a demand letter and got turned downed I am very unsatisfied with the way I have been treated by Maco Abbott and i had to not only move out and live in a hotel during Christmas because of how scared we were to stay there but I got charged for cleaning or repairs that the video will obviously will show were not needed I would not have broken my lease if I felt safe In my home but I didn't and I tryed to comply with everthing I could to recive my security back and I got treated real poorly I would love to show you tape and papper work please email with time and date

Business Response
Owners Response:

******* ***** was allowed to terminate her lease without liability for future rent. The landlord did nothing to either provoke or allow graffiti to occur. ******* ***** entered into an agreement with Manco Abbott via our Attorney, Mr. **** ******* The Agreement states that:
1. Tenants will vacate premises by December 20th, 2013 and deliver possession and keys at that time.
2. Tenants agree to pay landlord the sum of $921.67 representing rents and late charges through December 20th, 2013. Payment is due upon signing.
3. Tenants agree to leave premises clean and undamaged and will schedule a walk through.
4. If the Tenants vacate as promised and pay amount due, Landlord will agree to an early termination of the lease effective December 20th, 2013 and will waive any and all claims for future rent.
This agreement was signed by ******* ***** and ****** ***** both tenants residing at **** ******* ***** **** *** ******* *** XXXXX on December 13, 2013.
******* ***** charges on her final move-out are the following:
Final AUM Invoice (Water, Garbage & Sewer) $147.00
Replacement of Microwave Door due to Damage $128.79
Heavy Soil Carpet Clean $370.00
Apartment Clean $120.00
Labor and Paint Supplies $107.09
Total charges: $872.55
Security Deposit 1200.00
Refunded amount: $327.45

******* ***** was furnished copies of invoices from A & R Appliances, Frazee Paint, Unique Carpet Care, American Maid and the final invoice from AUM.
The Lease Agreement that was entered into on *** 7th, 2013 with ******* ***** states that under 3. Security Deposit: Owner *** withhold from the security deposit only such amounts as are reasonably necessary to remedy Resident defaults including but not limited to, the following:
i) In the payment of rent
ii) To repair damages to the premises caused by Resident.
iii) To clean and paint such premises, if necessary, upon termination of the tenancy in order to return apartment to the same level of cleanliness it was in at the inception of the tenancy and/or
iv) To restore, replace, or return personal property or appurtenances, exclusive of ordinary wear and tear.

We are sorry that ******* ***** feels that she was treated poorly and that her move-out charges are unfair. ******* was let out of her lease, which she agreed to. Again, ******* was provided all paid receipts that landlord incurred. We feel the charges are both reasonable and necessary.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No I do not agree with you Manco Abbott Just had to roll with the punches I going to have my day and court and trust me with the evevadence I have you will see it my way . You were so sure of your selfs you didn't even bother looking at what I had against you but bbb will see it even if your response was not to !! See you and your unhonest employee in court

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Not satisfied going to court

Final Business Response
Thank you for the video tape. The resident was not charged for any holes in the walls, strictly touch up paint and a touch up clean. I provided BBB with an itemized move-in/move-out list with area's that needed touch up paint, touch up clean, damage to Microwave door and carpet clean. The video only shows, walls and a blind.
We stand by our charges.

08/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Theft of Personal Property; Failure to provide promised incentives (breach of contract/agreement)
Problem 1: Theft of Personal Property (Marbella Apartments)
Date of Incident: August 4-5, 2014

Details: We moved out of our apartment on Saturday, August 2, 2014. We moved all but 3 items from our apartment (leaving 3 items behind my mistake), left the keys in the drop-box and moved to our new house. Upon unpacking, we realized that we had failed to remove 3 floor cleaning machines from one closest. We contacted the location manager to advise of the items we left behind. Upon arriving at the old apartment, and opening the closet, we only found 1 remaining floor cleaning machine (one that was only valued at ~$100.) The two other machines had been stolen by someone that gained access to the apartment between August 4-5. The value of each machine was as follows: Oreck XL Power Scrubber - $399.00 (retail), and Bissell Quick Steamer - $99.99.

Problem 2: Failure to provide promised incentives (x2)
Date: August 6, 2014

Details: We renewed our lease two times for additional one year terms. One of the reasons we renewed each time was the promised incentives to clean the carpets for free. At the end of the lease, we were informed that neither incentive could be used any longer. However, at no time were we ever warned / told that these incentives expired at any time. Therefore, we were deprived of the monetary value of each incentive (x2).

Desired Settlement
We are seeking full reimbursement for the two stolen machines: Oreck XL Power Scrubber - $399.00 + Bissell Quick Steamer - $99.99 + sales tax: Total value = $539.99

We are seeking credit for our final bill for the full value of the two unused incentives - we don't know the actual value of these incentives but should be somewhere in the neighborhood of $150 each. Total credit = $300.00

We will likely be filing a police report as well for the theft of our personal property by the locations' staff and/or contractors.

Business Response
Problem 1: Theft of Personal Property

Response: The items claimed to be in the unit were not there. When Mr. ******** came back to the property to retrieve the items he claimed to have left behind, there was only one machine in the closet. The site staff had not starting working on turning that unit over yet so other than the manager walking the unit at move out, no one had been in the unit. Furthermore, it is clearly defined in the lease that the "Resident's property is not insured by owner or agent", "Management is not responsible for fire, theft or damage to personal effects" and "Owner/Agent strongly recommends that the resident obtain renters insurance". I have attached below the actual policy from the rental agreement.

Insurance: Resident's property is not insured by Owner or Agent. Resident is not a co-insured and is expressly excluded from any insurance policy held by Owner or Agent, which is now in effect or becomes effective during the term of this Agreement. Management is not responsible for fire, theft or damage to personal effects, etc. in the premises, laundry, storage lockers, garage, or any portion of the building. For your own protection, keep all apartment doors locked at all times. Owner/Agent strongly recommends that the Resident obtain "Renter's Insurance" covering personal possessions immediately upon occupying.

Problem 2: Failure to provide promised incentives (x2)

Response: All flyers that are handed out to the residents listing incentives for renewing their lease clearly state on the flyer "Offer expires 1 month from renewal". Therefore, a resident cannot come back 1 or 2 years later and claim they never received their incentive.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the business response at all. First, the statement that site staff had not started working on the unit is simply patently false. Upon return to the unit to remove the three items that were accidently left behind (2 of which were already stolen from the apartment), there were obviously things the site staff had done inside the unit, based upon miscellaneous things that had been removed from cabinets, etc., things that were obviously not in that same position when the unit was turned over. For management to give a blanket "we're not responsible" statement, when they clearly were the only ones that had access to the unit during the time period in question (e.g. there was no broken windows or other evidence that a break-in had occurred), is patently absurd and defies all common sense.

Also, the statement that there is a disclaimer that incentives must be used within one month of renewal is also patently false. Perhaps they recently added this verbiage in the newest incentive flyers, however, the flyers we previously received (and relied upon when deciding to renew for (2) 1 year terms), did not include such language. Also, if the business' statements about this disclaimer were true, why didn't management at the location inform us of this when we provided our 30-day notice letter - a letter which clearly stated our intention to use these incentives if the location decided that carpet cleaning would be necessary upon our end of lease.

Also, it is clear from the business' response that management has no regard for its former tenants - tenants that were perfect tenants and stayed for a very long period of time for an apartment rental (almost four years), and tenants that paid on time. Anyone reading this complaint and considering doing business with this establishment should understand that being a good tenant, for an extended period of time, buys you nothing in the way of receiving proper and just customer service after your lease is over. How loyal and good long term tenants (like us) have been treated after leaving should make anyone think twice about all the business' claims about caring about providing a high level of customer service. In the end, if you leave, you will be treated as coldly as a person off the street.

Additionally, after further review of our final bill, there are three items that require immediate adjustment and credit.

First - we need credit for returned Mailbox keys: $25.00 (returned as discussed with the property's onsite manager on 8/7; 3 keys were in fact returned on 8/8).

Second - we need credit for invalid billing of "living room blind damaged": $54.45. There was no damage to the blind itself. There *** have been a top piece that came off, but we cannot and will not pay for a blind when the blind itself had zero damage when we left the apartment

Third - we need credit for invalid billing of "freezer door rail missing": $12.29. One of the shelf rails, given its advanced age, simply cracked and fell out one day. The rail itself was not missing - it was put inside the freezer, as it was. We cannot be responsible for prior wear and tear of the locations' equipment.

Final Business Response
It is unfortunate that Mr. ******** does not accept our response; however, we stand by our initial response. We feel we were fair and followed all necessary legal procedures.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business continues to demonstrate a lack of professionalism, lack of common courtesy, and most seriously has not responded to billing for items that were in fact not damaged upon turning the units over.

The final bill is not accurate - We will not pay for a blind that was not damaged to any real extent. The top cover that is installed at the top of the window - and not part of the blind itself - costs much less than the $54 they are charging on their final bill.

If the final bill does not remove this charge, or greatly reduce it to reflect the actual costs to fix the cosmetic portion of the top of the blind area, we will sue in Small Claims court - for all items that the business is responsible for. A reasonable third party will not find in their favor.

11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/18/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.