BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/20/2001

Able Property Management

Find a Location

Phone: (661) 325-1095Fax: (661) 328-1165122 Chester Ave, BakersfieldCA 93301-5410

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/20/2001

BBB has determined that Able Property Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Able Property Management's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Able Property Management

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
01/02/2015Problems with Product / Service
10/20/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The property manager told me he found a nice family to rent our home, a family that had been a customer of Able Property Management for a few years. He told me he would do drive by periodically and also do walk thru' s to insure the property was being taken care of. We agreed to this and then he placed 3 families with 11 children in our home. Our pool man and local neighbors started reporting to us about all the people living at this residence. After 17 months we moved them out and decided to move back in our house only to find out the house was filthy, the landscaping destroyed by dogs and neglect of watering and the house has over 7,500.00 of damage done to it. The Property Manager did not manage our home as he told us he would.

Desired Settlement
The Property Management company should be held responsible for all the damage to our home.

Business Response
According to records we rented the home to ****** ******** one adult on March 1,2014.
He did not list any other tenants when he rented from us.
We had rented to him previously with success.
He told us that he was uncomfortable and felt the neighbors were watching him all the time because he felt that they did not like people of his race.
We try to provide quality service at a reasonable price but we cannot assume responsibility for every act of every tenant.
The owner of the property terminated our services and we forwarded the tenants entire deposit to them.
In addition we refunded some utility bills that the owner disputed and waived any management fees due us.

*** *******
Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
He is still not taking any responsibilities for the actions of his poor job of managing our home.
His tenants did a lot of damage to our home. I would like it if he would pay for some of the of the damage. It is the right thing to do.

10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Being charged for repairs that I asked to be taken care while I lived there

I moved into a house four years ago and asked several times for problem with the house to be repaired including carpet which cut our feet daily
Now that I have moved out they are charging me for these repairs and then some
I was never given time to correct any issues as they didn't do a inspection and leave me a copy as promised
They also went over the 21 days to get my deposit to me

Desired Settlement
$125 cleaning the house was wY cleaner than when I moved in
$205 for carpet that was dirty and torn when I moved in
$79.00 for blinds as I repaired them after moving in they we old when I moved in

Business Response
From Able Property Management Fasimile #XXX-XXX-I.165 September 30, 2014 Number of Pages including cover sheet 1
To
Better Business Bureau
*** *******
Via Facsimile
PAGE 01/01
Attention ****** ******* Customer Service Representative XXX-XXX-XXXX Re: Case# XXXXXXXX We cannot locate any records regarding **** and ****** **********. Please provide us with the date that the incident occurred and if possible copies of the contract and deposit accounting. *** ******* Manager

01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have lived at this residence since 2006 and have asked repeatedly for the property management to replace my carpet but they do not even acknowledge my requests. It is very old, has holes, and the padding underneath is so worn out it's like not having padding at all.Recently I asked for them to replace the power outlets, there are several throughout the apartment that you can not keep anything plugged in because they fall right back out. There are also two outlets that have caught on fire and do not work. My kithchen faucet had an extreme leak and it took them a week to finally fix it and at that time they were supposed to fix the outlets as well but the maintenance worker stated that he was not authorized to do that until he had a "count" of how many needed replacing per Able Property. That was 3 days ago and still nothing. This company is very negligent when it comes to any maintenance requests. I was looking into moving elsewhere and wanted to see what my options were so I put in some applications with other rental companies but when they called Able Property to verify my information they would not cooperate and said I had to give a 30 day notice before they could release any information. That is just wrong and I've never encountered that before. They are hindering me from any potential move, yet they do not want to take care of any maintenance issues. They leave me no choice but to report them to BBB

Desired Settlement
They need to replace the power outlets and the carpet. They should not be able to withhold basic information when professional companies call to verify whether I am a renter.

Business Response
The power outlets have been repaired

The leaks have been fixed

At this time the carpets are not going to be replaced

We have not received any notice from the tenant regarding her moving and we do not for the tenants and our protection release personal information concerning our tenants. Normally if a tenant applies with another property management company they request information along with a signed release from the tenant.
If the tenant wishes us to release personal information over the phone we will require a signed release.

*** *******
Manager

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/20/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Rental Vacancy Listing Service, Real Estate Rental Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/23/1995Business started: 01/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95815-5149
(877) 373-4542
http://www.dre.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 00982861 for this company, issued by Bureau of Real Estate. Their web address is http://www.dre.ca.gov.

Type: Real Estate

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1988, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Simpson (Owner)Mr. Scott Simpson
Business Category

Property Management, Rental Vacancy Listing Service, Real Estate Rental Service

Alternate Business Names
Able PM, Inc
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Able Property Management

122 Chester Ave

Bakersfield, CA 93301-5410

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 122 Chester Ave 

    Bakersfield, CA 93301-5410Fax: (661) 328-1165

  • 6427 Lake Isabella Blvd 

    Lake Isabella, CA 93240(760) 379-5479

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Able Property Management is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.