BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/20/2001

Able Property Management

Phone: (661) 325-1095Fax: (661) 328-1165

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
01/02/2015Problems with Product / Service
10/20/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The property manager told me he found a nice family to rent our home, a family that had been a customer of Able Property Management for a few years. He told me he would do drive by periodically and also do walk thru' s to insure the property was being taken care of. We agreed to this and then he placed 3 families with 11 children in our home. Our pool man and local neighbors started reporting to us about all the people living at this residence. After 17 months we moved them out and decided to move back in our house only to find out the house was filthy, the landscaping destroyed by dogs and neglect of watering and the house has over 7,500.00 of damage done to it. The Property Manager did not manage our home as he told us he would.

Desired Settlement
The Property Management company should be held responsible for all the damage to our home.

Business Response
According to records we rented the home to ****** ******** one adult on March 1,2014.
He did not list any other tenants when he rented from us.
We had rented to him previously with success.
He told us that he was uncomfortable and felt the neighbors were watching him all the time because he felt that they did not like people of his race.
We try to provide quality service at a reasonable price but we cannot assume responsibility for every act of every tenant.
The owner of the property terminated our services and we forwarded the tenants entire deposit to them.
In addition we refunded some utility bills that the owner disputed and waived any management fees due us.

*** *******
Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
He is still not taking any responsibilities for the actions of his poor job of managing our home.
His tenants did a lot of damage to our home. I would like it if he would pay for some of the of the damage. It is the right thing to do.

10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Being charged for repairs that I asked to be taken care while I lived there

I moved into a house four years ago and asked several times for problem with the house to be repaired including carpet which cut our feet daily
Now that I have moved out they are charging me for these repairs and then some
I was never given time to correct any issues as they didn't do a inspection and leave me a copy as promised
They also went over the 21 days to get my deposit to me

Desired Settlement
$125 cleaning the house was wY cleaner than when I moved in
$205 for carpet that was dirty and torn when I moved in
$79.00 for blinds as I repaired them after moving in they we old when I moved in

Business Response
From Able Property Management Fasimile #XXX-XXX-I.165 September 30, 2014 Number of Pages including cover sheet 1
To
Better Business Bureau
*** *******
Via Facsimile
PAGE 01/01
Attention ****** ******* Customer Service Representative XXX-XXX-XXXX Re: Case# XXXXXXXX We cannot locate any records regarding **** and ****** **********. Please provide us with the date that the incident occurred and if possible copies of the contract and deposit accounting. *** ******* Manager

01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have lived at this residence since 2006 and have asked repeatedly for the property management to replace my carpet but they do not even acknowledge my requests. It is very old, has holes, and the padding underneath is so worn out it's like not having padding at all.Recently I asked for them to replace the power outlets, there are several throughout the apartment that you can not keep anything plugged in because they fall right back out. There are also two outlets that have caught on fire and do not work. My kithchen faucet had an extreme leak and it took them a week to finally fix it and at that time they were supposed to fix the outlets as well but the maintenance worker stated that he was not authorized to do that until he had a "count" of how many needed replacing per Able Property. That was 3 days ago and still nothing. This company is very negligent when it comes to any maintenance requests. I was looking into moving elsewhere and wanted to see what my options were so I put in some applications with other rental companies but when they called Able Property to verify my information they would not cooperate and said I had to give a 30 day notice before they could release any information. That is just wrong and I've never encountered that before. They are hindering me from any potential move, yet they do not want to take care of any maintenance issues. They leave me no choice but to report them to BBB

Desired Settlement
They need to replace the power outlets and the carpet. They should not be able to withhold basic information when professional companies call to verify whether I am a renter.

Business Response
The power outlets have been repaired

The leaks have been fixed

At this time the carpets are not going to be replaced

We have not received any notice from the tenant regarding her moving and we do not for the tenants and our protection release personal information concerning our tenants. Normally if a tenant applies with another property management company they request information along with a signed release from the tenant.
If the tenant wishes us to release personal information over the phone we will require a signed release.

*** *******
Manager

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/20/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Rental Vacancy Listing Service, Real Estate Rental Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.