BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/31/2011

Beautologie Cosmetic Surgery and Laser Center

Find a Location

Phone: (661) 327-3800Fax: (661) 865-5488View Additional Phone Numbers4850 Commerce Dr Ste 100, BakersfieldCA 93309-0416

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/31/2011

BBB has determined that Beautologie Cosmetic Surgery and Laser Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Beautologie Cosmetic Surgery and Laser Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Beautologie Cosmetic Surgery and Laser Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On July 10, 2013, my husband and I attended a consultation at Beautologie for a breast augmentation for me. We were informed at the consultation if we paid a $1,000.00 deposit, we would receive a $1,000.00 discount on the total price of the surgery. The total price was $7,000.00. The patient coordinator stated our total price would be $6,000.00 if we paid the $1,000.00 deposit. We were excited and mentioned we would like to do the surgery on December 11, 2013. My husband even showed her the date on a calendar in his IPhone. The consultation began late (although we were on time) and we needed to leave in order to pick up our son. The patient coordinator said she could extend the discount offer for a few days. I spoke with her by telephone a few days later and paid the $1,000.00 deposit. I also confirmed the surgery date as December 11, 2013. I was not told that in order to receive the full $1,000.00 discount I would have to have the surgery performed within 30 days of my consultation. I had a pre-operative appointment on November 21, 2013 and paid $5,585.00 more for my surgery. I was in a hurry to get to another appointment so I did not notice that the total amount I had now paid to Beautologie for my surgery was $6,585.00. The $85.00 was for blood to be drawn and the $5,500.00 was the balance of my surgery expense. However, according to what my husband and I were told on July 10, 2013 during my consultation, the balance should've only been $5,000.00. Unfortunately, I did not realize I overpaid by $500.00. On January 15, 2014, I telephoned the patient coordinator in regard to the $500.00 discrepancy. She said I was not eligible for the entire $1,000.00 discount, only $500.00, since I did not have my surgery within 30 days of my consultation. I told her this was new information to me. She had her office manager call me. The office manager said she would speak to the financial department. On January 16, 2014 she called me and said she could not refund me the $500.00.
Product_Or_Service: breast augmentation

Desired Settlement
I would like the $500.00 refunded to me. I was not told I must have the surgery within 30 days of my consultation in order to receive the full $1,000,00 discount. The paper work was very confusing to me. I was too trusting. The documents should have been itemized more clearly, delineating the discount but they do not even show the discount. Had my husband and I known the requirement of having the surgery within 30 days of the consultaion, I would have had the surgery done in that time.

Business Response
The patient signed a quote ((we have a copy that we can send you that clearly shows a $500 discount). No additional $500 discount was mentioned.

We also have the phone call between the Patient Coordinator and the patient where the discount and balance are confirmed in the call and the patient accepts without argument that it was a $500 discount and the total price for the procedure is $6585.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was given the original quote of $7,000.00 on the date of my consultation, July 10, 2013. I was told by paying the $1,000.00 deposit I'd receive a $1,000.00 discount off the $7,000.00 quote. My husband showed the patient coordinator, Ms. ********* ******* the date of December 11, 2013, on a calendar in his IPhone as the date we wanted me to have the surgery. She never told us we would only be eligible for a $500.00 discount if we chose a date for surgery which was later than 30 days after the consultation. I confirmed the date for surgery when I paid the $1,000.00 surgery deposit by phone. Again, Ms. ****** did not mention I would only receive a $500.00 discount since I was not going to have the surgery within 30 days of the consultation. I never received a copy of the quote for the surgery that included the final price and the discounts. I was under the impression I was going to receive a $1,0000.00 discount. My husband thought the same. I don't see how both of us could've missed the fact that we would only receive a $500.00 discount if we chose a surgery date later than 30 days of the consultation. I attended my pre-op appointment on November 21, 2013 after which I was asked by Ms. ****** to pay the balance of my surgery. I received a receipt of payment but it did not delineate all the charges, my discounts and the amount I had already paid. It looked different than my original quote so I was confused but had to get to another appointment, which I mentioned to Ms. ******* I waited several minutes for her to return while she was charging my credit card. She gave me the receipt of payment and my credit card receipt. I left quickly to my next appointment, assuming that the total price for my surgery was $6,000.00. I did not realize I had paid $500.00 more than I originally thought I would until some time in January, 2014. I then contacted Ms. ******* She insisted all the discounts were explained to me. I also spoke with her officer manager, *****, who stated Ms. ****** had explained everything and that there was nothing that could be done to refund me the $500.00 discount. Beautologie is most likely a multi-million dollar company. I do not understand why they are not willing to refund me $500.00 to resolve this misunderstanding when it is clearly their fault for not explaining the discounts and not providing documentation of all the charges, discounts and payments. I would not make this up and would not go to the trouble of filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau if it were not true.

Final Business Response
Attached is evidence to what the customer signed and agreed to. There is no $1,000 discount.
It is clearly a $500 discount.

There is also a recorded call if needed for further proof.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Physicians & Surgeons - Cosmetic, Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery, Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/16/2008Business started: 01/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Medical Board of California
1426 Howe Ave Ste 54
Sacramento, CA 95825-3204
(916) 263-2382
http://www.medbd.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 87663 for this company, issued by Medical Board of California. Their web address is http://www.medbd.ca.gov.

Type: Medical Quality Assurance Board- Type A

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 41585 for this company, issued by Medical Board of California. Their web address is http://www.medbd.ca.gov.

Type: Medical Quality Assurance Board- FNP

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2002, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Darshan Shah (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Kelly Martin (Office Manager)Dr. James Knoetgen IIIDr. Brett Lehocky Ms. Robin Mattingly Dr. Milan Shah Dr. Kenneth Siporin
Business Category

Physicians & Surgeons - Cosmetic, Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery, Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D.

Products & Services

Beautologie provides high quality plastic surgery and aesthetic procedures in a safe and comfortable environment.

Alternate Business Names
Beautologie Medical Group Inc
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Beautologie Cosmetic Surgery and Laser Center

4850 Commerce Dr Ste 100

Bakersfield, CA 93309-0416

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4850 Commerce Dr Ste 100 

    Bakersfield, CA 93309-0416(661) 327-3800
    (661) 865-5008
    Fax: (661) 865-5488

  • 1903 E Fir Ave Ste 106 

    Fresno, CA 93720-3862(559) 476-4460

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Beautologie Cosmetic Surgery and Laser Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (661) 865-5008
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Physicians & Surgeons - Cosmetic, Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.