BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1975

San Joaquin Pest Control of Fresno

Phone: (559) 291-2200

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
01/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues
11/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am having multiple service and contract issues with the property at *******************
When I set up the service I told the technician he would need to call me before each service to schedule an appointment. He told me that was no problem. Over the past 6 months I have not received a single phone call. I have spoke to the technician directly again, his boss, accounting and the operations manager all who told me this would get resolved. To date it is not. I have not paid the bill for this reason. Spoke again with the operations manager (*****) again today who was rude and only concerned about collecting the balance. He told me that they do not have to call and that they can have anyone sign on my behalf. I would like proof of each service complete along with a signature of who approved the service. In addition I requested two termite reports for different properties. I was never told there was a charge for this. I met the technician at the appointments and was told he would call me with the results. Never got a call. When I got a bill in the mail I called the office who said they would e-mail me the results. Still did not receive. Finally I called again and they said they would mail them. Still have not received, but they are requesting payment for something I don't have. I explained to the operations manager today that I was done and to cancel the service. I asked to speak with the owner ****** ****** and was told by ***** that I would NEVER speak to him. Very unprofessional for an operations manager. I have owned my own business and grew up in a family run business and I'm so unhappy with the level of service given to me as a customer.

Desired Settlement
I am hiring a new service today. I want my bill cleared with San Joaquin Valley Pest since I have not received the service that was promised.

Business Response
TO: Better Business Bureau RE: case XXXXXXXX
PEST CONTROL
This customer started service with San Joaquin Pest Control on 6/25/13 at E. Franklin in Fresno. We serviced this address monthly and during this time he accumulated $871.45 in charges and received credit for $754.73 in payments. This leaves an unpaid balance of $116,72. We have a signed service agreement for this site. We also have service tickets signed by the technician documenting date and time of service. San Joaquin Pest Control started service at W. Regency in Fresno on 2/13/15. We have a signed and dated service agreement with what we assume is this customers' signature. No where on the agreement does it state that he needs to be notified prior to service. We did receive the initial payment of $145.00. We were never notified that he wanted to be called prior to service. This customer ordered termite inspections for ********************** in Fresno. We performed the inspections and filed the reports with the State of California as required by law. This customer received a discount of $20.00 per home for these inspections. We sent these reports twice to his email address and once to his postal address. Nothing was returned to San Joaquin Pest Control. To put this matter to rest San Joaquin Pest Control is willing to settle for $290.00 this is half of what we feel is owed. If further documentation is required please contact our office.
Thank you

Consumer Response
I appreciate the offer to settle the account, however I have been very clear. I want proof of service. If they can provide that to me I am happy to pay the balance. I have requested this directly from them, also through the BBB and also through their collections agency. I have yet to receive anything.

Thank you

Final Business Response
Here is the information Mr. **** requested. It includes signed and dated service agreements, monthly service tickets with dates and times noted by GPS installed in trucks and also completed termite inspections to properties that Mr. **** scheduled. These reports are filed with the State of California along with inspection tags posted in structures. If you have any questions, please contact us.

08/24/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was wrongfully billed for service that was never given at my home ******************** I was sent to collection and I paid in protest 221.99
I do not have all exact dates but last year in 2014 I called SJ pest control to fumigate my home for ants that were becoming a pest. They did they job and I believe came out 2-3 months. They did not come back for sometime I believe 2-3 months and the ants returned. I called them and once again paid for 2-3 months of work. The ants never returned and I never asked for them to come again. I then received a letter from a collection agency and when I called them they explained it was from SJ Pest Control. I told them the situation and that they would wait for me to resolve the issue. I called the office in fresno and spoke with a ****** she said she would pass ***** the message to a supervisor and they would get back to me. This was in early June, I called back a few days later and she said the supervisor said he had not changed anything and the bill stands. On June 23rd I called back and spoke to ****** and asked her when their employees go spray a home what is the routine? She said " they knock on the door and if no one answers they spray around the house both in front and back yard". I exclaimed to her I have 2 disabled uncles living with me and 3 pitbulls in my back yard which struck her weird and she said " I'm not sure exactly what happen or what the employee did". She also told that specific employee is no longer with them and never wrote any notes or any other proof he came. I asked her to transfer me to a supervisor as anyone can see there were issues that made this situation awkward. I finally got to speak to a supervisor ***** and he was very unprofessional in deal with customers. He had a condescending way of speaking to me and was unable to work any issue out with me to say the least. I asked for proof of work or anything and all he said was "didn't you get the bills in the mail and its out of my hands and to call the collection agency". I feel I deserve a full refund and if I must go to small claims I will ask for more.

Desired Settlement
My resolution is a simple fix refund me the 221.99 I paid in protest to AR Group account number XXXXXXXXXX.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********** office manager
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@sjpcfresno.com
Mr. ******** started service on 4/14/14. We provided service on the following dates 4/14/14, 5/7/14, 6/6/14, 7/21/14, 9/23/14, 10/21/14, 11/21/14, 12/19/14, 2/20/15. All of our service trucks have GPS tracking devices in them and we have service tickets indicating the time and date of service. Our record indicates he owes $120 for service that is documented and the $100 cancelation fee that he agreed to on the initial service agreement. Mr. ******** indicated that he received our calls and letters requesting payment but chose to ignore them. We provided service in accordance with the signed service agreement and would expect to be compensated according to the agreement.

11/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
we were on month to month service, they changed the person they had coming out here. he missed months and as a result our dog got bite by a spider.
we were not happy with our old service so we called san joaquin pest. we had a month to month service agreement, because i didn't want a contract. everything was fine until they changed our service person. he would not show up so our pests got worst.
we are older and have 4 dogs, we rely on good service. at this time, one of our dogs got a spider bite, we took him to the vet. since no one would come out, we would pay late. we talked to a lady at san joaquin pest and she said that since we did not pay on time they would end our service, that was fine. now the manager, **********, say we owe $185.00 for early termination. so they do a crappy job, get my dog bitten and i'm supposed to pay them more money when it was month to month?

Desired Settlement
I assumed it was over, you go your way and I'll go mine. But since ***** **** insists I owe the termination fee, then san joaquin should pay for my dogs vet bill ($253.00). He said i did not live up to the contract (there was no contract, just month to month), well san joaquin pest did not live up to the contract either. and because of their crappy service my dog was bitten. we can pay each other the amounts listed or call it even and go our separate ways.

Business Response
As the VP of Operations at San Joaquin Pest Control, I can assure you that we take all customer complaints very seriously. First of all let me apologize for any problems or issues that you may have had with our company. We are a locally owned family business serving the San Joaquin Valley since 1972. Our number 1 priority is customer satisfaction. With that in mind I have investigated your situation and found out the following important facts.

Your original service with us was ordered for a 3 month period. During that first period you only paid your invoice for a single month and left 2 months in arrears. This pattern repeated itself several times. Our policy in this type of situation is to send a suspend letter subject to suitable payment arrangements. After several more months we sent to you a final notice to pay. That was sent on September 2014. We also followed up that notice with a phone call to pay, that call was not returned. Once again, after we have a delinquent bill where payment cannot be obtained through our several steps of internal process, we have no alternative but to forward it to collections.

In your case, we made extraordinary effort to collect payment for services delivered over several months. At no time did we change service technicians and we never attempted to add additional fees. When all else fails our last resort is to send the delinquent bill to collections. In your case, that was our decision.

We would welcome the opportunity to re-build our service relationship. If you will pay the outstanding bill and make arrangements for payments in advance of service, we would be happy to resume your service.

Thank you for time, I hope this satisfies your complaint.

Sincerely,

**** *****
VP Operations
San Joaquin Pest Control

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First off, you have no idea what is going on in your company. I was told it was a month to month service, if that was not true, I was lied to. I requested that the technition come out on fridays because we have dogs that will bite and we have to lock them up in the garage. I do not work on fridays so I know when the technition should come. When he would come (If he would come), it was during the week when I was not here (my wife is always here, she is disabled). Since he did not get bitten, I know he did not go into the back yard to spray. That is why I did not pay, because you did not do the service you said you would. Your technition was taking advantage of an older couple with disabilities.
When you called, I explained to the lady that the technition was not spraying like he should have. She said that if we paid, he would do his job. That was a lie too. He still never went into the back yard.
I think the last bill was for $35.00. You say you did not add additional fees, Then how come ***** **** added $150.00 cancelation fee to the $35.00?
He said I was in a 6 month contract. Now you said it was a 3 month service. You LIED again.
Now as for my dog, No mention of getting reimbursed for those fees. If your technition would have gone into the backyard and sprayed like he should have, I would not have the vet bill.
I do not owe you the $35.00 for service because the service was not done. I do not owe you the $150.00 cancellation fee because you just said you did not add additional fees.
Now for what you owe me, $253.00 for my vet bill.
I do not want your sevice (or lack of service), we have found some one who does it right, we have no complaints with this company.
***** ** ****

Final Business Response
In the interest of good will we agree with your assessment that both parties should go separate ways. No further action will be taken.

Thank you
San Joaquin Pest Control

07/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tech never showed
I called this pest control company and on their first scheduled service the tech showed up an hour late. I called the secretary to ask what was going on and she said paperwork was mixed up and they would route the tech as soon as possible. On the second scheduled service the tech called to say he was coming the next day and never showed. I called to company and they said it was due to the tech being new.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund because there are many companies out there that will not provide that kind of service

Business Response
The issue was taken care of and the service has been scheduled for X-XX-XX at the tenants request. The problem was that the name on the acct. did not match the individual who submitted this complaint. We apologize for the misunderstanding.


Thank you
San Joaquin Pest Control

05/22/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services, Termite Control, Fumigation Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.