BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

United Moving and Storage

(800) 434-0157View Additional Phone Numbers5015 Hallmark Parkway, San BernardinoCA 92407http://www.united-moving.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving and storage services.

BBB Accreditation

United Moving and Storage is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered United Moving and Storage's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised United Moving and Storage's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on United Moving and Storage

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
United Van Lines Co.,San Bernardino,Ca move from California To Arizona. Multiple damage & missing items.Contract promises not met.
May 7,2014,we contracted with United Van Lines to move us from Fontana,Ca. to Green Valley Arizona. The salesman ****, promised furniture and personal items would be shrink wrapped and blankets used to protect furniture,antiques and fragile items packed separately. ** also promised to put the van in a covered area in the storage facility to keep antique furniture and collection of antique dolls out of the heat. We paid for them to pack us. we believed we paid for 100% coverage but found out the salesman made his quote with 50% coverage, even though we told him we wanted 100% coverage. When it can time to sign the papers before the movers left I noticed they had only put down 50% coverage. We ended in an argument with the lady who took care of the paperwork over what was suppose to have been 100% coverage. We ended up having to pay more because of the mistake on the contract. This should have been an omen of what was to come with this Moving company.
May 20,2014,items were unloaded so fast my husband at the delivery was not able to check all items directly so many weeks later when moving boxes that were piled high around our two piece china cabinet ** found they had split the top of the base crushing the side and put plastic tape on it to hide the damage and the top piece was also damaged. hand made nest tables were split and broken too. Other furniture pieces were equally damaged and no protection was used to keep my glass doll cabinet door latches from being broken. sofa fabric was worn off on the corner of the sofa, antique ******* chandleir even though boxed was broken. China pieces and collector dolls were missing. some Boxes were not carefully packed to protect items from getting broken,ie. a stained glass floor lamp. antique pieces were dented and scratched showing no protection was used.
We filed a claim within the 9 months alloted and felt because we had 100% coverage it would pay to have all items repaired or replaced. That is not true. Some item were so old they can't be replaced.
Be careful about buying insurance with moving companies. Photograph everything before you move. make a list of everything to be moved. Be aware because they mark all these erroneous marks as if they were already on the antique pieces and furniture. They used their own codes so you don't know what they are marking as dented or scratched or damaged. I say this because there were no marks on the feet of the antique chairs prior to the move.they did not pay anything for me to have them repaired.

There is no excuse for how our move was handled. I feel this moving company has a hard time having good quality people to pack and move families. I say this because they did not act proffessional. They complained the whole time they packed us saying they didn't send enough help to pack and load. the people who packed us complained enough days were not assigned to pack and load and to this day I feel that is why this was not a professional quality move. We have moved professionally over six times before with other major moving companies and never had this much damage and loss of expensive items.

I would encourage others not to use this Company. Even the owner of this Company ********* Van & Storage in Bremerton, Washington, was not even willing to pay 100% the cost of our damaged items. The moving Company sent an appraiser out to look at the damage and assess what it would cost to repair items. ** was under contract with the company. some items were antiques that need a specialist to repair the items. I don't feel only one appraiser on their payroll should be the only legitimate appraiser to come out and assess what will cost to restore or replace the items. I feel compelled to warn others DO NOT USE THIS MOVING COMPANY YOU ARE ONLY GOING TO HAVE HEARTACHE AND LOSS & DAMAGE. Be forwarned.

Desired Settlement
We WANT ANOTHER APPRAISER TO ESTIMATE COST AND COVERAGE OF DAMAGE ITEMS ESPECIALLY MY ANTIQUES AND WANT FULL COVERAGE OF COST OF ITEMS QUESTIONED WHETHER THEY CAN BE RESTORED NOT JUST REPAIRED TO LOOK AS THEY WERE BEFORE THE MOVE. I am not going to cash the check they sent until I know for sure my items can be completely restore and not patched and call it a repair! I also want the public to be made aware not to use this company. I don't want others to have the heartache i now have over the loss of items damaged and loss of items we had

collected over 43 years of marriage and travel.

Business Response
On your Bill of Lading you signed that you received a copy of "Your Rights and Responsibilities When You Move" Booklet. If you refer to page 9 of that booklet it explains the Valuation you selected and what the Carrier's liability is. It states "If any article is lost, destroyed, or damaged while in your mover's custody, your mover will, at its option: repair the article to the extent necessary to restore it to the same condition as when it was received by your mover, or pay you for such repairs. The codes you mention are located at the top of every page of your inventories. There is also a Warning Paragraph at the bottom of every page of your inventory that states "We have checked all the items listed and numbered. Inclusive and acknowledge that this is a true and complete list of the goods tendered and of the state of the good received.". You were compensated appropriately based on your claim, the condition of the items tendered and the third party inspection. You were also compensated 100% for your missing items.

11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In June of 2014 I chose this company to move my belongings from home #1(Fontana), to their storage in San Bernardino for three (3) months, then have my belongings delivered to home #2(Beaumont). Marc Essley a company representative came to home #1 and made the binding agreement. I was to be charged $2,154.38 for the services mentioned above with one month of storage fee included. I would also have to pay the storage fee for the two months at a rate of $246.93 each month. I asked Marc if there was going to be any other fees? Marc informed me that aside from the two additional months of storage fees, there would not be any other fees. On September 18, 2014 I called the storage unit to schedule a delivery date for next week. I spoke with ********* *****, who informed me that she was going to have Marc give me a call with a out of storage fee. I informed her that I was never made aware there was going to be an out of storage fee. She insisted its policy, but I informed her according to my contract everything was included. She said well take it up with Marc. Marc never called me. The next day I received an email from ********* that my out storage fee was going to be $1,233.30. I called Marc about the situation and it seems ** hanged up me. I called him back with no answer, I left him voicemails and emails with no answer. I called ********* and she has her receptionist inform me she's on another call, and she will call me back. She never did. I called the storage and asked to speak with a manager or owner, and the receptionist said she can't. I called corporate and they informed me they can't do anything as this is a local matter.
Product_Or_Service: Moving Contract
Account_Number: UXXXXX-XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Per our contract there was not going to be any other fees. I want to pay the monthly storage fee for this month and have my belongings delivered to my home in Beaumont next week.

Business Response
This customer was not charged for her delivery out from storage. I am unsure why she would file a complaint. We collected only the storage amount due at the time of delivery.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated **/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It definitely did not go smooth as the company is stating. Only after I sent them my copy of our contract did they waive the out of storage fee, but let me explain how this came about. ********* *****, who I found out is the main manager for this location made this process very difficult. She is the one that informed me that the out of storage fee is normal policy and that this fee was included in my contract. Moreover, she informed me that she will not release my belongings until I paid the out of storage fee of $1,233.30. I immediately sent her a copy of my contract which did not include any out of storage fee. After that ********* refused to speak with me and had her receptionist give me the run around. I called corporate again, and informed them of the situation. They, finally directed me to *** Soyer who is a VP and I informed him of the situation. After, I sent him a copy of our contract *** informed me that ** will waive the out of storage fee and just have to pay the last month of storage. I informed *** that was exactly what I wanted as a resolution. On September 26, 2014 the movers came to my home to deliver my belongings. Upon they're arrival they informed me that they needed to collect the last month storage fee, before unloading my belongings. I informed the mover that my husband had his credit card on file and if they could charge the remaining amount. The mover asked me to call ********* to complete the transaction, but I informed him of the situation and how she won't speak with me. The mover called ********* and informed her to charge my husband's credit card. I overheard her yelling at the mover since ** was right in front of me, that we were just a bunch of *******'s and she was not going to charge anything. The mover quickly walked away from me and when ** returned after his phone call, ** apologized for *********'s actions. I once again called *** and informed him of how furious I was with ********* who has no customer service skills and how very disrespectful she is. ** informed that ** will take care of it. In the mean time the movers could not unload until they received permission from their company. Well it took over one hour and a half for the movers to begin unloading. During and after the unload I noticed my Dresser had a big hole in the back of it, my gas grill was badly bent and missing two cooking grids, and also when I connected my water line to my fridge, it leaked water from the bottom of the fridge. I purchased insurance through this company, so I'm going to file my claim and hopefully that process go smooth?

Final Consumer Response
***Document Attached***

10/05/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving & Storage Company, Movers

Additional Information

top

Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable, but not guaranteed as to its accuracy. The BBB has not verified information including, but not limited to: business start date, ownership, licensing, and registration (if applicable). BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

Business started: 03/07/1951
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1976, CA

Business Category

Moving & Storage Company, Movers

Alternate Business Names
United Moving & Storage, Westbrook United Van Lines, Westbrook Van & Storage, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for United Moving and Storage

5015 Hallmark Parkway

San Bernardino, CA 92407

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5015 Hallmark Parkway 

    San Bernardino, CA 92407

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*United Moving and Storage is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (909) 880-8284
  • (909) 880-8245
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Moving & Storage Company

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.