BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Balboa Thrift & Loan

Phone: (661) 631-4373 (Disconnected)Fax: (661) 631-4375

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BT&L refusing to cooperate in applying lost (and found) car payment to current billing cycle.
Car loan company, Balboa thrift in loan has been calling/harrassing me saying FEB 2014 car payment has not arrived. Told a representative it was sent Feb 22, 2014. I spoke to her on March 07, 2014. Rudely told me it was my "obligation". Again, I paid by USPS money order. As I've said I've been paying on time since June 2011. I asked for her fax # to send a postal stub proving my claim to FEB 2014's payment. Three different requests for fax #. She reiterated, it's my obligation to prove. How can I prove my claim if I can't send a fax with a money order stub.

Was forced to ask for help from family until the money order showed up. Meanwhile, I called seeing if the money order was found at company. "Not yet" I was told. Paid MARCH 2014 car payment via USPS money order where the company must sign for postal delivery.

Went to post office where they charged me to look up the money order number to see if it had been cashed and by whom. Copy of FEB 2014 money order was sent to home and who applied it to their account. It was in FACT cashed and applied to Balboa Thrift and Loan on FEB 24,2014. 2 days after I'd originally sent FEB 2014 payment.

Called Balboa Thrift and Loan. Spoke to a representative named ****. He allowed me to fax the copy of the Feb 2014 money order showing Balboa Thrift and Loan had taken my $380.00 and applied it to their account. Hence paying FEB 2014 car payment indeed.

I call Balboa Thrift and Loan this morning.I get and answering machine. So now, with FEB 2014 and MARCH 2014 payments in, there are THREE car payment paid in and still only TW0 acknowledged. In which I do as will all my bills have a paper trail. clearly the company needs at least a censor due to its laxed business practices. Perhaps this will awaken the company to tighter, more vigilant handling of customers payments and concerns. This is my request.
-***** ***** April 02, 2014

Desired Settlement
I want the problem corrected. My account updated, applying 3 months of payments. The company tighten their practices in inputting payments prior to some girl Friday running off to the bank with payments and applying those payments to companies profits, instead of making sure customers are properly accredited for their payments FIRST. AKA Good BUSINESS PRACTICES. I feel the company needs some sort of external auditing of said practices. A simple acknowledgement of common human error and that error fixed promptly would have been more than enough for me. But still, incompetence rains supreme. I'm 53 years old. Payed my billed accurately for 35 years. If I had been the problem here, I Would have corrected it and apologized for their inconvenience and my error. I don't anticipate and apology, just the problem corrected and the State of California to investigate Balboa Thrift and Loan's practices.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@balboathrift.com
April 22, 2014
***** *****
XXXXX ******** ****
***** ******* ** XXXXX
Dear Mr. *****,
We have received your complaint from the Better Business Bureau filed by you, Mr. ***** *****, and have reviewed the issues relating to Balboa Thrift and Loan. We appreciate your effort in keeping Balboa informed regarding the misapplied payment to your account. As I read through your complaint I became concerned with the way the situation was handled by our staff member.
First of all I would like to apologize for the unprofessional behavior you were addressed with. Balboa does not promote nor support this type of conduct to you nor to any other customer. We are a professional company with a professional staff. Secondly, in order to get a clear understanding of the misapplied payment I reviewed your account in detail with account manager, ******* ********* The misapplied payment was found and corrected by the loan service department. A letter was sent to you on April 2, 2014, confirming that Balboa did find and correct the misapplied payment along with waiving the late charges that were incorrectly applied to your account. We also sent you an account statement history for your review.
At this time I truly apologize for any inconvenience this may have created for you, and would like to ensure you that Balboa does have policies and procedures in place that we strictly adhere to. I would like to "thank you" for addressing this issue with Balboa and giving us the opportunity to respond to you
Sincerely,
***** *******


Industry Comparison| Chart

Loans

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.