BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/23/2013

Guarantee Landscape

(559) 389-1166Unpublished, KingsburgCA 93631

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Guarantee Landscape offers complete Landscape & Maintenance Service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/23/2013

BBB has determined that Guarantee Landscape meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Guarantee Landscape's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Guarantee Landscape

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hydroseeded grass has several dried out areas of grass that will no longer grow and sprinklers in the back yard were not fixed
Guarantee Landscaping was hired 03/31/2014 to landscape the front of our house, fix sprinklers in the back yard and also to create a display of the word CHAMP and fill each letter in with flowers.Project cost $24,000.03/31/2014 Landscaper promised to continue to come back on a weekly basis to maintain all of the weeds and to make sure that grass was fully grown and to make sure the sprinklers were adjusted the right way. Landscaper said he normally does not continue to go back and check up on grass once the project is complete, but for us he would. He guaranteed us that the hydro seeded grass would grow thick and full with . Landscaper told us that he would not hydroseed until the end of May because the weather needed to be very hot. May 6th 2014 landscaper had the front lawn hydroseeded. The weather was not hot at all and it was still raining. When asked why hydroseeding was done so soon, his response was "It will be okay". Landscaper set our sprinklers 3 times a day at 20 minutes each station and we were told not to touch or adjust sprinkler times because landscaper was the only one that would make changes if needed. We started to notice areas of the grass were drying up and other area were not growing at all. We called him several times and he would not return our call.(By this time he had already rec'd his final payment). We sent him photos of the dry grass and he accused us of changing the timers. He came over the next day and saw the dry grass, he added 1 sprinkler. He also admitted to us that he forgot to switch back the timer when the weather got hot again, that is why the grass dried up. There was a week of heavy raining when he lowered the sprinkler time. We asked him to give us the name of the hydroseeding place that did the hydroseed because it is not growing thick and full like he guaranteed us it would. He refused to give us the company name. We pointed out all of the areas of grass that are not growing and areas that are dry and thin. He told us to continue watering it and eventually it will grow. The only thing that is growning is weeds, splinters and bermuda grass. We have areas of dried grass but eventually turned green because of all of the watering but has stopped growing. His response is "It will grow just keep watering". He also told us to contacted "The Weed Man" from Fresno to take care of the weeds.
We contacted a Hydroseeding company and asked if they can come over and take a look at our grass. They told us that Fescue grass was not hydroseeded, that it was bermuda grass and that our lawn should be fully grown and thick by now since it has been 3 months from date of seeding.
There are ares that are too far gone and need to be replaced
The CHAMP display he created for us is also not what we wanted. We showed him pictures of the way we wanted it,Each letter filled with flowers and the outside filled with rock.We explained it to him over and over. He said he knew how to do it. He made the letters out of benda board and wood. The letters came out very uneven and lopsided. When this brought to his attention he got upset and said that the letters look fine. I went out there with a measuring tape to show him the difference in size of each letter and how it was offset. He still did not think there was anything wrong with the letters. He told me that once the flowers were put in "You wont be able to tell" He put a bare minimum of flowers and very little rock. When I brought this to his attention he told me that the flowers would eventually grow and fill in the letters. I told him that he knew that we wanted the letters filled with flowers. We did not want to "wait for them to fill in", that is why we sent him pictures of how we wanted it to look.He refused to add more flowers saying that he had already spent too much on flowers. I had to go myself and buy an additional $300.00 worth of flowers to fill in the letters.
He was supposed to fix/repair backyard sprinklers which he never did.

Desired Settlement
We want all of the areas of grass that are damaged and dried to be replaced. We also want the areas of grass that are infested with weeds and splinters to be replaced since he guaranteed us that he would maintain the lawn until it was full and healthy. He guaranteed us that there would be no dry spots, no weeds in the grass. Sprinklers need to be added to the areas where the grass is drying. He continues to tell us all we need to do is keep watering.
This has been a bad experience, he would not return our calls, he would always say that he was behind and that he couldn't spend any more time at our house, even though their were things that still needed to be repaired. He blamed us many times for things that he did not do right. He made an excuse for everything. There came a point when he would only speak to my wife because he did not like me telling him what to do. Had he listened to me, we would not be in this situation. He refused to do anything I asked of him. He did everything the way he wanted to and it never worked out. The day that he claimed he was finished with the job and wanted to get paid, I told him that I would not pay him until he finished everything that I asked him to change. He refused and said he was done and said that he wasted enough time at my house. He stood outside my house for over an hour ringing my doorbell, pacing back and forth and staring at my house. He frightened my family by being out there and refusing to leave until I gave him what his final payment. I finally went out there and talked to him. He assured me that he would continue to come over and to maintain the grass. He is now refusing to fix the grass, only wanting to fix some of the areas.

Business Response
Name: ******* ****
XXXXX E. Dinuba Ave.
Selma Ca. XXXXX
Case#XXXXXXXX
Resolution on Complaint

Last week went by your house to resolve matter on complaint you had on Landscape Project and goes as follows:
1.Customer Concerned if Hydro-Seed was Bermuda not Fescue?

Resolution: Guarantee Landscape explained to Customer it was fescue and that Lawn will not go Dormant in Winter.

2.Customer wants all dead spots on n/w hydro-seed area repaired. Total of 8 areas and goes as follows: Areas measure 14X5,10X4,5X3,3X3,7X3,4X8,3X4,4X7.

Resolution: Guarantee Landscape will reseed area with Fescue also Guarantee Landscape explained to Customer that most of those areas happened because of gopher problem and let him know what needs to be done as far as preventing the gophers from damaging his landscape.

3.Customer wants existing sprinkler system moved from his back yard because watering patio area.

Resolution: Guarantee Landscape moved sprinkler line to a different location also replaced 3 existing sprinklers in backyard. Guarantee Landscape will not do any more to the back yard because we have done what was supposed to be done anything else customer would need to pay extra fee.

Guarantee Landscape is willing to make these repairs no later than X-XX-XX please reply and agree to the following repairs that have been stated so we can move on from this project and again Thanks for the Business.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To; Guarantee Landscaping
File No: XXXXXXXXXX
Our responses to your resolutions are as follows;

As for resolution # 1 we are again requesting the name of the company that you hired to hydro seed. You have refused to give us the name of the company. We are requesting documentation from the company guaranteeing us that it is Fescue that was hydro seeded. I feel it is our right to have that information since there is nothing to hide.
As for your resolution #2
There are more than 8 areas that are dried and or drying. We were told by 2 licensed landscapers that the areas that are dry and continue to dry is due to an insufficient amount of sprinklers in those areas. The plants and grass should have their own separate valves and not have to share the same sprinklers. You have the same sprinklers spraying grass and plants at the same time. The landscapers could not believe that you had the timers set for 1 hour each station every day. The day you went over to evaluate the lawn you reduced the sprinkler time to 40 minutes a day each station. We were told at the most each station should be set at 20 - 25 minutes daily during these summer days. We cannot do that, as it is, when you told me reduce the time to 40 minutes per station per day, I immediately saw the areas that need more sprinklers start to dry again. The only thing you continue to say is "Keep watering it". That is not the solution and you know it.

Resolution #3
As far as the backyard sprinklers you did not do what I asked you to do from the start. You did what you wanted to do. I told you that I did not want any sprinklers wetting the cement where I am going to build a gazebo. That was the reason I wanted those sprinklers fixed. Whatever you said you did, did not fix the problem, the cement is still getting wet.

You failed to mention in your resolution the weed control that you guaranteed. As you saw when you came over, there are several areas infested with weeds and splinters and Bermuda grass. How are you going to fix that problem? If you would have come back to check up on your work like you "guaranteed" us, we would not be having these issues. You told me that you did come back weekly to check up on the grass; you said you would drive by our house and look at the grass. Is this how you try to get away with "Guaranteeing" your work? Doing drive by check ups???? That is not acceptable and very unprofessional.




We're going on 6 months now and your recommended watering schedule at 1 hour per station daily now reduced to 40 minutes per station daily is ridiculous! That is not the fix and you as a licensed landscaper should know better. You are trying to put Band-Aids on these problems............. you really need to fix the problems.
We have an estimate from a licensed landscaper what it would cost us to repair your work and it is $3,000. We already paid you $24,000 plus we have already spent hundreds more.
I don't understand how you as a "licensed" landscaper will not come to an agreement and add more sprinklers where needed and re seed the grass that has dried out. It is in no way our fault that this happened. This is all due to your work by not putting enough sprinklers. You "Guarantee" your work? Then why wont you fix these issues? Why is it that you continue to say "Keep watering it"? Why wont you do the right thing and fix the problem? That is all we are asking for. Fix the problem and be done with each other. It's that simple, it's your work, you take pride in your work is what you told us, but yet you refuse to go back and fix the problem....

We have had a couple of licensed landscapers come over and evaluate our yard. They let us know what is needed............more sprinklers and re hydro seeding the dead areas.

One last thing ........Shame on you for trying to blame gophers for the dry areas. Gophers make holes and dirt piles, they do not dry the grass. It's time to stop making excuses and fix the problem. It should have never gotten this far if you really "Guarantee" your work.

** ****


Final Consumer Response
I have been dealing with this issue for a long period of time now. He said he would come and fix the issue and till now he hasn't. At this point I dont want nothing to do with the business anymore. All I want now is a refund back so I can hire another license contractor to fix the issue.

Final Business Response
I went by your house back in August, we discussed issues I wrote everything down that we discussed I wanted you to sign off on it so I can fix minor repairs you preferred for me to send you what we discussed via email I did I never got a respond to ok the repairs. That's where we are at now.

09/11/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged for 750 SQ FT Sod but only planted less then 418 Sq Ft. Product provided dying
Received quote 4/23/2014

Agreed to service on 5/5/2014 and was told work would start around 5/19/2014

contacted 5/16/2014 and was told it would be another week for work to be started

Started work on 6/5/2014 and was told it should be done in 5 days

ended work on 6/13/2014, while Guarantee Landscape was still at my home I asked about discoloration in some of the sod in which was told it would be fine not to worry about it

6/18/2014 notified Guarantee Landscape there was an issue with both the plants and grass they planted in back yard. Guarantee advised probably not getting enough water. They setup timer to go off 1 time for 15 min for grass, 20 min for plants each day = 245 minutes per week. I have changed the water scheduled to 3 days a week as required by City of Fresno and water 4 times on those watering days giving the grass/plants 420 minutes of water Guarantee Landscape was watering yet grass is still dying. Thats 175 minutes of water per week over what Guarantee Landscape was watering and they still say I am not watering enough.

Guarantee Landscape was not showing up to address the issue so sent pictures to them on 6/23/2014 and again they claim wasn't watering enough

6/24/2014 Landscape Guarantee finally showed up without calling to let me know they were coming by. I was not home so they called me and claim they jumped the fence into backyard. Claimed to have fixed issue by adding seed to the sod yet when I got home saw no seed anywhere on the dead grass. They didn't do anything to fix the issue with a couple of plants.

7/5/2014 I hired a gardener to do my front yard and had them clean up weeds in back yard. Gardener mentioned sod in back yard was dead, would not come back no matter how much water was put on it. He also mentioned seeing no seed and seed would not bring the sod back to life. Also mentioned Guaranteed billed me for alot more sod then they laid down. Guaranteed billed me for 750 Sq Ft but laid less then 418 Sq Ft. Notified Guaranteed Landscape again and they again claimed its a water issue. Said they were on vacation and would see what they could do after they were back from vacation.

7/16/2014 have not heard from Guaranteed Landscape since 7/5/2014 so contacted them yet again about the overcharges of the sod and labor. Also contacted them yet again about the dead sod and a few plants. Got response that they are to busy to address the issues and asked for more pictures. Have sent more pictures and waiting on response.

They only offer a 60 day warranty and I feel they are delaying so it becomes out of warranty and they no longer have to address the issues.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for the overcharges which amount to over $200 dollars and feel company should replace the dead sod and plants.

Business Response
Guarantee Landscape case#XXXXXXXX

This is a response to a complaint given by Customer from Fresno in regards to a landscape project done in his backyard.
Customer called and requested an Estimate for his Landscape Project. I went to his house issued the estimate and said he would notify me if he decided to go with my Company. Thankfully, he decided to go with my company and I was able to start project on 6-5-14. When I started the project we went over what he wanted done: move the drainage, plant 20 assortment 1 gl. plants, 2- 10 gallon trees, install two sprinkler valves (1 for his plants and another for his lawn). I mentioned to him that by next Friday at the latest I would be done with the project which was on 6-13-14. We went ahead and rotortilled, graded soil, trenched for sprinkler system and compacted soil for the sod. We also dug holes for trees and plants. I purchased the plants from Belmont Nursery and the Sod from Ag sod which I have done for years. During the week customer was not sure if I will be done by the date I told him don't worry everything is according to schedule. I picked up the plants first and planted them on Wednesday Customer was not able to be at the house that day so his parents went and they were able to open the car garage so I can adjust the timer. I adjusted to 20 minutes a day for every day for the plants.. I told his parents how important it was to water the plants every day. I also mentioned to them that the timer has not been going off and that was the reason why the front lawn was dying and that it needed to be watered. They told their son that day about the situation with the timer.
On Friday I took the Sod to lay it down. Upon customers request he wanted the sod to be laid along the drain pipe which required less Sod than originally stated. Before finishing project, customer had a concern. He mentioned a drain was covered with dirt. I told him once I'm done with the project, any concerns you might have, I would be happy to fix them but, for now project was still in progress. I cleaned out all debris because of project and adjusted everything that needed to be adjusted.
On X-XX-XX I was done with the project. When I finished I showed Customer to explain to him exactly what I had done. I told him about the emitters that are watering the plants and how much time they are watering per day. I also showed him the Sod and the sprinkler system. I told him what kind of sprinklers I installed and how to adjust them and maintenance them. Customer pointed out a sprinkler that was hitting the house. I told him it wasn't doing it before, but that I would change it with no problem. After doing that customer was satisfied. During that time his parents got to his house Customer then showed his parents. His parents told me that I did great work and so did Customer.
During that time I explained to them how important watering every day was and that it needed to at least be 15 minutes for the Sod and 20 minutes for the plants every day. I told them if you have any problems, call or email me at any time. But, to please don't wait for it to die before you call me. I also told them that I was always in the area. After explaining that the timer was adjusted to water every day for front and back of house. Project was complete. They paid me the remaining balance and I asked them if they were happy and they said yes. They also stated that they would definitely recommend me and I told them thank you.

Response on Overpaid Sod
Customer originally wanted 750 square feet of Sod than he mentioned he wanted less. I have always order more than needed because I don't want to be in a situation that I have been before where the customers wants more than we talked about. If I don't order more I have found myself going to see where I can find it and that just takes time and money. I always order more than needed just to make sure the project gets done and customer is satisfied with work where if I don't have extra than he would have to wait up to 2 days for me to get the sod. When there is leftover sod, I pay the green waste facility to dispose sod.
Responding on Damaged Sod and Plants
When I was finished with project I explained to Customer how important it was to water every day and if they had any problems to please contact me. When I was notified on X-XX-XX about the sod dying I told them to make sure that it was getting water. I stated that the picture they sent me didn't look like the grass was getting watered every day. Customer than he said he changed the timer to 3 times a week instead of everyday because of city rules also in an email that he had a gardener look at the sod and that it was too hot for that sod to be planted in the first place. I then told him that heat did not play a factor water did.
On X-XX-XX I called him that I was at his house he wasn't around and the back gate was closed. I asked him if it's ok to jump the fence he said yes. So, I took a look and I noticed they replaced a nozzle off 1 of my sprinklers that I installed. I also noticed they bought a lawn sprinkler to water the grass. After looking at everything I than called Customer and tried to explain to him what I thought happened. However, Customer does have a hearing problem, so he passed ** his dad and I told him that the way the sod looked it didn't look like it was getting enough water. I also asked them if they had changed the timer and he said yes. I told him about the nozzle they put in and the lawn sprinkler they added and I felt that was not needed. I told Dad that I brought Fescue Seed, and that I had spread it on lawn. I also told him that hopefully that it would comeback in three weeks and if it didn't to give me a call. I stated that if it didn't that I would go back to see what I could do to get lawn looking good. Dad then told me ok, we will call you in three weeks. I told him thank you and that was the end of the follow up repair.
Then I got an email that I never seeded the lawn and that I was lying. During that time I was in San Francisco on vacation. I took offense to that, but I did tell him that when I would get back I would go see what we can do. But, within 1 1/2 weeks that I last went to his house and had phone/email conversations, he then he told me that he got information from a lawyer and after that he notified BBB about this issue.

Resolution on project

First, I wanted to see if lawn would come back in 3 weeks, which I have seen it do with seed.
My next resolution was customer would pay $300 and I will dispose damaged sod and replace with new sod. But, customer has lied to me about watering time. He changed timer because of city ordinance. He changed it to 3 times a week, instead of everyday and with that customer flooded sod to the point it killed roots also accused me of lying that I didn't put seed when I did.
I take a lot of pride and responsibility on my company. I always go the extra mile for my customers. I highly appreciate them for giving me the work to make an honest living. I have 25 years of experience dealing with customers and I never thought that I would be accused of stealing and lying in my company. But, I will resolve this issue. If customer pays me $300.00 for time and travel I will get the sod and install it. I will also dispose dead sod.

Thank you
***** Gonzalez




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On 4/23/2014 Landscaper provided quote

On 5/5/2014 Agreed to hire landscaper in which he told me he was 2 weeks out from starting the job.

Contacted on 5/16/2014 as Landscaper mention job would start around 5/19/2014. At this time landscaper Landscaper pushed the start date out again for another week

Contacted Landscaper on 6/4/2014 to see if he was going to setup timer to water the grass and plants in which he said he would when he planted them

6/5/2014 Landscaper showed up, we went over the plans and I choose not to have grass added all the way to back wall of house. Landscaper measured 750 Sq ft of Sod was needed. He Rototilled and trenched for sprinklers on this day. He spray painted were the sod would be laid down on this day which was away from the back wall of house as requested.He also left pipes for the sprinkler systems but did not trench on this day.

On 6/6/2014 Landscaper did not show up

On 6/7/2014, 6/8/2014 Landscaped explained he does not work weekeneds

6/9/2014 & 6/10/2014 Landscaper informed me it was to hot for him to Landscape the yard and would return 6/11/2014


6/11/2014 Landscaper laid sprinkler systems and purchased plants and planted them on a hill in my back yard that runs down towards the house.

6/12/2014 Landscape didn't show up again

6/13/2014 Landscaper purchased sod, laid sod and at this time was questioned by my family why sod was 2 different colors. Landscaper also noticed at this time a sprinkler head not working properly and replaced it with another. Landscape could not explain why the sod was different colors but informed us everything would be fine. He set the sprinklers for grass to go off everyday 1 time a day for 15 minutes. He set the sprinklers for plants to go off 1 time a day for 20 minutes a day. Said that would be plenty of water for the grass and plants to grow. I went along with landscaper thinking everything would be fine even though the grass was 2 different colors and paid him in full for the job in which he guaranteed a 60 day warranty starting 6/13/2014 Sprinklers were going off at 4:30am when I was sleeping.

6/14/2014, 6/15/2014 Landscape does not work and I noticed something just wasn't quite right.

On 6/16/2014 I tested sprinkler system during the day and noticed the same sprinkler head landscaper replaced on 6/13/2014 again was not working properly so i replaced the sprinkler head as the area was turning white. I also noticed while testing that all the water for the plants was running down the hill so a couple of the plants where dieing. I made dirt mounds around them in order to hopefully get the water from running down the hill. We also bought additional yard sprinklers in which I hooked to a hose and watered during day along with running the timer 2 times per night for same amount of minutes as landscaper had it set at.I also ajusted a couple of the sprinkler heads as they were not watering the 2 plants that were dying.



Contacted landscaper on 6/18/2014 informing them the grass was dying and a couple of plants where dying mentioning to him I am watering them more then he had it set at each night.

6/19/2014 landscaper contacted me telling me he would be at my house sometime the following week to take a look at it and see what he could do. He was informed that the gate would be locked so he must contact me before he shows up so I can unlocked the gate to let him in the gate and so I would be available. Spinkler timer is inside the garage so he would have no access if I wasn't available to see the timer had only been changed to water 2 times each night with same amount of water each time.

6/20/2014 Landscaper responded sounded good accepting that he would call ahead of time so I was available

6/21/2014 & 6/22/2014 Landscaper doesn't work weeekends

6/22/2014 Seeing it seemed to continue to get worse even though it was a weekend I took pictures and sent them to landscaper seeing I had no clue when he planned to show up to address the issues.

6/23/2014 Got response from landscaper saying it looks like sprinklers aren't on. He mentioned he would try to be here 6/24/2014 to take a look and see what he could do and would call when he was on his way.

6/24/2014 Don't get a call or hear from landscaper

6/25/2014 I get a phone call from landscaper while I was not home that he's sitting at my doorstep to take a look at the yard and spinkler timer. I informed landscaper I told him to call to make sure I was home and so I could unlock the gate but he failed to do so. He then requested if he may jump my fence so he could take a look in which I informed him yes he could but he would have no access to the timer seeing its in the garage and would not be able to verify I was watering the yard as he requested each day and even added more time to the timer each day. He called me back after jumping my fence to inform me he spread seed on the dead grass and hoped it would come back. Never mentioned anything about what he would do about the dead plants. I checked out the backyard and could not visably see any grass seed and none of my neighbors noticed anyone at my house or saw anyone jump my fence so I am unable to verify that he showed up or did any seeding in the back yard.



7/5/2014 I contacted landscaper letting him know I hired a gardner to take care of the front yard and at same time had him check out the back yard. Gardner mentioned that it is the wrong time to have planted the sod/plants because of the heat 100+ degrees for many days and that no matter how much water I put on the sod it was not going to come back as it was dead. He even pulled up the sod showing that the sod roots were dead it many places. The sod he said that did servive was because of all the water running down the hill where the plants were was building along the edge of it. He also mentioned seeding dead sod will not bring it back to life and must be replaced. I have since changed the sprinklers to the required 3 days a week and I water 4 times nightly per city rules or I would face a fine per day. I also was talking to the gardner and had mentioned the 750sq ft of sod in which he informed me I better check into this as I did not receive 750 Sq Ft as quoted. I requested landscaper to stop by and remeasure how much sod he laid as I am not a landscaper and do not have landscaping measuring tool. I took my own tape measure and went adding L + W to estimate he only provided approximately 418 Sq Ft which did not include all the cutouts so it probably closer to 400SQ Ft. Landscaper notifed me its a water issue and he would be by next week as he is out of town to see what he could do.

7/16/2014 contacted landscaper again as had not heard from or seen him to address the issues. Was informed he was way to busy and to take pictures again. Sent pictures to landscape same day. He writes back telling me it was fresh sod, hot and needed to be watered everyday and wished I had called him before I changed the timer to 3 days a week. Still have not heard or seen him honor his guarantee or refund for the overcharges

7/17/2014 I filed this complaint with BBB. Now I get response back that he wants another $300 from me to fix the bad sod and plants.

If I paid for 750 Sq Ft of sod I should of received 750 Sq Ft of sod. I have never heard of a company that buys extra sod as he mentioned so he can pay a waste facility to dispose of it.

If he wasn't going to lay 750 sq ft and seeing I paid for it he should of offered it to me. I did not make any changed after anything was purchased, the changed were all decided before the purchases were made.





Final Business Response
Customer adjusted sprinkler timer from watering everyday to only 3 days because of city ordinance that caused sod to die. I want to resolve this issue I'm willing to buy the fescue sod and install with no warranty just to resolve this issue.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Customer did not change sprinkler timer at time Landscaper claims as if he had called as customer requested before arriving at house he would of had access to sprinkler timer to verify his claim. Instead he showed up without calling first so customer was not home and landscaper had no access to sprinkler timer to make the necessary changes. Timer was changed after grass died. If Landcaper is stating he will use the overcharged amount to buy new sod and replace dead sod customer will agree to it however customer will not provide any additional funds to landscaper to replace sod as he requested in early posts as Landscaper should be honoring his warranty and really should be refunding the overcharges. No additional warranty requested if Landscaper replaces sod at no charge to customer. As requested once before Landscaper is to email or call customer perferably a day before he is to show up at the house so customer is available to unlock gate and allow landscaper access to spinkler timer.

Business Response
I am still willing to prove grass with no warranty to resolve issue.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Customer agreed on 8/5/2014 to allow landscaper to replace the sod however landscaper has refused to contact customer and show up to address any issues. Its now 8/25/2014 and still no phone call, no replacement sod, etc. Customer would now prefer to receive a refund so he can have another landscaper to come in to repair the issues the currently landscaper has refused to take care of. Current landscaper fails to honor his 60 day warranties he provides. When customer reports issues it should not take months or even weeks for landscaper to address the issues.


Business Response
Originally I stated customer was at fault on damaged sod because the adjustment of sprinkler timer was changed by customer. But to resolve this matter im more than willing to replace the damaged sod with new sod with no warranty just to resolve this matter. Please respond the ok to replace sod so we can move on from this matter. THANKS


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Customer agreed to allow landscaper to fix issue back in June. Landscaper was to call to schedule date/time so customer could unlock gate and garage. Landscape claims to have shown up to repair sod without making the call to schedule the date and time. Landscaper called while customer out of town and requested to jump customer fence. Customer agreed but saw no evidence and neighbors saw no person arrive or jump fence to repair sod. Landscaper still claims customer changed timer at a time he could not verify as he had no access to garage where timer is kept. Landscaper never attempted to fix issues while under warranty. Customer again agreed to allow landscaper to fix issue back in July while still under warranty and again landscaper never attempted to fix landscape. Customer filed complaint with BBB and again agreed on 8/5/2014 to allow landscaper to repair landscape but again a month later landscaper still has no attempted to contact customer or repair landscape. Customer has waited over 3 months now for landscaper to repair landscaper which has not been done. Customer does not wish to wait for landscaper any longer to continue to make promises he can't keep. Customer instead would like a partial refund so he can hire someone else to get the job done as promised.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Hardscapes, Lawn Maintenance, Landscape Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/22/2012Business started: 09/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr
Sacramento, CA 95827-1703
(800) 321-2752
http://www.cslb.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 965301 for this company, issued by Contractors State License Board. Their web address is http://www.cslb.ca.gov.

Type: Contractors State License Board

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cresencio Gonzales (Owner)
Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Hardscapes, Lawn Maintenance, Landscape Maintenance

Products & Services

Guarantee Landscape Designs and Installs landscapes. Anything from Sprinkler installation to Retaining walls or Walkways. We also Maintenance Residential and Commercial properties in a weekly bases or 1 time clean up. No job is too big or small

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PMSun: 08:00 AM to 08:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

We offer a 60 day Warranty on all Landscape Installations. Customer satisfaction is a high priority in our business.

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Guarantee Landscape

Unpublished

Kingsburg, CA 93631

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Guarantee Landscape is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.