BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central California and Inland Empire Counties

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Name My Premium

Phone: (877) 433-2785

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints14

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)BBB Closure Definitions
09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: I was told more than once that my 3 doctors accepted this insurance. After agreeing to purchase, I had to pay a non refundable enrollment fee of 135.
I was misled. Not one doctor accepted or ever heard of this Insurance. I paid out of pocket to my doctors and out the money I spent on insurance. What a scam.

Business Response
As a standard practice, it is conveyed to consumers during recorded conversations that provider participation in insurance networks is completely voluntary, allowing participants to opt in and out at any time. At the time of purchase it was found that Ms. *******'s provider(s) participated in the network, though in 2013, many providers dropped multiple insurers, choosing to circumvent participation in the approaching Obamacare program. In most cases, this was done without providers possessing clear knowledge of precisely which insurers took part in Obamacare, so other plans were inadvertently dropped as well and this caused providers to lose more patients than anticipated as a result. Any follow-up can be directed to the insuring companies in question, though all records indicate any monies paid to the original insurer have been refunded.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues, but not within the Bureau's timeframe. The Complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: I cancelled my policy about a month ago and I still have not received my refund. I have called many times, get put on hold and no one speaks to me.
I was solicited by Namemypremium on approximately Oct 3, 2013 as I was looking for health insurance. It seemed like a good policy at a reasonable price but then within hours I discovered it was not major medical, which is what I needed. I called my agent, **** ******** back approximately 4 hours later and left a message but never received a call. I called more times that day and told him to cancel my policy immediately and to call me back. I never received a call. I tried again the next day, to no avail. I then called customer service and they said that I needed to speak to my agent. I told the agent I could not reach him, so they told me they would cancel it for me. Then 3 days later, the $220 premium came out of my account by Standard Health and Accident, the insurance company. I called them immediately and told them I had cancelled and requested a refund. They said they did show that I cancelled by they were not authorized to issue the refund without namymypremium's authorization. I called customer service and got no help. I called Standard back and I was angry. She emailed a man named ****** at namemypremium and he sent me an affidavit of cancellation for me to complete and return. I faxed it back to ****** on Oct. 11. I received confirmation that the fax did go through. I never heard any more from ******, and I have tried calling about 5 time since last Friday. I reached ****** once. He said it takes about 3 weeks to process the affidavit, and that he would check on the status. I called him back several times since that conversation, no one else will help me, and when they say they will put me through to ******, I get put on ignore and no one ever comes back on the line. The phone number for this company is XXX-XXX-XXXX and for Standard Health is XXX-XXX-XXXX. I had not received a policy number as I cancelled immediately.

Initial Business Response
To eliminate any questions and concerns that may arise during purchases, customers are made aware of all products purchased, price points, applicable fees, cancellation periods, customer service phone numbers and any other pertinent and helpful information during a recorded verification performed as they conclude their purchases. This process helps to maintain accountability for all parties involved and keeps all aspects of the insurance as transparent as possible before customers receive their mailed fulfillment packages. Any follow-up can be directed to the insuring companies in question, though if our customer canceled their package within the given 30-day time period indicated during their recorded verification process, any monies either paid in or requested back by the customer have been refunded by the insurer.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues, but not within the Bureau's timeframe. The Complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: on Jue 21 Name my Premuim called me and told me that I could save money if went with there Health insurance plan
So I did as of 7/3/2013 I have not received any info about my insurance they took 307.55 out of my checking account and I have made several calls and only one time I talk to a Walter and he said it was sent out I have called ****** back a few times and all I get now is a leave a message. I called him on 7/01/XXXX X/02/XXXX X/03/2013 and ****** never called me back his number is X-XXX-XXX-XXXX I have 30 days to look over my insurance and that 30 days is now only 15 days.

Consumer Response
On 07/08/2013 I talked to ****** at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX and He stated if I cancel the complaint with the BBB then they might refund my money and I told him that I would if they send me my refund back until then I'm not going to cancel my complaint with the BBB.
as of 07/19/2013 I retried to call them and no answer from them again.


Business Response
All inquiries performed by our office indicate this customer was refunded by the insuring companies in question. Each of our licensed agents services several dozen new customers each day and we realize it can be rather difficult to reach the agents after initial business is concluded. To help this situation, we have a fully-staffed customer service department for any potential inquiries and concerns after the conclusion of purchase. Our customer service staff can be reached toll free at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. We invite customers to reach out to our CSRs with any and all questions and concerns so we are able to remain helpful and retain not only their business, but more importantly their continued trust and respect. We maintain a strict adherence to guidelines for enrollment and assisting in cancellations. While any follow-up can be directed to our CSR staff or the insuring companies in question, all records indicate any monies either paid in or requested back by the customer have been refunded.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: My policy had been cancelled with this company and they are still taking premium out of bank account
I called this company several times to cancel my policy and they still continue to take the fee out of my bank account. I have received email confirmation from a **** at namemypremium for the payment they just took out (again!) The amount is $54.00 and they have my bank card number. The date of this particular transaction is 6/28/14. I am told by my bank that the only way to stop the payment from coming out is to cancel the card I have and they would issue me another. I have several things associated with this card and don't feel I should have to switch my personal accounts for this company's non-compliance issues! I do not have the policy number since I first cancelled this almost a year ago. I don't feel I should have to call this company yet again to cancel something that should have been taken care of the first time I called them.

Business Response
Our records indicate this customer was refunded by the insuring companies. Name My Premium maintains strict adherence to insuring companies' guidelines for purchase and cancellation. To that end, customers are made aware of all products purchased, price points, applicable fees, cancellation periods, customer service phone numbers and any other pertinent and helpful information during a recorded verification performed as they conclude their purchases. Additionally, as each of licensed agents services several dozen new customers each day, we realize it can be rather difficult to reach the agents after initial business is concluded. To better serve our existing customers, we have a fully-staffed customer service department for any potential inquiries and concerns after the conclusion of purchase. Our customer service staff can be reached toll free at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. We invite customers to reach out to our CSRs with any and all questions and concerns so we are able to remain helpful and retain not only their business, but more importantly their continued trust and respect. While any follow-up can be directed to our CSR staff or the insuring companies in question, all records indicate any monies either paid in or requested back by the customer have been refunded.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: I was enrolled into the Karis Group Enhanced Value Benefit Program after requesting a health insurance quote without authorization.
I received a letter in the mail stating that I had been enrolled in the Karis Group Enhanced Value Benefit Program. The letter states the monthly price is $145, with a $100 enrollment fee. When I looked on my Visa account, a charge of $245 was placed by CITM XXX-XXXXXXX FL on Sept 30, 2013. I was told this was part of my application for the Assurant Health Care Program. My husband was not accepted for this program so I cancelled my enrollment request, but somehow this policy was added after a health questionnaire and I was charged. The following is the agent name I was provided from Assurant: Agent Name: ******** ******, Phone Number: (XXX) XXX-XXXX

I sent a message to him regarding this and his response was as follows:

Good morning

Unfortunately, Assurant Health does not offer a Karis Group Enhanced Value Benefit Program.

Thank you

I do not want this policy and I want anything associated with Member ID # XXXXXX to be cancelled. I never agreed to this and I cannot get resolution from Customer Service at Name My Own Premium.

Initial Business Response
As we believe in all parties involved maintaining a level of accountability and strive to keep all aspects of the insurance package as transparent as possible before mailed fulfillments are received, customers are made aware of all products purchased, price points, applicable fees, cancellation periods, customer service phone numbers and any other pertinent and helpful information during a recorded verification performed as they conclude their purchases. This is standard procedure with every customer and this case is no exception. While any follow-up can be directed to the insuring companies in question, all records indicate any monies either paid in or requested back by the customer have been refunded.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 3
09/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: Claim to be selling health insurance which turns out to be a scam
Called number from web site to apply for health insurance. Was told that the policy that they named 'Standard' was two parts, health insurance with 0 deductible, 3 free office visits, after that 40-60% coverage, lab and xray covered75%. The second part was a life policy. The life part was legit, it was Standard Life who cancelled our policy upon request and promptly mailed a refund. The health insurance ended up being 'Fidelity' which was not legit. Phone numbers did not belong to the investment company that we know. Refuse to cancel policy unless a note is signed by applicant and their spouse stating they want policy canceled. Being afraid to fax signatures, in fear they would cut and paste onto other documents, called the 'agent' who told us that we cant cancel the $67.38 being taken out of our checking account. That if we blocked their withdrawals they would would keep billing through mail and it would keep piling up until we lost everything including our home. We needed health insurance and ended up with nothing. Not even an insurance card to show provider. All phone numbers collected were dead ends. The Fidelity company told us that our agent was a ********* ******* with a phone of XXX-XXX-XXXX. Needs to say all messages go unanswered

Initial Business Response
There are several points to clear up in addressing the issues at hand. First, Standard Life and Accident Insurance Company was slated to administer all health benefits, not life. Concurrently, Fidelity Life Association was chosen as the administrator for the life benefits, not health. Also, they have no affiliation with the investment company of a similar name.

On 9/4/2014, one of our CSRs ******* spoke with the customer at length regarding this particular evolution of enrollment and cancellation. Several days after enrolling, this client called wishing to cancel and *******, per compliance procedure provided the customer service numbers for both Standard and Fidelity. Company policies mandate that the insured cancel directly and use the necessary procedures to do so. In this case, it was conveyed to our CSR that the client (or client's mother) called and canceled the health benefits through Standard within the 30 day free look period, though they did not cancel Fidelity. Client was then charged again as the policy was still in force. Yesterday, Fidelity informed the client of the necessary procedure for cancelling the policy. Following that, the client placed a call to ******* and ******* confirmed the procedure for cancellation. After review of the recorded conversations, it should be known it was never stated that the client would "lose everything". Our CSR reiterated several times the importance of following cancellation procedures in order to effectively terminate the Fidelity Life benefits.

This case was escalated internally to a Senior CSR, who placed a call to the client at 4:08pm, PST and left a voice mail with a call back number. This call has yet to be returned.

In conclusion, it is important to remember that specific cancellation procedures are set by the insuring companies and must be followed by all insureds. As we believe in all parties involved maintaining a level of accountability and strive to keep all aspects of the insurance package as transparent as possible before mailed fulfillment packages are received, customers are made aware of all products purchased, price points, applicable fees, cancellation periods, customer service phone numbers and any other pertinent and helpful information during a recorded verification performed as they conclude their purchases. This is standard procedure with every customer and this case is no exception. If the client would like to reach out the Senior CSR who contacted her and bring this case to a close, she is invited to do so Mon-Fri, from 8am-5pm, PST. Thank you

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The health insurance is most certainly not the coverage stated by the agent and verified by me on their 'recorded'call. Upon reaching an agent, I was most certainly threatened by the agent who stated that if we stop automatic withdrawal, they will send paper bills which will keep piling up until we lose everything. Also this call was made well past normal business hours and yes we are aware of the time change. Yes, the company did contact me, but it was yet another agent asking me if I was interested in buying health insurance. I was told by yet another agent that the only way to cancel was by our signatures on a plain sheet of paper. After expressing my concern of the signatures being transferred onto a different document, the agent had no comment at all. What kind of company has no legal cancellation form and refuses to produce one. In answer to their claim, when the call was made to cancel the insurance no other phone number or company name was given. They simply stated that all withdrawals would be stopped and a refund mailed.Yes, they provided phone numbers, but a computer search of these numbers show them listed under the website name. All calls are answered by an individual first name, never by a company name. As for the life insurance they claim is $67.35, it is only an accidental death policy which we were never told. We were also told that there was no way to buy the health insurance without also buying the life insurance, after we stated that we had plenty of life insurance and not in need of any more. All we ask is for a legal cancellation form and the return of the premiums as we did make the phone call to cancel our policies within the stated 30 days. Since we were told that the two policies were sold together as one why would we think that more phone calls were needed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The client was directed to provide a letter of cancellation on a plain sheet of paper. Client requested a formal cancellation form, as the company is untrustworthy and the client was fearful of signing a plain sheet of paper. What kind of company has no formal cancellation paper?
The packet sent by the company includes two forms, one a conditional receipt, and the other is the actual application. Both clearly direct the client to sign and date, which has never been done.
Yes, the client received a call from the company, but it was not a senior CSR, it was yet another salesman asking if the client wanted health insurance.
The health insurance packet the client received does not anywhere verify the quotes on coverage given by the phone rep. It actually states in bold letters "This policy provides limited benefit coverage. It is not designed to cover all medical expenses and it is not a major medical or comprehensive healthcare policy." That is not what was stated to the client. They stated the client was fully covered from the application date. The packet states "no benefits are payable for sickness during the first 30 days following a covered person's effective date." Does this policy sound like the one quoted to the client- 0 deductible, 3 free office visits per year, 40-60% coverage after the 3 visits, lab and xray 75% coverage.
The following phone numbers are the numbers given to the client during the recorded application, ******* ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX and customer service XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Upon cancelling the automatic withdrawal from the client's bank account, they received a bill for 3 months prepayment of the 'insurance'.
This is a fraudulent company and they are harassing the client.

Final Business Response
*****,

As it happens, I have just received a copy of Fidelity Life Association's cancellation procedures. Please see the attached.

I feel this complaint would be more appropriately directed to Fidelity Life as our role was simply matching the customer to a product of interest. After the initial enrollment, Fidelity was responsible for billing the customer for their product. As stated in the attached, the customer had ample time cancel the product and receive a refund if the product didn't meet her expectations once she reviewed the mailed fulfillment.

I believe that because she worked with our office to complete an application, she believes we (Name My Premium) are responsible for billing her. It may be beneficial for her to check her bank statements to see the funds were actually withdrawn by Fidelity Life Association.

Thanks again for your time on this and let me know if there is anything else I can do to help close this complaint.

***

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Companies, Insurance - Health

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.