BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/16/2000

BEN-E-LECT

Phone: (559) 733-1240Fax: (559) 733-2325View Additional Phone Numbers5429 Avenida De Los Robles Ste A, VisaliaCA 93291-5176

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/16/2000

BBB has determined that BEN-E-LECT meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised BEN-E-LECT's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on BEN-E-LECT

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dear BBB,

Employer Driven Benefits(BEN-E-LECT)
ID#: AUX-XX-XXXX

Provider (Medical Diagnostic Group)

This is a complaint to BEN-E-ELCT.
Claim amount: $137.62

About a month ago. We received a collection letter about an unpaid bill which Medical Diagnostic never once billed us. We went ahead and write a check to Medical Group.

We contacted and BEN-E-LECT told us that they are not responsible for the claim because this was about a year old.

I said BEN-E-LECT should be responsible for this claim and we want them to refund us in full $137.62 which out of our pocket.

Thank you,

******* ****
email: *******@sbcglobal.net
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
Dear BBB,

Employer Driven Benefits(BEN-E-LECT)
ID#: AUX-XX-XXXX

Provider (Medical Diagnostic Group)

This is a complaint to BEN-E-ELCT.
Claim amount: $137.62

About a month ago. We received a collection letter about an unpaid bill which Medical Diagnostic never once billed us. We went ahead and write a check to Medical Group.

We contacted and BEN-E-LECT told us that they are not responsible for the claim because this was about a year old.

I said BEN-E-LECT should be responsible for this claim and we want them to refund us in full $137.62 which out of our pocket.

Thank you,

******* ****
email: *******@sbcglobal.net
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Business Response
BEN-E-LECT is not an insurance company, but rather a third party administrator hired by the employer and that tends to create confusion for members, which appears to be the issue here.

In this case, BEN-E-LECT was hired by the employer to pay claims for it's self-funded plan from August 1, 2010 through October 31, 2013.
When an employer hires us for claims services, the employer gives us money from which we pay the claims. Once our contract with the employer is terminated, we return the employers money and any future claims that come in should be sent to the employer for payment. BEN-E-LECT no longer has money or the authority from which to pay a claim on behalf of the employer upon that termination date. This is all outlined in the summary plan description provided to members upon the effective date.

This claim came into our office March 27, 2014. This was almost a full 4 months after our contract termination and as such we cannot have any involvement in the payment of the claim.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This claim should not come out of our expense. Diagnostic Medical Group did not bill us until just two month ago but they never bill us once in between that period the Employer and Ben-E-Lect ends with their contract. Nevertheless, the bill of service date clearly shows that the contract still exist.

Final Business Response
The member needs to go to the employer for this claim.

BEN-E-LECT was contracted to pay claims for a set period of time (8/1/2010 through 11/1/2013). Any claim received (not incurred) after that period of time cannot be paid by BEN-E-LECT, this is the law.

This members plan was a self-insured plan which means the employer is the insurance carrier. BEN-E-LECT acts as the bank, meaning the employer deposits money into a trust and we pay claims from that money. Once the employer pulls the money out, there is nothing there from which to pay claims. The employer has withdrawn all it's money and has taken on the responsibility of hiring another TPA to pay claims or handle the payment of claims itself.

This complaint should not be against BEN-E-LECT. We have no legal authority or funds from the employer to pay any claims received after the termination date. BEN-E-LECT should not be involved in any way with this claim.

BEN-E-LECT was hired by the employer to pay for claims sent to us between 8/1/2010 and 11/1/2013. In that timeframe we appropriate paid every claim received accordingly and fulfilled our contracted duties for this employer.

12/21/2015Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Companies, Employee Benefit Plans, Insurance - Health

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/20/1997Business started: 01/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Department of Insurance
300 S. Springs St, South Tower
Los Angeles, CA 90013
(800) 927-4357
http://www.insurance.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 0708953 for this company, issued by California Department of Insurance. Their web address is http://www.insurance.ca.gov.

Type: Insurance

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1986, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Reynolds (President) Stacy Morris (Vice President)
Business Category

Insurance Companies, Employee Benefit Plans, Insurance - Health

Alternate Business Names
BEN-E-LECT Insurance Administrators, BEN-E-LECT Insurance Marketing Service
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including mediation and arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for BEN-E-LECT

5429 Avenida De Los Robles Ste A

Visalia, CA 93291-5176

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5429 Avenida De Los Robles Ste A 

    Visalia, CA 93291-5176Fax: (559) 733-2325

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*BEN-E-LECT is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 886-7973
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Insurance Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.