BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Lane Home Furnishings

Find a Location

(209) 723-5263900 Loughborough Dr Ste A, MercedCA 95348-2386http://www.lanefurniture.com/merced! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Lane Home Furnishings is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lane Home Furnishings

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased couch, loveseat rocker and coffee table Feb.16 2014. We received the couch and love seat in May when we noticed a hole in the love seat.
Delivery people noted the hole in love seat. We contacted Lane and they said they would take care of it. They never did. We received our table end of May damaged. We talked to Lane and they told us they couldn't do anything for 2 weeks. We've tried to contact Lane and their number is not in service. All problems began in May when furniture was delivered. ***** ******** is Store Manager in Merced, Ca. We now owe $2,928.23 for damaged furniture which we financed through GE Capital.

Desired Settlement
We would like the rocker love seat with the hole replaced and the coffee table replaced.

Business Response
All documentation states that the furniture was delivered, received without damage, and signed accepted by the customer.The store does not handle warranty issues, the customer will need to contact the manufacturer directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have paperwork that shows there was a hole in the rocker recliner. The delivery people verified and documented damage on our paperwork. We were contacted and asked to take and forward a picture of the hole. We never heard from them again. In fact, it has been noticed that there is a hole in the same place on the other end of the recliner.

Final Business Response
Re: ************** ******* ****
Dear BBB Dispute Department,
RECEIVED AUG 2 5 2014 BBB
We received a complaint notice from your office on behalf of ******* **** who purchased from us on February 16, 2014, Invoice #XXXXX in the amount of $2,928.23. We have denied this claim due to the following reasons;
1. The customer was made fully aware at the time of purchase that the store was closing and that no expressed guarantees or service was promised by the store. The store does not offer warranties. All warranty claims must be submitted directly to the manufacturer.
2. The original invoice dated 02/16/14 (see attached copy) states that All SALES FINAL, NO REFUNDS NO EXCHANGES.
3. The delivery receipt dated 04/19/14(see attached copy) for the sofa and loveseat was signed by the customer acknowledging that furniture was received without damage. The second delivery receipt dated 05/29/14 (see attached copy) for the lift top table was signed by the customer acknowledging that the item was received without damage.
If the customer has a warranty claim with the manufacturer, they can be contacted directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Sincerely,
***** ****** Lane Home Furnishings

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Beds - Retail

Additional Information

top

Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable, but not guaranteed as to its accuracy. The BBB has not verified information including, but not limited to: business start date, ownership, licensing, and registration (if applicable). BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB file opened: 02/26/2007Business started: 09/17/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D
Sacramento, CA95834-1243
(916) 999-2041
http://www.bhfti.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 160660 for this company, issued by Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation. Their web address is http://www.bhfti.ca.gov.

Type: Furnishings-Furn/Bed Retailer

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2011, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Tucker (President)Ms Robin Anderson (Store Manager)
Business Category

Furniture - Retail, Beds - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Merced Furniture Inc
LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 900 Loughborough Dr Ste A 

    Merced, CA 95348-2386(209) 723-5263

  • PO Box 2526 

    Merced, CA 95344-0526

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lane Home Furnishings is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 25, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.